Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 20 Apr 2014, 21:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Menu Entry Maker 1.1.17 update
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [31 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1217
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jun 2011, 10:55    Post subject:  Menu Entry Maker 1.1.17 update
Subject description: enhanced version of Trio's Menu Entry Maker 1.1
 

Updated to Menu Entry Maker 1.1.17

This update I've reworded "Start with" to "Open with", added mozstart to the Open with Options, this will open URL's with seamonkey if the seamonkey news and mail package is installed.

Changed the way icon's and applications are selected, it now has different directories to choose from, as well as the file select browser for non drag-n-drop file managers.

I made the changes in "Racy" to suit the gtk4, also changed the way it selected icons in /usr/share/icons, as they need the full path.

Updated help file.




Updated to Menu Entry Maker 1.1.16

I've updated MenuMaker, this version needs gtkdialog-0.8.0 to function correctly so if you wish to use this then the latest gtkdialog will need to be installed.

It now has a different look, icons on the buttons with hotkeys, the file select for icons now opens /usr/local/lib/X11 and file select for applications now opens /usr.

removed help from edit and delete box's, added a refresh button to the tree list, reworded some of the menu terms and fixed error in code.

It all works just as good as the old version, it's more about aesthetics and keeping up with gtkdialog.

Download is further down the post....


.

=====================================================================================================================================

Updated to Menu Entry Maker 1.1.15

This update includes Opera browser support for Fullscreen or Kiosk Mode.

Detects and displays the default browser at the bottom of the GUI with mouse
over text, which shows the options to use with each of the different browsers.

updated the help and tooltip text.

I'll leave the menumaker-1.1.14 for the time being, until menumaker-1.1.15
has been tested a bit more, should be OK though.

let me know if there are any changes anyone would like.

I'm running out of idea's for it, but that might be a good thing Wink


Updated to Menu Entry Maker 1.1.14

This update is mainly just a tidy up of code, redrafted the help and mouse over tooltip text, this we be the last for awhile.

I'll wait and see how the new gtkdialog develops and see what can be improved or added.

I hope this app is useful to those who have downloaded it, sorry if I update so often, I'm just fussy, if it don't look right i have fix it.


Updated to Menu Entry Maker 1.1.13

This is the latest version, fixed a few errors in the script and resized some of the xdialog GUI's.

Added a new help using xdialog textbox so that the main GUI is operable with help open,
help has simple to follow instructions on how to use the menu entry.

Added a extra Start with entry to the list and replaced the GUI Icon to one that is more appropriate to its function.


Updated to Menu Entry Maker 1.1.12

Well due to popularity I've changed it once again so that now it is more in line with Rox for usability, I think you'll like this one smokey Wink


Updated to Menu Entry Maker 1.1.11

Added extra options:

As well as Dosbox a variety of terminals, default web browser and default text editor can be used to run programs and open files.

If anyone can think of anything else that could be added feel free to make suggestions.


Menu Entry Maker 1.1.10
I though that I'd had better start a new thread as the original one was getting a bit messy.

Well I updated it once more, I found that I had a number of dos game and apps I could use that run fine in Dosbox,
so I've added a function to the menu maker, to allows you to select Dosbox, so it can run in a window or full-screen.

I've tested it repeatedly so it should be fine, works really well, why didn't I think of this before, all those scripts I use to write,
well I hope you like it and it's of some use to those who still use dos apps and game's
menumaker-1.1.17.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  menumaker-1.1.17.pet 
Filesize  5.09 KB 
Downloaded  2012 Time(s) 
menumaker-1.1.16.pet
Description  Needs new gtkdialog to function correctly, if in doubt stay with menumaker-1.1.15
pet

 Download 
Filename  menumaker-1.1.16.pet 
Filesize  4.89 KB 
Downloaded  325 Time(s) 
menumaker-1.1.15.png
 Description   
 Filesize   25.41 KB
 Viewed   2074 Time(s)

menumaker-1.1.15.png

menumaker-1.1.15.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  menumaker-1.1.15.pet 
Filesize  4.81 KB 
Downloaded  832 Time(s) 

Last edited by Geoffrey on Sat 03 Dec 2011, 20:12; edited 14 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1792
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jun 2011, 16:59    Post subject:  

Geoffrey it looks and works quite well now.

