Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 21 Apr 2018, 17:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Fluppy 013
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 121 of 133 [1988 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 119, 120, 121, 122, 123, ..., 131, 132, 133 Next
Author Message
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 4988
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 26 Apr 2011, 18:34    Post subject: full install of Fluppy  

I decided to test if a full install of Fluppy was possible.
I'm delighted to report that it is!!

I selected a small partition sdb5 (700mb) on my second hard drive (sdb)
for the installation. It had been used as a swap partition.

I reformated it to ext3 and burnt the fluppy iso to a CD.

I booted from the CD and ran the
full install app(universal). I kept the MBR location in the same place (sda)



grub4dos created the menu.lst file . Here's the listing...
Code:
# Full installed Linux

title Ubuntu 10.04 LTS (sda1)
  uuid 0183f2fd-72eb-487f-beeb-ae20434e3c62
  kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/sda1 ro
  initrd /initrd.img

title Fluppy 013 (sdb5/boot)
  uuid 4612583f-ae3a-465e-89c0-a3260ef03ff2
  kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sdb5 ro


I've been using it for a couple of days now and there's no
problem except that partitions with a label will show up
in the save dialog box as both the label name and the linux name.


_____________________________________________________

If you try a full install on a partition which doesn't have
enough room (<500mb) ,unfortunately you don't get a clear
warning message.

Then when you try to boot up you will get strange
confusing warning messages that don't mention that the
installation wasn't successful.

______________________________________

Last edited by don570 on Mon 02 May 2011, 20:00; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4722
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Thu 28 Apr 2011, 22:42    Post subject:
Subject description: SeaMonkey 2.0.14 - Stability & Security Update
 

Anyone updated to this?

Any problems observed?

Quote:
As part of Mozilla's ongoing stability and security update process,
SeaMonkey 2.0.14 is now available for Windows, Mac, and Linux as a free
download from www.seamonkey-project.org.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bignono1


Joined: 17 May 2009
Posts: 367
Location: Q8

PostPosted: Fri 29 Apr 2011, 14:41    Post subject:  

Hello,
Am getting a no supported PnP or PCI card found when running alsaconf, to get my sound card working, although it is working on older puppies .
Sound card is es1968,OS is fluppy 007.
Installed fluppy013 , same problem with the sound card,i'll try what don570
adviced.

Last edited by bignono1 on Sun 01 May 2011, 13:32; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 4988
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 30 Apr 2011, 15:23    Post subject: sound problems  

bignono1 wrote:
get my sound card working


When I have trouble getting my sound input(line) to be recognized
for capture, I install Audacity and it has always found
my sound chip. I set Audacity for 'line' input, then I
set the sound level with alsamixer.

Get a version of audacity that (hopefully) works on fluppy7 from
http://www.smokey01.com/jemimah/pet_repo/

________________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bignono1


Joined: 17 May 2009
Posts: 367
Location: Q8

PostPosted: Sun 01 May 2011, 13:43    Post subject:  

Downloaded and ran audacity pet ,no luck with fluppy-13 ,the sad message was:could not find any audio devices.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 4988
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 02 May 2011, 20:17    Post subject: new alsa driver 1.0.24  

bignono1 wrote:
the sad message was:could not find any audio devices.


That's not a good sign. I've never had that message , even when I was having
trouble setting up my machine.

But the good news, from playdayz I see that there is a new alsa driver 1.0.24
that claims that it solves some problems with some sound boards.

What I suggest is install lucid puppy 5.2.5 then install Playdayz new alsa pet
and report back on this thread if it works correctly.

Someone might be kind enough to compile it for Fluppy if it turns out to
be good.

By the way the instructions for compiling are..
Code:
In short, a safe combination for the recent distros is:
   ./configure --with-debug=full --enable-dynamic-minors \
      --with-moddir=updates


however installing a sound driver could be tricky.
Here are the links...

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=1238651954&t=67434
http://www.alsa-project.org/main/index.php/Changes_v1.0.23_v1.0.24
http://www.alsa-project.org/main/index.php/Matrix:Main

______________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bignono1


Joined: 17 May 2009
Posts: 367
Location: Q8

PostPosted: Tue 03 May 2011, 10:33    Post subject:  

I gave up , ES1968 sound card seems not a good pal with fluppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tatamata

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Tue 03 May 2011, 13:09    Post subject: dual boot Ubuntu+fluppy013 on Acer Aspire one happy?
Subject description: How to enable dual boot after frugal install on HD?
 

I have installed fluppy to HD on acer Aspire Happy One with previously installed recent Ubuntu (with Unity).
I hoped that I will have dual boot, but whenever I reboot, Ubuntu is automatically started without GRUB asking which system to boot.
What should I do in order to enable dual boot?
I suppose it is something about GRUB configuration?
Thank you in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scabz


Joined: 30 Apr 2009
Posts: 366
Location: Tallahassee FL US

PostPosted: Tue 03 May 2011, 13:20    Post subject: Re: dual boot Ubuntu+fluppy013 on Acer Aspire one happy?
Subject description: How to enable dual boot after frugal install on HD?
 

tatamata wrote:
I have installed fluppy to HD on acer Aspire Happy One with previously installed recent Ubuntu (with Unity).
I hoped that I will have dual boot, but whenever I reboot, Ubuntu is automatically started without GRUB asking which system to boot.
What should I do in order to enable dual boot?
I suppose it is something about GRUB configuration?
Thank you in advance.


turn on pc then quickly Hold down Shift until grub menu comes up then select OS you want to use, or when in ubuntu click in menu go to administration then find StartUP-Manager it can change grub defalt boot or other things.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 5370
Location: GB

PostPosted: Tue 03 May 2011, 13:28    Post subject:  

Quote:
I decided to test if a full install of Fluppy was possible.

