Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 20 Aug 2014, 12:43
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Problems booting from floppy
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Author Message
Fritz_Monroe

Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun 29 May 2005, 15:51    Post subject:  Problems booting from floppy  

I'm a newbie to Linux and just happened upon Puppy. So far it looks great. I've been able to boot off of CD on one of my systems to play around a little. I decided it looked good to me, so wanted to try it on one of my other boxes that won't boot from CD. I used rawrite to create the floppy and booted up.

First off, it didn't find the CD, but that was my fault, I put it in the wrong CD tray, so I edited the autoexec.bat file to point to H: instead. This time, it started reading the CD loaded up vmlinuz, and went on to the image.gz. The machine reboots. I took a better look into the autoexec.bat and found that it was writing to 256 Meg of memory, I only have 192 Meg here, so there's another change. I figured I had it straightened out, but on boot up it did the exact same thing, rebooted when loading image.gz.

I also tried it on this computer's brother, same everything except 1 DVD-ROM and no CD. Exact same results.

So, any suggestions? I'm open to anything.

F_M
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ian
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 1237
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Sun 29 May 2005, 19:56    Post subject:  

You could try creating a swap partition to overcome the lack of memory if that is the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Fritz_Monroe

Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun 29 May 2005, 22:34    Post subject:  

I'm hoping to avoid making anything permanent. I need to verify that this old machine will run linux, and that I can find the drivers for all the parts. I built these machines from parts, and since money was short, I went as generic as I could. So, it's possible this could be pretty tough to get running.

F_M
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ian
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 1237
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Wed 01 Jun 2005, 23:23    Post subject:  

A swap partition doesn't have to be permnent, but if you have an old hard drive just fit it for the time being and create a swap partition on that.
It only needs to be about 128M.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11084
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Thu 02 Jun 2005, 08:05    Post subject: OLDBIOS  

There is an easier and more effective way to boot a computer from CD-ROM which doesn't have the BIOS support to do it.

I've attached a file called OLDBIOS.ZIP - It contains a floppy disk image of a disk which will boot to the A: drive then transfer control to boot from the CD-ROM

I've also included a freeware DOS utility called FIRM to write the floppy disk in DOS - you can use rawrite also but I think FIRM is better.

I expect this will solve the reboot problem you were having.
oldbios.zip
Description 
zip

 Download 
Filename  oldbios.zip 
Filesize  23.43 KB 
Downloaded  607 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
John3333
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2005, 21:20    Post subject:  

Sorry if this sounds stupid, but can you just verify one thing?
If I copy this to a floppy, does that mean that the floppy will boot and then direct my computer to the CD, without touching the hard drive or writing one little thing (even to the first track) of my hard drive?
In other words, will the hard drive remain 100% untouched when I boot using the floppy?
Back to top
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11013
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2005, 21:55    Post subject:  

I'm almost certain that your hard drive will remain untouched, but you can try unplugging it and then booting the CD with the floppy if you really, really want to be sure. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11084
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2005, 22:34    Post subject:  

Flash wrote:
I'm almost certain that your hard drive will remain untouched, but you can try unplugging it and then booting the CD with the floppy if you really, really want to be sure. Smile

Oldbios transfers control straight from the floppy to the CD-ROM. You want to have the boot sequence in your bios to look to the floppy as the first boot device.

Also, for first setup you don't 'copy' the file to the floppy. You use the image and tools included to write the floppy disk.

Enjoy!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2005, 23:16    Post subject: Re: OLDBIOS  

Bruce B wrote:

I've also included a freeware DOS utility called FIRM to write the floppy disk in DOS - you can use rawrite also but I think FIRM is better.

I expect this will solve the reboot problem you were having.


I still have this strange vision of fd0: Puppy
- Fido Puplet

Barry put the 2.6 kernel on a single floppy
but the 2.4 might be better - as maybe a 2 floppy system
I used the elinks browser to browse the web and enter
this forum - how big is that?

Here are the suggested specs of FD0: Puplet

generated from an on line script
Boots from floppy
set up internet connection
enters (a yet to be created) page on the wiki
offers specialised dotpups
comes with [progs dependent on script]

Sorry to be off topic
- normal service is now resumed . . .

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
papaschtroumpf


Joined: 17 Jun 2005
Posts: 250

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jul 2005, 11:30    Post subject:  

anyone knows of something equivalent to boot oof the CD-ROM and transfer control to the USB drive?

My main puppy (heavily customized 1.0.3 based liveCD) is on a USB "pen" drive. I ran into one laptop that couldn't boot from USB and didn't have a floppy drive: if I had a small ISO on the USB drive I could burn it to a CD then boot from that CD and transfer control to puppy.

Right now my only solution is to carry around the entire image of my puppy liveCD so that I can boot from it but still have my PHOME on sda1. Fortunately my USB drive is 1G so the 60M ISO is peanuts in terms of space used.

_________________
Mandriva LE 2005 user and puppy newbie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0646s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0041s) ][ GZIP on ]