Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 26 Jul 2014, 07:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
SimpleSHOT
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Author Message
stu90


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 1401
Location: England. Dell Inspiron 1501. Dpup

PostPosted: Fri 08 Jul 2011, 11:47    Post subject:  SimpleSHOT
Subject description: GUI to take desktop screenshot
 

Here is a simple Yad front end gui for scrot that enables you to take desktop screenshots.



Shot type:
Full screen (the whole screen)
Top Window (top / active window)
Selection (draw a retangle on the screen and capture that)

Format:
.jpg (image format)
.png (image format)

Quality:
0-100 (image quality)

Delay:
0-100 (delay in seconds)

Save in:
directory to save images in (remebers directory choice)

Name:
default is time + date ( you can enter your own screen shot name)

Dependencies:
Yad - Available for download on this link (lucid puppy .pet):
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=539647#539647

Scrot - Available for download below:
scrot_0.8-1.pet
Description  scrot + giblib + libimlib
pet

 Download 
Filename  scrot_0.8-1.pet 
Filesize  202.3 KB 
Downloaded  364 Time(s) 
simpleSHOT-0.1.pet
Description  version 0.1
pet

 Download 
Filename  simpleSHOT-0.1.pet 
Filesize  1.38 KB 
Downloaded  374 Time(s) 

Last edited by stu90 on Fri 08 Jul 2011, 23:04; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3400
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Fri 08 Jul 2011, 15:08    Post subject:  

Would it be possible to include the cursor in the screenshot?

I can't get this to run [in Lupu-525] for lack of the dependency = libimlib2.so.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stu90


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 1401
Location: England. Dell Inspiron 1501. Dpup

PostPosted: Fri 08 Jul 2011, 17:08    Post subject:  

Sylvander wrote:
Would it be possible to include the cursor in the screenshot?

I can't get this to run [in Lupu-525] for lack of the dependency = libimlib2.so.1


Hi Sylvander,

Not sure about the mouse pointer - i will have a look at the man pages see what i can find out.

regarding libimlib2.so.1 it is a (missing) dependency for scrot - i am watching a film right now but i will make a .pet for scrot wiht included dependancies after and upload.

cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2504
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jul 2011, 09:53    Post subject: Re: SimpleSHOT
Subject description: GUI to take desktop screenshot
 

Hi stu90,
you wrote:
Here is a simple Yad front end gui....

and I am here again trying to make it simpler to use Smile

Including the cursor... would be great !

Though I did not have a need in making screenshots in another way as
using the default mtpaint thing, scaled, and png converted to indexed, I have been playing some hours with simpleshot in drake01:

Please copy the next lines
Code:
  # show result
  image="$GDIR/$GNAME.$t"
  yad --title="$TITLE Result: $image" --image="$image" \
      --button="display in Vienior:2" \
      --button="scale in Mtpaint:1" \
      --button="gtk-quit:0"
  next_app=$?
 
  kill `pidof viewnior` 2>/dev/null # avoid multiple instances
  case $next_app in   
    1) mtpaint  $image && $RESTART && exit ;;
    2) viewnior $image &
       $RESTART && exit ;;
  esac
  ;;
  # end show result

to the end of the script between
Code:
  eval $SHOT

and
Code:
  esac


Have fun
cheers

PS: my screenshot has an invalid filename
Edit
PPS: my screenshot had an invalid filename
before converting to indexed filesize was 344k
simpleshot-01.png
 Description   view or edit screenshot
 Filesize   11.24 KB
 Viewed   817 Time(s)

simpleshot-01.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stu90


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 1401
Location: England. Dell Inspiron 1501. Dpup

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jul 2011, 11:19    Post subject:  

Hello,
I have a look through scrot man and --help and unfortunately couldn't find anything with regards to capturing the mouse cursor Sad

As ever L18L, nice update Cool

i changed it about a bit more and added the option to delete the screen shot - and the preview image now uses a thumbnail instead of the original image to stop the preview window going very large on full screen shots.

Yes maybe something else could be used for a default image name?



cheers.
simpleshot.gz
Description  version 0.1b
gz

 Download 
Filename  simpleshot.gz 
Filesize  1.09 KB 
Downloaded  326 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2504
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jul 2011, 11:40    Post subject: SimpleSHOT
Subject description: file name
 

stu90 wrote:
something else could be used for a default image name?

Date is good
but
year-month-date-hour-minute (ISO date)
would sort it correctly

I think it is just the colon that is not allowing upload on the forum.

Cheers Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2504
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jul 2011, 13:50    Post subject: Re: SimpleSHOT
Subject description: file name again
 

I think the ISO date is nothing for simple apps.

We need just avoid overwriting existing files.

Code:
  ## get screen shot name ##
  GNAME=`echo $SETUP | cut -d "|" -f 6 | tr ' ' '_' `
  if [ ! "$GNAME" ]; then
  ERROR1=$(yad --title="$TITLE Info" --text=" Make sure to enter a screen shot name " --button="gtk-go-back")
  $RESTART && exit
  fi
# the following is new:
  if [ -e $GDIR/$GNAME.$t ]; then
  ERROR2=$(yad --title="$TITLE Info" --text=" $GNAME already exists in $GDIR. " --button="gtk-go-back")
  $RESTART && exit
  fi
 

Or ask if overwrite
and in case of "go-back" not loose the previous input. Smile
Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
alienjeff


Joined: 08 Jul 2006
Posts: 2291
Location: Winsted, CT - USA

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jul 2011, 14:06    Post subject:  

Nice. Lots of features. However, I believe I'll stick with tapping my meta and z keys to take fast screenshots. No opening and waiting for a GUI, nor maneuvering around and clicking a mouse.

Remember: meta - z

Hotkeys FTW

_________________
hangout: ##b0rked on irc.freenode.net
diversion: http://alienjeff.net - visit The Fringe
quote: "The foundation of authority is based upon the consent of the people." - Thomas Hooker

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pelo


Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 2892
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Mon 12 Aug 2013, 17:11    Post subject: Not in the menu !  

Is it possible to create a menu entry in the pet (graphics) ?
Thee aim is to go fast.
I use screeny with just a button to click in bottom tool bar.
I opened Simpleshot with the terminal, that is not wonderful
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0772s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0116s) ][ GZIP on ]