Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 10:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Lucid Puppy 5.2.8 - Updated ISO Version 005 - APR 05 2012
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 190 [2845 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 188, 189, 190 Next
Author Message
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 613
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Sun 21 Aug 2011, 07:15    Post subject: The Old Kernel Panic Msg.  

528: First run of program... no problem, all boots and it appears everything works well. (booting from live CD)

On shutdown, create a savefile to HDD.

On next boot, I get the old 'KERNEL PANIC' about half way through files loading and am stuck there.

Tryed another download just to be sure... same 'KERNEL PANIC'

Have not had the Kernel Panic msg since way way back in the early development of 5xx.

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LateAdopter

Joined: 27 May 2011
Posts: 165
Location: Reading UK

PostPosted: Sun 21 Aug 2011, 09:30    Post subject:
Subject description: Lost configuration on 2nd boot
 

I can confirm the lost configuration on the second boot.

Manual frugal install to hd without changing the default savefile name on the first shutdown.

It is a standard AMD integrated MB with Realtek audio and wired ethernet.

The signs on the second boot are:

it says copying to RAM

It does not go Woof Woof during boot up

Ethernet is not working

The devx sfs that I put in the bootmanager is not loaded


Having enabled the ethernet and installed the ATI display driver pet and Opera 11.50 from the deb, it now works properly, except...

It still does not go Woof Woof, but the audio does work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Sun 21 Aug 2011, 11:40    Post subject:  

Quote:
On next boot, I get the old 'KERNEL PANIC' about half way through files loading and am stuck there.

Tryed another download just to be sure... same 'KERNEL PANIC'

sszindian, Usually a kernel panic at that stage is because of a bad read of the CD. Did you by any chance have the first CD copy the lupu-528.sfs to the HDD when you shut down and created the save file? If so, please delete it and boot from the new CD you downloaded. It wouldn't hurt to check the md5sum.

You might also try puppy pfix=ram, just in case.

Last edited by playdayz on Sun 21 Aug 2011, 12:18; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Sun 21 Aug 2011, 12:10    Post subject: Iron 13, Google Chrome 13, Chromium 15  

To use the newer Chromium-based browsers, please install Instant Update 001 for Lucid 5.2.8

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=554253#554253



http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet-packages-lucid/Iron-13-lucid528.pet
http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet-packages-lucid/Chromium-15-Lucid.pet
http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet-packages-lucid/Google_Chrome-13-Lucid.pet

Please use only these pets--definitely do not use the pets for Slacko.

Last edited by playdayz on Mon 12 Sep 2011, 12:51; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MoebusNet

Joined: 04 Jun 2011
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Sun 21 Aug 2011, 13:56    Post subject:    

Lupu 5.28 frugal install to 4 Gb USB thumb drive with pupsave file using fat16.

When I boot up, I am unable to boot using "puppy pfix=ram"; vmlinuz etc. starts loading immediately. Is this a "feature" to speed boot time, or did I possibly corrupt something?

_________________
Acer Aspire One D255-2301 (N450 Atom @ 1.6 Ghz, 1 Gb RAM, 160 Gb HDD w/WinXP, ENE SD card reader, Alps touchpad) 5.28/5.3.1 via manual-frugal ext4 USB flash drive (4Gb) using GRUB4DOS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
4-stroke

Joined: 07 Aug 2009
Posts: 114
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sun 21 Aug 2011, 14:14    Post subject:  

I used the Prename, batch file renamer to rename a bunch of files.
After booting with the devx.sfs Prename stopped working.
This is because the devx contains a perl script named prename in /usr/bin, overriding prename in /usr/local/bin.

I solved the problem by entering the full path in the .desktop file for Prename.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Sun 21 Aug 2011, 14:37    Post subject:  

Quote:
When I boot up, I am unable to boot using "puppy pfix=ram"; vmlinuz etc. starts loading immediately. Is this a "feature" to speed boot time, or did I possibly corrupt something?

MoebusNet, puppy pfix=ram means that Lucid Puppy will load "clean" without loading any lupusave file that might be present. vmlinuz and lupu-528.sfs will load to load and start Puppy, just no lupusave file so it will be like a first boot.

I am not sure about fat16. I have only tested a usb drive with fat32.

For future reference, there is one oddity I noticed about using Bootflash. I used it on a usb drive that was formatted for Linux ext4 and I got a boot error, even though it said it was (re) formatting the drive. I then used Gparted to delete the partition on the usb drive, leaving it unformatted. After that, Bootflash worked to create a bootable usb drive. AFAIK Bootflash will format fat32.

Last edited by playdayz on Sun 21 Aug 2011, 15:07; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5396
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 21 Aug 2011, 14:48    Post subject:  

MoebusNet wrote:
Lupu 5.28 frugal install to 4 Gb USB thumb drive with pupsave file using fat16.

When I boot up, I am unable to boot using "puppy pfix=ram"; vmlinuz etc. starts loading immediately. Is this a "feature" to speed boot time, or did I possibly corrupt something?

How did you do the install to the thumb drive?

