Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 26 Jul 2014, 03:21
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
MyWolfe-028
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 9 [123 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
GrumpyWolfe


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 496

PostPosted: Fri 21 Jan 2011, 10:25    Post subject:  MyWolfe-028
Subject description: Xfce-4.8 desktop
 

MyWolfe-028 is ready for download MyWolfe-028.iso

Here is a link to some screen shots MyWolfe-028 pictures

Changes for final

added flsynclient touchpad setting to startup
added cpu panel plugin to panel
fixed background wolf picture
added system sound package
added puppy links in browser
fixed broken syslinks for google video chat

Changes with rc1

Added
Google-phone-libs
libyahoo2
xfce4-cpugraph-plugin
xfce4-fsguard-plugin

Upgraded
Thunar-1.2.1
glib-2.27.92
gtk+-2.23.0
Tumbler-0.1.6-V3
xfce4-panel-4.8.1
xfce4-settings-4.8.1
xfdesktop-4.8.1
xfwm4-4.8.1

To let you know found the problem with thumbler not displaying thumbnails in Thunar it was missing a syslink fixed. Edited pmount so that when you mount a drive it opens Thunar in that drive.


It has the same kernel 2.6.34.1 Xorg 7.3a Xserver 1.7.5


Added acl-2.2.47, atk-1.9.0, attr-2.4.43 exo-0.6.0, FireFox-3.6.13, garcon-0.1.5, gdk-pixbuf-2.22.1,gobject-introspection-0.6.14, gperf-3.0.4, gtk-doc-1.16, gtk-xfce-engine-2.8.0,libffi-3.0.9, libnotify-0.4.5, libtool-2.4, libwnck-2.30.6, libxfce4util-4.8.1, libxfce4ui-4.8.0, tumbler-0.1.6, Thunar-1.2.0, thunar-vfs, thunar-volman-0.6.0, udev-151-wolfe, usbutils-0.86, xfce4-appfinder-4.8.0, xfce4-dev-tools-4.8.0, xfce4-panel-4.8.0, xfce4-settings-4.8.0, xfce4-session-4.8.0, xfce4-taskmanager-1.0.0, xfce-utils-4.8.0, xfconf-4.8.0, xfdesktop-4.8.0, xfwm4-4.8.0, xine-lib-1.1.19, Xquisite-1.0.

_________________
Live and Let Live

Acer Aspire One N450 1.66GHz

MyWolfe at Sourceforge
MyWolfe Blog
MyWolfe Groups

Last edited by GrumpyWolfe on Thu 10 Feb 2011, 14:15; edited 5 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
maxpro4u


Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 290
Location: Rittman,Ohio,USA, In dog years,I'm dead

PostPosted: Fri 21 Jan 2011, 22:52    Post subject:  

Sound upon first boot,wireless setup fine. Using firefox to post this-flash videos working fine. Pmusic opens but does not play- says buffering then stops
_________________
Dell D610 1.7M w/1024mb
Testing Slacko and a few others
I'm Max Wachtel and I approve this message.
Registered Linux User #393236
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
GrumpyWolfe


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 496

PostPosted: Sat 22 Jan 2011, 01:08    Post subject:  

Hi Maxpro4u

I am glad to hear that it fired up fine for you but as for the pmusic I did not change anything of it. It is the stock puppy pmusic player. What were you trying to play. I test it just now on a mp3 and it played just fine.

Just a note found what was wrong with thumbnailer will be fixed in the next update. when I did make install using the new2dir script I split it into a exe and a dev pet files but it will not work without the dev file being loaded.

_________________
Live and Let Live

Acer Aspire One N450 1.66GHz

MyWolfe at Sourceforge
MyWolfe Blog
MyWolfe Groups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
maxpro4u


Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 290
Location: Rittman,Ohio,USA, In dog years,I'm dead

PostPosted: Sat 22 Jan 2011, 11:37    Post subject:  

well upon reboot pmusic is playing fine Rolling Eyes
touchpad settings were lost-had to reset them Shocked

_________________
Dell D610 1.7M w/1024mb
Testing Slacko and a few others
I'm Max Wachtel and I approve this message.
Registered Linux User #393236
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
GrumpyWolfe


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 496

PostPosted: Sat 22 Jan 2011, 12:00    Post subject:  

Glad to hear that and what about your touch pad what did it do
_________________
Live and Let Live

Acer Aspire One N450 1.66GHz

MyWolfe at Sourceforge
MyWolfe Blog
MyWolfe Groups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
maxpro4u


Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 290
Location: Rittman,Ohio,USA, In dog years,I'm dead

PostPosted: Sat 22 Jan 2011, 12:09    Post subject:  

GrumpyWolfe wrote:
Glad to hear that and what about your touch pad what did it do


I went to the flSynclient, under tapping- everything is set to disable and the tap time is set to zero. If I change the settings the touchpad works but when I reboot they are back to zero and disabled. I am going to reboot again and see if it persists.

edit-settings are back to disabled,tap time zero

_________________
Dell D610 1.7M w/1024mb
Testing Slacko and a few others
I'm Max Wachtel and I approve this message.
Registered Linux User #393236
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
GrumpyWolfe


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 496

PostPosted: Sat 22 Jan 2011, 12:22    Post subject:  

that is not happening on my acer notebook what is you computer
_________________
Live and Let Live

Acer Aspire One N450 1.66GHz

MyWolfe at Sourceforge
MyWolfe Blog
MyWolfe Groups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
maxpro4u


Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 290
Location: Rittman,Ohio,USA, In dog years,I'm dead

PostPosted: Sat 22 Jan 2011, 12:32    Post subject:  

GrumpyWolfe wrote:
that is not happening on my acer notebook what is you computer

The compaq in my sig.

