Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 31 Oct 2014, 03:52
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » REQUESTS
How do I install EMC2 Engineering/Science simulator?
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
eccentric

Joined: 05 Jan 2006
Posts: 139
Location: Khon Kaen Thailand.....NOW back in the UK

PostPosted: Wed 02 Feb 2011, 02:19    Post_subject:  How do I install EMC2 Engineering/Science simulator?  

I have placed a request for help under engineering . science . simulation.
with the installation of EMC2.

Michael an eccentric Englishman.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM MSNM 
GustavoYz


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 897
Location: .ar

PostPosted: Wed 09 Feb 2011, 01:16    Post_subject: Re: How do I install EMC2 Engineering/Science simulator?  

eccentric wrote:
I have placed a request for help under engineering . science . simulation.
with the installation of EMC2.


This program? :
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=63973

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
eccentric

Joined: 05 Jan 2006
Posts: 139
Location: Khon Kaen Thailand.....NOW back in the UK

PostPosted: Wed 09 Feb 2011, 03:02    Post_subject: emc2
Sub_title: thank you
 

Hello GustavoYz.
Thank you for the pointer to that Pet, but i cannot make it run, from what i can gather it is a simulation.
Michael.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM MSNM 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6449
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 09 Feb 2011, 03:31    Post_subject:  

Can you provide a link to the program you mean, if that is not it?

Quote:
but i cannot make it run

Why not? Do you get an error message if you try to start it from a terminal?
Did you install the dependencies?

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
eccentric

Joined: 05 Jan 2006
Posts: 139
Location: Khon Kaen Thailand.....NOW back in the UK

PostPosted: Thu 10 Feb 2011, 23:46    Post_subject: Installing EMC2
Sub_title: reply to Disciple.
 

Hello Disciple, The pet i installed was the one recommended by Emil, and written by "Deepsea". i tried both 5.2 & 4.3.1 with the extra file. but from the terminal it will start, then said it failed.. in the message in root there is no reason given. but i understand it is only a simulation. what i am looking for is a working Puppy with EMC2. i am limited to "hello world" in the art of software. i am more electronics, electro mechanical minded, ( this is that i know which end of a screwdriver to hold and not get a shock from the mains ) i have all ready designed and built the stepper motor drivers. and tested them with the old EMC, it is no longer supported..
thank you for your interest in this matter, Michael an eccentric.

P.S are we not all disciples of B.K. ??????
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM MSNM 
emil

Joined: 10 Nov 2009
Posts: 618
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Fri 11 Feb 2011, 01:40    Post_subject:  

Can this give some hint?
http://wiki.linuxcnc.org/emcinfo.pl?Installing_EMC2#Building_emc2_realtime
realtime kernel = Puppy studio -just a guess
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
eccentric

Joined: 05 Jan 2006
Posts: 139
Location: Khon Kaen Thailand.....NOW back in the UK

PostPosted: Fri 11 Feb 2011, 04:06    Post_subject: EMC2
Sub_title: Reply to Emil
 

Hello again Emil, thank you for your suggestion, i looked at the site, but with my lack of knowledge in the matter of software, to say i would find it difficult is an under statement, I have downloaded puppy studio 3.3 and burnt a dvd. and i will write to the author, and ask it possible to add EMC2
as his base has the real time included.

Thanks for the prompt reply .......... Michael.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM MSNM 
GustavoYz


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 897
Location: .ar

PostPosted: Fri 11 Feb 2011, 04:12    Post_subject:  Quiestions
Sub_title: Help its just a state of mind...
 

Did you try to boot up the sfs into StudioPup?
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
eccentric

Joined: 05 Jan 2006
Posts: 139
Location: Khon Kaen Thailand.....NOW back in the UK

PostPosted: Fri 11 Feb 2011, 06:02    Post_subject: emc2
Sub_title: sfs converter
 

Hello again GustavoYz, thank you for your suggestion, i have on a thumb drive emc2.2.2.7, but i need to make this into a sfs file before the converter program can convert this to a format that 3.3 can use. i do not know how to achieve this. I downloaded 2.2.27 some while ago, but will get the latest version when i find out how to convert to sfs file system.
I am writing to you from .3.3., i have written to the author of 3.3 to ask for his advice.

Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM MSNM 
emil

Joined: 10 Nov 2009
Posts: 618
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Fri 11 Feb 2011, 08:10    Post_subject:  

eccentric,

according to the puppy studio thread it is based on lucid 5.2
So the emc pet package should work there. I don't understand what converion you mean?

emil
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
eccentric

Joined: 05 Jan 2006
Posts: 139
Location: Khon Kaen Thailand.....NOW back in the UK

PostPosted: Sat 12 Feb 2011, 01:27    Post_subject: EMC2
Sub_title: test in Studio 3.3
 

Emil, and GustavoYz,
I did try the pet written by Deepsea in 3.3 but the result was the same. my understanding of SFS file system is that you enter a program that is already in SFS format, and the converter program
will reformat the program you entered in to a SFS that the kernel of the puppy you are using will recognize, but i would not be surprised to find i have misunderstood the working of SFS. I wrote a PM to the author of 3.3
he replied that 3.1 would be better as that is stable, and 3.3 is beta.
also he said he is not familiar with Emc2. So what i need to know is how to convert the EMC2 file i downloaded from their site in to a SFS file that i can add to studio 3.1 . any help is most welcome, to help me overcome my lack of knowledge in this matter.
Now i must find a copy of studio 3.1 to download.
I am sorry i have to ask the most mundane questions, but this how i learn, you can teach an old dog new tricks, but it is not easy.

Michael.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM MSNM 
GustavoYz


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 897
Location: .ar

PostPosted: Sat 12 Feb 2011, 02:03    Post_subject:  

Hi Mike, try should work:

Do this on the Puppy (or pupplet in which you'd like to use the results):
**1º Put the pet that you want to turn into an SfS file inside an empty folder. You're going to need free space on that partition, so make sure of having it before keep going.
**2º Rename the pet, modifying the '.pet' extension by 'tar.gz'. Don't worry about the error msg, its normal.
**3º Now extract this new 'Wherever.tar.gz' (just hit 'extract all' after open it). Now you should see a new folder with exactly the same name that the tar.gz file of previous step.
**4º Right on an empty area of that folder to open the ROX contextual menu. There choose Window >> Terminal Here (that's going to open a console).
**5º In the console, write dir2pet and the exactly name of the folder in the 3º step. For example, if the pet name its just 'emc2', the code should be:
Code:
dir2pet emc2

Let it finish (it takes some time)...

Now you'll see a new SFS file and a txt file (you can ignore that, its the md5 checksum). Move it to your home partition and run the 'Boot Manager' to add it into the layered file system.

Sorry, maybe its not a clear tutorial but it should work...
Hope so.
Regards.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
eccentric

Joined: 05 Jan 2006
Posts: 139
Location: Khon Kaen Thailand.....NOW back in the UK

PostPosted: Sat 12 Feb 2011, 02:23    Post_subject: Emc2
Sub_title: reply to GustavoYz
 

GustavoYz, Thank you for this detailed help, i will have a short sleep,then a strong coffee, then latter i will let you i how i got on with this.
i am sure once i have mastered this skill, i will not have to keep asking for help. at the moment i am downloading studio 3.1 then i will burn a DVD

Michael.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM MSNM 
eccentric

Joined: 05 Jan 2006
Posts: 139
Location: Khon Kaen Thailand.....NOW back in the UK

PostPosted: Sat 12 Feb 2011, 07:33    Post_subject: emc2
Sub_title: help from GustavoYz
 

Hello GustavoYz. after downloading studio 3.1 i could not see the sfs program in this version.. so i am writing to you from studio 3.3.... Now i have been to sourceforge and downloaded EMC2_2.4.4.tar.gz the latest version. could you be very kind and modify your instructions to use this version. i have saved this on a thumb drive, as i will loose it on shut down. the icon is an open box, but no puppy, as this icon is used for pets with a puppy,s head and a box..
I can extract the files from the tar.gz and there are many.
the old one, emc2.2.2.7 downloaded as a folder, when you clicked on it you get many files, about 33meg. the new one must be compressed, as the down load is only 10.5 meg.

Thank you for your help thus far............Michael.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM MSNM 
GustavoYz


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 897
Location: .ar

PostPosted: Sun 13 Feb 2011, 02:53    Post_subject:  

Hi again Michael 'the eccentric'...
Its running on my new Lucid Puppy 520. I'm thinking on place a request for help to do something with it Very Happy... Jokes Besides, this is what i did to make it run on here (i don't test too much, just choose a few configurations until find one that works).

*Download and install this pets:
http://dotpups.de/puppy4/dotpups/Science/emc2/emc2.pet
http://sage.math.washington.edu/home/emil/stuff/tcltk8.4-tkinter.pet
*Now get the devxxx SFS and put it into the bootmanager, in order to have python running. If you're running Lucid 520, like me, get it on here http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/puppy-5.2/lupu_devx_520.sfs. This SFS part its very important, so be sure of have it done.
Check the second cap, sfs_load.

Then, if its posible, reboot your computer and reload all the puppy sistem.

Open the console and write this:
Code:
emc

I have absolutely no idea of what all those options means... But i choose 'max5triv.ini' and works (see the first cap). When i choose another, it doesn't becouse its missing some .so file...
test.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  test.jpg 
Filesize  217.49 KB 
Downloaded  346 Time(s) 
sfs_load.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   44.79 KB
 Viewed   1808 Time(s)

sfs_load.jpg


_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » REQUESTS
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0864s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0052s) ][ GZIP on ]