Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 22:58
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
How to Install Your Printer/Scanner in Puppy
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 3 of 16 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 14, 15, 16 Next
Author Message
HiDeHo

Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Sat 25 Jun 2011, 08:15    Post_subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
HiDeHo wrote:
one thing that was available for 431 as a .pet was splix drivers for puppy. documented here http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=40225 these drivers do not work in lupu or later pupps

I could not get the Splix package to compile in Lupu 525. However all of its target printers are supported by other packages such as foo2xxx or the samsung_printer-3.00.65.pet .


there are soem printe drivers created as pets fior 431 that work in 525adn other lupu series. http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=40225 these should work the splix one adds drivers
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DutchPuppy


Joined: 14 Aug 2011
Posts: 34
Location: Vlaardingen, South-West of Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2011, 10:24    Post_subject: Canon LBP6000
Sub_title: No printing
 

Hi all,

Iam using Puppy for a time (Slickpup now I like it a lot) and lately bought a Canon laserprinter LBP6000. After reading several topics i realise that i made a big mistake for use with Linux by buying Canon. Anyhow I have it and hope to get it work on Puppy. Iam booting from a usb drive since my wife uses XP and under XP its working fine. In Puppy i can add the printer, it also shows this model. If I want to print a testpage it shows its busy with it, but noting happens, not a little sound from the printer. From Canon deb files can be downloaded, but tried those before and also nothing came out of the printer.
I hope someone can help me out of this problem since i do not prefer to use XP to make a print Rolling Eyes
If i need to give more specific information, please let me know!
Best regards, Kees
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9203
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2011, 12:39    Post_subject:  

1. What Puppy version are you using?

2. What is the full name of this printer? Is it an i-sensys LBP6000?

3. When you installed it in CUPS, what model did you pick? The closest one I can see is the LBP-1760 Gutenprint.

4. Is the package that you downloaded from Canon the "CAPT_Printer_Driver_for_Linux_V220_uk_EN"?

When you unpack it, you should see two files named cndrvcups-capt_2.20-1_i386.deb and cndrvcups-common_2.20-1_i386.deb. Another user claimed that he got an LBP-3360 working just by click-installing those packages. But it sounds like that method did not work for you.

Update: See the new instructions here.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DutchPuppy


Joined: 14 Aug 2011
Posts: 34
Location: Vlaardingen, South-West of Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2011, 15:12    Post_subject:  

hi rcrsn51;

-Iam using (slick)pup 5.2.5
-Full name printer = i-sensys LBP6000B
-In CUPS i tried several LBP types. Just now i tried the one you mentioned:
( Canon LBP-1760 - CUPS+Gutenprint v5.2.5 Simplified (grayscale, 2-sided printing )
-Yes I downloaded that one from Canon and yes, I ran the .deb files. After that it looks fine on the screen (model) but nothing comes out of the printer.

In the CUPS 1.4.3 screen it shows:

State
Canon_LBP6000_LBP6018-2 geany job #1 root 77k 1 processing since Sat Aug 27 11:11:39 2011

So it seems it wants to send something but the printer does not accept it.

I downloaded your PET and did choose the LBP 5975 but it keeps on showing that the job is pending but the printer does nothing....

In that zipped file from Canon is a manual that speaks about a ccpd deamon that has to be automatically loaded but i tried that instruction too without success. Maybe I didn't do that properly because honestly speaking Iam not so familiar yet with those files like rc.local etc.

Regards, Kees
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9203
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2011, 16:50    Post_subject:  

Updated.
Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DutchPuppy


Joined: 14 Aug 2011
Posts: 34
Location: Vlaardingen, South-West of Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat 27 Aug 2011, 03:28    Post_subject:  

As a USB device...

So, i deleted the printer first, installed your pet, entered the control panel, hardware, printers. Clicked on administration, add printer, then it shows the model there as well,

Local Printers: LPT #1
CAPT Printer
SCSI Printer
-> Canon LBP6000/LBP6018 (Canon LBP6000/LBP6018)
pdf writer (PDF)
Serial Port #1

I chose the Canon, then seeing the name and description, continue, then have to enter then model and chose LBP 5975 / LBP 1760 in that list.
[edit] because the LBP6000 model is not in the list

Under "manage printers" i can see it is installed as usb:

Connection: usb://Canon/LBP6000/LBP6018
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9203
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 27 Aug 2011, 07:26    Post_subject:  

Updated.
Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DutchPuppy


Joined: 14 Aug 2011
Posts: 34
Location: Vlaardingen, South-West of Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat 27 Aug 2011, 08:07    Post_subject:  

rcrsn51:

if i enter the line:

/usr/sbin/ccpdadmin -p LBP6000 -o /dev/usb/lp0

I get

LBP6000 can't find in CUPS Spooler Entry!!

