Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 18 Apr 2014, 11:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Remastering a frugal install
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts]  
Author Message
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1432
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 02 Sep 2011, 08:44    Post subject:  Remastering a frugal install
Subject description: step by step with images
 

Hi

I recently recieved the following PM

majorfoo wrote:
You recently provided an excellent step by step on How to set up a wireless connection in lupu 520.

Please consider providing similar step by step visuals on how to remaster puppy live cd.

I went through the entire process and counted about 20 screens if you stop and delete root from tmp directory, copy new root to tmp directory, then delete etc from tmp directory and copy new etc to tmp directory.

I believe this would be very helpful to newbies in making a new iso of all their changes.

thank you for your valuable contributions to puppy community.

majorfoo

So, without further ado
let's get on with it. (in slightly more than 20 screenshots Wink Wink )

Please note that the remaster script dialog window sizes were hacked by me,
so that i could take screenshots of them that were not too big (wide) for the forum.
They will appear different on your computer, but the content is the same. (well, it will be in Wary-5.1.3)


    OK then,
    first of all a little background information.

    I started with a fresh FRUGAL install of Wary-513,
    to which i made the following changes:

      Installed both of these:
      zzx_upgrade_73_to_75_nokms-201101-1.pet
      zzx_upgrade_73_to_75_nokms_DEV-201101-1.pet


      so that i could build the ATI graphics driver: ati-driver-installer-11-7-x86.x86_64.run
      (obviously, that required that i load up the devx and kernel source .sfs files first)

      Whilst i still had the devx and kernel source .sfs files loaded,
      i also built the wireless driver for my card: hybrid-portsrc_x86_32-v5_100_82_38.tar.gz

      I also installed Seamonkey-2.3.1 (after which i removed the default version)
      which wouldn't work until these were installed (via the PPM):
      dbus-1.2.4.2permissive-1-w5.pet
      dbus-glib-0.82-w5.pet


      Changed the desktop background image,
      by simply replacing these two files with my new image (keeping the same name and format)

      /usr/share/backgrounds/default.jpg
      /usr/share/backgrounds_original/ORIGINAL-default.jpg


      Changed the desktop/menu icons to Silver-Marble

      After all that was done, i UNLOADED the devx and kernel source .sfs files,
      then rebooted.
      If this step was not done, then the final remaster would be somewhat bigger than necessary.


      OK, now that i am back at the desktop i need to do a couple more things before running the remaster script.

      To make things easier for when i make an install (on this computer) from the remaster i am about to make,
      i will make a backup copy of my current xorg.conf file.
      So i simply went to: /etc/X11
      and copied xorg.conf as acer-ati_xorg.conf

      Right then, that's enough of what i did in the way of customising,
      let's get down to the nitty gritty of remastering.


    Before we really get going, let's make sure we have everything we need.

      1. A working area with enough free space (here i am using another partition sda8)
      this needs to be mounted before running the remaster script. so you may as well do it now.

        NOTE:
        The working area needs to be on a Linux Partition (ext2, ext3 etc)
        DO NOT use FAT or NTFS partitions.


      If you have enough space in /mnt/home you can use that instead,
      there is no need to mount it as it already is (or should be if you are running a FRUGAL install)

      2. A copy of the LiveCD you used to make your install (or at least the ISO image)
      If using the LiveCD, put it into the drive now.
      If using an ISO image, then mount it now (see Step 2)



    Step 1.
    If you intend for your new Puppy to run the usual setup for locale and timezone (i did),
    then before running the remaster script navigate to: /usr/lib/locale
    Copy the contents of this directory to somewhere else (say: /root/my-documents)
    After we have finished remastering, we need to copy them back to /usr/lib/locale


    /usr/lib/locale should now look like this.

    NOTE:
    If you are remastering some version of Lupu,
    then i suggest that you take a look at this thread: Remastering Lucid Puppy 5.2.5
    as it explains about the differences between the normal Puppy way of doing things and the Lupu way.


    Step 2.
    If you are using an ISO image rather than a LiveCD,
    then it needs to be mounted now, navigate to it and left click on it.


    Here you can see it mounted

    You can close these two windows if you like,
    it will give more room to play on the desktop Wink


    Step 3.
    Here we go, start the remaster script.



    Step 4.
    Have a read, then click OK




    Select your working area.
    As i mentioned before i used another partition (sda8) you can see that it is mounted already,
    you can also see that sda7 is mounted too, that is my /mnt/home.
    Select your choice then click OK


    As you can see from the image below, i used an ISO image rather than the LiveCD,
    again, select your choice and click OK


    Here you have a choice.
    You can create a seperate driver .sfs file, or have it included in the main Puppy .sfs
    I opted for the latter.


