Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 23:49
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Zarfy - Change Screen Resolution Gui - MultiMonitor Support
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6449
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jun 2011, 17:19    Post_subject:  

Have you checked that your second screen hasn't come unplugged?
_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
stiginge


Joined: 22 Mar 2007
Posts: 420
Location: Kerry, Ireland

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jun 2011, 06:57    Post_subject:  

hi disciple, the second (not working0 screen is the screen on the laptop, i can't get this to present on the zarfy gui, its only showing the connected external (working) screen.
_________________
Buy silver, crash JPMorgan
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2462
Location: near here

PostPosted: Thu 09 Aug 2012, 06:18    Post_subject:  

any luck?, ive been using the xrandr command...
_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
rmcellig

Joined: 19 Nov 2011
Posts: 922
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 18:24    Post_subject:  

How exactly do I use Zarfy to configure my dual monitors?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ozboomer


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 94
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Mon 21 Oct 2013, 02:36    Post_subject:  

Folks:

Apologies if this is not the best place to post this query... but since this is a thread about "zarfy" which has been the most help of most of the relevant threads on the forum, I thought this might be the best place to post...

I have a dual-monitor PC configuration that I'm trying to get working reliably and it's been a bit tricky to get things working.

The PC has an EVGA GeForce 6200 512 MB video card (with DVI and VGA outputs) to which I have connected a Samsung SyncMaster S22B300 (DVI) and an eMachines E190HQV (VGA). The video card goes through some "flashy moments" on startup but it works pretty well once the O/S is running Ok.

The configuration works Ok with Windows XP-SP3, using the NVIDIA 6.14.13.774 Windows drivers and in this case, I have the 2 monitors running as 2 independent screens... so that's Ok.

Under Puppy (Lucid 5.2.8, Slacko 5.6, Precise 5.7.1), I get either both monitors working Ok showing the same screen/content (the screens are "clones") OR I get one monitor working Ok and the other monitor (almost always the VGA output) showing random characters in various states of solid colour, flashing cells, etc.

So, coming to the forum and searching out info on multiple-monitor configurations, I found a few threads that spoke about xorg.conf and there was a lot of X11 display configuring (most of which I've forgotten about from years ago)... and although I tried a few things with using NV or Nouveau drivers, and manually editing the xorg.conf file, I wasn't able to get any different behaviour from the system or the displays.

I then found this current thread and collected the "zarfy" package (thanks jemimah)... and after installing it and playing about with the program for a while, I was able to get the 2 monitors showing something sensible - a single large desktop with each monitor providing its own "viewport" on the large desktop (Samsung = 1920x1080, eMachines = 1366x768)... Not bad!

However, the problem is that the settings that "zarfy" applies don't "stick". That is, if I restart the X-server or restart the PC, the previous configuration of the displays is restored and I generally only see one working (DVI) display while the other (VGA) display shows it's old random characters.

If I simply run "zarfy", it gets the displays back to the way they were (albeit, with a mis-confgured background picture), where each monitor is displaying a portion of a single, large desktop.

Is there some way that I can capture the changes that "zarfy" makes and somehow fling that info into the xorg.conf file so that I don't have to run "zarfy" every time I start the PC?

Thanks for any forthcoming info.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Puppus Dogfellow


Joined: 07 Jan 2013
Posts: 616
Location: nyc

PostPosted: Mon 21 Oct 2013, 04:27    Post_subject:  

i had a similar problem with one of my machines. i dragged the zarfy icon from user/bin into startup as a symlink and now zarfy engages as the desktop is coming on--problem solved.


jpeps pet http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=64464 will back up and restore the desktop...

also, on an older setup, i once couldn't get the dual monitor setup to work correctly until i installed gr&r. it seemed to help the computer get a handle on things, though the positioning was ultimately done with zarfy.

hope this helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6449
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon 21 Oct 2013, 08:52    Post_subject:  

I'd suggest trying arandr.
_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
joaomcteixeira

Joined: 08 Jul 2013
Posts: 34
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Wed 23 Oct 2013, 02:55    Post_subject:  update  

Hi there!
Very very nice app! Thank you Smile still working under Upup Raring!

Just for curiosity, is there any new version of it?

thx Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6449
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 23 Oct 2013, 06:34    Post_subject:  

I think zarfy has been unmaintained for years now.
_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
joaomcteixeira

Joined: 08 Jul 2013
Posts: 34
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Wed 23 Oct 2013, 07:22    Post_subject:  

correct,

anyway, for now it is still working fine Smile

nonetheless, if some day it ceases to work because puppy itself changes, please consider in updating it. It is a really nice app Smile

best wishes
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ozboomer


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 94
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Wed 23 Oct 2013, 19:15    Post_subject:  

Puppus Dogfellow wrote:
i had a similar problem with one of my machines. i dragged the zarfy icon from user/bin into startup as a symlink and now zarfy engages as the desktop is coming on--problem solved.

I'd just add that after you've run zarfy manually once, you can make a little script to run zarfy -l and that will load your most recent configuration and exit, so the program will not remain on your screen.

This is a useful little workaround for now... but I'm still investigating randr and other tools mentioned in the zarfy source and our Puppy wiki:

http://www.puppylinux.org/wikka/zarfy

Thanks for the help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Puppus Dogfellow


Joined: 07 Jan 2013
Posts: 616
Location: nyc

PostPosted: Thu 24 Oct 2013, 22:20    Post_subject:  

ozboomer wrote:
Puppus Dogfellow wrote:
i had a similar problem with one of my machines. i dragged the zarfy icon from user/bin into startup as a symlink and now zarfy engages as the desktop is coming on--problem solved.

