Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 24 Nov 2014, 14:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Pschedule 1.1.5 - Task on time
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 6 of 9 [130 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2668
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 09 Dec 2010, 19:22    Post subject: Re: double ampersand  

don570 wrote:
I think I learned about the double ampersand when
I read a book about Unix a couple of years ago.
Linux does things different obviously.


I think I learned that under SunOS (erm...a couple decades ago)... Which also worked under Slackware, Debian, etc...

Quote:
When in Rome do as the Romans do.


When incognito, do as the cognito do... Laughing

_________________
Add swapfile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3379
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 09 Dec 2010, 21:31    Post subject: double ampersand  

I remember now . I was installing netbsd unix
on an old mac computer and I started
reading about unix.

Here's the reference

Visual Quickstart Guide
Unix Third Edition

by Deborah S. Ray and Eric J. Ray

Code:
If you use && to combine commands,
the system will run both in sequence but
run the second only if the first succeeds.
For example, you could use

mv  todolist  todolist.done  &&  touch todolist

to move your to-do list to a different file and
create a new to-do list.  If the first command
fails  (for example, because you don't have
permission to create a new file),  the second
command won't run.


With Puppy linux there isn't many permissions issues,
so nobody uses the double ampersand.
Now I understand the confusion.
_______________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2668
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 10 Dec 2010, 12:46    Post subject: Re: double ampersand  

don570 wrote:
I remember now . I was installing netbsd unix
on an old mac computer and I started
reading about unix.

Here's the reference

Visual Quickstart Guide
Unix Third Edition

by Deborah S. Ray and Eric J. Ray

Code:
If you use && to combine commands,
the system will run both in sequence but
run the second only if the first succeeds.
For example, you could use

mv  todolist  todolist.done  &&  touch todolist

to move your to-do list to a different file and
create a new to-do list.  If the first command
fails  (for example, because you don't have
permission to create a new file),  the second
command won't run.


Aha! That's a valid reason to have such a command, in addition to ";" (which runs regardless)

I learned something new today! Thanks Don!

Quote:
With Puppy linux there isn't many permissions issues,
so nobody uses the double ampersand.
Now I understand the confusion.


Well, most people don't even use the command line any more, so...

I guess that I was aware that "&&" also worked, but because "&" is a "special character", I avoided it. From the error standpoint, I find that ";" is more well behaved -- and when it doesn't work, it doesn't do exceptionally strange things -- like backgrounding jobs... Wink

BTW, it rather looked like part of the problem was that characters we being "quoted" rather than being operators...

There's that whole goofy list of special characters, such as: "&" versus "\&" and what's the really goofy one..."\\\" which quotes "\" as a character (I _think_)? ("\" being the special character used for quoting, is difficult to "quote", so you have to "quote" it again...or is it twice more?)

Urgh!!!...

_________________
Add swapfile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Fri 10 Dec 2010, 14:54    Post subject: Re: double ampersand  

RetroTechGuy wrote:
don570 wrote:
I remember now . I was installing netbsd unix
on an old mac computer and I started
reading about unix.

Here's the reference

Visual Quickstart Guide
Unix Third Edition

by Deborah S. Ray and Eric J. Ray

Code:
If you use && to combine commands,
the system will run both in sequence but
run the second only if the first succeeds.
For example, you could use

mv  todolist  todolist.done  &&  touch todolist

to move your to-do list to a different file and
create a new to-do list.  If the first command
fails  (for example, because you don't have
permission to create a new file),  the second
command won't run.


Aha! That's a valid reason to have such a command, in addition to ";" (which runs regardless)

I learned something new today! Thanks Don!


Quote:
With Puppy linux there isn't many permissions issues,
so nobody uses the double ampersand.
Now I understand the confusion.


Mostly I see "&&" used after after tests. If using ";" it's just a new line of code....quite different.

Code:

[ "$1" = "" ] && echo "no arguments here" && exit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5788
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sun 23 Jan 2011, 09:18    Post subject:  

Version 0.9-3
See main post

Changelog
- New parameters to manage Pschedule from external apps
--> -e : edit a already defined command
--> -s : run silent. Do not show main window.

This makes it possible to use the Pschedule editor in other apps. Will be used by Pmusic 1.6.0

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5788
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Tue 15 Feb 2011, 09:40    Post subject:  

Version 1.0
See main post

Changelog
- Faster startup
- Language support
- Reorganized main gui
- Different outfit for fields that user edits and those pSchedule edits.

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3379
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 08 Mar 2011, 16:15    Post subject: bad install in wary quickset 503  

There was a bad install of pschedule in wary quickset 503.

I've warned shinobar
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=502377#502377

To prevent this from happening again, it might be helpful to
change the .desktop file
Code:

[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=Pschedule task on time
Icon=mini-clock.xpm
Comment=Pschedule task on time
Exec=/usr/local/pschedule/pschedule
Terminal=false
Type=Application
Categories=X-SystemSchedule
GenericName=Pschedule task on time


I would suggest changing the line
Exec=/usr/local/pschedule/pschedule

to

Code:

Exec=/usr/local/bin/pschedule



That will force users to install properly or it won't work at all.

___________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5788
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sat 12 Mar 2011, 13:43    Post subject:  

done


Thanks
Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5788
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sun 20 Mar 2011, 04:13    Post subject:  

Version 1.0.1
See main post


Changelog
- Bugfix: Detect macrolanguage (fr, en..) when lang contains utf or similar post info.
- Bugfix: translation of 'task' and 'time' in editor (thanks to etiennep)
- Bugfix: Exec-path in .desktop file (thanks to don570)
- Bugfix: Troubles after unstalling NLS. (thanks to shinobar) --> see line 46 pmusic
- NLS_ Added: $Time

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3379
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 02 Apr 2011, 14:30    Post subject: pschedule 101  

Using lucid puppy 5.2.......


I couldn't get pschedule 1.0.1 to show in French
so I had to stick with pschedule 1.0

_______________________________

Also I recommend that you change the name of
'fr_ca:french' to 'fr:french'

This will make the application show in French
without the need to create a link.

______________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5788
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sat 16 Apr 2011, 14:47    Post subject: Re: pschedule 101  

don570 wrote:
Using lucid puppy 5.2.......


I couldn't get pschedule 1.0.1 to show in French
so I had to stick with pschedule 1.0

_______________________________

Also I recommend that you change the name of
'fr_ca:french' to 'fr:french'

This will make the application show in French
without the need to create a link.

______________________________
Got it - added to todo-list


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1472
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Mon 25 Apr 2011, 18:55    Post subject:  

Thanks for this, one small problem, if I can call it that, the link buttons in the about box didn't work for me.
I added BROWSER="defaultbrowser" to the top of the pschedule script and that fixed it.
BROWSER.png
 Description   
 Filesize   18.91 KB
 Viewed   1215 Time(s)

BROWSER.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5788
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 27 Apr 2011, 15:17    Post subject:  

Geoffrey
Got it, thank you


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rodin.s

Joined: 22 Sep 2010
Posts: 338
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Thu 02 Jun 2011, 14:36    Post subject: APPDIR >> PROGPATH  

Localization does not work. In /usr/local/pschedule/pschedule $APPDIR should be replaced with $PROGPATH.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5788
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Fri 03 Jun 2011, 14:48    Post subject: Re: APPDIR >> PROGPATH  

rodin.s wrote:
Localization does not work. In /usr/local/pschedule/pschedule $APPDIR should be replaced with $PROGPATH.
Thank you. Don570 complained about this ages ago, and I have simply forgotten. Sorry.


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 9 [130 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0978s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0081s) ][ GZIP on ]