Already reported some while ago. Might find some comments there - can't remember, except everything still working for me on a range of different systems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Eyes-Only


Joined: 10 Aug 2006
Posts: 1046
Location: La Confederation Abenaquaise

PostPosted: Tue 03 May 2011, 14:10    Post subject:
Subject description: SeaMonkey-2.0.0.14 & Fluppy-13 ( For Doc )
 

Hi Doc! Smile

You'd asked whether anyone was using the most recently updated SeaMonkey ( 2.0.0.14 I believe is the newest as you've stated above? ) and if it worked on Fluppy-13?

I'm pleased to report that it's working fine and dandy here on my frugal install of Fluppy-13. Smile

However, my SeaMonkey install ( as well as my Firefox-4.0.1 and Thunderbird-3.0.19 I believe are the latest? ) are rather "unconventional installs", in that I have one of each on the first partition ( /sda1 ) of my drive followed by 14 absolute links of those installs and profiles peppered throughout the hard drive where I have either hard drive or frugal installs. Wink

And they all work like a charm! ( But this was written in Midori as I love playing with browsers. lol )

HTH somewhat Doc!

Cheers/Amicalement,

Eyes-Only
"L'Peau-Rouge d'Acadie"

_________________
*~*~*~*~*~*
Proud user of LXpup and 3-Headed Dog. Cool
*~*~*~*~*~*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tatamata

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Tue 03 May 2011, 14:39    Post subject: Re: dual boot Ubuntu+fluppy013 on Acer Aspire one happy?
Subject description: How to enable dual boot after frugal install on HD?
 

scabz wrote:
tatamata wrote:
I have installed fluppy to HD on acer Aspire Happy One with previously installed recent Ubuntu (with Unity).
I hoped that I will have dual boot, but whenever I reboot, Ubuntu is automatically started without GRUB asking which system to boot.
What should I do in order to enable dual boot?
I suppose it is something about GRUB configuration?
Thank you in advance.


turn on pc then quickly Hold down Shift until grub menu comes up then select OS you want to use, or when in ubuntu click in menu go to administration then find StartUP-Manager it can change grub defalt boot or other things.


But, in the grub list there is no fluppy. How to add fluppy to the list?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
myke


Joined: 15 Mar 2011
Posts: 103
Location: Québec

PostPosted: Tue 03 May 2011, 14:41    Post subject: Recover puppy with dual-booting any GRUB2 distro  

Tatamata, what I do is install Fluppy (or any other Puppy) on a USB drive and boot up in it. Then install grub4dos (if necessary) and run it.

The application grub4dos creates a new boot-loader and menu.lst - Reboot into your hard disk and use the entry for Fluppy in menu.lst to boot it and the "Find GRUB2" entry to boot Ubuntu (or any other GRUB2 distro).

If you have also installed a Fedora-based GRUB2 distro, be aware that Fedora thinks it lives in a universe by itself. From Ubuntu, run grub-update and ask it to find other OS's (it will but not Puppy).

myke

_________________
AA1 D255E-keucr slacko 5.3;luci;mijnpup; tw-os; with:Emacs,gawk,noteboxmismanager,treesheets, freeplane, libreoffice, tkoutline, Sigil, calibre, calendar. magic&Noteliner(wine), kamas (DOS)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tatamata

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Tue 03 May 2011, 15:11    Post subject: Re: Recover puppy with dual-booting any GRUB2 distro  

myke wrote:
Tatamata, what I do is install Fluppy (or any other Puppy) on a USB drive and boot up in it. Then install grub4dos (if necessary) and run it.

The application grub4dos creates a new boot-loader and menu.lst - Reboot into your hard disk and use the entry for Fluppy in menu.lst to boot it and the "Find GRUB2" entry to boot Ubuntu (or any other GRUB2 distro).

If you have also installed a Fedora-based GRUB2 distro, be aware that Fedora thinks it lives in a universe by itself. From Ubuntu, run grub-update and ask it to find other OS's (it will but not Puppy).

myke

An error happens during grub4dos execution that is logged:
"/usr/sbin/grub4dosconfig PBS
version 1.7
Uto Svi 3 21:02:02 CEST 2011
BINSTALLER=bootlace.com
sda(MBR)_160.0GB_ATA_WDC_WD1600BEVT-2
fd0_(FLOPPY_DISK)
sda1_(ext4)_146,121GB_
sdb_524MB_512MB_USB2.0FlashDrive
sdb1_(vfat)_499MB_
PCPARTS:
/dev/sda1|ext4|153219072
/dev/sdb1|vfat|511500

LPART:/dev/sda1|ext4|153219072
CHAINLOADER=
sda1/puppy013/flp-013.sfs|flp_013
sdb1/flp-013.sfs|flp_013
sda1/initrd.img,/vmlinuz|Ubuntu_11.04

sdb1/flp-013.sfs|flp_013|Linux

Wrigting... /mnt/sda1/menu.lst
/dev/sda Bootalbe: yes,
cp: cannot stat `': No such file or directory
Failed to install extlinux.
"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
myke


Joined: 15 Mar 2011
Posts: 103
Location: Québec

PostPosted: Tue 03 May 2011, 15:31    Post subject: Caution  

Tatamata, are you using unetbootin to install puppy? It really doesn't work that well for puppy.

What is your configuration?

myke

_________________
AA1 D255E-keucr slacko 5.3;luci;mijnpup; tw-os; with:Emacs,gawk,noteboxmismanager,treesheets, freeplane, libreoffice, tkoutline, Sigil, calibre, calendar. magic&Noteliner(wine), kamas (DOS)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 121 of 133 [1988 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 119, 120, 121, 122, 123, ..., 131, 132, 133 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.2300s ][ Queries: 14 (0.1598s) ][ GZIP on ]