Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Apr 2014, 18:30
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Frisbee Network Manager - Beta 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 21 [302 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 19, 20, 21 Next
Author Message
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1365
Location: florida

PostPosted: Sun 13 Feb 2011, 12:25    Post subject:  

James,

Frisbee uses dhcpcd 5.2.9's hook scripts which 3.23 doesn't support. Dhcpcd 3.2.3 is still there and is lower in the tree so it will be used unless you specify the path. I think we had dhcpcd 5.2.9 fixed with the modification to /etc/dhcpcd.conf, but since we didn't use any of it's other features it seemed best to roll back to 3.2.3 with all of the Debian patches. 3.2.3 patched seems to be very reliable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
chapchap70

Joined: 18 Nov 2010
Posts: 123
Location: The Island Of Long (NY, USA)

PostPosted: Mon 21 Feb 2011, 18:48    Post subject: Trouble connecting to wireless network  

Hi, I have only been able to connect to a wireless network sometimes with LuPu 5.1.1. and 5.20. I downloaded frisbee to see if the program would connect this laptop better. Hopefully, you can see my attached network files and it can tell you what my problem is.

The first time the default network program or frisbee is started, I see wireless networks. If I cannot successfully connect, there are no networks seen when I try again. I have been more successful connecting to an open network. (It is my inlaws and they know that I have been using it.) I have WPA-2 Network but Frisbee sees it as WPA. It showed one of my neighbor's networks as WPA-2 though. Our Wii, my wife's ipod, and Windows 7 can connect to our secure network, my only problem is Linux.
pnetworkdiag-20110221.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  pnetworkdiag-20110221.tar.gz 
Filesize  45.53 KB 
Downloaded  680 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
r1tz


Joined: 09 Sep 2010
Posts: 165
Location: In #puppylinux (IRC)

PostPosted: Sun 20 Mar 2011, 00:55    Post subject:  

Could you make an option to disable the splash? It gets annouying sometimes Wink.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5459
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 20 Mar 2011, 07:54    Post subject:  

r1tz. Uninstall xpupsay ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
r1tz


Joined: 09 Sep 2010
Posts: 165
Location: In #puppylinux (IRC)

PostPosted: Sun 20 Mar 2011, 08:45    Post subject:  

Ah, i know.

But adding such an option will be nice. So people can off it when doing stuff like watching a video.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Mon 21 Mar 2011, 14:42    Post subject:  

Yeah hopefully for the next release.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3219

PostPosted: Mon 21 Mar 2011, 19:59    Post subject:  

r1tz wrote:
Ah, i know.

But adding such an option will be nice. So people can off it when doing stuff like watching a video.


For some reason, I'm always thrilled to watch my wireless connecting all by itself.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3219

PostPosted: Fri 25 Mar 2011, 23:45    Post subject:  

Writing from Guatemala, running Lupu from a pen drive connected to a laptop with nothing on it. Interesting that it connected to a local wifi by itself on boot without configuring anything. Problem was, it kept loosing the connection....so I installed Frisbee, which keeps it connected.

BTW/ It always surprises me how many otherwise computer savy people have never heard of running an OS from a pendrive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
chrismt


Joined: 21 Apr 2010
Posts: 252

PostPosted: Sat 26 Mar 2011, 09:39    Post subject:  

@ jemimah

Can you please add a disconnect and connect button?

Like this one in Pwireless

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5459
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat 26 Mar 2011, 10:20    Post subject:  

Doesnt the enable wireless networking tick box do that ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
chrismt


Joined: 21 Apr 2010
Posts: 252

PostPosted: Sat 26 Mar 2011, 11:35    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
Doesnt the enable wireless networking tick box do that ?


No, when i do that, the whole wlan shuts down or wakes up

I cannot change my wlan access points easily. I have to delete the profile of the first access point and create a profile for the access point i want to connect always. It is a hassle.

If I have the connect and disconnect button, i just need to select my current access point and click disconnect and select the new access point and click connect.

It would be much easier for people who have multiple wlan access points to choose from
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
chrismt


Joined: 21 Apr 2010
Posts: 252

PostPosted: Sat 26 Mar 2011, 11:49    Post subject:  

@ network guys

Would you mind going through this attachment to see there is any problem?

I have lately having trouble to connect to some networks
pnetworkdiag-20110326.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  pnetworkdiag-20110326.tar.gz 
Filesize  703.31 KB 
Downloaded  578 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3219

PostPosted: Sun 27 Mar 2011, 16:51    Post subject:  

chrismt wrote:
pemasu wrote:
Doesnt the enable wireless networking tick box do that ?


No, when i do that, the whole wlan shuts down or wakes up

I cannot change my wlan access points easily. I have to delete the profile of the first access point and create a profile for the access point i want to connect always. It is a hassle.


Since I'm traveling, I've had a good opportunity to test this out, moving from one sight to another. All I've had to do is right-click the icon for "set up networking", add a profile and I'm on. You can edit past profiles (delete them if you want, but it's not necessary for getting on a new sight)....very simple. Once on, it stays on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
chrismt


Joined: 21 Apr 2010
Posts: 252

PostPosted: Mon 28 Mar 2011, 15:52    Post subject:  

jpeps wrote:
chrismt wrote:
pemasu wrote:
Doesnt the enable wireless networking tick box do that ?


No, when i do that, the whole wlan shuts down or wakes up

I cannot change my wlan access points easily. I have to delete the profile of the first access point and create a profile for the access point i want to connect always. It is a hassle.


Since I'm traveling, I've had a good opportunity to test this out, moving from one sight to another. All I've had to do is right-click the icon for "set up networking", add a profile and I'm on. You can edit past profiles (delete them if you want, but it's not necessary for getting on a new sight)....very simple. Once on, it stays on.


How should i put it? Let me try again

In my house, there are two networks. One is mine and one belongs to everyone in my apartment. It is provided by the real estate. The one belonging to everyone in the apartment is very fast at night.

So when it is night, i disconnect from my access point, and i connect to that access point.

I was saying, in Frisbee, there is no option to connect and disconnect like in Pwireless for people like me who have more than one access point to choose from.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Roy

Joined: 31 Dec 2008
Posts: 442

PostPosted: Sat 02 Apr 2011, 14:48    Post subject:  

Please note that; using the stock Frisbee in Fluppy13, I cannot connect to an WPA2 encrypted network. As the vast majority of my internet connectivity utilizes opportunistic wireless (unencrypted) hot-spots, this is only of minor consequence to me and is posted only for information.

-Roy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 21 [302 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 19, 20, 21 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0721s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0098s) ][ GZIP on ]