Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 18 Apr 2014, 19:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » System
Ymount 002
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 7 [102 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Author Message
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 764
Location: Union New Jersey USA

PostPosted: Sat 30 Jul 2011, 16:21    Post subject: Menu -- Ymount under Filesystem  

Hi sheldonisaac,

Sorry sheldonisaac I don't have Ymount on this system.
But having run into Menu problems from time to time, perhaps the following might help:

You mentioned that ymount's executable was /bin/ymount. Click that file to be sure it will start ymount. [Typing ymount in a console will start it if it's anywhere on what Puppy recognizes as the executable path]. If not, search for other instances of what may be ymount executable, browse to it/them and test to find which one actually starts the program.
Open ymount.desktop in geany or some other text editor. You'll be interested in three of its arguments.
Make sure "Exec=" points to ymount's real executable (or a symlink to it). Note the absence of spaces after the "="'s.
Make sure "Icon=" points to an icon which actually exists.
Change Categories= from whatever it is now to
Categories=X-FilesystemUtility.

Restart X.

Hope this helps.

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 878

PostPosted: Sat 30 Jul 2011, 17:29    Post subject:  

I repackaged the pet.

The "desktop" files were at the top "/" level instead of in /usr/share/applications.

Should be in your menu now.

Cheers,
s
ymount-0.4.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  ymount-0.4.pet 
Filesize  4.98 KB 
Downloaded  304 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 384
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Sat 30 Jul 2011, 18:37    Post subject: Re: Menu -- Ymount under Filesystem  

(some SNIPping)

mikeslr wrote:
Hi sheldonisaac,

Sorry sheldonisaac I don't have Ymount on this system.
But having run into Menu problems from time to time, perhaps the following might help:

Open ymount.desktop in geany or some other text editor. You'll be interested in three of its arguments.
Make sure "Exec=" points to ymount's real executable (or a symlink to it). Note the absence of spaces after the "="'s.
Make sure "Icon=" points to an icon which actually exists.
Change Categories= from whatever it is now to
Categories=X-FilesystemUtility.

Restart X.

Hope this helps.

mikesLr


It did, and thank you very much!!

seaside wrote:
I repackaged the pet.

The "desktop" files were at the top "/" level instead of in /usr/share/applications.

Should be in your menu now.

Cheers,
s


Thanks a lot; I will replace the old pet

I appreciate all you folks have done!

Sheldon Isaac
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2473
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Sun 31 Jul 2011, 16:49    Post subject: Ymount  

seaside wrote:
I repackaged the pet.
Thank you very much Smile Smile
Please test with CD/DVD (I have got none)
Are there floppy drives anywhere?

Next version will have free space for mounted partitions, here is a preview

sda1: more free then size
size is taken from fdisk
free is taken from df

Code needs some optimazing before posting

Edited 2011-09-11
Link to latest version provided always here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=557739
ymount-0.5.png
 Description   preview
 Filesize   12.8 KB
 Viewed   850 Time(s)

ymount-0.5.png


Last edited by L18L on Sun 11 Sep 2011, 09:15; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3279
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Sun 31 Jul 2011, 18:08    Post subject:  

I noticed the ymount-0.5.png image shows free space as a column.
But when I downloaded ymount-0.4.pet that seems to be missing and ymount-0.5.pet seems unavailable.
Is it still in the works?
Or is there a link to be able to get it as I like the option of having free space displayed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2473
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Mon 01 Aug 2011, 07:34    Post subject: ymount
Subject description: free space
 

8-bit wrote:
I noticed the ymount-0.5.png image shows free space as a column.
But when I downloaded ymount-0.4.pet that seems to be missing and ymount-0.5.pet seems unavailable.
Is it still in the works?
Or is there a link to be able to get it as I like the option of having free space displayed.

Thanks for showing interest in this.
It is still in the works.
Should it display space K or M or G or configurable?
df on console:
Code:
# df
Filesystem           1K-blocks      Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda3             29434956  15556796  12382912  56% /initrd/mnt/dev_save
/dev/loop1              516040    156472    359568  31% /initrd/pup_rw
/dev/loop0              119936    119936         0 100% /initrd/pup_ro2
/dev/loop4              108160    108160         0 100% /initrd/pup_ro4
/dev/loop5               17408     17408         0 100% /initrd/pup_ro5
unionfs                 516040    156472    359568  31% /
tmpfs                   746136       316    745820   1% /tmp
shmfs                   740968         0    740968   0% /dev/shm
#


Code:
# df --block-size=M | grep /dev/sd
/dev/sda3               28746M    15193M    12093M  56% /initrd/mnt/dev_save
#
# df --block-size=G | grep /dev/sd
/dev/sda3                  29G       15G       12G  56% /initrd/mnt/dev_save
#


Edited
Attached ymount-8bit, no pet, just 2 files
ymount-8bit.tar.gz
Description  extract to /
gz

 Download 
Filename  ymount-8bit.tar.gz 
Filesize  2.64 KB 
Downloaded  286 Time(s) 

Last edited by L18L on Mon 01 Aug 2011, 08:21; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stu90


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 1401
Location: England. Dell Inspiron 1501. Dpup

