Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 21 Nov 2014, 15:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Dialup
Modem not recognized
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Javelin Dan

Joined: 28 Dec 2010
Posts: 117
Location: Akron, Ohio

PostPosted: Tue 31 May 2011, 21:49    Post_subject:  Modem not recognized  

I'm trying to see if I can get PupDial to recognize my USR external 56K dial-up modem connected to my serial port. I don't yet have an ISP - I plan to go with Copper.net. and I spoke to a tech there who said that my configuration software should "shake hands"with the modem without an ISP, though I've seen forum blogs that said it is necessary. As it stands, I probe all the individual ports and get no results, but I'm told my "modem is present, but getting it to dial out may be another matter". I have the one power light lit on the modem, but no matter what I do, I can't get any of the other lights to lite. I can't remember where my dip switches are set, but I know they are in the default position USR says they should be for an initial probe. Does anyone have any suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2574
Location: Moved from Hosla to www.eussenheim.de

PostPosted: Wed 01 Jun 2011, 11:11    Post_subject: Re: Modem not recognized  

Javelin Dan wrote:
...
I'm told my "modem is present, but getting it to dial out may be another matter"
...

So your modem is being recognized.

The other matter is you need at least a phone number.
Or what do you expect by a phone when you have not dialed a number?

In pupdial you have to enter just
- Phone/access number
- Username
- Password

That is what I remember from the time when I was on dial-up.
Hope that helps
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Javelin Dan

Joined: 28 Dec 2010
Posts: 117
Location: Akron, Ohio

PostPosted: Thu 02 Jun 2011, 12:15    Post_subject:  

Thanks L18l, I guess the next step is to bite the bullet and sign up for an ISP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2574
Location: Moved from Hosla to www.eussenheim.de

PostPosted: Thu 02 Jun 2011, 15:04    Post_subject:  

Smile
your choice of wary is a good choice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5282
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 04 Jun 2011, 23:52    Post_subject:  

Javelin Dan wrote:
USR external 56K dial-up modem connected to my serial port.

Any external modem connected a serial port will be a full-hardware modem, not a winmodem, and that's great. No driver is required! All Puppy needs to do is send out command strings to the correct serial port, which it does with the "pppd" and "wvdial" utilities, via the Internet Connection Wizard/Pupdial.


Javelin Dan wrote:
I'm told my "modem is present

Puppy is seeing your modem on the serial port. You're good to go.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Dialup
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0452s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0036s) ][ GZIP on ]