Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 30 Aug 2014, 06:41
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Fluxbox Windowmanager
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 4 [55 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
`f00


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 809
Location: the Western Reserve

PostPosted: Wed 23 Feb 2011, 16:36    Post subject:
Subject description: hope this helps
 

@bignono1 - this should be modularization at its finest (use what you need .. if you don't need all the language files or can get by without local manpages, don't plan on compiling the add-on imlib stuff for some other pup version than p431 and etcetera and so forth, then no - don't just click everything). You can store the files locally and try doing it a step at a time starting with fluxbox-1.3.0.pet and adding only what you need or :shrug:

My standard 'warning' about dotpets is to do them in a safe environment (some can do odd things which you might not catch until after you're all done configuring fluxbox's many options or a much later save after you've done several other things you don't want to lose and you with no backup .. it's not pleasant Sad ) like pfix=ram or however works for you, sometimes there are conflicts since even the best dotpet ever done cannot account for all the variables there may be in a particular setup.

If you let a pup eat everything, every once in awhile there's a mess Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2647
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Fri 25 Feb 2011, 14:46    Post subject:  

Is anyone else having crashes on 1.3?
I'm not using aragon's pet, I compiled it on dpup 009 and running fluxbox now, I have X crashes, especially when I want to restore iconified windows from fluxbox's middle click menu.
Please try this particular action, try to minimize rox filer and/or browser then go to middle click -> Icons and restore some of minimized windows several times and tell me if it crashes.

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1698
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon 28 Feb 2011, 16:54    Post subject:  

uploaded actual version.

@dejan: 1.3.1 might solve your probs.

aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bignono1


Joined: 17 May 2009
Posts: 362
Location: New ME

PostPosted: Wed 02 Mar 2011, 15:14    Post subject:  

Can i get my connection icon on the task bar?
F12 is not working, to get the menu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1698
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri 04 Mar 2011, 19:13    Post subject:  

bignono1 wrote:
Can i get my connection icon on the task bar?

i don't think so.

Quote:
F12 is not working, to get the menu.

i don't think, i've configured it like that. to configure it like that, see here:
http://fluxbox-wiki.org/index.php/Keyboard_shortcuts

aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
`f00


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 809
Location: the Western Reserve

PostPosted: Sat 05 Mar 2011, 14:58    Post subject:
Subject description: indeed so
 

Every window manager should have its 'own' key-bind file (since they all vary a bit). Oddly that F12 bind (from jwm-personal?) is one that gets offed almost by instinct for me (F12 is reserved for Opera's quickprefs in my case) .. Alt + F1 might be a better choice (unless it conflicts with something else)

Fluxbox config can be a bit more involved but that's part of the charm (little things can interact oddly until you get a 'feel' for how everything meshes)

@bignono1
Wbar makes a nice launcher (or you could look into the 'slit' option, which is kind of like bbdock..)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rupp

Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Sat 05 Mar 2011, 16:02    Post subject:  

bignono1 wrote:
Can i get my connection icon on the task bar?
F12 is not working, to get the menu.


None F12 :ToggleCmd {RootMenu} {HideMenus}
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
theZoid


Joined: 21 Mar 2009
Posts: 24
Location: Orlando, FL

PostPosted: Tue 08 Mar 2011, 22:14    Post subject:  

Hi...thanks for this! What's the file and entry to start fluxbox at boot every time? I'm using Puppeee last stable release.

Also, where can I change something to show Fluxbox as a window manager option under 'change window manager' menu item? (not necessary of course, but...)

thanks for helping a puppy newb.....

_________________
DΞLL Precision M6500 "Big Dog": i7-820QM w/USB 3.0, 8.0GB DDR3-1333, Intel x-25M 160 G2 + 500GB 7200.3, nVidia Quadro FX 3800M 1.0GB DDR3, RGBLED, Intel 6300 //W7P x64/Saline OS Xfce x64
MSI Wind Netbook Puppeee Linux (atom)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bignono1


Joined: 17 May 2009
Posts: 362
Location: New ME

PostPosted: Wed 09 Mar 2011, 03:25    Post subject:  

reboot to prompt then type this:
xwin startfluxbox
This will keep fluxbox , to change to other wm type : xwin jwm or
xwin icewm or whatever wm you have.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 1999
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Wed 09 Mar 2011, 20:21    Post subject:  

This is what I did to add fluxbox to the "change window manager" window in Puppeee-1.0.


