Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 16 Apr 2014, 21:20
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Arachne Browser
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
oui

Joined: 20 May 2005
Posts: 1845
Location: near Woof (Germany) :-) Acer Laptop emachines 2 GB RAM AMD64. franco-/germanophone, +/- anglophone

PostPosted: Thu 31 Mar 2011, 16:33    Post subject:  Arachne Browser  

Hi

As suggered in this thread

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=27031

I did install Arachne on Querky 1.2, of course restarted in console mode

(Menu > Shut down >> exit to prompt)

And it goes!

svgalib don't proceed very good to the search of the good resolution for my screen, it goes into an excessive high resolution and the screen become completely black

but after Shift+Alt+F2 and Shift+Alt+F1 and CTRL C,
the screen of Arachne appears (only a little disturbed).

you can now enter F3 + the wished url so for example murga-linux.com/puppy/ and you are here!

and the screen is now really ok...

the only real problem seems to be

how to surf using keyboard

instead of mouse because the mouse don't really work (extremly slow and will only go to the top of screen)!

the TAB / Shift+TAB return to the last url.

what is the key to spring to the 1th, 2d etc. entry to try more?

quit with Ctrl+C!

restart with

Code:
didiwiki &  :wink:

arachne &


very good:

this goes!

(= you can write and print out good formated texts with bold etc. and see them on the screen using didiwiki! best as all other commando line mode editors!) Idea

It would be beautiful to make a one bone puplet without X but with the major utilities (install packages, install sfs, remaster puppy, command alsamixer and alsaplayer, imagemagick, cups, samba, etc.) in commando line style and a menu through an HTML in the graphical browser to remember and choice the utilities as in manner of a JWM menu Wink !

i always install clex (I find it better than the big MC) from Debian

ImageMagick is strongly recommended.

I suppose that the svgalib would allow more (mplayer, feh or other picture viewer?)

I did pick following supplementary lib's (for arachne from http://www.glennmcc.org/aralinux/ and midori-0.2.9-i486.pet) in Debian lenny or spup:

- libgnutls.so.2
- libnotify.so.1
- librsvg-2.so.2
- libsqlite3.so.0
- libunique-1.0.so.0
- libvgagl.so.1
- libvga.so.1
- libx86.so

bye
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10517
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 31 Mar 2011, 16:44    Post subject:  

I used Arachne while the Check dev still was at it later he sold it to a firm in England?

I was on Ms win3 or something or even on MsDOS? I remember I used Floppies. Arachne was cool indeed.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oui

Joined: 20 May 2005
Posts: 1845
Location: near Woof (Germany) :-) Acer Laptop emachines 2 GB RAM AMD64. franco-/germanophone, +/- anglophone

PostPosted: Thu 31 Mar 2011, 16:56    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
I used Arachne while the Check dev still was at it later he sold it to a firm in England?

I was on Ms win3 or something or even on MsDOS? I remember I used Floppies. Arachne was cool indeed.


oh good

you can't remember the keys used instead mouse (as arachne is not really operable without correct mouse function I can't search in Arachne if there is a Arachne Manual or help in the installation!)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10517
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 31 Mar 2011, 18:29    Post subject:  

Sorry I don't remember anything other than it was very cool for it's time him being able to code it the way he did. Are thre no wiki or anything that explain such? no Help or Manual? Sorry I am too lazy to help you searching.
_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ndujoe1

Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 681

PostPosted: Thu 31 Mar 2011, 22:05    Post subject: Arachne Browser  

Didn't know it was still around, amazing piece of work from a floppy drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
anAF

Joined: 04 Oct 2010
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon 23 May 2011, 04:28    Post subject: Support community  

Hi,
you can find support for arachne here:
http://www.glennmcc.org/aqccc/trusted.php

The developers are very kind, and I think they'll help you to solve your problems.

Have you made a .pet of arachne, maybe?

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0568s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0077s) ][ GZIP on ]