Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Apr 2014, 07:07
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Dialup
Modem not recognized
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Author Message
Javelin Dan

Joined: 28 Dec 2010
Posts: 117
Location: Akron, Ohio

PostPosted: Tue 31 May 2011, 21:49    Post subject:  Modem not recognized  

I'm trying to see if I can get PupDial to recognize my USR external 56K dial-up modem connected to my serial port. I don't yet have an ISP - I plan to go with Copper.net. and I spoke to a tech there who said that my configuration software should "shake hands"with the modem without an ISP, though I've seen forum blogs that said it is necessary. As it stands, I probe all the individual ports and get no results, but I'm told my "modem is present, but getting it to dial out may be another matter". I have the one power light lit on the modem, but no matter what I do, I can't get any of the other lights to lite. I can't remember where my dip switches are set, but I know they are in the default position USR says they should be for an initial probe. Does anyone have any suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2478
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Wed 01 Jun 2011, 11:11    Post subject: Re: Modem not recognized  

Javelin Dan wrote:
...
I'm told my "modem is present, but getting it to dial out may be another matter"
...

So your modem is being recognized.

The other matter is you need at least a phone number.
Or what do you expect by a phone when you have not dialed a number?

In pupdial you have to enter just
- Phone/access number
- Username
- Password

That is what I remember from the time when I was on dial-up.
Hope that helps
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Javelin Dan

Joined: 28 Dec 2010
Posts: 117
Location: Akron, Ohio

PostPosted: Thu 02 Jun 2011, 12:15    Post subject:  

Thanks L18l, I guess the next step is to bite the bullet and sign up for an ISP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2478
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Thu 02 Jun 2011, 15:04    Post subject:  

Smile
your choice of wary is a good choice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5139
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 04 Jun 2011, 23:52    Post subject:  

Javelin Dan wrote:
USR external 56K dial-up modem connected to my serial port.

Any external modem connected a serial port will be a full-hardware modem, not a winmodem, and that's great. No driver is required! All Puppy needs to do is send out command strings to the correct serial port, which it does with the "pppd" and "wvdial" utilities, via the Internet Connection Wizard/Pupdial.


Javelin Dan wrote:
I'm told my "modem is present

Puppy is seeing your modem on the serial port. You're good to go.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Dialup
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0515s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0111s) ][ GZIP on ]