Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Apr 2014, 13:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Classic Pup 2.14X -- Updated 2 series
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 293 of 331 [4963 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 291, 292, 293, 294, 295, ..., 329, 330, 331 Next

What is the best Puppy Version ever, LOL
2.14x
24%
 24%  [ 8 ]
2.14x
12%
 12%  [ 4 ]
2.14x
30%
 30%  [ 10 ]
Other: 2.14x only
33%
 33%  [ 11 ]
Total Votes : 33

Author Message
JonT

Joined: 06 Dec 2009
Posts: 62
Location: northeast Tennessee, USA

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jul 2011, 08:13    Post subject:  

Installed xvesa pet ... same result as James C. If I select the Xvesa wizard from the menu I get dumped straight to a prompt, no resolution setting gui. i810 is my usual driver, as does James C, as I have the 82845 video chipset. Here's /tmp/xerrs.log
Code:

Could not init font path element /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/, removing from list!
Could not init font path element /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/, removing from list!
killall: HotPup.sh: no process killed



cups: restarted scheduler.
3444: old priority 0, new priority 19
/root/Startup-Metacity-apps/gatotray: Can't get scaling frequencies: No such file or directory
Window manager warning: Lost connection to the display ':0';
most likely the X server was shut down or you killed/destroyed
the window manager.
/usr/X11R7/bin/xinit:  connection to X server lost.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10730
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jul 2011, 10:02    Post subject:  

The way I did it guys was I exited X to command prompt via the shutdown menu than ran xorgwizard and when it gave me a choice of Xorg or Xvesa, I select Xvesa.
I could be a difference in video cards/monitors also.
I'll try something else tomorrow Smile
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5453
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jul 2011, 11:39    Post subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:
The way I did it guys was I exited X to command prompt via the shutdown menu than ran xorgwizard and when it gave me a choice of Xorg or Xvesa, I select Xvesa.
I could be a difference in video cards/monitors also.
I'll try something else tomorrow Smile
ttuuxxx


Further update on xvesa.........

Top 8 live pfix=ram on my main Linux box with an old Nvidia card. Xvesa works and I even got to see the pretty gui resolution selector. Smile This is with the original iso....no added pet included.
My preferred 1440x900 is not included but I do have a workable desktop.

So, xvesa is working with this Nvidia card but doesn't like Intel graphics. Laughing
2011-07-01_10-42-04-thumb.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   49.77 KB
 Viewed   1384 Time(s)

2011-07-01_10-42-04-thumb.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5453
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jul 2011, 11:52    Post subject:  

More stuff.....

-Computer-
Processor : AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2400+
Memory : 1035MB (155MB used)
Operating System : Puppy Linux 0.21
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Fri 01 Jul 2011 11:01:57 AM PUP
-Display-
Resolution : 1024x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Unknown
X11 Vendor : (null)
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : VIA8233 - VIA 8235


sh-3.00# free
total used free shared buffers
Mem: 1035712 387024 648688 0 48084
Swap: 1228932 0 1228932
Total: 2264644 387024 1877620
sh-3.00#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jul 2011, 12:09    Post subject:  

perhaps xdpyinfo might help?

see http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=336238#336238

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2642
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jul 2011, 12:33    Post subject:  
Subject description: This error still exists in 2.14 Top8!
 

MinHundHettePerro wrote:
2byte wrote:
Code:
Usage init
init is the mother of all processes
and then it stalls.
The kernel line should contain:
Code:
root=/dev/ram0
this wasn't deprecated until puppy version 3 (maybe 2.17), I think.

2byte wrote:
Also the filemnt command is missing and sfs files cannot be mounted by clicking in rox.
See this post!


And, ttuuxxx, Classic pup 214X sounds like a good and spot-on name for this puppy.

hth Smile/
MHHP


Booting an old machine from CD works fine, but installing the "newgrub.txt" script into my menu.lst does not boot, still giving this error (also had it with Top7). Applying this patch works, but this script should probably be fixed.

