Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 25 Apr 2014, 04:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Legacy OS 2 Released (Download Now!)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 7 [100 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Author Message
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4767
Location: GB

PostPosted: Tue 07 Jun 2011, 11:47    Post subject:  

Quote:
..sadden me to see a number of users like yourself having this amount of trouble.

Runs on all my single core stuff up to 939, too. I wonder whether folks having trouble are trying to run it in the presence of other Puppies, distros and the most undesirable of all OS? General advice is to disconnect all other HDs, fit a cleaned, old 3.2/4.3/10Gb unit, format ext2, swap partition~200Mb and do a FULL install. john's LegacyOS is well outside the original aims and intentions of the original Puppy, so is best used like a conventional distro - not as if he hasn't stuffed it full of goodies. Try to avoid tricky HW like Intel video, HP/Cq laptops, etc. Take my advice and dig out an old board, preferably AMD. My preference is for those old 1200 Durons - millions were produced - free with cornflakes - cut&paint to reduce the multiplier and stick the FSB up as far as possible. This approach produces results far superior with all Puppies to most recent junk; well worth the effort.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Germador

Joined: 13 Mar 2011
Posts: 7
Location: Yellville, Arkansas

PostPosted: Tue 07 Jun 2011, 13:28    Post subject: Legacy OS 2
Subject description: I like the desktop
 

My first encounter was a bad burn. I resorted to having Legacy OS 1 in the IDE ROM and Legacy OS 2 in the SATA ROM. Legacy OS 1 tried to upgrade. My second encounter I redownloaded Legacy OS 2 and it looked like 2 instead of 1. I watched Sneeky's video to refresh myself. Instead of installing to a hard drive I did it to flash drive. After several attempts at a ext 2 I tried an ext 3 and it loaded. Still working on the etho 0 and etho 1. Flash upgraded through another IDE hard drive. Having trouble with grub. I had an easier time with Legacy OS 1.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
john biles


Joined: 17 Sep 2006
Posts: 1384
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 07 Jun 2011, 21:19    Post subject:  

Hello Sage,
You have a way with words that always bring a smile to my face. I'm getting the feeling also that a PC with nothing fancy (Hardware) and with 1 or 2 Hard Drives with less then 8 Partitions in total is the best candidate for a successful install. My releases have always been created with a full install in mind. Yes you can run it live but the experience wouldn't be as enjoyable.

Hello Germador,
With Legacy OS 2 I focused on updated a number of apps and sytem files like ffmpeg etc. While the Installer was updated with easier to follow instructions, it still works like it did in the first Legacy. There should be no difference in installing both?

_________________
Legacy OS 2.1 LTS Released! Install me on a new! EXT2 Partition with 500Mb of swap and I'll be happy. Razz
Legacy OS 4 Released! Install to newer legacy hardware / early EeePC's Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4767
Location: GB

PostPosted: Wed 08 Jun 2011, 12:10    Post subject:  

Quote:
You have a way with words...

Better than having away with ditto!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kjurkic


Joined: 18 Jul 2007
Posts: 29
Location: Terrace, BC Canada - The Great *Wet* North

PostPosted: Wed 08 Jun 2011, 12:58    Post subject: Legacy OS 2 in Virtualbox
Subject description: Cannot get booted
 

Hi all

Played with this puppy for a while trying many different settings to get to boot inside virtualbox4.x. No joy so far - it presents a black screen and no disk activity whatsoever when trying to set xorg. Sad

Xvesa produces an illegible 8-color desktop, but no interaction.

So far I have changed disk types (ide/sata) bus types, processor VT acceleration on/off, PAE on/off, etc.

regards
Ken
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4767
Location: GB

PostPosted: Wed 08 Jun 2011, 14:34    Post subject:  

Quote:
boot inside virtualbox

Why?!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kjurkic


Joined: 18 Jul 2007
Posts: 29
Location: Terrace, BC Canada - The Great *Wet* North

PostPosted: Wed 08 Jun 2011, 15:58    Post subject: Why?  

Sage wrote:
Quote:
boot inside virtualbox

Why?!


Why did Hillary climb Everest?





I was just exploring its usability. I have a couple of older PC's, but not on hand at my location for testing.

