Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Sep 2014, 06:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Graphics
PupSnap-2.4
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 3 of 6 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4276
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 24 Mar 2011, 15:48    Post_subject: Interesting approach to screen/active window copy  

I thought I'd try your product. I have been looking for a Linux alternative to MS for a long while.

In OS2, then Microsoft, I could copy a Window (Ctrl-"Print Screen" key) or I could copy the Screen surface ("Print Screen" key). I have not found a Puppy solution to this. And am anxious to dive in to your PET to see if.

But, I have an installation issue that arose and though awareness might help.

When I 1st attempted to install, I initially got an error (see screen below). Then, I tried a 2nd time and get package message of "Success..." (also below) I don't know why, and thought to ask if there is some additional thing i can provide you so that you would know why the installation issue that occurred.

Hope this helps
PupSnap screen error-1.png
 Description   Installation Starts
 Filesize   40.57 KB
 Viewed   1512 Time(s)

PupSnap screen error-1.png

PupSnap screen error-2.png
 Description   Installation Failure
 Filesize   13.7 KB
 Viewed   1406 Time(s)

PupSnap screen error-2.png

PupSnap screen error-3.png
 Description   Installation Success
 Filesize   30.53 KB
 Viewed   1409 Time(s)

PupSnap screen error-3.png


_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 448

PostPosted: Thu 24 Mar 2011, 16:59    Post_subject: Re: Interesting approach to screen/active window copy  

gcmartin wrote:
When I 1st attempted to install, I initially got an error (see screen below). Then, I tried a 2nd time and get package message of "Success..." (also below) I don't know why, and thought to ask if there is some additional thing i can provide you so that you would know why the installation issue that occurred.

Hope this helps

Hi gcmartin,

Thanks for evaluating the 64-bit version of Pupsnap.

In weeks of testing multiple versions of PupSnap, I have not personally observed a failed installation of the pet.

In the case of Fatdog64, Pupsnap runs an initial pinstall script which adds the Ctrl+Shift+S hotkey to /root/.config/openbox/rc.xml, and this has been very reliable in my testing. Other than that, the Pupsnap installation is rather routine.

Hopefully, your case will be a one-time misadventure. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4276
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 26 Mar 2011, 15:46    Post_subject: Thanks  

@Radky Thanks
Check your PM<

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 448

PostPosted: Sat 23 Apr 2011, 10:54    Post_subject: PupSnap-1.6
Sub_title: New Version
 

Version 1.6. See main post.
-Enhanced design of the PupSnap Setup GUI.
-Enhanced tooltip Help resources.
-Enhanced launch wrapper to allow automatic recovery from aborted PupSnap sessions.
-Added single-click access to file management (ROX-Filer, Thunar, Xfe).
-Added auto-refresh of the image viewer (Precludes multiple, overlapping instances of the default viewer).
-Added auto-detection of image deletion (Click the View button and PupSnap searches for the most recent
screen capture. If that image has been deleted, the search continues for other images in the current folder).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 448

PostPosted: Mon 25 Apr 2011, 15:00    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Viewnior disappears
 

bleepingbeep wrote:
The new version is working fine for me (running Lucid 5.2.5). Thanks for this tool -- I love it.

The only issue I have is this: When viewing an image in Viewnior (the default picture viewer), I'd like to be able to capture/crop a portion of it using PupSnap. But when I invoke it with Ctrl-Shift-S, Viewnior and the picture disappear before I can mark the capture area.

This does NOT happen if I'm using Gimp, mtPaint, etc.

Anyone else encounter this or have a fix? Thanks.

Hi bleepingbeep,

1 - With each screen capture, the PupSnap GUI and default viewer (if open) will disappear immediately prior to the capture, then both will reappear after the capture.

2 - To capture a small ‘cropped’ area of the screen, go to the ‘Region’ tab of PupSnap, and select Save. Then use the mouse to outline a rectangular region that you wish to capture.

3 - Subsequently, when the captured image is displayed in Viewnior, if you wish to crop the image even more, do the following:

Code:
Go to the ‘Image’ menu of Viewnior, then select the ‘Crop’ option. In the new dialog box, use the mouse to outline the area of interest in the image, then click the ‘Crop’ button in the lower right corner.


PupSnap also supports other viewers such as fotoxx, geeqie, gpicview, gqview, gwenview and xnview. Each viewer has built-in options to manipulate the post-capture image. Of course, if you capture the screen to an Image Editor such as mtPaint or GIMP, the options for post-capture manipulation are even greater.

Thanks for your question. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bleepingbeep


Joined: 29 Mar 2011
Posts: 15
Location: Tucson, Arizona

PostPosted: Mon 25 Apr 2011, 15:19    Post_subject:  

Thanks very much, radky. I get 99% of what you said, but my problem is that the Viewnior image does not reappear for capture, and so there's nothing available to be marked.

Perhaps there's some aberration in my installation.

_________________
Lucid Puppy 5.2.5 frugal install on SD card in Eee PC (earliest model, given new life by Puppy)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 448

PostPosted: Mon 25 Apr 2011, 16:25    Post_subject:  

bleepingbeep wrote:
Thanks very much, radky. I get 99% of what you said, but my problem is that the Viewnior image does not reappear for capture, and so there's nothing available to be marked.