File is /usr/bin/change-wm

Code:

#! /bin/bash
set -x

WM=`cat /etc/windowmanager`
if [[ $WM == startflwm ]] ; then
   FLWM='<default>true</default>'
else
   FLWM='<default>false</default>'
fi
if [[ $WM == icewm-session ]] ; then
   ICEWM='<default>true</default>'
else
   ICEWM='<default>false</default>'
fi
if [[ $WM == openbox-session ]] ; then
   OPENB='<default>true</default>'
else
   OPENB='<default>false</default>'
fi
if [[ $WM == startfluxbox ]] ; then
   FLUX='<default>true</default>'
else
   FLUX='<default>false</default>'
fi

export MAIN_DIALOG="
<window title=\"Change Window Manager\">
<vbox>
<frame Choose a Window Manager>
      <radiobutton>
       <label>Flwm</label>
   $FLWM
   <action>if true echo startflwm > /etc/wm</action>
       </radiobutton>
      <radiobutton>
       <label>Icewm</label>
   $ICEWM
   <action>if true echo icewm-session > /etc/wm</action>
       </radiobutton>
      <radiobutton>
       <label>OpenBox</label>
   $OPENB
   <action>if true echo openbox-session > /etc/wm</action>
       </radiobutton>
      <radiobutton>
       <label>fluxbox</label>
   $FLUX
   <action>if true echo startfluxbox > /etc/wm</action>
       </radiobutton> 
       
       
</frame>
<text><label>Changes will be applied when you restart Xwindows</label></text>
<hbox>
  <button tooltip-text=\"Exit\">
     <input file stock=\"gtk-quit\"></input>
     <label>Exit</label>
     <action type=\"exit\">Exit-NOW</action>
    </button>
</hbox>
</vbox>
</window>"
gtkdialog3 --program=MAIN_DIALOG --center

_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Puppeee4.31 + 1.0, Puppy4.10 + Lupu52
Currently using Slacko AND lupu52 w/ fluxbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
grimoire


Joined: 04 Jul 2010
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Thu 10 Mar 2011, 07:36    Post subject:  

I hope this one will work on other versions of puppy. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rupp

Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Thu 10 Mar 2011, 17:30    Post subject:  

I guess just opening ~/.xinitrc and adding exec startfluxbox is to complicated for some people here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Eyes-Only


Joined: 10 Aug 2006
Posts: 1046
Location: La Confederation Abenaquaise

PostPosted: Sat 12 Mar 2011, 17:00    Post subject:  
Subject description: AWESOME! =-O
 

Thanks for having done up this package of Fluxbox Aragon thus moving our usual install of Flux lightyears ahead of 1.0.1 in the PPM! And for the record: It's awesome! Shocked Amazingly stable and superb running in my Luci-252.

In fact, this looks and runs so great/fast in just this frugal test install that I'm seriously considering of replacing my Fluxbox installs throughout my 14 other puplets with this as well. Smile

@Dejan: I haven't been having any crashes whatsoever with the 130 version compiled by Aragon here on my Luci-252 replicating what you've done. HTH?

Guess I should call it a day. Thanks again Aragon!

Cheers/Amicalement,

Eyes-Only
"L'Peau-Rouge d'Acadie"

_________________
*~*~*~*~*~*
Proud user of LXpup and 3-Headed Dog. Cool
*~*~*~*~*~*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2647
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Sat 12 Mar 2011, 17:31    Post subject:  

Thanks Eyes-Only, might be my bad build, I still haven't tested 1.3.1 though
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2647
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Sat 12 Mar 2011, 18:31    Post subject:  

OK, since I booted 5.2 to compile pidgin I installed aragon's 1.3.1 pet this times and had crash on same action. It really is very fast, I think much faster then fbpanel/openbox combo they have in 5.x and I like aragon's green theme mod too.
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 4 [55 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0851s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0050s) ][ GZIP on ]