Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 00:01
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
xonar and 5.2
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
donarntz

Joined: 11 Oct 2010
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue 29 Mar 2011, 20:54    Post_subject:  xonar and 5.2
Sub_title: still no sound?
 

Hi all,

I'm new to the forum and puppy linux. Is there still no support for xonar in puppy linux? I've yet to make the sound card work. In ALSA, it shows the card. Actually in ALSA it shows several copies of the same card?

Don
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5271
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 29 Mar 2011, 22:26    Post_subject:  

donarntz wrote:
In ALSA, it shows the card.

I presume you mean the ALSA Wizard. Then clearly, Puppy (and alsaconf) is detecting your card, and loading the correct ALSA driver.

donarntz wrote:
Is there still no support for xonar in puppy linux?

Just because a device doesn't work straight away in (Puppy) Linux, doesn't mean it's not supported. Like many things in Linux, you may need to make a bit of effort.
You should open a console, and run the "alsamixer" command. Make sure your "Master" and "PCM" channels are raised, and they are unmuted. At the bottom of each channel is a box. If it says "MM" then the channel is muted. If it says "00" the channel is enabled. Press the "m" key to mute/unmute.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
GustavoYz


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 897
Location: .ar

PostPosted: Wed 30 Mar 2011, 00:47    Post_subject:  

You could also check it with the 'Full Window' of retrovol (the app with a speaker icon in your tray).
PCM and Master volume boxes, as Tempestous said, must be ticked.
See the caps...
retrovol2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   21.09 KB
 Viewed   897 Time(s)

retrovol2.jpg

retrovol.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   5.85 KB
 Viewed   837 Time(s)

retrovol.jpg


_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
donarntz

Joined: 11 Oct 2010
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue 12 Apr 2011, 11:11    Post_subject:  

Thanks for the tips! I'll give puppy linux another try.

-Don
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
donarntz

Joined: 11 Oct 2010
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue 12 Apr 2011, 14:22    Post_subject: there still might be a problem  

Well actually, I think the problem is that the sound card is showing up in alsaconf but not in the alsa mixer? Also, why is there multiple copies of the soundcard showing up in alsaconf?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0703s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0289s) ][ GZIP on ]