PostPosted: Mon 01 Aug 2011, 07:54    Post subject:  

Hi L18L,
Thanks for the Ymount update and sorry for the late reply Embarassed ( been playing with woof and dpup over the weekend ) yes this is what i had in mind, i have work this afternoon so will give Ymount a good test later this evening. Cool

cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3279
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Mon 01 Aug 2011, 10:24    Post subject:  

L18L,
Thank you! It just seems to be more complete with the addition of a free space column.
If one is looking to mount a drive/partition with intention of doing a backup to it, the free space column would tell if there was enough room for the backup.
I have had my pupsave overflow from a download going to it rather than /mnt/home and I wonder what would happen if an overflow occured on writing to a partition.
Evidently, Puppy needs work in how it handles that situation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2473
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Mon 01 Aug 2011, 10:42    Post subject: ymount
Subject description: free space
 

Glad to make you happy Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2473
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Mon 01 Aug 2011, 10:45    Post subject: ymount
Subject description: test
 

stu90 wrote:
Hi L18L,
Thanks for the Ymount update and sorry for the late reply Embarassed ( been playing with woof and dpup over the weekend ) yes this is what i had in mind, i have work this afternoon so will give Ymount a good test later this evening. Cool

cheers.

So I am waiting for your good test.

Don't hesitate to note everything that can be improved (syntax, grammar, icons Laughing )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stu90


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 1401
Location: England. Dell Inspiron 1501. Dpup

PostPosted: Tue 02 Aug 2011, 07:35    Post subject:  

Hi L18L,
Initial test of version 0.5 on lucid 526 RC frugal install - individual windows for drives works ok - having everything one window has some kind of formating problem fo me and i am unable to mount/unmount the usb drives sdb1 sdc1


Looking in Gparted i notice i have 2.49 MiB of unallocated space, could this be the problem?

cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2473
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Tue 02 Aug 2011, 09:45    Post subject: ymount  

Hi stu90,
thanks for testing
stu90 wrote:

Looking in Gparted i notice i have 2.49 MiB of unallocated space, could this be the problem?.

I don'think so. Looking at my partitions (ALL drives): gparted crashes.
Looking single drives: I have unallocated space everywhere, too.

The corrupted output might come from any error message. Did you run ymount from command line?

Another problem, solution reserved for Iguleder, is the /initrd/mnt/dev_save. We know you cannot mount or unmount it but the resulting error messages are confusing.

Anyway version 0.6 is ready!
Using the output of df command it is very fast though having added functionality.

Mounted partitions are listed first.
The other partitions appended.
You can select for mount or unmount before the listing has finished.
Sorting columns is very handy and fast.

Testers needed for CD/DVD (and floppy drives?)

Have fun

Edited 2011-09-11
Link to latest version provided always here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=557739
ymount-0.6.pet
Description  yad required
pet

 Download 
Filename  ymount-0.6.pet 
Filesize  5.62 KB 
Downloaded  294 Time(s) 
ymount-0.6.pet.png
 Description   faster
 Filesize   17.71 KB
 Viewed   746 Time(s)

ymount-0.6.pet.png


Last edited by L18L on Sun 11 Sep 2011, 09:15; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 607
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Tue 02 Aug 2011, 19:57    Post subject:  

G'day,

Just quickly tried ymount-0.6 on my desktop. Two hard drives each with 15 partitions (three primary and one fully subdivided extended on each). Two optical drives. An external USB 1TB drive of 4 partitions can be added, with several more USB ports around the computer.

Problem 1: sdb lists first 10 partitions by name plus details but remaining partitions just have details - name column is empty. sda OK although the extended partition type is called "unknown" with no total size listed, just 0. Swap partition not listed.

Problem 2: optical drives both listed (sr0 & sr1) but I could not mount a disk in sr0 even with two lines named sr0 and a blank line beneath to try. Clicking on sr0 listed in the first screen had given a new box with an extra sr0 and a blank line beneath. Got message to click on the partition I wished to mount but this message just repeated with clicking <Mount>. Double clicking the sr0 line and ymount disappeared (crashed). Clicking the top-right corner X did not close ymount during the sr0 tests. Same with sr1.

Haven't yet tried any of the USB ports.

Certainly ymount is very quick and has a scroll bar so listings on over-indulged computers like this one aren't lost off the bottom of the screen.

Should be very good by version 1.0.

David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2473
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Wed 03 Aug 2011, 11:53    Post subject:  

David,
thanks for testing.

Problem1, I have set up an USB stick containing logical partitions and I am going to fix that. Not showing swap partition is intended

Problem2, the list seems to me messed by errors of problem1.

davids45 wrote:
Should be very good by version 1.0.

Yes (and we can take version numbers like 0.9.9.9 Laughing )

Thanks again for reporting
L
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2445
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed 03 Aug 2011, 12:13    Post subject:  

Tried version 0.6, using it with spup, it has promise, however, it fails to recognize all my partitions so it still has some fatal flaws. As seen on the included image, it fails to recognize two partitions, sdb7 and sdb8.
image-2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   39.58 KB
 Viewed   699 Time(s)

image-2.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 7 [102 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » System
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0830s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0055s) ][ GZIP on ]