Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 21 Nov 2014, 14:18
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy 5.20 PDF printing error (semi-solved -- strange bug)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2668
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 27 Jan 2011, 23:33    Post_subject:  Puppy 5.20 PDF printing error (semi-solved -- strange bug)  

OK, I have installed Puppy 5.20 (previous version was 4.3.1), and seem to have everything working except the printer. I want to print to a PDF, and nothing seems to happen.

Opening up the control panel, I see:

Code:
CUPS-PDF-7     Jobs - CUPS 1.4.3     root     136k     Unknown     canceled at
Sat Jan 29 02:21:58 2011
"/usr/lib/cups/filter/cpdftocps failed"


It's also curious that the date/timestamp is in the future (it's Jan 27 right now...)

I did several searches, but find no such errors for 5.20. Has anyone else seen this? Is there some simple adjustment I need to make?

Trying "pdf-writer" seems to produce no output, which is also strange:

Code:
pdf_writer-8     Jobs - CUPS 1.4.3     root     136k     Unknown     completed at
Sat Jan 29 02:21:52 2011

_________________
Add swapfile

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9255
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 27 Jan 2011, 23:52    Post_subject:  

I just did a fresh frugal install of Lupu 520 and both PDF writers worked fine. What else have you installed?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2668
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 28 Jan 2011, 00:10    Post_subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
I just did a fresh frugal install of Lupu 520 and both PDF writers worked fine. What else have you installed?


Firefox and the "mg" editor from Debian (I had this latter in 4.3.1). Oh, and I placed tclkit in /usr/local/bin/

Update: I wondered if some of the Firefox plugins were causing the problem, but the same non-print occurs when I try it from Geany.

_________________
Add swapfile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2668
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat 29 Jan 2011, 01:04    Post_subject:  

Update #2.

I booted booted to RAM (no lupusave), and before installing anything at all, tried printing both to CUPS-PDF and pdf_writer. Neither produced an output -- neither asked for a filename...

checking the job status shows pdf_writer as "completed", and CUPS-PDF as "failed".

Again, the dates on each job is shown about 48 hours in the future...

Update #3: OK, now this is REALLY, REALLY, REALLY SILLY... Evil or Very Mad Evil or Very Mad Evil or Very Mad

What apparently broke the printer was changing the Hostname from "puppypc" to something else.

Now why would this name make any difference to the local PDF "printer"?

I guess that what remains to be seen is whether naming every computer on my network "puppypc" will cause issues...

Update#4: Booting up my previously fully configured and working lupusave (but with broken printer), I edited /etc/hostname and changed the name back to puppypc. Rebooted and reloaded this lupusave, and now the printer works...

Is the printer hard wired to look for that hostname, and thus a name change breaks the path?... What gives?

_________________
Add swapfile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Sat 29 Jan 2011, 03:35    Post_subject:  

makes sense, since they're just human readable addresses
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2668
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun 30 Jan 2011, 11:30    Post_subject:  

jpeps wrote:
makes sense, since they're just human readable addresses


It doesn't make sense to me...

It would be like having a working Chevy truck, and as soon as I put a Ford sticker on it, the wheels all fall off... Laughing

I would not expect the machine (or more relevantly, the local machine) to care what you call the local machine, for tools in the local machine to work.

It seems that the PDF printers somehow only want to print on the machine "puppypc", and could not "print to PDF" on the exact same hardware, if that machine were called "jpeps"...

_________________
Add swapfile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9255
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 30 Jan 2011, 12:16    Post_subject:  

RetroTechGuy wrote:
What apparently broke the printer was changing the Hostname from "puppypc" to something else.Now why would this name make any difference to the local PDF "printer"?Is the printer hard wired to look for that hostname, and thus a name change breaks the path?... What gives?

This issue came up a while ago. There is some code in the pdf-writer backend that is tied to the hostname. There are some work-arounds, but I've forgotten. I'll get back to you on this.