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Sun 21 Aug 2011, 14:50    Post subject:  

Firefox 6.0

http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet-packages-lucid/Firefox-6.0-lucid525.pet
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Brown Mouse


Joined: 09 Jun 2009
Posts: 450
Location: Tenerife Canary Islands

PostPosted: Sun 21 Aug 2011, 15:15    Post subject: Re: Iron 13, Google Chrome 13, Chromium 15  

playdayz wrote:
Brown Mouse, majorfoo, and others,

This is experimental but it has been working for me. It does 2 things--first, it makes the newer chromium based browsers work without the pinwheel of death problem with loading, and second, it lets Seamonkey and other gecko based browsers work when installed along with the Chromium browsers.

1. First, please uninstall any Iron, Chromium, or Chrome pets.

2. Second, install this libgconf2-4_3.1.6 pet.
http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet-packages-lucid/libgconf2-4_3.1.6.pet

3. Then install one or more of these Iron 13, Chromium 15 or Google Chrome 13 pets.

http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet-packages-lucid/Iron-13-lucid528.pet
http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet-packages-lucid/Chromium-15-Lucid.pet
http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet-packages-lucid/Google_Chrome-13-Lucid.pet

Please use only these pets--definitely do not use the pets for Slacko.

Install the Seamonkey 2.3 Lucid pet if desired, or Firefox, etc. If they are already installed they should now work without re-installation (crossed fingers).

Please let me know, especially if you notice any side effects, since if this works out it will be included in the first Instant Update. Thanks.


Thanks playdayz,I'll do some testing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Brown Mouse


Joined: 09 Jun 2009
Posts: 450
Location: Tenerife Canary Islands

PostPosted: Sun 21 Aug 2011, 15:33    Post subject:  

Doh!!!
Followed your instructions playdayz and then installed Chromium 15 and I'm seeing this again.

Edit*

Ooops!!!
Sorry playdayz I jumped the gun!Did a reboot and that message doesn't appear now when opening Firefox,Seamonkey and Thunderbird.All looking good. Very Happy
2.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  2.png 
Filesize  1.23 MB 
Downloaded  362 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Sun 21 Aug 2011, 15:55    Post subject:  

Quote:
Sorry playdayz I jumped the gun!Did a reboot and that message doesn't appear now when opening Firefox,Seamonkey and Thunderbird.All looking good.

Very good news. A reboot must be necessary in some circumstances. I will add that to the instructions. Thanks. It's cool having the chromium browsers working properly. I have been loading them all up and testing. They are big though. Loading 4 of them about ate up my 512MB save file Wink

BTW, the way I made the pets, one can install more than one of the chromium-based browsers without them interfering with each other.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kevin bowers

Joined: 20 Dec 2009
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Sun 21 Aug 2011, 16:29    Post subject: WINE whine  

In my full install of 528, WINE has lots of menu entries--but no "WINE Programs" entry, because it doesn't need one! Go to the Windows program you wish to run and click it, it will automatically open in WINE. I have been wanting the old xnview program to run in Puppy; the Windows version works in WINE. If you don't want to locate the .exe every time you want the program, find it once, and drag-and-drop it to your desktop. Make sure the Windows partition is mounted! Now if I could just get Cool Edit 2000 and Nitro PDF to run in WINE...

Other thoughts on 528:
First Puppy to have a driver for a microscope camera I have; works great with guvcview, better than Windows.
Google Earth won't run, perhaps because it requires the drivers that PPM specifically says are not for NVidia cards? I installed the NVidia drivers but no go.
511 used to occasionally drop the wi-fi connection if I didn't pet it every couple hours, even with its improvements. Hasn't happened with 528 yet.
Gnome Mplayer had a bug in full-screen mode in 511, just moved the active window to the middle of the screen but didn't make it full-size, fixed.

All in all, a rock-stable distro, very useable for newbies yet customizeable for us long-time users. Playdayz, Smokey01, and all the rest: Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Sun 21 Aug 2011, 16:38    Post subject:  

Quote:
Google Earth won't run, perhaps because it requires the drivers that PPM specifically says are not for NVidia cards? I installed the NVidia drivers but no go.

Thanks Kevin, I think Google Earth 6.0.3 *should* run with the Nvidia drivers in Quickpet, under Drivers. Test your card and then install the appropriate Nvidia driver. Maybe someone else with an Nviida card could test Google Earth--it definitely needs the high end graphics. Oh, i do have one Nvidia card to test.

Quote:
Cool Edit 2000

The greatest ever--I still use it. The copy protection might be a problem in wine. I'll try, but I am booked for a couple of days.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
majorfoo

Joined: 07 Mar 2011
Posts: 445
Location: Wish I knew

PostPosted: Sun 21 Aug 2011, 18:01    Post subject: remaster lucid puppy 5.2.8  

I have been advised by playdayz that rerwin reworked the remaster script and playdayz included his reworked script in lucid 528.

Just completed remaster of 528 and did not need the pet from lucid 525.

Thanks rerwin for you contribution on this useful tool.

Just a couple of small items that would make this better

1. On remaster, eliminate need to go through the personalize settings routiine. This is done prior to remaster and not required on new iso.

2. When I boot new iso, I am still getting a message that puppy was not shut down properly with option to ignore or continue.

This was addressed in 525. Prior to remaster, go to etc directory and remove hidden file XLOADED.

Looking good guys. Thanks for your dedication and hard work.

majorfoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 190 [2845 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 188, 189, 190 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1052s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0140s) ][ GZIP on ]