I notice the icon and file icons are different in your graphic than what is used in the version I just downloaded. You must be using a different icon set to me.

I still think it's worth pointing to the default icon directory when selecting an icon. I agree it's easy enough to type the pathname, and you have provided the path in the mouseover help, but having to type does put many people off.

Good job. Wink

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1217
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jun 2011, 20:16    Post subject:  

smokey01 wrote:
Geoffrey it looks and works quite well now.

I notice the icon and file icons are different in your graphic than what is used in the version I just downloaded. You must be using a different icon set to me.

I still think it's worth pointing to the default icon directory when selecting an icon. I agree it's easy enough to type the pathname, and you have provided the path in the mouseover help, but having to type does put many people off.

Good job. Wink


Hi smokey01,

Thanks, yes different icon set, I'm still thinking of how to select icons, I would like it so that i would only have to click on one and it would be added,
I was looking at thunar file manager and the way it adds icons to its right click menu, it has a nice icon browser that list every icon in there categories,
so I'm looking for something similar to do the job, I would like to add a icon preview where the menu icon is in the GUI,
I was looking at 01micko's dice roller the way it changes the image using the new gtkdialog3, that would be a nice improvement.

But this may take me a while , I'm still learning as I go, though I'm open to suggestions.
icon_browser.png
 Description   this is the thunar icon browser, something like this would be most suitable
 Filesize   70.24 KB
 Viewed   2362 Time(s)

icon_browser.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1792
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jul 2011, 04:25    Post subject:  

Did you see the way I had it set up. You simply drag and drop the icon onto the white space in the choose icon field.

Pretty simple and no typing.

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1217
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jul 2011, 06:09    Post subject:  

smokey01 wrote:
Did you see the way I had it set up. You simply drag and drop the icon onto the white space in the choose icon field.

Pretty simple and no typing.


Yes smokey01, but I don't have rox only thunar file browser which has no drag and drop to gtkdialog, thats why I left it the way it is.

The way you have it makes the button only open the icon directory with rox, it doesn't actually select anything,
so if you have any other file browsers other than rox it doesn't serve any purpose, at lest this way it's useable by all.

That's why I'm looking for a better way to do it, I haven't had much luck though, the gtkdialog "fileselect" doesn't seem to have any other options which is a pitty, so if anyone has some ideas..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1792
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jul 2011, 06:30    Post subject:  

Why use thunar instead of Rox? Rox is brilliant and well integrated into the window manager.

Anyway now I understand your problem.

Have you been reading the gtkdialog thread? there are some good clues in there especially from a new subscriber called thunar. He has a vast set of skills. Maybe he can offer a solution.

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1217
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2011, 05:00    Post subject:  

Updated to Menu Entry Maker 1.1.11

see first post
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1217
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jul 2011, 06:51    Post subject:  

Updated to Menu Entry Maker 1.1.12

see first post
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1792
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jul 2011, 08:36    Post subject:  

Very nice.
_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1217
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jul 2011, 09:59    Post subject:  

smokey01 wrote:
Very nice.


Hi smokey,

yes I thought that you might like that, but I'm not finished yet, seeing it as the ability to open web pages with the default browser,

I'm in the process of working out all the commands for the different web browsers so that it will open them in new windows and what ever

else I can get them to do, I thought that this would be good for those that want to use cloud software and place it in the menu,

so far it's looking quite feasible, I will only do it for firefox, seamonkey and chrome,

chrome as the defaultbrowser for instance, the command to open in a new window is,"defaultbrowser --new-window yahoo.com".

So I'll see how it pans out , by the way, is there anything that you feel it could do with.

Cheers
Geoffrey
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jul 2011, 10:09    Post subject:  

x2 Very Nice Smile
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1792
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jul 2011, 17:05    Post subject:  

Geoffrey, simply dragging the URL from the browser to the application whitespace works already, and of course Cut & Paste.

