Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 23 Oct 2014, 15:30
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Virtualization
VMware Player 3.1.5
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 4 [58 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
TheAsterisk!


Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 403
Location: SE Wisconsin, US

PostPosted: Mon 29 Nov 2010, 17:26    Post subject:  VMware Player 3.1.5
Subject description: virtual machine
 

http://www.vmware.com/products/player/

You'll need the devx and kernel source files for whichever Puppy version you plan to use. (I've tested it on Puppy 431, Lucid 511 through 528, and on Slacko 531.)
EDIT: There is a note and an additional dependency for Lucid 520 through 528 in the thread's third post.

Before anyone gets their hopes up too high, VMware's license (if I've read it correctly) states that I can't (re)distribute the actual binary, so you'll still have to get that from their site yourself.
Having said that, I've put together a dotpet to install their binary *.bundle file. Arguably, it abuses the pinstall.sh and puninstall.sh scripts' purposes, but it works, and the ultimate aim is to use it to allow everyone to package up their own VMware Player SFS, if they want to.

CAUTION! VMware Player may not work with 3-series kernel versions. More information to come after confirmation and some tests.

WARNING! Sometimes, the limited user "spot" and the "su" command can get messed up and rendered inoperable in Lucid Puppies when loading multiple large SFS files. (I don't know the underlying cause, but the problem is not present in Slacko 530/531.) The VMware SFS, if you choose to make one, is no exception. Keep that in mind, and plan accordingly.

Here's the dotpet:
vmware_player-3.1.5-491717.i386.pet
Use this if you plan to make an SFS file with my script later.

There is also an alternate installer which instead installs the VMware Player software to a folder in /mnt/home, freeing up savefile space without the need to later build an SFS.
vmware_player-3.1.5-491717.i386_alt.pet
Note that this package may not be made into an SFS later, unless you do so on your own, by hand.

md5sums for both packages

The dotpet itself it only a few KB, but it will be used to unpack VMware's *.bundle file, and in doing so you'll end up eating about 300 MB of disk space or savefile. Make sure you're ready for it.

For the dotpet to work, place a copy of the VMware *.bundle into /mnt/home, and then install the pet package. The install script will help it along and fix the *.desktop file. Assuming you have the necessary space, this is all you really need to do.
(Keep a copy of the *.bundle- my script deletes the one at /mnt/home.)


After you've installed the pet, you can opt to create an SFS module from that installation. There's a big, 300 MB reason to do so, if you have a frugal installation and did not elect to use the alternate PET.
I've made a script that will pull together the required files and create an SFS module.

Here it is
vmplayer-3.1.5_sfs_script.tar.gz
md5sum.txt

Just extract it to "/mnt/home/", run it in a terminal, and follow the prompts. The SFS it created on my test runs came out at around 95 to 100 MB.

The SFS it creates is at least to some extent not reliant on the specific kernel of the Puppy you installed the pet and bundle into. I never could get some of the darned drivers to be recognized as a part of an SFS, and it would just recompile them. I eventually just accepted this and omitted the troublesome drivers from the SFS. As a result, it compiles these drivers on the first run from the SFS, and I've been able to run the same SFS on Lucid 511, 520, and 528 and on Puppy 431. If you're adventurous, you could try other versions of Puppy, too.

Once you've made the SFS, you can just uninstall the dotpet from the package manager. I've utilized the puninstall.sh script just as much as pinstall.sh, so it should remove all of VMware's files like a normal package should, and then you can run the SFS cleanly.


If you decide to unload/uninstall the SFS later, there are a few files that will stay behind unless you remove them yourself.
sfs_uninstall_note.txt

Last edited by TheAsterisk! on Mon 07 May 2012, 18:26; edited 18 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
TheAsterisk!


Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 403
Location: SE Wisconsin, US

PostPosted: Mon 29 Nov 2010, 17:30    Post subject:  

Altogether a bit hacky, but this seems easier to me than blundering about with the *.bundle has always felt.

The following thread was a big help:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=51278

Finally, if using the install scripts like I have is a taboo, let me know right away so I don't do it again. It's actually kind of fun to watch a dotpet installation or removal do so much work! Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
TheAsterisk!


Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 403
Location: SE Wisconsin, US

PostPosted: Fri 07 Jan 2011, 16:12    Post subject:  

I've only just begun testing Lucid Puppy 520 in preparation for moving all my personal junk to it, and I discovered another dependency for 520.