-Ken
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nitehawk


Joined: 13 Apr 2008
Posts: 521
Location: West Central Florida

PostPosted: Wed 08 Jun 2011, 16:31    Post subject:  

Hey,....John!!!!
take a lookey at distrowatch!!! LegacyOS must be catching the attention of quite a few folks,....'cause it's it's up to the #8 spot! I'm on this dratted slow dialup,....so can't download (gotta wait 'til I can get a CD somewhere). ......meanwhile, I'll still be using good ol' LegacyOS #1.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3272
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jun 2011, 06:21    Post subject:  

Now number 7.

nitehawk...
if you want something I can send it from OZ

for free...as a one timer.

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nitehawk


Joined: 13 Apr 2008
Posts: 521
Location: West Central Florida

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jun 2011, 11:15    Post subject:  

cthisbear wrote:
Now number 7.

nitehawk...
if you want something I can send it from OZ

for free...as a one timer.

Chris.

..thanks for the offer, cthisbear,............
but that's a long ways, an' a lot of trouble for ya. I'm sure LegacyOS will be on some of the major linux cd sites very soon. I'm using Wary Puppy also (so I have that to fall back on).....(as well as debian and slackware 13.37).....so I'm kept pretty busy! Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3272
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 10 Jun 2011, 20:13    Post subject:  

Number 4.

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4767
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sat 11 Jun 2011, 02:36    Post subject:  

Quote:
Number 4.

Clearly, john has exceeded even his own expectations. Proof, if needed, that what punters really desire is a polished product, extensively debugged, attention to the minutia - that works.
Users of certain SiS chipsets and some laptops will still have to edit the GRUB menu to add an acpi parameter - usually acpi=force - in order to overcome the kernel/4.12 shortcoming of shutdown failure: nothing to do with john, of course (cf. previous extensive discussion on the subject).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gnomic

Joined: 20 Aug 2010
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Sat 11 Jun 2011, 06:50    Post subject: wifi
Subject description: secured ap agh
 

Trying wifi again on CPQ laptop E500, this time with Atheros PC Card, aka PCMCIA. Initially no interface seen post boot tho' the status led on the card was flashing. Loaded ath_pci with network setup. However attempts to authenticate with secured access point still fizz out. I expect this is a problem with authentication via wpa/tkip. Is the more recent simple network setup compatible with Legacy 2? As seen in recent Puppy versions alongside the traditional jumping through all the hoops approach? Will have to revise what is involved with the command line approach and wpa_supplicant. Puppy Network Setup wasn't great with wpa until v4 or later. Then there is Frisbee as seen in Fluppy and Snowpuppy. See you have wpa_cli but no wpa_gui, however both depend on the wpa_supplicant.conf file being set up with the required info.

No cli web browser provided? Speaking of web browsers I suppose you may have seen that our new Google overlords are going to start insisting on a very recent browser version for their various services. Unclear whether any version of Opera is included. Maybe Legacy users aren't candidates for the cloud. Could be a hassle with using gmail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1457

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jun 2011, 04:47    Post subject:  

Tried installing it, but I can't get the bootloader (GRUB) to work. It works OK out of a savefile on another Linux distro's partition on the hard drive though.

Despite the bootup problems on my computer, it's an impressive piece of work. I may well be sticking with it for the remainder of the (probably short) life of this machine.

Thanks for a good piece of work and best wishes,

CP .

_________________
Compaq Deskpro Pentium III (866 MHz), 512 MB of RAM, 30 GB hard drive running Puppy Precise 5.71 Retro and Puppy Legacy OS2.1 LTS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tinker

Joined: 06 Dec 2007
Posts: 51
Location: Midwestern United States

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jun 2011, 22:05    Post subject: what about mini?
Subject description: which should I use on an eeepc? mini or version 2?
 

I have an eee pc 900 with the original simplified linux OS on the ssd.I mostly use jemimah's puppeee on an sd card in the slot, and I never actually boot the original os on the ssd. I wonder about trying a full install of legacy OS. I noted on the wikka page about your mini version. Should I be trying that on my eeepc (even though it's older) or should I try installing your new version 2?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 7 [100 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0764s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0100s) ][ GZIP on ]