Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 21 Aug 2014, 04:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Puppy On Laptops
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 15 of 21 [305 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21 Next
Author Message
eeepuppy

Joined: 29 Oct 2008
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Thu 03 Mar 2011, 07:21    Post subject: Puppy 5.2 don't create the lupusave file  

oui wrote:
fatdog64 works great!

only sorry about the unusual mixture of standard programs compared with puppy...


with fatdog64 I have the same problem i have with puppy5.2. When I reboot does not start the process of creating the save file.
So every time I reboot is the first time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
theZoid


Joined: 21 Mar 2009
Posts: 24
Location: Orlando, FL

PostPosted: Sat 05 Mar 2011, 02:00    Post subject:  

I've tried them all on this MSI Wind and without a doubt the best Puppy for me is Puppeee. Everything is good now Smile
_________________
DΞLL Precision M6500 "Big Dog": i7-820QM w/USB 3.0, 8.0GB DDR3-1333, Intel x-25M 160 G2 + 500GB 7200.3, nVidia Quadro FX 3800M 1.0GB DDR3, RGBLED, Intel 6300 //W7P x64/Saline OS Xfce x64
MSI Wind Netbook Puppeee Linux (atom)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
eeepuppy

Joined: 29 Oct 2008
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sat 05 Mar 2011, 07:12    Post subject: Re: Puppy 5.2 don't create the lupusave file  

eeepuppy wrote:
oui wrote:
fatdog64 works great!

only sorry about the unusual mixture of standard programs compared with puppy...


with fatdog64 I have the same problem i have with puppy5.2. When I reboot does not start the process of creating the save file.
So every time I reboot is the first time.


It isn't the best way, but I solved the problem in this way:
I booted from cd on a desktop Puppy5.2 and I created a lupusave file with nothing.
I restarted the desktop and I copied the newly created file on a pendrive.
I inserted the pendrive in the laptop and I started Puppy 5.2.
Puppy5.2 recognized the lupusave file and uploaded it, so I completed the quick start Puppy. The first time you reboot, it seems that it is not done correctly the closure procedure. On the next reboot, the changes were saved and then took over the classic procedure at the end of the session.
I solved and I hope I have helped others to solve a problem, however, shows a bug of Puppy5.2 at least in the configuration I mentioned.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
theZoid


Joined: 21 Mar 2009
Posts: 24
Location: Orlando, FL

PostPosted: Sun 06 Mar 2011, 16:25    Post subject:  

racepres wrote:
theZoid wrote:

Thanks....I tried that and it said "no synaptics touchpad detected"; several times. I'm looking for a more direct way to disable it as it's driving me crazy Smile

Open/Lift the keyboard, and unplug the darn thing... I have done it... it is direct and it does work..
RP


On the MSI U100 Netbook, fn-F3 disables the touchpad Shocked Smile Now I need a script to do this everytime I boot up Smile

_________________
DΞLL Precision M6500 "Big Dog": i7-820QM w/USB 3.0, 8.0GB DDR3-1333, Intel x-25M 160 G2 + 500GB 7200.3, nVidia Quadro FX 3800M 1.0GB DDR3, RGBLED, Intel 6300 //W7P x64/Saline OS Xfce x64
MSI Wind Netbook Puppeee Linux (atom)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bobnutfield


Joined: 23 Jan 2008
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Mon 07 Mar 2011, 11:19    Post subject:  

I thought would add my old lappy to the thread...

Samsung V25 (A christmas gift in 2002, the XP Home gave of the ghost a couple of years ago.)
Pentium 4 2.8GHz, 1GB ram
Intel 82845G.GL Brookdale Graphics Chip
Intel Audio
Belkin 7010 PMCIA Wireless (RT2500 driver)
2XUSB1.0

This was a very well build laptop which was top of the line at the time. The XP installation finally got so slow it was unusable. I first tried Linux on it with live CD's in 2006, and all ran reasonably well.
However, ever since April 2010 (or the introduction of the KMS into the kernel), the graphics chip has work very, very few of the newer kernels, and even when it does work, it still intermitently crashes. On most distros with 2.6.29 or later, it just will not run stably.

I found that PCLinux)S 2010 seems to be the most stable, though it also crashes, but much less frequently. I just did a frugal install of Lupu 5.2, and it too has difficulty with this graphics chip. It DOES boot to a desktop with i915.modeset=0 as a kernel parameter, but will fail to boot to a desktop about 2 out of five boots.

However, when it does boot to a desktop, EVERYTHING works beautifully and little or no configuration is necessary.

