Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 18 Apr 2014, 02:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Virtualization
VMware Player 3.1.5
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 4 [58 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
Darkgame

Joined: 18 Mar 2011
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Tue 03 May 2011, 01:51    Post subject:  

must it be a 1gb sized savefile? ive tested on a 512mb savefile and it cannot run. the installer did not find the bundle file, so i use the executable to install. End up, i have a vmplayer that cannot start up. My internet connection have 3more new connection.
after restarting the computer, it works
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Darkgame

Joined: 18 Mar 2011
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Tue 03 May 2011, 03:03    Post subject:  

vmplayer opens, but the vm does nothing! When i tried to close the vm, it stated: the machine is busy.
Edit: Nevermind, ive got it working. But the sfs does not work!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TheAsterisk!


Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 403
Location: SE Wisconsin, US

PostPosted: Tue 03 May 2011, 12:12    Post subject:  

@Darkgame:
Frankly, I don't see how a savefile's size could affect my script. I have installed VMware and packaged it myself from a 512 MB savefile before.

Secondly, if your VMware installer ends with i386 instead of bundle, you either have the wrong file or have accidentally renamed it. That could also be why my PET isn't working- it's looking for the original filename, but whatever you have isn't named correctly.

Thirdly, the pinstall.sh script in my PET does more than just execute the VMware bundle. It makes a few extra directories, and maybe an empty file, too. VMware Player will not run unless you have already made these directories.
The bundle by itself doesn't install neatly. It needs that extra help.

Finally, I don't mean to be rude, but I'm fairly sure you've done something wrong, but I can't figure out what (besides guessing you have the wrong filename) because you I can't understand from your posts what you have or haven't done with what files when.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Darkgame

Joined: 18 Mar 2011
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Tue 03 May 2011, 18:41    Post subject:  

so can u post the link to the bundle in vmware's site? That should not be illegal and bundle is not easy to find.
Edit: or u can post the name of that bundle, i will rename it to that. VM site stated its a bundle file, and firefox stated it too. I think ive renamed it.
Sorry for yr inconvience, but i just want to play my games from a usb flashdrive when i go to my friends house, and sorry for my bad english.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Darkgame

Joined: 18 Mar 2011
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Thu 05 May 2011, 10:04    Post subject:  

ok. redownloaded bundle. Everything goes well. The pet launch the bundle while installing. I cant install graphic drivers, its another problem lol. Made an sfs, gonna try tomorrow.
And, thanks alot. Hoped yr not angry!
Edit: just found out my graphic drivers pets are corrupted lol. I ran the script you have posted. The SFS does not work. Might try vmplayer 3.1.3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DanYHKim


Joined: 14 Sep 2008
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Tue 24 May 2011, 17:02    Post subject: I am very grateful for your work here
Subject description: I'd never have figured out the extra dependency!
 

Thank you all so much for your contributions here. I was getting really bummed that I couldn't get VMware Player to install and run.

If it's not inappropriate, I'd like to point to a post of mine about installing VMware Player at:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=462112#462112

This post has some tips on 'fixing' the .desktop file, which never shows the icon in the menu. Also there's a bit on redirecting the Temp directory.

(Note, my tips may be out of date, since they're for earlier versions of Puppy and VMplayer)[/quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Luluc


Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 200

PostPosted: Sat 04 Jun 2011, 20:53    Post subject:  

I am trying, once again, to migrate to Puppy. But I MUST have VMplayer working. I still have all the problems I mentioned before: VMplayer refuses to run and complains about gconf errors, installing hald does not solve it, and I still lose my "spot" user, which I need to run the browser.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Darkgame

Joined: 18 Mar 2011
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Mon 06 Jun 2011, 22:19    Post subject:  

Luluc wrote:
I am trying, once again, to migrate to Puppy. But I MUST have VMplayer working. I still have all the problems I mentioned before: VMplayer refuses to run and complains about gconf errors, installing hald does not solve it, and I still lose my "spot" user, which I need to run the browser.

load the kernel and devx sfs before doing anything. Then install vmplayer via the pet. I got this working but not the sfs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Luluc


Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 200

PostPosted: Tue 07 Jun 2011, 03:04    Post subject:  

Oh... I have managed to install it with the pet installer. But then the whole thing is installed and uses up too much space on the puppy save file. I was looking forward to using the SFS... Crying or Very sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1492
Location: wales

PostPosted: Tue 07 Jun 2011, 13:59    Post subject:  

hi luluc

i use this to unzip .pets http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=32575
once unzipped, open a terminal in the window where the unzipped .pet is, and type
Code:
dir2sfs nameoffolder


It's best to do this all in /mnt/home/ so that the .sfs isn't created inside the save file.
there is actually a .pet that does all this automatically, but i can't remember it's name.