I did connect and switch on the printer.

btw: after i deleted the printer again and search for new printers (after switched on the printer) i can see the Canon, so I assume the usb is recoqnized?

Well, I ran the two deb files again after i deleted the printer. Then i followed your instructions but i get that above mentioned message.

The 2 directories were made in /etc and /var, that seems ok.

So until then i'll stuck at LBP6000 can't find in CUPS Spooler Entry

Thank you for your patience and time to help !

Kees
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9203
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 27 Aug 2011, 08:34    Post_subject:  

Updated.
Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DutchPuppy


Joined: 14 Aug 2011
Posts: 34
Location: Vlaardingen, South-West of Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat 27 Aug 2011, 09:08    Post_subject:  

Ok.
I installed the printer with CUPS.
Chose add CAPT Printer
Then entered: ccp://localhost:59687
Then by name and description: LBP6000
Then in the make list i chose CANON, then clicked continue
Then get the list from models, i chose LBP6000/LBP6018 CAPT (UK)(en)
Then get a list of printer settings where i only change "letter" to "A4" and then clicked set default
So far, so good i get:

Description: LBP6000
Location:
Driver: Canon LBP6000/LBP6018 CAPT (UK) (grayscale)
Connection: ccp://localhost:59687
Defaults: job-sheets=none, none media=iso_a4_210x297mm

Then in terminal i enter

/usr/sbin/ccpdadmin -p LBP6000 -o /dev/usb/lp0

I get

CUPS_ConfigPath = /etc/cups/
LOG Path = None
UI Port = 59787

Entry Num : Spooler : Backend : FIFO path : Device Path : Status
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
[0] : LBP6000 : ccp : //localhost:59687 : /dev/usb/lp0 : Modified

Then after the start command

sh-4.1# /etc/init.d/ccpd start
Starting /usr/sbin/ccpd: .

Then entered cancel -a

Then i open an editor, typed something and try to print.
I can choose LBP6000 in the list

Then still nothing comes out of the printer.

In CUPS checked the print jobs:

▼ ID ▼ Name User Size Pages State Control
LBP6000-14  geany job #2  root  77k  Unknown  processing since
Sun Aug 28 06:23:47 2011   

So nothing out yet
 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9203
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 27 Aug 2011, 09:35    Post_subject:  

Updated.
Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DutchPuppy


Joined: 14 Aug 2011
Posts: 34
Location: Vlaardingen, South-West of Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat 27 Aug 2011, 10:32    Post_subject:  

Ok , maybe the solution is very near soon... Thanks so far !
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9203
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 27 Aug 2011, 10:46    Post_subject:  

Updated.
Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DutchPuppy


Joined: 14 Aug 2011
Posts: 34
Location: Vlaardingen, South-West of Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat 27 Aug 2011, 13:32    Post_subject:  

rcrsn51 I really owe you an apology.
I tell you why.
This afternoon after the try and nothing came out I switched off the pc and printer. You guess it. Just now I on them and 3 papers came out of the printer *duh* Embarassed

erm.. a restart did the job.

And I could print without problem just now. To make sure i was awake and in reality i off and on the pc again.

YEP it works !!

Thanks a lot and I hope this thread will help other people with Canon printer problems !!

Thanks again rcrsn51 *cheers* !
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9203
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 27 Aug 2011, 13:48    Post_subject:  

Excellent! It may be that trying to send jobs to the printer as a USB device (instead of as a CAPT device) hung it up. So it needed a restart to clear.

While working on this, I discovered another thread where users got their CAPT printers working. But they were using Version 1.x of the driver. This Version 2.x works differently, so yours may be the first success with it.

Here is what I would like to do: I will re-write the correct version of the instructions here. Could you do a fresh install of Puppy or boot using "puppy pfix=ram" and confirm that they work?

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 16 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 14, 15, 16 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0808s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0077s) ][ GZIP on ]