Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 16:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Ethernet
Broadcom ethernet adapter in Dell Inspiron not detected
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
netfrog77

Joined: 10 Apr 2010
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jul 2011, 21:59    Post_subject:  Broadcom ethernet adapter in Dell Inspiron not detected
Sub_title: No Interfaces Detected in New Model Dell
 

Puppy 525, 510, 421 do not detect any ethernet interfaces using the on-board Broadcom ethernet (wired) adapter in my new Dell Inspiron 570. Based on the driver used by the pre-installed Windows7, the adapter should use the latest Broadom drivers for their NetLink 57xx adapters. This includes the tg3 driver for Linux. Using the network setup wizard, I have tried re-loading the tg3 driver (which I think was already loaded) as well as trying the NDIS wrapper with several windows drivers downloaded from Broadcom. With the NDIS wrapper, I do get "k57win32: driver installed, device(14E4:1691) present", however the ultimate result is still "No new interfaces detected".

Other than buying/installing a pci ethernet card, I do not know what to try next.
Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,
Bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2368
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jul 2011, 23:53    Post_subject:  

I've run into a broadcom issue as well FatPuppy64-520b3 identified and made usable from default install, also there is a delta patch for Lup525 to add the usability.
Based on your download speed and patch skills

try either search forum for
lupu-520.iso___lupu-520_bcmwlmod.iso.delta
or
Fatdog64-520b3.iso

both work as expected for me.
Razz Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
netfrog77

Joined: 10 Apr 2010
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Wed 13 Jul 2011, 00:05    Post_subject:  

Thanks, Ted Dog!

Will checkout and post results.

Regards,
Bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5271
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed 13 Jul 2011, 01:45    Post_subject:  

You probably just need the updated tg3 driver I provided for Puppy 5.1/5.2.x here -
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=447938#447938
Obviously reboot after installing the new driver.

If still no success, you might need to additionally load the "broadcom" driver, which is sometimes necessary before the tg3 driver will work properly. A quick way to do this is
Code:
ifconfig eth0 down
rmmod tg3
modprobe broadcom
modprobe tg3

then run the Network Wizard again, and see if you get a successful connection.
Please let us know if the "broadcom" driver was necessary, and I can help you make this fix permanent.


Ted Dog wrote:
try either search forum for
lupu-520.iso___lupu-520_bcmwlmod.iso.delta

That's not directly relevant - it involves the Broadcom (proprietary) wifi driver. netfrog77 is asking about a Broadcom wired ethernet device.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
netfrog77

Joined: 10 Apr 2010
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Thu 14 Jul 2011, 13:14    Post_subject:  

Thank you Tempestuous!

New Broadcom tg3 driver pet worked perfectly. Now have internet access with Puppy 525.

Best regards,
Bob

Also thanks to Ted Dog. I'm looking forward to playing with the Fat Dog.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
netfrog77

Joined: 10 Apr 2010
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sat 16 Jul 2011, 16:54    Post_subject: Solved -Broadcom ethernet adptr in Dell Inspiron not detectd  

Hi Tempestuous,

After installing the tg3 .pet, I just needed to reboot.
Did not need to re-load the Broadcom driver.

When you mentioned making the fix 'permanent', can I assume you are talking about needing to 'load' the "Broadcom" driver? And isn't the 'tg3' driver the Broadcom driver for the adapter?

Thanks,
Bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5271
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 16 Jul 2011, 22:59    Post_subject:  

The "permanent fix" relates only to situations where the "broadcom" driver needs to be pre-loaded before the "tg3" driver;
it's a configuration setting in /etc/modprobe.conf

Clearly this does not affect you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Ethernet
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0526s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0053s) ][ GZIP on ]