    Depending on how much you have installed into your FRUGAL install,
    this step will take a minute or two.
    I'm not sure what it is complaining about in the orange window,
    but it didn't appear to cause any problems.



    Step 5.
    This is a very important step.
    DO NOT click OK just yet (minimize the window into the taskbar after reading what it has to say)


    Open up two ROX-Filer windows.
    One at: /root (the top one in the image below)
    and the other at: /tmp/root
    Make sure Hidden files are being shown (in both windows)
    Position the windows similar to what is shown in the image below.

    Click the icon to select ALL files in the window at: /tmp/root


    Now right click on one of the files, and select Delete from the popup menu,
    in the window that appears, click on the Quiet button.
    This will delete everything in /tmp/root


    Now go to the window at: /root
    and click the icon to selct ALL files.
    Now left click (and keep the mouse button held down) on one of the files,
    then Drag 'n' Drop it into the other window at: /tmp/root.
    Select COPY from the popup menu that appears.

    When all of the files are finished being copied,
    go in to /tmp/root/my-documents
    and delete the locale files that you copied there in Step 1.
    There is no need for them in the remaster.

    Bring the remaster GUI back up out of the taskbar,
    and click OK



    Step 6.
    I did not want to add any customisations for my hardware,
    as i would like to use the new remastered ISO image on different computers.



    Step 7.
    This is another very important step.
    DO NOT click OK just yet (minimize the window into the taskbar after reading what it has to say)


    This particular step is rather more selective than what we did in Step 5

    Although i did not want to add any customisations for my hardware,
    there are a few things that i wish to copy over into the remaster.

    You may or may not have to copy things from /etc
    it all depends on what packages you installed.

      One way to find out, is to take a look in: /root/.packages
      Let's say you installed a package called: cannot-live-without-it.pet
      then you would find a file called: cannot-live-without-it.files

      If you open that in a text-editor you will see all of the files that package installed (and where),
      so, if it did put something in /etc, you may need to copy it into the remaster


    So, once again
    Open up two ROX-Filer windows.
    One at: /etc
    and the other at: /tmp/etc
    Make sure Hidden files are being shown (in both windows)
    Position the windows so that both are visible (for Drag 'n' Dropping)

    These are the things i wanted copied over:
    /etc/ati
    /etc/network-wizard/wpa_modules
    /etc/X11/acer-ati_xorg.conf




    In the previous step, if i did not copy over /etc/network-wizard/wpa_modules
    i would get the following two dialog windows appear after clicking on the Wireless button in the Network Wizard when running from the new remastered ISO





    Step 8.
    Here you get the chance to edit the isolinux.cfg file,
    i chose to leave it as it was.



    Step 9.
    Here you get the chance to add or edit things before the ISO is created,
    again, i left things as they are and click OK



    Step 10.
    Here you can choose to burn the ISO directly to CD/DVD,
    or simply create the ISO image (i opted for the latter)



    Step 11.
    Your last chance to create the ISO.
    Note: Even if you choose to create the ISO (as i did) the files are still left in existence.



    Step 12.
    I simply left things as they were, and clicked OK



    Step 13.
    Here you see the ISO being created (it don't take long)



    Step 14.
    There you have it, job done.



    Step 15.
    Here you can see both the new ISO image,
    and the directory containing the files that make up the ISO


      Wake Up Call
      Remember what we did in Step 1. Question
      Go and copy them back to /usr/lib/locale
      BEFORE you shutdown or reboot whatever.


Here are a couple of screenshots taken in the new remaster running in RAM (click on them for full size images)

In this one you can see the desktop background and icons are as i expected
and after overwriting the xorg.conf with my backed up one acer-ati_xorg.conf, the ATI Catalyst Control Center and the newer Seamonkey.
You may also notice that i have setup the wireless connection already.


This one shows that the menu entries are still intact (ATI CCC)


I hope this helps
CatDude
.

_________________


Last edited by CatDude on Fri 15 Feb 2013, 11:41; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
majorfoo

Joined: 07 Mar 2011
Posts: 445
Location: Wish I knew

PostPosted: Fri 02 Sep 2011, 12:55    Post subject:  

Excellent job Dude.

I hope this will help others as they remaster changes they have made to their puppies

Thanks for providing
majorfoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10520
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 02 Sep 2011, 13:21    Post subject:  

Much appreciated.
_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 811
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Sat 03 Sep 2011, 14:52    Post subject: ...
Subject description: ...
 

