Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 16 Apr 2014, 17:45
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How to Do a Dual-Boot Install of Puppy with Windows XP
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 3 [37 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
jjprzy

Joined: 14 Jul 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri 16 Jul 2010, 13:36    Post subject: XP won't boot
Subject description: Dual boot problem
 

Oh yeah, one more item. Puppy can mount sda1 and see all the Windows files just fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
willem1940NLD

Joined: 06 Jul 2010
Posts: 205
Location: Sittard, Limburg, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri 16 Jul 2010, 13:39    Post subject:  

How ... sda & sdb on 1 HD together?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8547
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 16 Jul 2010, 13:45    Post subject: Re: XP won't boot
Subject description: Dual boot problem
 

jjprzy wrote:
Mounted the flash drive, clicked on the "install-with-XP" folder and it opened with XArchive. Clicked on the file "frugal-with-XP". Nothing. Double-clicked. Nothing. Extracted the "frugal-with-XP" file and clicked on it. A window opens then immediately closes. Too fast to read.

When you do the extraction, make sure you get everything, including the subfolders,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jjprzy

Joined: 14 Jul 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri 16 Jul 2010, 14:08    Post subject: XP won't boot
Subject description: Dual boot problem
 

rcrsn51,

That took care of it! Problem solved! Thank you so very much! Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2384
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Tue 02 Nov 2010, 08:26    Post subject: Why don't you use Grub4Dos?  

Think this article should be updated because the recent Puppy has Grub4Dos built in.
Or, Puppy-4.x and recent can install grub4dos-0.4.4.v1.5.3.pet.
See the next article:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=61348

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2384
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Fri 05 Nov 2010, 00:18    Post subject: Replacing MBR  

You may feel fear with replacing the MBR with the grub4dosconfig.
But it is more safe than shrinking the existing Windows partition.
You can boot up from CD, and easily re-install MBR.
If you like to recover the MBR of windows, you can use Windows Installer CD.

Only exception is for the PC's which has special MBR made by the manufacturer.
I have never seen such PC's but hear some PC's without CD drive and the Windows recovery system is on the HDD.
In this case from the beginning, it cannot boot up the Puppy Live CD.

For the last case we developed the installer for the Windows(95 to 7), Lucid-Puppy-Quickset-edition-511-Installer.exe.
It need not CD and does not replace the existing MBR.
See the topic:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=61404

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
kevroxldn

Joined: 20 Apr 2011
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed 20 Apr 2011, 07:09    Post subject: step 3 install file problem
Subject description: failed to execute child process "mnt/sdb/install-with-win/install" (no such file or directory)
 

all was going well up this point! unzipped the file, put it on USB, put it in, clicked on the folder then clicked the "install" file and got the error message above??
tried rebooting without the cd and got the message Missing operating system. Completely lost now as to what i should do next,
please help
thanx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kevroxldn

Joined: 20 Apr 2011
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed 20 Apr 2011, 08:42    Post subject: fixed  

i was unzipping with winblows, tried it with puppy, no probs! strike another 1 up for linux!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8547
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 20 Apr 2011, 09:03    Post subject:  

That's good news. I don't know what your Windows extraction tool would have done to mess things up. I checked it with my own Windows third-party extractor and it worked correctly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
monarch4


Joined: 14 Nov 2010
Posts: 17
Location: Pennsylvania USA

PostPosted: Sat 31 Dec 2011, 13:10    Post subject: gparted  

I got to Step 1 and when I ran gparted, xp's ntfs partition had a yellow triangle on it and I cannot partition. What does that mean? I want to do a frugal install of puppy lucid 5.2.8 along with xp on a HP desktop with 2 gb. of ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LaneLester

Joined: 14 Sep 2008
Posts: 209
Location: Rural Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jul 2012, 17:08    Post subject:  

I already had a Linux partition, so I started at step 2, as advised by the OP.

The process went well, except that later on , Windows changed the partition flags, and grub was no longer shown at boot.

I booted the LiveCD and used the grub utility to install grub in the MBR.

Now all is well again.

Lane
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8547
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jul 2012, 17:43    Post subject:  

That's odd. I have never seen Windows change the partition boot flags on its own. But it will happen if the GRUB entry for Windows contains the line "makeactive".

However, the one-click installer doesn't use "makeactive". Have a look at your menu.lst file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppyrodney

Joined: 05 Nov 2013
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun 17 Nov 2013, 18:31    Post subject:  

This was exactly what I was looking for. Worked like a charm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tpadesihelp

Joined: 10 Jan 2014
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri 10 Jan 2014, 02:04    Post subject: Window 7 same way?  

This method was very easy with Win XP. Can I use this method with my new Windows 7 laptop?
Thanks in advance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Monsie


Joined: 01 Dec 2011
Posts: 633
Location: Kamloops BC Canada

PostPosted: Fri 10 Jan 2014, 02:44    Post subject: Re: Window 7 same way?  

tpadesihelp wrote:
This method was very easy with Win XP. Can I use this method with my new Windows 7 laptop?
Thanks in advance


See the notes regarding Windows 7 that rcrsn51 added to his initial post of this thread.

Monsie

_________________
My username is pronounced: "mun-see". Derived from my surname, it was my nickname throughout high school.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 [37 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0616s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0053s) ][ GZIP on ]