So, for all of those laptop owners with this chipset, my condolences. It looks like it may some time soon just require that this old computer be put out to pasture. But for now, there seems to be plenty of life left in her.

Bob[/b]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
maxpro4u


Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 290
Location: Rittman,Ohio,USA, In dog years,I'm dead

PostPosted: Mon 07 Mar 2011, 20:19    Post subject: keyTouch
Subject description: configure multimedia keys
 

I found this tool which works for the volume keys on my compaq. There are several keyboards to choose from. Does not create any entries using kdepup in the menu- you have to do that manually but there seems to be one in the applications folder. I will be trying it out on other puppies and posting back.
The debian pkg puts a entry in the system folder but you need to put a link to /usr/bin/keytouchd in the startup folder so it starts up automatically. In the /usr/bin folder you will find keytouch-keyboard-bin which allows you to select the keyboard model. I just used keytouch in 5.2.2rc

http://keytouch.sourceforge.net/dl-keytouch.php

_________________
Dell D610 1.7M w/1024mb
Testing Slacko and a few others
I'm Max Wachtel and I approve this message.
Registered Linux User #393236
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
jabu2

Joined: 07 Apr 2008
Posts: 45
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri 08 Apr 2011, 03:44    Post subject: Fujitsu Lifebooks and ancient Compaq laptops  

Fujitsu Lifebook S752 4 Gb RAM (Win 7 Pro as delivered) 2012

Runs every puppy tried (lots) -Carolina, Pemasu's Upups, Waries currently run as live OS (why not?).
Everything works incl Chrome, and all wifi, sync, and output functions.
Win7 Pro not disturbed, and works when needed.

Old Fuji (see below) still reliable after decade+ daily grind, so expecting this 2012 one to be long-lived also? Good keyboards & screens on Fuji's.

Fujitsu Lifebook S6210 1 Gb RAM (no OS except PL in recent years)
-first choice is Lupu 5.2.8+updates run as Live OS
No issues. Wireless and ethernet connections, sound, pcmcia functions (several incl flash disk use) all worked rotb (right off the bat).
Wireless even when travelling is painless (if available).
No loading or running glitches.
Chrome browser (latest puppy versions) - google apps, and g-syncing, g-drive, dropbox all work. LibreOffice reliable.

But no added bling, or swapping of window-managers etc - thus keeping it simple and useful, for these older machines (IMHO)
which really means live-CD and frugal installs
don't need complex OS choices or GRUB
and, as the gurus advise, always pfix=ram with any new version.

Swap file essential, or at least very useful for best performance.

------------------------------------------------

Compaq Armada E500 256 RAM
Compaq Armada M700 256

Wary may be best in long run but
Classic 214X -top10 is reliable for solid use on these Compaq laptops from last century, even when only 128 RAM.

live-CD and frugal installs, with swap file
run with no problems on these 10 year old laptops
with various added RAM - see above (recommend get min 256 RAM)
and do keep it simple and basic if needing a workhorse
with no added bling, or swapping of window-managers etc
---------------------------------------------------------------------
No more testing on old Compaqs will be done
(not necessary with above puppies being good enough)

Last edited by jabu2 on Sat 31 Aug 2013, 23:11; edited 6 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
racie

Joined: 11 Dec 2010
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sat 09 Apr 2011, 16:47    Post subject:  

I have a Compaq Presario F756NR Notebook. It's only a few years old, but it has no HDD and a broken optical drive. Puppy 5.25 runs very smoothly off of a 2GB flash drive. Everything hardware-wise seems to work fine, except for the special fn keys (volume, media buttons, etc). Although the brightness keys work, which is interesting.

I haven't tried the solution posted above for these buttons, but I really don't feel the need to.

Anyway... the nVidia card, wireless card, touchpad driver, and all of that jazz were detected beautifully.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1077
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Mon 11 Apr 2011, 14:42    Post subject:  

Thinkpad T43
Puppy 4.3.2 v3 (old version)
1024x768 LCD radeon

Works for all common things tested otb

Uncommon things not working:

Wine versions of graphics intensive apps, like CAD, and wine versions of audio intensive apps like Visual Analyzer.

These problems are probably primarily due to hardware drivers for the economy Thinkpad Radeon board in this particular T43. Different T43's came with different graphics boards.

Don't know about the audio. But have never had Visual Analyzer detect the audio input or output in any puppy/wine/computer, though the program opens nicely, and says it runs in wine. So maybe not a Thinkpad problem.