Perhaps there's some aberration in my installation.

Hi bleepingbeep,

PupSnap and Viewnior disappear before the screen capture, then both subsequently reappear, and Viewnior displays the captured image. At this point don't use PupSnap to capture a portion of the image displayed in Viewnior. Rather, use the built-in options of Viewnior to crop the image:

1 - Go to the top menu of Viewnior and click the ‘Image’ option. You will see a drop-down menu --- select the 'Crop...’ option.
2 - A new dialog box (entitled 'Crop Image') will appear containing the image you wish to crop. Use the mouse to outline the area of interest in the image, then click the ‘Crop’ button in the lower right corner.
3 - Another dialog box will appear giving you the option to save the cropped image, or Cancel.

Thanks again for your question. Hope this helps. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bleepingbeep


Joined: 29 Mar 2011
Posts: 15
Location: Tucson, Arizona

PostPosted: Tue 26 Apr 2011, 12:23    Post_subject:  

Well, radky, this is embarrassing, but thanks for setting me straight. My observation, though accurate, was completely wrongheaded. I thought Viewnior was simply an image viewer, and was unaware of its cropping capability.

I've used Linux for about 5 years, but Puppy is relatively new to me. Still learning, obviously!

_________________
Lucid Puppy 5.2.5 frugal install on SD card in Eee PC (earliest model, given new life by Puppy)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
abushcrafter


Joined: 30 Oct 2009
Posts: 1447
Location: England

PostPosted: Tue 24 May 2011, 19:24    Post_subject:  

I have removed all the junk code from the help HTML file. It is a lot smaller now. It's also done to high standards. I have used CSS classes which will make it a lot nicer to work with. Please look at & learn from what I have done. Don't use Composer because it produces rubbish code full of junk! The latest versions of Kompozer are better but not good enough. I recommend reading some doc on XHTML, HTML5 and CSS. For bit of a WYSIWYG program I recommend Amaya.

PupSnapHelpTidyedUp.tar.bz2
Description 
bz2

 Download 
Filename  PupSnapHelpTidyedUp.tar.bz2 
Filesize  3.52 KB 
Downloaded  563 Time(s) 

_________________
adobe flash is rubbish!
My Quote:"Humans are stupid, though some are clever but stupid." http://www.dependent.de/media/audio/mp3/System_Syn_Heres_to_You.zip http://www.systemsyn.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 448

PostPosted: Wed 25 May 2011, 10:08    Post_subject:  

abushcrafter wrote:
I have removed all the junk code from the help HTML file. It is a lot smaller now. It's also done to high standards. I have used CSS classes which will make it a lot nicer to work with. Please look at & learn from what I have done. Don't use Composer because it produces rubbish code full of junk! The latest versions of Kompozer are better but not good enough. I recommend reading some doc on XHTML, HTML5 and CSS. For bit of a WYSIWYG program I recommend Amaya.

Hi abushcrafter,

Thanks for the recommendation. I'll see what I can do. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 448

PostPosted: Thu 02 Jun 2011, 08:43    Post_subject:
Sub_title: PupSnap-1.6.1
 

Version 1.6.1. See main post.
-Added '600px' Thumbnail option, which automatically reduces a large screenshot to a forum-compatible 600-pixel width. (thank you aarf)
-Improved HTML code in Help file. (thank you abushcrafter)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jun 2011, 18:55    Post_subject:  

puppeee4.4rc2
cool had to rename from.gz to .pet then installation and 600px screenshot went as needed thanks radky. will add this to my personal sfs.( when i figure out how to make it.)

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 448

PostPosted: Sun 18 Sep 2011, 17:35    Post_subject:
Sub_title: PupSnap-1.6.2
 

Version 1.6.2. See main post.
-Added support for non-root environment (fido).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri 23 Dec 2011, 19:32    Post_subject: Conflict with Lighthouse 64 5.14.2 Beta 4  

As you can see with the attached image, when save is clicked the picture is taken, however, PupSnap doesn't remove itself while snapping the image. Sad

Have a Merry Christmas,
Jim
Desktop.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   54.28 KB
 Viewed   734 Time(s)

Desktop.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 448

PostPosted: Fri 23 Dec 2011, 21:46    Post_subject: Re: Conflict with Lighthouse 64 5.14.2 Beta 4  

Jim1911 wrote:
As you can see with the attached image, when save is clicked the picture is taken, however, PupSnap doesn't remove itself while snapping the image.

Hi Jim,

Re: Conflict with Lighthouse 64 5.14.2 Beta 4

1 - Concerning PupSnap (64-bit version), do you have this problem with the prior release of Lighthouse64 (513), or with the current Fatdog64?

2 - In Lighthouse-64 5.14.2 Beta 4, do you see this issue with your older Dell desktop PC and new Dell notebook?

3 - Does it happen each time you attempt a screen capture?

4 - Does PupSnap exit immediately after the capture? Does it help to apply a 2 second capture delay (compared to the usual delay of 0)?

5 - On my system, PupSnap is working great on Lighthouse 64 5.14.2 and Fatdog64. To rule out the possibility of file corruption, you could download a fresh copy of PupSnap (64-bit version), then reinstall.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 6 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Graphics
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0943s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0050s) ][ GZIP on ]