Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 28 Aug 2014, 05:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Idrivepanel-demo
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [21 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 886

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jul 2011, 11:55    Post subject:  Idrivepanel-demo
Subject description: A Rox-desktopless implementation
 

Idrivepanel is here. Put those Rox-desktop drive icons in a panel and retain dynamic notification status and hotplug information.

Idrivepanel-demo is a minimalist replacement for the Rox desktop including desktop drive icons. It uses JWM to produce a background and trays and is based on technosaurus' idea here.


Due to some recent improvements to Gtkdialog3 (thanks thunor), it's now possible to emulate the Rox desktop drive icons in the gtkdialog3 created panel, Idrivepanel. (You'll need a recent Gtkdialog3 for it to work -see below).

This is more of a demo setup. The start script makes backup files and then comments out "include" files in /root/.gtkrc-2.0 and places an <Include>/root/.top-tray</Include> statement in the /root/.jwm/jwmrc-personal file.

When you click on Idrivepanel-demo, in Menu>Desktop, it will start Idrivepanel and restart JWM.

When finished, to restore everything, first rightclick on the Idrivepanel icon in the bottom tray and choose "close", and the config files will be restored and JWM will restart.

If you decide to make a permanent desktop using JWM and Idrivepanel, you might wish to disable the Rox desktop (covered in technosaurus's thread above).

You can arrange trays and the Idrivepanel in any way you wish (bearing in mind of course that both the trays and Idrivepanel will always be on top)

A pic,pet, and the necessary gtkdialog3 version follow:

Cheers,
s
Idrivepanel.png
 Description   Idrivepanel-demo
 Filesize   23.17 KB
 Viewed   1532 Time(s)

Idrivepanel.png

gtkdialog3.tar.gz
Description  Latest gtkdialog3
gz

 Download 
Filename  gtkdialog3.tar.gz 
Filesize  53.19 KB 
Downloaded  422 Time(s) 
Idrivepanel-demo.pet
Description  A replacement for the Rox-desktop
pet

 Download 
Filename  Idrivepanel-demo.pet 
Filesize  2.73 KB 
Downloaded  490 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
harii4


Joined: 30 Jan 2009
Posts: 444
Location: La Porte City, IA , U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri 15 Jul 2011, 20:50    Post subject:  

Quote:
Due to some recent improvements to Gtkdialog3 (thanks thunor), it's now possible to emulate the Rox desktop drive icons in the gtkdialog3 created panel, Idrivepanel. (You'll need a recent Gtkdialog3 for it to work -see below).

Is there an way to use it without jwm?
Use it like buttonbars For the minimalist window managers like?:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=1093931090&t=22302

_________________
3.01 Fat Free / Fire Hydrant featherweight/ TXZ_pup / 431JP2012
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Peace and Justice are two sides of the same coin.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 886

PostPosted: Sat 16 Jul 2011, 17:37    Post subject:  

harii4 wrote:

Is there an way to use it without jwm?
Use it like buttonbars For the minimalist window managers like?:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=1093931090&t=22302


harii4,

JWM isn't a requirement for Idrivepanel.

As long as you can set an "on-top" class in a window manager to keep the gtkdialog created panel placed over other windows, it should be fine.

Cheers,
s
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 17 Jul 2011, 03:48    Post subject:  

seaside,
I saw your advice in the beginners thread for this idrive panel and tried it.
looks nice, but I have two questions:
1 - Is it possible to have that top reserved space with the icons in it vertically on the left side?
2 - How can I get my original desktop setup back?

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 886

PostPosted: Sun 17 Jul 2011, 12:02    Post subject:  

Béèm wrote:


1 - Is it possible to have that top reserved space with the icons in it vertically on the left side?

Béèm - Yes it's possible by rewriting the gtkdialog to show vertically. This gets to be a problem however with covering opened windows. Smile

2 - How can I get my original desktop setup back?

The demo is setup so that if you rightclick on the tray icon, and choose "close", everything is restored.


Regards,
s
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 17 Jul 2011, 12:36    Post subject:  

The drive icons are gone, yes (BTW I only got half of them they flew over to the left)
But my original spup desktop (background, drive icons, icons) aren't restored then.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 886

PostPosted: Sun 17 Jul 2011, 13:36    Post subject:  

Béèm wrote:
The drive icons are gone, yes (BTW I only got half of them they flew over to the left)
But my original spup desktop (background, drive icons, icons) aren't restored then.


Béèm,

My guess is that the width is not enough to include all the drive icons. If you edit the file "Idrivepanel" at the top of the script where is says "WIDTH=407". Increase this number to e.g "WIDTH=800" which should be more than enough room to hold your drive icons. If you do this it will interfere with the top-tray. This is a demo of the possibilities, but each desktop has to be customized according to dimensions and taste.

To see how Idrivepanel can be used alone, you can run Idrivepanel by itself instead of Idrivepanel-demo.

As far as your desktop goes, do you still have the files-
"/root/.gtkrc-2.0BAK" and "/root/.jwm/jwmrc-personalBAK"? If you do, then if renamed without the "BAK", and JWM restarted, everything should be back to normal.

Regards,
s
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Tue 19 Jul 2011, 17:58    Post subject:  

Thank you seaside.
I hadn't realized idrivepanel could be run alone also.
And thanks to tell how I can get the original desktop back.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Tue 19 Jul 2011, 19:01    Post subject:  

The trick to rename without BAK didn't work.
But copying the two files from the pristine sfs did work.
If I set the width to 800 I have them all.

Idrivepanel is indeed handy as partitions can be mounted and umounted without gong to the desktop.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 30 Jul 2011, 19:53    Post subject:  

Would it be possible to have only the idrivepanel functionality without the demo part (which ruins the existing desktop)
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 886

PostPosted: Sun 31 Jul 2011, 09:33    Post subject:  

Béèm,

You can run the program "Idrivepanel" as a standalone.

I've created a pet containing just "Idrivepanel" , which does not change anything on the desktop.

Attached below is the "Idrivepanel.pet".

Regards,
s
Idrivepanel.pet
Description  Standalone Idrivepanel
pet

 Download 
Filename  Idrivepanel.pet 
Filesize  1.94 KB 
Downloaded  449 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 18:44    Post subject:  

Thank you seaside.
Works well.
Will try it in Enlightment also.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 18:52    Post subject:  

Béèm wrote:
Thank you seaside.
Works well.
Will try it in Enlightment also.
Works in enlightment E17 also.
But don't know how to minimize to the taskbar.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 886

PostPosted: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 22:39    Post subject:  

Béèm,

If you are running it with JWM, you can toggle it off and on by left clicking the program icon in the tray.

Regards,
s
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 08 Aug 2011, 08:25    Post subject:  

Thank you seaside.
I know that.
But I am using pemasu's debian puppy 5.X.1, which uses enlightment.
I am still discovering this, but other programs suffer from the same issue.
I just wanted to let the people reading here know that there can be issues.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [21 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0787s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0047s) ][ GZIP on ]