One really nice feature would be to able to click on the icon and it is selected rather than having to drag and drop it to the fields whitespace. I think you are still looking for a solution. I wonder if Don570 Right-clicks might provide the answer or even be used as a companion? Do you realise you can mark (highlight) the icon or file then press the scroll wheel button on the mouse to copy?

Some mouseover help for the start with and category field might be useful. Maybe some of these little tips could be displayed when clicking on the Help button.

Do you know if it possible to add to categories, such as Help and Shutdown or in fact create new categories?

When you select Dosbox I assume this requires Wine?

Thanks

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1217
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Wed 06 Jul 2011, 00:04    Post subject:  

smokey,

Quote:
simply dragging the URL from the browser to the application whitespace works already, and of course Cut & Paste


Yes I'm aware of that, but it still needs to be opened with the default browser, the url by itself with no start option don't work.

The infomation I found varies, though "defaultbrowser -new-window" works with Google Chrome, Firefox and seamonkey,
otherwise if defaultbrowser alone it used it will open in a tab if a browser is already running, I just thought that if it used for
an online application it should have it's own window, though I can make it with two options, either new window or as a tab.

Quote:
One really nice feature would be to able to click on the icon and it is selected rather than having to drag and drop it to the fields whitespace.


Yes still thinking on that one, it's a problem with the limitations that gtkdialog has,
yes, rightclick in rox might be the answer to copy the path to menu makers temp file, I'll look at that.

Quote:
Do you realise you can mark (highlight) the icon or file then press the scroll wheel button on the mouse to copy?


Don't seem to be able to get that to work for me, when I try it, the file opens and rox is closed, I couldn't find a option to change that in rox.

Quote:
Some mouseover help for the start with and category field might be useful. Maybe some of these little tips could be displayed when clicking on the Help button.


I was thinking of that, but thought that it may get a bit messy with popups everywhere, the help seems a better way
but I will have to make it run as a separate gui so it can be left open for a guide,
the way it is, it needs to be closed to return functionality to the main gui, I'll fix that.

Quote:
Do you know if it possible to add to categories, such as Help and Shutdown or in fact create new categories?


Don't know about doing that, .menu files in /etc/xdg/menus/ would have to be edited to add extras,
though I have done it in xfce adding a "Wine" category with a "Programs" tab to stop wine menu entries going into "Other".

At the moment I'm using rexbang with openbox so it's hard for me to tell whats what,
maybe someone with a bit more knowledge of the menu system could give some advice.

Quote:
When you select Dosbox I assume this requires Wine?


Nearly right, Wink Dosbox is needed and it's dependencies, I thought that this entry was needed as it's such a pain to set them up,
just trying to find info on how to run dos apps hard enough so this does it all for you, should make it a breeze for newbies.

It will be a little while before I update it again, it seems every time I have an idea for a small change I upload it, I'll wait until I something
substantially better before I do.

regards

Geoffrey
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1792
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Wed 06 Jul 2011, 04:27    Post subject:  

Quote:
Do you realise you can mark (highlight) the icon or file then press the scroll wheel button on the mouse to copy?



Don't seem to be able to get that to work for me, when I try it, the file opens and rox is closed, I couldn't find a option to change that in rox.

Place the cursor just left of the file, press left mouse button and move the cursor over the file then release the button. The file will now be highlighted. Now place the cursor over the whitespace/field and press the scroll wheel button.

The filepath will be copied.

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1217
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Wed 06 Jul 2011, 05:50    Post subject:  

smokey01 wrote:
Quote:
Do you realise you can mark (highlight) the icon or file then press the scroll wheel button on the mouse to copy?



Don't seem to be able to get that to work for me, when I try it, the file opens and rox is closed, I couldn't find a option to change that in rox.

Place the cursor just left of the file, press left mouse button and move the cursor over the file then release the button. The file will now be highlighted. Now place the cursor over the whitespace/field and press the scroll wheel button.

The filepath will be copied.


smokey,

Silly me, Rolling Eyes thanks now it works, I guess it shows that I don't use rox much.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [31 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1019s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0179s) ][ GZIP on ]