Why do you need to change the hostname?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9255
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 30 Jan 2011, 12:30    Post_subject:  

Try this:

Go to /usr/lib/cups/backend and open the file pdf-writer. Line 69 is
Code:
PUPPY_LINUX=`uname -a | grep -ic puppy`

Change "puppy" to the new hostname. Don't accidentally delete the final back-tick character.

I'm not sure why the code was written that way. It appears to have something to do with remote printing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Sun 30 Jan 2011, 16:19    Post_subject:  

I think hostnames are connected to local IP addreses and other identifiers that provide maps to/for the local device.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2668
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue 01 Feb 2011, 12:13    Post_subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Try this:

Go to /usr/lib/cups/backend and open the file pdf-writer. Line 69 is
Code:
PUPPY_LINUX=`uname -a | grep -ic puppy`

Change "puppy" to the new hostname. Don't accidentally delete the final back-tick character.

I'm not sure why the code was written that way. It appears to have something to do with remote printing.


Thanks rcrsn51, I'll give it a try in a few days (not at the machine I was testing).

I'm currently working on migrating all my computers to Lupu 520 (and just LinNWin-ed my XP laptop, which is working fine!)

_________________
Add swapfile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1536
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Fri 11 Feb 2011, 16:12    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Go to /usr/lib/cups/backend and open the file pdf-writer. Line 69 is
Code:
PUPPY_LINUX=`uname -a | grep -ic puppy`

Looking at that code, I see that PUPPY_LINUX is used only to identify running in a puppy environment, versus any other distro. A bit tricky, to me, with an unintended consequence. Here is another way to set it to indicate running in puppy:
Code:
[ ! -f /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE ]
PUPPY_LINUX=$?
I have not tested pdf-writer with this, but those who are already modifying the script might try it. (I tested in a console.) The variable is set to "1" for puppy, otherwise zero -- the later test is for zero.

Barry might have a "standard" way to identify that a distro is a puppy, but this is what came to mind right now.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 11 Feb 2011, 18:56    Post_subject:  

That looks ok to me rerwin.. but the question in my mind is.. why even have that test at all? It is obvious the script is heavily modded for Puppy.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Roy

Joined: 31 Dec 2008
Posts: 442

PostPosted: Sat 12 Feb 2011, 00:50    Post_subject:  

If I remember correctly, the work-around or fix for creating (printing to file) a .pdf document with a changed host name was to add a blank file named .Xauthority to root (the period before the file name indicating that it is a hidden file).

-Roy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
wuwei


Joined: 15 Sep 2007
Posts: 774
Location: de

PostPosted: Sat 26 Mar 2011, 08:19    Post_subject:  

Yep

reporting the exact same problem on luci257.

Changed hostname and pdf printer didn't work anymore.

Thanks to rcrsn51, it's up and running again.

And....Roy's recommendation works, as well (after undoing rcrsn51's).

Thanks to both!

Why change hostname?
With 5 frugal Puppies on one machine, try Xmarks addon in Firefox. You won't be amused about the screw-ups there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1020
Location: South of Belgium

PostPosted: Sun 27 Mar 2011, 04:45    Post_subject:
Sub_title: tested on puppy-4.20-Xtreme
 

@rcrsn51!
in puppy 4.20 I edited /usr/lib/cups/backend/pdf-writer
Before editing I had regularly non-working-pdf-writer with an error message as mentionned by forum member Retro TechGuy.
rerwin wrote:
Go to /usr/lib/cups/backend and open the file pdf-writer. Line 69 is
Code:
PUPPY_LINUX=`uname -a | grep -ic puppy`

I commented that line (Nr 78 in puppy-4.20-Xtreme) and added afterwards lines 79 and 80 as (copy + paste):
Code:
[ ! -f /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE ]
PUPPY_LINUX=$?

Now it seems it works.
Thanks to all !
Cheers, Charlie
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0889s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0078s) ][ GZIP on ]