On the first run, when the VMware drivers compile, I ran it from a terminal and received complaints about GNOME settings that weren't set, and VMware refused to run.
Turns out, the HAL daemon that was in 511 isn't in 520. (Why it instead complains about GNOME stuff is beyond me.)

There is an additional dependency for Lucid 520 and 525!
I've repackaged some Ubuntu Lucid binaries, and they seem to fill the need:
hal-0.5.15-i386.pet
md5sum.txt

The dot-pet is about half a megabyte, installed roughly 1.7 to 1.8 MB.
After installation of this package, you should reboot unless you want to try starting up the HAL daemon manually.

There are also some GConf complaints that amount to nothing important, and you might need to install the higher-performance graphics drivers for your system.


If you opt to create an SFS with my script, it will not include HAL. You'll either need to keep this dot-pet installed or add this dot-pet's contents to the SFS manually.

Last edited by TheAsterisk! on Sun 28 Aug 2011, 02:19; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
dickieblack

Joined: 20 Aug 2008
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu 13 Jan 2011, 17:56    Post subject:  

Hi,

Thanks for the effort to make these .pets and the sfs creation script. I have tried this using Lucid Puppy 5.20 and have received a bunch of gconftool errors when I run the vmplayer from a terminal. I have installed the hal pet you provided. The player seems to run though, so I'm not sure if it matters.

However, when I run the create sfs script, I get an error "cp: cannot stat `usr/bin/vmmouse_detect': No such file or directory"

Also, is it possible to have the sfs file include a desktop icon for the player, so that when the sfs is loaded it appears on the desktop, but when it is not loaded it doesn't (in the same way that the open office one does? I know it is only a very minor thing, but it would be extremely helpful Smile

Many thanks,

Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TheAsterisk!


Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 403
Location: SE Wisconsin, US

PostPosted: Sat 15 Jan 2011, 19:10    Post subject:  

dickieblack wrote:
Hi,

Thanks for the effort to make these .pets and the sfs creation script.

No problem! It kind of became a quest for me, as I've struggled with VMware's *.bundle installers in the past.
Quote:
I have tried this using Lucid Puppy 5.20 and have received a bunch of gconftool errors when I run the vmplayer from a terminal. I have installed the hal pet you provided. The player seems to run though, so I'm not sure if it matters.

If it matters, it's not terribly critical. Most of those same errors presented themselves on all the versions I tested, but the VMs all run just fine, creating new VMs works, etc.
Quote:
However, when I run the create sfs script, I get an error "cp: cannot stat `usr/bin/vmmouse_detect': No such file or directory"

That file is (sometimes) created after running a VM, so I wrote my script to package it up. If it isn't present, my somewhat hacky script will just return that error. It's nothing to worry about.
Quote:
Also, is it possible to have the sfs file include a desktop icon for the player, so that when the sfs is loaded it appears on the desktop, but when it is not loaded it doesn't (in the same way that the open office one does? I know it is only a very minor thing, but it would be extremely helpful Smile

I'll see if I can't figure out how to do that. If and when I do, I'll update my script and note the change somewhere in this thread.
In the meantime, there should be a menu entry under "Menu -> System -> System Status and Config -> VMware Player" if you just don't want to launch it from the terminal. If it's not showing up, let me know.
EDIT: Oops! That's where the menu entry is in Lucid Puppy! In 431, it's just "Menu -> System -> VMware Player" instead.
Quote:
Many thanks,

Richard

Glad I can help!

Last edited by TheAsterisk! on Sun 30 Jan 2011, 10:21; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1776
Location: wales

PostPosted: Sun 23 Jan 2011, 13:12    Post subject:  

Hi TheAsterisk!

I'm having a bit of trouble. on lucid puppy 520

i've installed the 'devx', and the 'hal-0.5.15-i386.pet', and the install goes fine.
But when i try to start vmware though i get this error, ... any ideas?

thanks

666philb
erm.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   39.28 KB
 Viewed   2664 Time(s)

erm.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1776
Location: wales

PostPosted: Sun 23 Jan 2011, 14:31    Post subject:  

It's ok i found the solution in this thread.........

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=51278

i needed the 'kernel_src_L4-2.6.33.2-patched.sfs' which works fine with lucid puppy 520

Thanks for the good work TheAsterisk!!!!
i really appreciate it. I think it breaths new life into puppy!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TheAsterisk!


Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 403
Location: SE Wisconsin, US

PostPosted: Sun 30 Jan 2011, 10:23    Post subject:  

Updated the sfs script. Now it will present an option in the terminal to include a desktop icon/shortcut.

