Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 19 Apr 2014, 02:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Pudd adds partition for backup on its own
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
Luluc


Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 200

PostPosted: Sat 19 Mar 2011, 06:12    Post subject:  Pudd adds partition for backup on its own  

Strange problem with Pudd. I select the first partition for backup and it seems it decides to add another partition on its own. Look at the screenshots, they are pretty much self explanatory.

How does it get from /dev/sda1 to /dev/sda11? Because of the number '1'? Well, maybe not quite. In my second attempt, I mounted sda3. So it was no longer available as a backup source. The result was that I selected sda1, and this time Pudd added sda12 on its own instead of sda11.

I don't know what the logic for this bug is, I just know it's messed up.
pudd-bug-1.png
Description  Beginning of the procedure, pretty much an inventory of my partitions.
png

 Download 
Filename  pudd-bug-1.png 
Filesize  158.65 KB 
Downloaded  268 Time(s) 
pudd-bug-2.png
Description  I select the first partition for the backup operation...
png

 Download 
Filename  pudd-bug-2.png 
Filesize  225.68 KB 
Downloaded  258 Time(s) 
pudd-bug-3.png
Description  Ooops. Look at the two first lines. How did /dev/sda11 get in there?
png

 Download 
Filename  pudd-bug-3.png 
Filesize  170.7 KB 
Downloaded  256 Time(s) 
pudd-bug-4.png
Description  Whoa! It really looks like Pudd is about to backup both /dev/sda1 and /dev/sda11!
I don't have enough space for the latter in the target partition, so I abort.
png

 Download 
Filename  pudd-bug-4.png 
Filesize  172.36 KB 
Downloaded  272 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3251
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sat 19 Mar 2011, 07:57    Post subject:  

1. I experienced this kind of problem back in the time when I used Pudd a lot for making backup images.

2. The main symptom to be aware of is:
pudd-bug-3
Where the extra [random?] partition [sda11] is added.
[See screenshot below]

3. My recollection is poor, but...
I don't think I ever found the cause of this...
But I did find a way to work around it by preventing the addition of the extra partition after the one chosen by the user.

4. Problem is I can hardly remember how I did it.
I think the secret of success, was to make the 2nd partition inaccessible.
e.g. Mount the 2nd partition [sda11] prior to a repeat attempt at using Pudd to image the 1st partition.

5. Somewhere there will be at least 1 post by me on how I did the above, but so far I cannot find it.
00.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   10.82 KB
 Viewed   495 Time(s)

00.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8555
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 19 Mar 2011, 08:13    Post subject:  

Instead of Pudd, have a look at gnost. It will back up an NTFS partition much faster.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3251
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sat 19 Mar 2011, 08:16    Post subject:  

Found this post...

In this thread...

This problem eventually disappeared...
I think I must have done something [Puppy OS related] to cause it, and over the course of time, with changes of Puppy and/or updates, it was no longer there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jeffjeff


Joined: 25 Nov 2006
Posts: 13
Location: Härnösand/Sweden/Europe

PostPosted: Sun 16 Dec 2012, 08:10    Post subject: Having same problem  

I chose my Windows partition for copying to a file, and in the next step it says I have chosen it and on the line below is another partition also (from a USB HD that I planned to copy to.)

So Any suggestions are welcome.

(I used to backup partitions with Bootit New Generation. I was hoping to be able to do it from Puppy)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 854

PostPosted: Sun 30 Dec 2012, 10:51    Post subject:  

Luluc wrote:
How does it get from /dev/sda1 to /dev/sda11? Because of the number '1'? Well, maybe not quite. In my second attempt, I mounted sda3. So it was no longer available as a backup source. The result was that I selected sda1, and this time Pudd added sda12 on its own instead of sda11.

Yes, it is because of a '1' digit, but not the '1' digit on "sda1" and "sda11".

Internally, Pudd identified the twelve available partitions on your PC as "1PART" through "12PART". You chose the first item in the menu, so the output from Xdialog was "1PART". Then when Pudd searched its list of available partitions for the line with information about "1PART', it searched for any line containing the string "1PART" somewhere in the line. So it matched on both the line containing "1PART" and the line containing "11PART" ("11PART"). The latter line was for partition sda11, the eleventh item in the menu.

But when you mounted sda3 and it no longer was one of the available partitions, Pudd still found the lines containing "1PART" and "11PART", but now the line identified as "11PART" was for sda12, now the eleventh item in the menu.

Since the internal identifiers (e.g., "1PART") are the first thing on each line of the list of available partitions, the code simply needs to be corrected to search for a match only at the very beginning of each line, not anywhere in the line as is currently the case.

I've posted an explanation and a suggested fix in another thread related to this bug: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=674306#674306

If anyone has a PC without any irreplaceable data on its drives, understands the risks, and would like to test the fix, I'd be curious to hear the results.

Otherwise, until the fix is implemented and tested, the work-around (discovered by Sylvander) is to temporarily mount some partitions that you won't be using as a source or destination. Because those partitions are mounted, they are no longer "available" for use with Pudd, and so will no longer appear in Pudd's menus. If you are working with the first partition in the menu, you would need to mount enough partitions to reduce the number of menu entries to ten or less. If you are working with the second partition in the menu, you would need to mount enough partitions to reduce the number of menu entries to eleven or less. Etc.

Better yet, until this gets fixed, use a different utility than Pudd. A utility that overwrites partitions and has bugs in it makes me nervous. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0518s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0044s) ][ GZIP on ]