Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 01 Nov 2014, 00:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Dialup
[SOLVED] ZTE MF110 modem
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Author Message
andym3

Joined: 01 Jun 2009
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sun 31 Oct 2010, 12:58    Post subject:  [SOLVED] ZTE MF110 modem
Subject description: Getting the ZTE MF110 USB HSPA modem to work under Puppy Linux.
 

Hello, forum, haven't seen you in a while. Very Happy

As the title probably told you already, I'm having some issues with a ZTE MF110 modem under Puppy Linux. I'm using the latest Puppeee on an Eee PC 701, but I also want to get it working with Puppy 4.1.2 on an old Celeron (500MHz, 64MB RAM) laptop.

Anyway, PupDial picks it up as /dev/ttyUSB1, so there doesn't seem to be a problem with detecting it (4.1.2 might suffer from that). The thing is, my carrier does not use phone number, username and password to connect, just the APN. The problem is wvdial doesn't let me connect without those. I can probably substitute *99# for the phone number, but I can't put anything in the username and password fields; wvdial just waits a minute or so for some "prompt", then gives up and runs pppd, which times out soon enough and leaves the modem in some kind of loop. I have to unplug and replug it to try again.

The modem works; I've tested it on Ubuntu, its derivatives (incl. Lubuntu, after installing ModemManager) and Fedora.

Any suggestion is welcome.

Last edited by andym3 on Thu 21 Jul 2011, 02:45; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Wed 03 Nov 2010, 15:04    Post subject:  

Sorry, long thread

Try PMing rich/rerwin, if you don't figure it out

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=37828

or jemimah. pupeee's dev [also long thread]

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=48288

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
potong

Joined: 06 Mar 2009
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Thu 04 Nov 2010, 21:35    Post subject:  

Well hit me with a kipper!

I've just written a mini howto on this (well almost ZTE MF112) dongle here.

HTH

Potong
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Thu 04 Nov 2010, 22:27    Post subject:  

Potong

Nice! Very Happy

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
andym3

Joined: 01 Jun 2009
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue 19 Jul 2011, 03:11    Post subject:  

It's been forever, but I recently got this sorted out (Fluppy 013 with a Huawei E172 + my SIM from Digi.Mobil).

Phone no.: *99#
Username: whatever
Password: whatever
APN: internet

These settings work for Orange Romania too, I tried it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Tue 19 Jul 2011, 06:27    Post subject:  

andym3

Cool, Simple is best, eh?

Can you add 'Solved' to the Subject line on your first post, please

[edit icon top r/h corner]

thanks

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6689
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Wed 20 Jul 2011, 17:57    Post subject:  

I don't think he should add "Solved" as, AFAIK, he didn't get the ZTE MF110 working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
andym3

Joined: 01 Jun 2009
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu 21 Jul 2011, 02:44    Post subject:  

@Aitch, indeed, I forgot about that. Sorry.
@muggins, I recall the MF110 was detected, but I didn't know the correct configuration, so it's pretty much solved. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vanchutr

Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 427

PostPosted: Thu 21 Jul 2011, 03:34    Post subject:  

To Aitch, Muggins
This is my confi to setup MF100

(1) usb_modeswitchzte4.conf
Code:

# Configuration for the usb_modeswitch package, a mode switching tool for
# USB devices providing multiple states or modes
#
# This file is evaluated by the wrapper script "usb_modeswitch_dispatcher"
# in /usr/sbin
# To enable an option, set it to "1", "yes" or "true" (case doesn't matter)
# Everything else counts as "disable"


# Disable automatic mode switching globally (e.g. to access the original
# install storage)

DisableSwitching=0


# Enable logging (results in a extensive report file in /var/log, named
# "usb_modeswitch_<interface-name>"

#######
###

EnableLogging=1 

########################################################
# ZTE MF628+ (tested version from Telia / Sweden)
# ZTE MF626
#
# Contributor: Joakim Wennergren

DefaultVendor=  0x19d2
DefaultProduct= 0x2003

TargetVendor=   0x19d2
TargetProduct=  0x2003

#TargetProduct=  0x0031

MessageEndpoint=0x01
MessageContent="55534243123456782000000080000c85010101180101010101000000000000"

# if that command doesn't work, try the other ("eject")

MessageContent="5553424312345678000000000000061b000000030000000000000000000000"


wvdialzte4.conf
Code:

[Dialer Defaults]
Modem = /dev/ttyUSB3
Baud = 57600
Init1 =
Init2 = ATZ
Init3 = ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 S10=200 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
Carrier Check = yes
Dial Command = ATDT

[Dialer isp1]
Phone = *99#
Username = MYUSERNAME
Password = MYPASSWORD
Stupid Mode = yes
Auto Reconnect = yes

[Dialer isp1apn]
Init5 = AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","v-internet"

[Dialer isp2]
Phone = *99#
Username = MYUSERNAME
Password = MYPASSWORD
Stupid Mode = yes
Auto Reconnect = yes

[Dialer isp2apn]
Init5 = AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","v-internet"

[Dialer pin]
Init1 = AT+CPIN=

[Dialer wireless]
#To force only 2G or 3G, uncomment the Init4 line and append 0 (2G) or 2 (3G), and substitute your operator's name for MYOPS.
#Init4 = AT+COPS=0,0,"MYOPS",
#Init6-Init9 lines are available for user purposes; the commented examples can be used as described:
#To force the 3G quality of service level, uncomment the Init6/Init7 line pair and set value two places each, for 384k/144k/64k, omitting the "k" (e.g., =1,4,64,384,64,384).
#To list all the APNs stored in the modem, uncomment the Init8 line; check the Connection status log for lines beginning with +CGDCONT:.
#To list the operator identifier stored in the modem, uncomment the Init9 line; check the Connection status log for a line beginning with +COPS:.
#Init6 = AT+CGEQMIN=1,4,64,384,64,384
#Init7 = AT+CGEQREQ=1,4,64,384,64,384
#Init8 = AT+CGDCONT?
#Init9 = AT+COPS?


Script to setup
Code:

#!/bin/bash

### ZTE

cd /root/my-applications/bin

cp usb_modeswitchzte4.conf /etc/usb_modeswitch.conf
cp wvdialzte4.conf /etc/wvdial.conf

/usr/sbin/usb_modeswitch -W -c /etc/usb_modeswitch.conf

/sbin/modprobe usbserial vendor=0x19d2 product=0x2003

echo "Initializing modem. Please wait..."
sleep 60

echo "Done. Connecting with pupdial..."

pupdial


Some infos:
Code:

.........
OK
--> Modem initialized.
--> Sending: ATDT*99#
--> Waiting for carrier.
ATDT*99#
CONNECT
--> Carrier detected.  Waiting for prompt.
--> Don't know what to do!  Starting pppd and hoping for the best.
--> Starting pppd at Thu Jul 21 14:35:22 2011
--> pid of pppd: 11554
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Dialup
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0731s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0105s) ][ GZIP on ]