_________________
Dell D610 1.7M w/1024mb
Testing Slacko and a few others
I'm Max Wachtel and I approve this message.
Registered Linux User #393236
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 27 Jan 2011, 13:27    Post subject:  

Grumpy I got curios on your wolfe again and I downloaded wolf-021 and it worked good.

Apart from that when one use two screen on Acer D250 and one screen is 4:4 format that one want 1024x768 but the pic viewer chose to only give it 1024x600

So would be cool to know how to change that.

this thread is about 024 Alpha but I failed to find the thread about 021 but found 020 so hope it is okay me report here.

Is this wolf with added security? How does that works?

Does it really help against attack from the net.

I guess it helps if one have guests that fiddle with the machine.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GrumpyWolfe


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 496

PostPosted: Thu 27 Jan 2011, 14:41    Post subject:  

hi nooby

I am not sure about the screen control part that is a xorg and xserver and I am not yet that good at that it is running xorg 7.3a and xserver 1.71.

As for net security all puppys are secure for the most part, especially if you have it running as a frugle install. For then the base files are read only and not changeable. That being said you can be tampered with but then you can just delete the save files and you are off and running again, especially if you have backed up your save files. If you run the puppy fire wall and go to shields up you will have all green on the net check of any puppy. So yes it is secure. So the bottom line is that MyWolfe is not more secure it is just as secure as any puppy is.

_________________
Live and Let Live

Acer Aspire One N450 1.66GHz

MyWolfe at Sourceforge
MyWolfe Blog
MyWolfe Groups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
elraven

Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 82
Location: wnc-usa

PostPosted: Thu 27 Jan 2011, 17:51    Post subject: myWolfe-024-alpha  

Hi Grumpywolf Very Happy
I'm still tinkering but so far 024 is pretty good. I put in the missing dependancies for gnome mplayer ( stuff from seamonkey Very Happy ) , but it does not want play any videos. It's ok though. I installed xine gui from package manager and with the mentioned missing stuff in place , xine plays. I love the way 024 handles. It's quite fast too ! Anyway keep up the good work ,more later.
elraven Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GrumpyWolfe


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 496

PostPosted: Thu 27 Jan 2011, 18:25    Post subject:  

Hi elraven

I am working on the next upgrade of the xfce-4.8 trying to get the automount in thunar working not going so well. Do have xine-lib-1.1.19 xine-ui-99.6 and xine-pluger working well. Almost want to forgo the automount and just use pmount there is a bug that will not be fixed until 4.8.1. What do you think.

nooby

Got to looking at some notes if you edit your xorg.config you can edit the second screen and display setting. But please backup your old xorg.config and have a backup of your save file in case thing go bad.

_________________
Live and Let Live

Acer Aspire One N450 1.66GHz

MyWolfe at Sourceforge
MyWolfe Blog
MyWolfe Groups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
elraven

Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 82
Location: wnc-usa

PostPosted: Thu 27 Jan 2011, 20:32    Post subject: MyWolfe-024-alpha  

HI Grumpywolf Very Happy
I think your right to forgo automount . Pmount is good and stable , so stick with that for time being. Things will improve with time , and i'm sure you have lots of ideas you'd like to work on. Sounds good so far .
elraven
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 28 Jan 2011, 07:27    Post subject:  

Thanks GrumpyWolfe that did not help.

It is not something wrong with wolfe though.

Every puppy behave like this except Fluppy, Snow Puppy, Mijnpup and maybe one more.

All the other do this and it relates to every program not only picture view programs.

Chrome or Firefox or whatever program I use limit itself to the screen of the computer hardware and don't care about the external monitor being able to show the 1024x768.

When I look in xorg.config program then they have 1024x768 there so it seems to be something else.

Each program looks somewhere and decide from the info at that place that it should only show within the smallest screen.

Some kind of convention that Jemimah and pemasu? or him only reusing what Jemimah did?

So I should ask Jemimah but I have a vague memory I have already did and that I either failed to get what she told me or maybe never reached her?

So if you have no suggestion then I need to ask her or find somebody else getting what is going on. Very annoying to have a big screen and not being able to make use of it.

LHP LightHousePuppy use Ziberts special widget that show Clock and CPU and Weather and a lot of things.

Can that be installed on MyWolfe too? How do I find the pet?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 28 Jan 2011, 19:29    Post subject:  

I am in LightHouse Puppy linux now and what Jemimah told me seems to be true for LHP.

I should not use JWM I tried the other three desktop managers and they all work with 1024x768 so now I will check that option on every puppy that failed before. Smile

Your Wolfe seems to use JWM desktopmanager.

I've tested a lot of Puppies now after Jemimah told me to chose one that have no JWM or could change to something else.

And every Puppy that could use IceWM or Openbox or LXDE or somethign all of them could show 1024x768 while very JWM except Snow Puppy failed to show it and them insisted to stay with 1024x600 so if others have same problem they can test to look for these puppies.

Fluppy, Puppeee, Snow Puppy, MijnPup, eliteos Puppy but change to IceWM from JWM, Lighthouse Puppy lhp-502 but change to something else than JWM, lupu-510 puppy but use IceWM instead,

I fail to boot lupu520 so I don't know if they can use IceWM but most likely they can.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 9 [123 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0805s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0057s) ][ GZIP on ]