Also, is there a way to disable loading the .sfs to RAM? pfix=nocopy apparently has no effect, so it uses 157 MB RAM (on the machine I'm playing with, I have 512MB, but I would like to lighten the load, so it will run better when I put it on a really old machine, with low RAM).

_________________
Wellminded Search
Add swapfile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JonT

Joined: 06 Dec 2009
Posts: 62
Location: northeast Tennessee, USA

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jul 2011, 15:46    Post subject:  

About the Xvesa question: Sorry I didn't report that I had also tried exiting to a prompt, xorgwizard, Xvesa - still no Xvesa wizard.

Just to be clear, I'm not an experienced bash debugger, so the following may be off track but hope it helps with this issue. I'm only doing this to help out - like James C, I'm happier with Xorg and i810 but it's hard for ttuuxxx to fix a problem that doesn't exist on his computer. Sorry for the long post, just trying to be clear.
Lines 18-24 of /usr/sbin/Xvesawizard read
Code:
# get list of modes available (note that I use this **unquoted** for the dialog)
## check if we've got a Intel card:
if grep -F 'oem:' /tmp/ddcprobe.txt | grep -F -q 'Intel' ;then
  # intel card, have to manually give the options for high resolutions
  # get screen resolutions
  MONCHOICES="`grep -F 'timing:' /tmp/ddcprobe.txt | grep -E -v 'Apple|8514A|Mac II|\(XGA2\)' | grep -E ' 640x480@| 800x600@| 1024x768@| 1280x600@| 1280x768@| 1280x800@| 1280x1024@| 1360x768@| 1400x1050@| 1440x900@| 1600x1200@| 1680x1050@| 1792x1344@| 1856x1392@| 1920x1080@| 1920x1200@| 1920x1440@' | cut -f2 -d' ' | cut -d'@' -f1 | sort --field-separator=x --numeric-sort -u | tr '\n' ' '`"
The contents of my /tmp/ddcprobe.txt are
Code:
vbe: VESA 3.0 detected.
oem: Intel(r)845G/845GL/845GE/845GV Graphics Chip Accelerated VGA BIOS
vendor: Intel Corporation
product: Intel(r)845G/845GL/845GE/845GV Graphics Controller Hardware Version 0.0
memory: 8000kb
mode: 1280x1024x256
mode: 1280x1024x64k
mode: 1280x1024x16m
mode: 1024x768x256
mode: 1024x768x64k
mode: 1024x768x16m
mode: 640x480x16m
mode: 800x600x64k
mode: 800x600x16m
mode: 132x25 (text)
mode: 132x43 (text)
mode: 132x50 (text)
mode: 132x60 (text)
mode: 640x480x256
mode: 800x600x256
mode: 640x480x64k
edid:
edidfail
There is no "timing:" string in that file so the variable MONCHOICES is empty. It looks to me as this ends up with the variable ALLCHOICES in line 47 (if I haven't messed up the original file) of Xvesawizard to be empty and the wizard exits.

As a test, I added MONCHOICES="1024x768@" just after line 24. All runs were with a fresh boot with pfix=ram. No luck till I added the recently posted PET (from Xorg) back to prompt, xorgwizard, Xvesa with a tiny but useable screen. Then I ran Xvesawizard from the command line, got a different gui from the one posted (blue background, older syle), tried the Menu > Setup > Setup Wizards > Xvesa Video Wizard which dumped me back to a prompt. I typed "xwin" and successfully got a 1024x768 screen. Very Happy Never did see the gui posted (I have but not in top8).

So, this doesn't seem to be all the problem, it should affect only Intel graphics and maybe not all of those. Of course it may be that the problem is dccprobe.txt file is not filled out properly or something else altogether.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MinHundHettePerro


Joined: 05 Feb 2009
Posts: 844
Location: SE

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jul 2011, 17:01    Post subject:
Subject description: This error still exists in 2.14 Top8!
 

RetroTechGuy wrote:

Booting an old machine from CD works fine, but installing the "newgrub.txt" script into my menu.lst does not boot, still giving this error (also had it with Top7). Applying this patch works, but this script should probably be fixed.