Note that the sfs-creation archive (script and a few extra files) must be extracted to and run from /mnt/home/ to work correctly.

Nothing else has changed, so if a desktop icon isn't important to you (or you can create one by hand), you don't need to start over, replacing the older gzipped script. In all cases, the dot-pet that installs the *.bundle is unchanged.


@666philb: If something bugs me and I can help remedy it, then I give it a shot. Thanks for the kind words!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Luluc


Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 200

PostPosted: Wed 16 Mar 2011, 04:22    Post subject:  

Hi. I am a Puppy newbie and this is my very first post here.

I've been testing Puppy for a couple of days, I find it very interesting. VMplayer is one very important component for me. I never bothered to research the particulars of its installation on Puppy. I just went ahead and installed it the regular way, i.e. the way it is installed in other distros. It didn't work, of course. Slap on my forehead. Now I want to try following this procedure here, but first I want to uninstall the existing installation. If only I knew how to do that. Do you, people?

I suppose I could just run vmware-uninstall, but I thought that maybe I should come here and ask for some input before I do something stupid in this peculiar distro.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 16 Mar 2011, 04:52    Post subject:  

I've tested several linux distros on Puppy using Vbox. How does VMware player behave compared to latest pet for Vbox for Puppy?
_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Luluc


Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 200

PostPosted: Wed 16 Mar 2011, 05:00    Post subject:  

I haven't tried Virtual Box on Puppy. I have tried it on Slackware, Suse and Ubuntu several times over the last four years and the result was always the same -- painfully slow, unusable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DPUP5520

Joined: 16 Feb 2011
Posts: 801

PostPosted: Wed 16 Mar 2011, 08:38    Post subject:  

I'd have to disagree with Luluc's post about Vbox being way too slow, I've been using it on puppy for a while now to run XP and 7 and it works just fine, maybe not as fast as they would run installed but just fine none the less. Vbox is also alot easier for me as I run live-cds and Vbox doesn't take up all that much space whereas putting VMWARE together in a live cd is a pain and winds up being Huge due to requiring the kernel source files and devx sfs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 16 Mar 2011, 08:48    Post subject:  

I know nothing about VMware that is why I got curious on this thread.

Vbox are rather easy to learn how to set it up but are slow while VMware are fast executing but steeper learning curve how to get everything working smoothly together.

Edit ah so Vbox is not that slow? DPUP5520 that sound reassuring but then it must have been me doing it wrong because some linux distros took forever to and locked up all the time.

But I love all such things so good that we also have VMware for puppy.
We have Qemu too and what about that Zen thing. Are them painfully slow or hard to set up?

The good thing about them all are that one can test drive doing installs in the virtual so one get a bit experience of how programs behave but it is so different from the real thing so it is not so easy to know how a real install would behave.

One way would be to use VMware on lupu and then install lupu again and compare the speed of things?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DPUP5520

Joined: 16 Feb 2011
Posts: 801

PostPosted: Wed 16 Mar 2011, 10:13    Post subject:  

Nooby I think the bigger possibility why it runs fine for me is because of my box, I only have a few older boxes and run different OSs on them and all the puppies I test are on boxes that have been put together/built in the last few years. I use Vbox on the puppy that I run on my laptop that I use for work at home I suppose if I ran it on a bit of an older system with a slower cpu and less ram it would probably slow down signifigantly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TheAsterisk!


Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 403
Location: SE Wisconsin, US

PostPosted: Mon 28 Mar 2011, 11:27    Post subject:  

I tend to use VMware, only because VBox holds my hand so much that it occasionally limits my options. For instance, VBox will throw up loads of warnings and sometimes refuse to run if you assign >50% of the physical RAM to the VM, but VMware just nods and chugs on merrily. When running a bloated system like Windows on top of the minimally demanding Puppy, I don't feel like I should have to reserve 768 MB of memory for Puppy just because I've already assigned 768 MB to Windows, when really Puppy can just make do with maybe 384 MB while running the VM. (A Windows VM needs all the extra help and muscle I can spare it, in my experience.)

For trying out other distributions, though, VBox's comparative simplicity does pretty well, and it's fine if you aren't trying to push your machine farther than you really ought to. I run FreeDOS in VBox, too, since the memory and processor demands are almost inconsequential.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 4 [58 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Virtualization
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1014s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0049s) ][ GZIP on ]