I'd just add that after you've run zarfy manually once, you can make a little script to run zarfy -l and that will load your most recent configuration and exit, so the program will not remain on your screen.

This is a useful little workaround for now... but I'm still investigating randr and other tools mentioned in the zarfy source and our Puppy wiki:

http://www.puppylinux.org/wikka/zarfy

Thanks for the help.


cool. does that mean a text file that starts (and ends) "# zarfy -l" placed in startup instead of the symlink to usr/bin/zarfy?

any suggestions on the easiest way to automate/obviate the moving of the menu bar to the top and then back to the bottom after everything loads? (seems the only way i can get it out of the middle--it always starts in the middle, but at least the screens no longer start off boxed off and reversed. with this new trick, i'd have one less "okay" box to click, though i kinda get a kick out of the jwm dialogs popping up. learning this stuff is fun...).


regarding what i said earlier about grandr--it worked well for me pre 5.6, but it caused odd behavior in two out of two 5.7 installs, so now i'd advise avoiding it.

that desktop restore pet i posted seems to work for the icons, but not for the monitors themselves.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ozboomer


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 94
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Fri 25 Oct 2013, 05:00    Post_subject:  

Puppus Dogfellow wrote:
cool. does that mean a text file that starts (and ends) "# zarfy -l" placed in startup instead of the symlink to usr/bin/zarfy?

Acshually, it's more like:-
Code:
#!/bin/sh
zarfy -l

...add the normal permissions (that I can't remember for the life of me at the moment) to the file containing those lines ... and symlink THAT file into the Startup folder.

I've yet to explore the XRandR options yet...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Puppus Dogfellow


Joined: 07 Jan 2013
Posts: 616
Location: nyc

PostPosted: Fri 25 Oct 2013, 11:55    Post_subject:  

ozboomer wrote:
Puppus Dogfellow wrote:
cool. does that mean a text file that starts (and ends) "# zarfy -l" placed in startup instead of the symlink to usr/bin/zarfy?

Acshually, it's more like:-
Code:
#!/bin/sh
zarfy -l

...add the normal permissions (that I can't remember for the life of me at the moment) to the file containing those lines ... and symlink THAT file into the Startup folder.

I've yet to explore the XRandR options yet...


better to have forgotten the normal permissions than to have no idea what the phrase means. yup, your code changes the icon from a text page to a text page with a terminal on it. thanks.

i remember early on (i'm new to linux--xp crashed, got jolicloud as a why not, found out it was faster and really ubuntu, discovered puppy, stayed/converted all my machines) being annoyed at how the monitor and monitoring didn't seem to work as well out of the box as what i saw from gnome/ubuntu (wonder how much of a chore it would be for someone to package for puppy whatever that was--i saw in my limited stint with Mint that they used it too...liked their (connected) process monitor as well, but apparently seeming integrated and being integrated are what that Unity thing is all about, so i'm figuring you can take just that, maybe download it from the PPM...), and searching for all the BlankRandRs i could, xrandr among them. i kept grandr and zarfy because they provided the fewest headaches, and now i'm down to one option, but sometimes it seems like half these programs are just different faces on the same set of hands, and this was prior to easy access to the ubuntu repos. anyway, post what you find and thanks for the script. it's the exclamation point after the pound sign that makes it a script to the machine? are these bash scripts or shell scripts or what?

ps sorry for all the questions/hijacking your thread, but i'm on the cusp of "programming." Laughing Embarassed

pps: after that, can i just tell the machine to raise and lower the menu bar?

reload the wall paper?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ozboomer


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 94
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Tue 05 Nov 2013, 18:23    Post_subject:  

I've done some more experimenting lately and this is what I've found:-
    *** If I run xrandr manually, I can set-up the screen in the same way that zarfy does... and it's something that I can 'maintain' betwen the versions of Puppy.

    However, running xrandr manually has a strange drawback: After running it, using the menu option for shutdown doesn't work - X is not terminated. I can site there for 20 minutes and nothing will happen.

    If, however, I do the ol' CTRL-ALT-BS, and manually terminate X, the shutdown command immediately comes to life and is running and the PC shuts down.

    *** Trying to modify xorg.conf manually and have Puppy use it seems to be pretty fruitless, as it appears 'xwin' and/or 'startx' scripts have some intimate relationship with 'xorgwizard' and the xorg.conf I modify and put in place is always trashed with some automatically generated version.

The commands I now have in my Startup script are now:-

Code:
#!/bin/sh
xrandr --output DVI-I-1 --mode 1920x1080 --rate 60 \
       --output VGA-1 --right-of DVI-I-1 --mode 1280x720 --rate 60

...so I don't have to install/run some extra application (ie zarfy)... but there's now this problem with shutdown (mentioned above).

I've yet to fully explore 'xwin', 'startx' or 'xorgwizard'... but the threads in this forum that discuss the problem generally suggest you need to do some significant... 'tailoring'... of any/every version of Puppy to have a (manually) customizable xorg.conf file that will be USED... *mutter,mutter*

The investigations continue...
    Back to top
    View user's profile Send_private_message 
    Display_posts:   Sort by:   
    Page 2 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
    Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
     Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
    Jump to:  

    Rules_post_cannot
    Rules_reply_cannot
    Rules_edit_cannot
    Rules_delete_cannot
    Rules_vote_cannot
    You cannot attach files in this forum
    You can download files in this forum


    Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
    [ Time: 0.0974s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0081s) ][ GZIP on ]