Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Sep 2014, 12:18
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Puppy CD won't boot
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
Aberto
Guest


PostPosted: Sat 02 Jul 2005, 08:46    Post subject:  Puppy CD won't boot  

Hello! I downloaded, checked by md5summer, burned and verified the writing
of an ISO image of Puppy 1.0.3, then I changed the boot sequence in BIOS just to boot by CDRom first, but something wrong must be in my BIOS as that sequence was ignored and the system always booted by C: where is Windows 98 SE. The same happened with a Knoppix live CD I had previously which I could boot either by CDROM or by floppy disk just changing the boot sequence. Now even with it I have to boot by floppy first. As I am a beginner in such things I will be grateful if somebody can help me in solving this problem, and also, I'd like to know if there is a way to prepare a Puppy boot by floppy disk which is, for now, the only way I can follow to start another O.S.
Thanks a lot in advance,
Alberto
Back to top
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Sat 02 Jul 2005, 09:13    Post subject:  

What are the specs on your machine ?

Is it a name brand ie Dell, Acer, Compaq, IBM ?

Are you using modern hardware or older hardware ?

What is the version of your bios, are they any updates available for it ?

After you change the boot sequence are you saving it ?

If you change the sequence and exit the bios utility and shutdown and power on are the savings as you left them or have they gone back to something else ?

Is the cdrom on the same physical lead as the hard disk ?

If you have 2 ide connectors on the motherboard are you able to put the cdrom on the 2nd connector by itself ?

Have you been able to boot any other cdroms ?
Back to top
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11070
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jul 2005, 10:54    Post subject:  

Are you sure you burned the CD as bootable? What burning software did you use, and what settings? If the iso was properly burned as a bootable CD, you will see several files on the CD when you look at it in Windows, not just the .iso file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
danleff


Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 294
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jul 2005, 17:46    Post subject:  

If Flash is correct, and you just have the iso file on the cd, you did not burn the file as image. This needs to be done to make the disk bootable.

The wiki page has a couple of articles on this;

http://www.goosee.com/puppy/wikka/CreatingAnImageOnCD

and...

http://www.goosee.com/puppy/wikka/BurningLinuxIsoBasics

_________________
I love it when a plan comes together

--Hannibal Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ezeze5000


Joined: 10 May 2005
Posts: 346
Location: Missouri U.S.A

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jul 2005, 20:36    Post subject: ISO burning  

If you are using windows, I have better luck burning iso images if I slow the burner down a notch or two.

Roxio works well except for multisession disks.

I haven't tried Nero.

Follow the wiki instructions closely and Gcombust works very well.

I hope this helps Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Rich

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 278
Location: Middlesbrough - UK

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jul 2005, 04:04    Post subject:  

Nero works fine for me, and has an option to burn as bootable for making the live cd. Ezeze5000 makes a good point about speed, always burn the image on the slowest speed available
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
danleff


Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 294
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jul 2005, 18:06    Post subject:  

Yes, if you are burning the new version, 2X works good. If you are using a cdrw disk, i found 1X is better. Puppy is small enough to do this in a reasonable amount of time.

...and make sure that you choose burn an image, not as a data disk.

_________________
I love it when a plan comes together

--Hannibal Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0508s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0033s) ][ GZIP on ]