CatDude,

That was an excellent tutorial which I am sure will be of great use for those wanting to know how to remaster. It took me quite a bit of head-banging when I was trying to learn to remaster on my own, some months back.

I haven't tried Wary 5.1.3 yet, but if it contains the remasterpup2 found in slightly older versions of Wary and Lucid Puppy, then I recommend users to try remasterpup3 which I find to be better. For instance; it automates some of the changes one needs to do when copying over files from /etc to /tmp/etc such as: /etc/windowmanager and /etc/desktop_icon_theme

I extracted remasterpup3 into the /usr/sbin folder and renamed it to "remasterpup2". This way, it can be called by Radky's PupControl Panel as well as be run from the Setup menu

Great work CatDude, and also thanks to pa_mcclamrock for -- remasterpup3 --
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WillM

Joined: 30 Dec 2009
Posts: 122
Location: Oakland, California

PostPosted: Mon 05 Sep 2011, 01:07    Post subject:  

Thank you CatDude. With this tutorial I was able to do a remaster of Fatdog64-520. That is my first remaster ever.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
e_mattis


Joined: 20 Dec 2012
Posts: 102
Location: Williamston, SC

PostPosted: Fri 15 Feb 2013, 00:18    Post subject: Getting "No space left on device" error
Subject description: trying to copy /root to /tmp/root
 

Hey all.

Just finished customizing a Precise 5.4.3 build an am trying to remaster it. I keep getting the"no space left on device" error message after it builds /tmp/root, i delete it's contents, and I try to copy /root to it. Sad

I am using two HDD (sda1 and sdb1). Sdb1 has the customized frugal install. sda1 only has a previous Lupu on it and will have the PuppyLiveCD directory. Both are about 100GB in size. I have the personal storage set at 2GB. The entire build is only about 300 MB.

What am i missing? Confused should I increase the personal storage again? Confused is this some limitation in the remaster? Confused is the remaster broken in this version? Mad

I am now trying to do just a straight remaster - no changes at ALL during remaster to see if I get the same error message.

If someone could please advise me why this may be happening.

Thanks!

E
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ICPUG

Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 1288
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 15 Feb 2013, 09:25    Post subject:  

Should it be mentioned in the 'Before we get started section' that the working area needs to be partition with a linux format (ext2, ...) NOT FAT or NTFS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ICPUG

Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 1288
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 15 Feb 2013, 09:25    Post subject:  

Should it be mentioned in the 'Before we get started section' that the working area needs to be a partition with a linux format (ext2, ...) NOT FAT or NTFS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1432
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 15 Feb 2013, 11:43    Post subject:  

Hi

ICPUG wrote:
Should it be mentioned in the 'Before we get started section' that the working area needs to be a partition with a linux format (ext2, ...) NOT FAT or NTFS.

Done.

CatDude
.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
e_mattis


Joined: 20 Dec 2012
Posts: 102
Location: Williamston, SC

PostPosted: Fri 15 Feb 2013, 20:10    Post subject:  

Just to clearify,

sbd1 has customized precise build frugal install; sda1 has previous frugal install of lucid puppy 5.2.8 and PuppyLiveCDBuild directory. Both are ext2 partitions.

So, what am I still missing? Any ideas?


As an update - the "no changes" attempt did create the liveCD, however, many things did not get carried over as they should. Statup directory missed a script to start the xampp mod, the jwmrc rewrote itself to the default original, pwidgets not only didn't run, but also re-wrote itself to default, and 1 of the ony 3 desktop icons I left writes itself to the top left corner rather than the bottom right (where the other two are).

Any suggestions appreciated.

thanks!

E
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2085
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 16 Feb 2013, 03:19    Post subject:  

I think when I had that problem I had to use my hard disk as the working area. Couldn't get it to work correctly to a usb stick. Long time ago though so my memory may be unreliable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
e_mattis


Joined: 20 Dec 2012
Posts: 102
Location: Williamston, SC

PostPosted: Sat 16 Feb 2013, 18:08    Post subject:  

Thanks greengeek,

I'm trying that now. It still is re-writing some files back to default regardless - especially when I do not copy over the /root, but other than that, so far so good?!?


Thanks!

E
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
AQUAR

Joined: 08 Feb 2013
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sun 17 Feb 2013, 21:24    Post subject:  

Thanks for this detailed article.
Going to try a remastering and see how it goes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 3792
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Tue 05 Mar 2013, 14:28    Post subject:  

Very good and informative article. Thanks, CatDude.

musher0

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0936s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0043s) ][ GZIP on ]