Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 16:13
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
.Pet fixes misbehaving menus in Lucid Puppy 5.2.5
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Kal

Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 624
Location: California, High Desert

PostPosted: Sun 01 May 2011, 13:08    Post_subject:  .Pet fixes misbehaving menus in Lucid Puppy 5.2.5  

Have you ever noticed that Lupu Puppy 5.2.5 does not behave correctly in the menus? The main menus breakdown into sub-menus with only one item in it. This is happening even when the configuration files are correct for the xdg menu manager, these control the main menu layout.

We have found one solution, which substitutes Wary or Quirky files for one dependency library in Lupu, correcting this problem. Here is a pet which deactivates the one bad file in Lupu 5.2.5, Look below.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
duke93535


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 194
Location: California , High Desert

PostPosted: Wed 04 May 2011, 17:58    Post_subject: Lupu Menu Fix  

Here is an updated menu fix for Lupu. We discovered that one of the libraries was unnecessary in the end, the library “libgnome-menu” is the only one required for the repair of the menus in Lupu 5.2.5. Since there was concern about changing “libglib”, we had mistakenly believed it was required, it has been removed.

There seems to have been no ill effect from the original pet, but, to be on the safe side here is a new one.

After installing this pet, it will require a “fixmenus” (no quotes) in a terminal console and then a restart JWM, if you’re using it.
.
lupu-2fix-menu.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  lupu-2fix-menu.pet 
Filesize  33.15 KB 
Downloaded  376 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3382
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Thu 05 May 2011, 00:26    Post_subject:  

Do I need this if I am not running JWM as the window manager and will the fix transend to help the openbox desktop also?
I currently do not run JWM.
I even tried making a submenu in games and it worked fine.
That is until I rebooted.
Then it was gone.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5237
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 05 May 2011, 00:42    Post_subject:  

Applied the fix and it works for Openbox too.
Thanks for this fix!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
PaulBx1

Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 2308
Location: Wyoming, USA

PostPosted: Thu 05 May 2011, 12:08    Post_subject:  

Just a note on installing this. If you had duke's earlier pet installed, you have to remove it, then reboot, then install this one. I tried doing it without a reboot, and the new pet never got activated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
duke93535


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 194
Location: California , High Desert

PostPosted: Thu 05 May 2011, 19:11    Post_subject:  

Thanks Paul for the added information on the upgrading.

Yes, bigpup is correct on it working with fbpanel (openbox), probably Icewm and some other window managers. Any others like KDE, etc may not be control by puppy’s xdg, but have their own xdg or controls on the their menus.

I found that shinobar noted the repair for this bug back in Aug of last year.

Note, if you have a newer computer with 6 cores, larger memory and a DSL connections, as I do. Puppy compliance is best with jamesbond’s Wary instead of Lupu. because of having the pae activated in the kernel.

The menus are correct from the get go. Wary is suppose to be better suited for older equipment. but the reverse is true with this variant. See this post.

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=510309#510309
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MikeyBrat

Joined: 30 Dec 2012
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Wed 02 Jan 2013, 07:53    Post_subject:  fixmenus  

Works in Icewm on Mijnpup 520 too! Nice! Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
duke93535


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 194
Location: California , High Desert

PostPosted: Wed 02 Jan 2013, 10:46    Post_subject: Sub-menus  

Of the newer puppies, Precise by Barry, still works correctly on the menus, as is with xdg.

Slacko 5.4, Fatdog 611 have changed the system some what and do not work as well on the menus (I may not understand the newer system as well as the older), it seems to be an all or nothing on the sub-menus. I have learned to live with no sub-menus as the better choice.

To get no sub-menus in those, go to /root/.jwm/JWMRC (the .jwm is hidden, so use the eye in rox tool bar) and change the top of JWMRC like so, with a text editor.

Code:
#SUBMENU=”1“
SUBMENUS="”
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0569s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0056s) ][ GZIP on ]