666philb

_________________
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
LÖVE2d, a collection of 27 lua gameshttp://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=76739
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Luluc


Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 200

PostPosted: Tue 07 Jun 2011, 21:09    Post subject:  

666philb wrote:
hi luluc

i use this to unzip .pets http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=32575
once unzipped, open a terminal in the window where the unzipped .pet is, and type
Code:
dir2sfs nameoffolder


It's best to do this all in /mnt/home/ so that the .sfs isn't created inside the save file.
there is actually a .pet that does all this automatically, but i can't remember it's name.

666philb


Thanks, but I don't understand the purpose of the operation you propose. Are you suggesting I make an SFS out of the .pet? There seems to be a misunderstanding: the .pet is an installer, which sort of "slipstreams" the official VMplayer .bundle file into Puppy. Just the .pet by itself is useless.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1492
Location: wales

PostPosted: Wed 08 Jun 2011, 02:19    Post subject:  

luluc

sorry i misunderstood,... on the first page of this topic there are instructions and a tar.gz script that will make the installed vmware player into an .sfs . Once done you can uninstall the .pet. and get your 300mb's of space back.

_________________
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
LÖVE2d, a collection of 27 lua gameshttp://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=76739
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Luluc


Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 200

PostPosted: Sat 11 Jun 2011, 17:05    Post subject:  

Well, I just tried it again. Reinstalled Puppy from scratched, VMplayer was the FIRST thing I installed, to make sure there would be enough room for it in my pupsave file. Everything worked fine, except the SFS stage. The SFS now works (hald is required), but whenever that one specific SFS is loaded, the "spot" user gets blocked. I wish someone would figure that one out. I can't, I am still a newbie in these mysterious Puppy procedures.

So I have to keep VMplayer fully installed, and now I have very, very little space left for other stuff. I guess I will have to make a bigger pupsave file, which is not so good, because I plan to keep two alternate backups, so it's three times as much additional space expenditure.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TheAsterisk!


Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 403
Location: SE Wisconsin, US

PostPosted: Wed 03 Aug 2011, 17:45    Post subject:  

Luluc wrote:
Well, I just tried it again. Reinstalled Puppy from scratched, VMplayer was the FIRST thing I installed, to make sure there would be enough room for it in my pupsave file. Everything worked fine, except the SFS stage. The SFS now works (hald is required), but whenever that one specific SFS is loaded, the "spot" user gets blocked. I wish someone would figure that one out. I can't, I am still a newbie in these mysterious Puppy procedures.

So I have to keep VMplayer fully installed, and now I have very, very little space left for other stuff. I guess I will have to make a bigger pupsave file, which is not so good, because I plan to keep two alternate backups, so it's three times as much additional space expenditure.


I cannot for the life of me figure out why the VMware sfs kills Spot (it does it to me too), but as a quick workaround, you could aways put the actual VMware files elsewhere on your computer- another partition or something, maybe- and symlink those to the proper locations.
If the regular install does not meddle with Spot, please let me know that, and I can just make an alternate installer script for you (and others, if they like) that places the VMware files into /mnt/home/some_subdir/ instead, and then links those back into the savefile. That should keep your pupsave from getting too crowded.

I'll get on it now, and if you like the idea, I'll upload the script for you. Let me know!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Luluc


Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 200

PostPosted: Sat 06 Aug 2011, 20:53    Post subject:  

Yes, I would like to move and symlink vmplayer out of my pupsave file. If you just tell me where it is, i.e. what files need to be moved, that's fine. A script wouldn't be bad at all though. It likely would be more useful to more people, and I can read almost any shell scripting language, I can certainly get the information I want from your script.

Thank you for your attention.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 4 [58 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Virtualization
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0731s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0098s) ][ GZIP on ]