Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 16:31
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
431-KDE-Slax 02
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 8 [107 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
TLM


Joined: 09 Mar 2010
Posts: 173
Location: Central United States

PostPosted: Sun 06 Feb 2011, 03:17    Post subject:  

Linux Firewall wizard does not work. Need some kind of firewall. Researching...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 06 Feb 2011, 04:10    Post subject:  

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=448608#448608

That is a firewall tool by Mobeus, try it Smile

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
TLM


Joined: 09 Mar 2010
Posts: 173
Location: Central United States

PostPosted: Sun 06 Feb 2011, 16:02    Post subject:  

Thanks 01micko
That PET installs and I can use the default settings. Any idea how to know if the firewall is actually running? Should it show up as a process?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pri


Joined: 09 Oct 2009
Posts: 330
Location: Bandung Indonesia

PostPosted: Sun 06 Feb 2011, 21:43    Post subject: firewall  

firewall not working ?
seem working for me when using dialup. dont know if using an other conection, TLM what conection do you use ?

_________________
Learning by Doing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
TLM


Joined: 09 Mar 2010
Posts: 173
Location: Central United States

PostPosted: Mon 07 Feb 2011, 00:13    Post subject:  

pri,
i use an ethernet connection. But I do not know how to verify that a firewall is actually running. When you click on Linux Firewall Wizard from the Setup menu, nothing happens. So I downloaded the PET that 01micko mentioned in his post and I ran that firewall from the Network menu (Firewall Genie), but how do I know that it is actually running?

I installed lxtask from the Puppy Package Manger because Ksysguard does not work. Is there a process in lxtask that reflects the firewall running?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
whitlecj

Joined: 06 Feb 2011
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon 07 Feb 2011, 00:48    Post subject:  

I am new to puppy but I have some issues

1. Can't get google chrome installed
2. Cant get tap to work on my trackpad
3. Can we remove the windows sounds?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pri


Joined: 09 Oct 2009
Posts: 330
Location: Bandung Indonesia

PostPosted: Mon 07 Feb 2011, 07:37    Post subject:  

1. i think chrome need an other libs, try to execute chrome from terminal
2. dont have trackpad option i think Embarassed
3. i buid this to make it similar to windows and easy use, but you cant rid it off by using kde option for sound

_________________
Learning by Doing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
whitlecj

Joined: 06 Feb 2011
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon 07 Feb 2011, 09:22    Post subject:  

Thanks for the reply. Will you be updating it to include trackpad options or is this just a one time release. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pri


Joined: 09 Oct 2009
Posts: 330
Location: Bandung Indonesia

PostPosted: Mon 07 Feb 2011, 13:27    Post subject: 431-KDE-Slax ***bluetooth now working***  

added kbluetooth, now you can send and receive file from handphone.
device name = slax pass = 0000

_________________
Learning by Doing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
enhu


Joined: 26 May 2009
Posts: 301

PostPosted: Tue 08 Feb 2011, 22:07    Post subject:  

i like it. Very Happy however, my keyboard turned out to be so sensitive unlike when i use other puppies
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
TLM


Joined: 09 Mar 2010
Posts: 173
Location: Central United States

PostPosted: Wed 09 Feb 2011, 01:15    Post subject: Linux Firewall Fixed!  

I figured out why the linux firewall will not run. They are set to open with rxvt terminal emulator. However rxvt is not installed. Here is how to fix:

Go to /usr/share/applications

Now find the following two .desktop files:

Linux-Firewall.desktop
Linux-Firewall-Wizard.desktop

Right click on each of these and open them with a text editor(use the Open With option, NOT the Preview in Embedded option-you will have to browse to Document category) I edited the files with Kwrite.

The Exec=rxvt -e firewallinstallshell needs to be changed to:
Exec=konsole -e firewall install shell

Do this for both of the above mentioned .desktop files and they will now open and run in Konsole and you can configure your firewall.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pri


Joined: 09 Oct 2009
Posts: 330
Location: Bandung Indonesia

PostPosted: Wed 09 Feb 2011, 21:18    Post subject: firewall  

TLM, thks.

i did not notice that Embarassed i have rxvt here.
to make it simple, mybe just make a link to konsole with rxvt name

ok i make it note for further fixs.

_________________
Learning by Doing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
alfa and omega


Joined: 24 Aug 2010
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Fri 11 Feb 2011, 20:07    Post subject: 431 -KDE-Slax
Subject description: Work very well!!!
 

Hello Pri,


I'm running the system directly from cd with files saved on a usb. I tried installing the usb and showed a sudden closure of the installation program.
Maybe you help me with this. Otherwise, everything is going very well.
You should be congratulated for the wonderful job, because the system ran fine using the base of Slax. I like Slax. You could add slax + puppy, wonderful!
Pri Congratulations for your good work!
Cheers and go ahead my friend!

Att,

Alpha and omega of Brazil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kayan


Joined: 14 Feb 2008
Posts: 90
Location: India

PostPosted: Sat 12 Feb 2011, 02:36    Post subject:  

@pri

can we install slax modules ? if so, help please

Once again thanks for creating such an excellent KDE pup Very Happy

THIS HAS BECOME MY FAVORITE PUP

With Warm Regards

kayan

_________________
SAHARA laptop intel celeron M 1.4 GHz/ 768Mb Ram /40GB ,SIS 661 chipset,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
blazej

Joined: 04 Dec 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun 13 Feb 2011, 18:45    Post subject:  

Thank you so much for an excellent addition to the Puppy family. I was looking for something like that. KDE 3.5 is a lot more functional in many ways than the newer versions. With a liitle bit of work, I got this to work without even burning a CD first... Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 8 [107 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0830s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0170s) ][ GZIP on ]