Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 19 Apr 2014, 01:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Dialup
How use my Lucent Winmodem 56k?
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
AlteredAaron

Joined: 22 May 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun 22 May 2011, 21:32    Post subject:  How use my Lucent Winmodem 56k?  

Hello, I'm new at this, I just tried this today for the first time.

I booted my computer using the Lucid Puppy 5.2.5 live CD and everything worked fine until I got to the part where it didn't detect my modem. I tried clicking on the "connect" icon on the desktop, and then the "Probe" button once inside the connection program, but it still didn't find anything. Other than that, I'm quite impressed with the desktop and the applications included. And I still had like 184 MB ram to spare.

As far as my computer setup goes, here's what I'm dealing with:

HP Pavilion 7845 (The computer itself, older model from 2001)
Windows Me
Pentium III 866 MHz
384 Mb RAM
PCI Lucent Win Modem 56k
40 Gig Hard Drive

Is there any hope for getting the modem to work?

Any input would be much appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ibidem

Joined: 25 May 2010
Posts: 430
Location: State of Jefferson

PostPosted: Sun 22 May 2011, 22:07    Post subject: Note the "WinModem"--semi-usable (or pick a different Puppy)
Subject description: Anyone want to package the drivers?
 

Short version:
Very difficult...with regular Puppy versions.
You need to get a driver or two from Linuxant, compiled against your kernel.
The right drivers are either "HCF" or "HSF".
The drivers can be found at http://www.linuxant.com/drivers/, but you'd need to grab the "devx" package to install it, and perhaps some other stuff...

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=62630 --Wary puppy (http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02057)has the driver


Long version:
There are two kinds of modems:
1. Hardware "Hayes compatible" modems--mostly serial or USB (USRobotics, especially).
These have an interface where the computer sends a certain set of commands, and the modem handles everything else. They work fine with Linux.
2. Softmodems/Winmodems/Linmodems--mostly PCI; Lucent is notorious here.
These actually have a driver handling everything, and then pretending to be a serial modem so as to fool the dial-up software into working. Drivers are very sparse for these, when running Linux; "Win Modem" means that Lucent only supported using Windows with them, so you have to get a driver from Linuxant (use a "demo" version, 14.4k or pay $20)

Last edited by Ibidem on Sun 22 May 2011, 22:52; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8555
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 22 May 2011, 22:12    Post subject: Re: Getting my modem to work
Subject description: need help
 

AlteredAaron wrote:
PCI Lucent Win Modem 56k ...Is there any hope for getting the modem to work?

I expect that you will need to try a Puppy that still supports old hardware, like Wary or maybe something from the 4.x series.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
AlteredAaron

Joined: 22 May 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon 23 May 2011, 01:15    Post subject:  

Thanks for replying. From what I gather, this modem stuff just isn't worth the hassle. Sad

The good thing is that Lucid Puppy detected my "*Realtek Ethernet Adapter." In that case, if I got a high speed cable modem, I could use Puppy to surf the web, right?

That's assuming that a store-bought cable modem would even work on this computer or with Windows Me Question

*Realtek RTL8139(A) PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter (I hope it's not too old a model)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Py

Joined: 12 Aug 2005
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Mon 23 May 2011, 16:02    Post subject:  

I use an external 56k serial modem (D-Link) and Puppy detects it. I recall reading that for dialup, external serial modems are easier to setup (or to make work) with Linux.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tech_jnke2


Joined: 21 Mar 2010
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue 24 May 2011, 01:07    Post subject:  

aaron, get you a creative modem v.92 or 56k, puppy will work with it no problem . also you need to use puppy 4.3.1 version, it handles the older equipment and has alot of drivers for modems in it.

but glad to see someone not letting a older piece of equipment go to the land fill if it's still got some use in it.

setting a modem up in puppy isn't bad at all , but one thing is will your isp allow you to run puppy on it's network, some isp's won't it's winders or nothing not even a mac. just make sure before you go buying anything and trying it and nothing works or connects because of your isp.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Dialup
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0549s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0060s) ][ GZIP on ]