Also, is there a way to disable loading the .sfs to RAM? pfix=nocopy apparently has no effect, so it uses 157 MB RAM (on the machine I'm playing with, I have 512MB, but I would like to lighten the load, so it will run better when I put it on a really old machine, with low RAM).
Hello Smile!
Just quickly glancing through /usr/sbin/puppyinstaller, it looks like adding root=/dev/ram0 at line 1287
Quote:
kernel ${xNEWPSUBDIR}/vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 pmedia=${FINALPMEDIA}${OPTIONPSUBDIR}
could solve the issue for frugal installs to internal hd:s, using GRUB.
Didn't really think about whether installs using sys/extlinux also need to be likewise modified ....

Didn't try it, though, perhaps someone would be willing to guinea-pig this..............

Cheers Smile/ MHHP

_________________
Celeron 2.8 GHz, 1 GB, i82845, many ptns, modes 12, 13
Dual Xeon 3.2 GHz, 1 GB, nvidia quadro nvs 285

Slackos & 214X, ... and Q6xx
Nämen, vaf.... ln -s /dev/null MHHP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SouthPaws

Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jul 2011, 22:19    Post subject: Poll
Subject description: Suggestion
 

Nice update on the poll... (I voted for my available choice this time.)

If your up for another choice... (you know, for those finicky voters)

You might consider adding the following...

one of the above

_________________
http://www.ebiblefellowship.com/sunday_bible_study/2005.10.09_McOwen.htm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JonT

Joined: 06 Dec 2009
Posts: 62
Location: northeast Tennessee, USA

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jul 2011, 22:35    Post subject:  

Addition to my post a couple above about Xvesa trouble:

Looking at the sample output of ddcprobe at http://www.cyberciti.biz/faq/howto-use-linux-ddcprobe-command/, it is the same as mine up to the failure of edid. Apparently failure of edid is key.

I downloaded 214X top 5 and got the same results as with top 8.

dccprobe failed identically for me in the latest Wary, though Xvesa works properly because Wary uses a different /usr/sbin/video-wizard than 214X does (video-wizard is used more often than the older /usr/sbin/Xvesawizard I first looked at but has similar code).

With luck it is only a problem with those of us happy with xorg. Maybe using a grep based on "mode:" instead of "timing:" would fix it Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 966
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jul 2011, 03:48    Post subject:  

Argh, where's mhWaveEdit? Gots to have it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10730
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jul 2011, 06:05    Post subject:  

nubc wrote:
Argh, where's mhWaveEdit? Gots to have it.

Here's the latest Smile
ttuuxxx
mhwaveedit-1.4.21-i386.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  mhwaveedit-1.4.21-i386.pet 
Filesize  171.52 KB 
Downloaded  345 Time(s) 

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1457

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jul 2011, 06:24    Post subject:  

Downloaded Top8 and am using it at home; I like the fact that it uses XFce by default now. Classic Pup is consistently one of the best Pups out there IMO

Cheers,

CP .

_________________
Compaq Deskpro Pentium III (866 MHz), 512 MB of RAM, 30 GB hard drive running Puppy Precise 5.71 Retro and Puppy Legacy OS2.1 LTS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10730
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jul 2011, 23:01    Post subject:  

I Compiled the latest Fotoxx and made a special large version.
It contains fotoxx-11.07, exiv2-0.21.1, Image-ExifTool-8.60, ufraw-0.18
Enjoy
ttuuxxx
http://www.smokey01.com/ttuuxxx/2.14X/Software/fotoxx-exiv2-ufraw-Image-ExifTool11.07-i386.pet <--3.9MB pet

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 966
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2011, 07:23    Post subject:  

I installed mhWaveEdit from PPM, but after restarting X server there is no menu entry. When I click Launch Mixer from the Record gui, nothing happens.
Ttuuxxx, I know this is your puppy, but would you mind putting pfind in the repo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 293 of 331 [4963 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 291, 292, 293, 294, 295, ..., 329, 330, 331 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1547s ][ Queries: 15 (0.0719s) ][ GZIP on ]