(4.3.2 Operating system note: reportedly VESA is broken and devx is not currently available in this OS version. Despite good reliability experienced on the T43 above, I don't recommend any version of 4.3.2 at this time due to defacto abandonment of software version completion.)

I'm considering changing OS, and if I do, I'll report what the T43 runs on with the new OS.


Edit:

Sorry, forgot, the laptop sleep functions generally do not work correctly with this and some earlier Thinkpads I've owned using Puppy.

For instance, closing the case while running does nothing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cbs

Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jun 2011, 03:08    Post subject: eeePC 701SD; Armada M300; Travelmate 3002WTCi  

Here's what I have...

ASUS eeePC 701SD
4GB internal flash disk; 512 RAM
Puppeee 4.4 frugal installed onto a 256MB SD card.
Everything runs well.

COMPAQ Armada M300
Intel 600 MHz; 320 RAM; 256 SWAP; SMC2632Wv2 wireless PC Card
Wary 5.1.2 frugal installed
Everything runs well

Compaq Presario V3000
Intel Core Duo 1.83MHZ; 2G RAM
Wary 5.1.2 frugal installed
Everything runs well

SONY Vaio PCG 691P
Intel 1.75 MHz, 1.5G RAM, 1G SWAP
Wary 5.1.2 frugal installed
Everything runs well

ACER Travelmate 3002WTCi
Centrino 1,73 GHz; 512 RAM; 256 SWAP; 1280x800 WXGA
Wary 5.1.2 frugal installed
Everything runs well on 1024x768
Booting process selects 1280x800 but systems hangs after a while.
Still looking for a distro that accepts 1280x800 Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 900
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3402
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jun 2011, 06:35    Post subject:  

Wary 5.1.2 frugal installed ...

////

Wary has the best sound of any Puppy.

I adjusted the sound in PMusic under >> File>>> Retrovol
and the Mixer was also there.

//////

Well worth a look for Acer.

WPA2-PSK (Wi-Fi Protected Access 2 with Pre-Shared Key)

working great on

Acer Aspire 3620

Acer Aspire 4710Z

Acer Netbook eMachines eM350-21G16i .

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
makropo


Joined: 08 Nov 2007
Posts: 24
Location: Thailand

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jun 2011, 06:31    Post subject: Gecko Edubook Xcore86+
Subject description: GUI video audio issues
 

Hi All,

There is a new version of the Gecko Edubook out, with a new processor. It uses an Xcore86+ 1GHz processor; and there is an option to install 1 GB of RAM, too, which I have.

Here is a bit of the announcement dated 2011-05-16 by Michael Barnes of Norhtec:

"The new Xcore86+ is 70% faster than the previous Xcore86 Device on Chip yet consumes the same power as the original Xcore86. The new CPU uses 32bit RAM instead of 16bit RAM that allows the CPU to do more work per clock cycle. The Xcore86+ is faster than the AMD LX800, yet it uses less power, is less expensive and requires fewer components to build a device."

There are more details here: http://www.deviceonchip.com/

Anyway, I bought the new Edubook, with the intention of using Puppy as the OS. Puppy 5.2 booted from a USB flash drive, but xorg did not work so I had no GUI to work with. I then tried Wary 5.1.2 and the GUI worked fine "out of the box", but using Xvesa. I have a Belkin Wifi dongle (model F6D4050 v1) which also worked fine the first time.

On the other hand, I haven't been able to get any kind of video to work, nor even any of several video players I installed to open. Pmusic audio player opens but doesn't work.

Makropo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
ICQ Number 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jun 2011, 12:12    Post subject:  

Hi Makropo

I don't know if the new Edubook uses the same video, but the latest for the previous is here

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=413703#413703

On the previous one also, pupeee 4.2, turbopup, & puppy 4..31 all load OK
- well, to a desktop

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jun 2011, 05:45    Post subject:  

Got these tips on battery life from Jesse Smith and Distrowatch. Do they work on Puppy?
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/Laptop

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jun 2011, 17:33    Post subject:  

Powertop gives estimation of laptop battery usage. And also many tips howto reduce it. Compiled in Snow Puppy.
powertop-1.13.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  powertop-1.13.pet 
Filesize  29.49 KB 
Downloaded  308 Time(s) 
powertop_NLS-1.13.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  powertop_NLS-1.13.pet 
Filesize  53.68 KB 
Downloaded  305 Time(s) 
powertop_DOC-1.13.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  powertop_DOC-1.13.pet 
Filesize  1.02 KB 
Downloaded  306 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 15 of 21 [305 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1179s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0097s) ][ GZIP on ]