Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 18 Apr 2014, 01:25
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Dillo - Browser
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 9 [125 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1696
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon 19 Sep 2011, 15:59    Post subject:  

jpeps wrote:
I'm trying aragon's version. It doesn't find the fonts listed in dillorc for some reason. I tried several that show up with fc-list : family.

techno's version is working correctly, and the fonts are now scaling properly.


i've allready recompiled both (fltk + dillo) with the same result. dunno,...

but if i see dillo on my arch-install, i see a big difference...

trying more...

aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1696
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue 20 Sep 2011, 01:57    Post subject:  

Ok, found the problem, will upload a fixed pet later.

Aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1696
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue 20 Sep 2011, 02:44    Post subject:  

uploaded bug-fixed pet to first post (3.0-2).

aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3219

PostPosted: Tue 20 Sep 2011, 03:38    Post subject:  

aragon wrote:
uploaded bug-fixed pet to first post (3.0-2).

aragon


Works!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1696
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue 20 Sep 2011, 04:03    Post subject:  

Very Happy

aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Tue 20 Sep 2011, 10:24    Post subject:  

Great! I've installed the pet on my 4.3.1 system, on my 11-yr old desktop. It's fast.
Only problem so far is- how do I create a bookmark? I've read the instructions, and I can't see anything about how to do it. I've created the bm.txt file- do I just have to edit that manually? Or what?

gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3219

PostPosted: Tue 20 Sep 2011, 10:59    Post subject:  

gerry wrote:
Great! I've installed the pet on my 4.3.1 system, on my 11-yr old desktop. It's fast.
Only problem so far is- how do I create a bookmark? I've read the instructions, and I can't see anything about how to do it. I've created the bm.txt file- do I just have to edit that manually? Or what?

gerry


book/modify/select an operation/[add url ...] /submit

..or just edit the bm.txt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 1925
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Tue 20 Sep 2011, 11:15    Post subject:  

gerry wrote:
Great! I've installed the pet on my 4.3.1 system, on my 11-yr old desktop. It's fast.
Only problem so far is- how do I create a bookmark? I've read the instructions, and I can't see anything about how to do it. I've created the bm.txt file- do I just have to edit that manually? Or what?

gerry


Right click brings up a menu which has a "bookmark this page option"
dillo.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   47.65 KB
 Viewed   1296 Time(s)

dillo.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1696
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon 26 Sep 2011, 11:41    Post subject:  

uploaded new version 3.0.1 to first post.

aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1763

PostPosted: Thu 29 Sep 2011, 00:13    Post subject:  

Thanks, aragon!
Fonts look better than they did in Dillo 2.2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
session


Joined: 07 Feb 2011
Posts: 87
Location: Valley of the Sun

PostPosted: Thu 29 Sep 2011, 16:45    Post subject: Dillo 3 -- thoughts  

aragon, your package is working great in Wary. As Dewbie mentioned, fonts for, say, cursive and monospace display correctly without any config-file tweaking; this wasn't the case with Dillo 2.

My thoughts on Dillo 3:
Dillo's already my default web search tool, so the multiple search engines dialog is much appreciated.
I can't find it in the changelog, but remote images don't load until you click them... that's new. That makes a google image search nearly worthless.
The buffering scheme for drawing has improved--I think thanks to FLTK 1.3--so now I can use light buffering without bad screen flicker when moving (opaquely) a dillo window.
Dillo 2 had a nice way of cascading many tabs. Dillo 3 will push away early tabs and gives no way of re-accessing them with a mouse.

A cute fortune cookie: you can change the color of the url bar by middle-clicking the magnifying glass "Search the Web" button.

_________________
Primary - Intel Celeron 1.80GHz, 579MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 Pro ULTRA TF. Precise Puppy 5.7.1 Retro full install.
Secondary - Pentium 3 533MHz, 385MB RAM, Matrox MGA-G200 AGP. Precise Puppy 5.7.1 Retro frugal install. (IDE HD is 428 MB!)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1696
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu 29 Sep 2011, 18:13    Post subject: Re: Dillo 3 -- thoughts  

session wrote:
I can't find it in the changelog, but remote images don't load until you click them... that's new. That makes a google image search nearly worthless.

Have tested this on my arch install, can confirm that. interesting thing is, that some pics do load directly, other don't. I've cheched their bugtracker, there are a few entries about pics, but i don't understand all of them...

aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4134

PostPosted: Thu 29 Sep 2011, 18:52    Post subject:  

Double-buffering is a fltk compile time configure option. I didn't enable it in my static uclibc++/fltk1.3 build because it looked fine without it on my box and cut memory usage quite a bit.
_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
session


Joined: 07 Feb 2011
Posts: 87
Location: Valley of the Sun

PostPosted: Thu 29 Sep 2011, 20:27    Post subject:  

aragon wrote:
interesting thing is, that some pics do load directly, other don't.

It appears that any image hosted on the same site--which these days is quite uncommon--loads immediately, and all other images load with a click. I assumed it was a feature, but that's a lot of clicking.

_________________
Primary - Intel Celeron 1.80GHz, 579MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 Pro ULTRA TF. Precise Puppy 5.7.1 Retro full install.
Secondary - Pentium 3 533MHz, 385MB RAM, Matrox MGA-G200 AGP. Precise Puppy 5.7.1 Retro frugal install. (IDE HD is 428 MB!)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1696
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri 30 Sep 2011, 02:30    Post subject:  

session wrote:
aragon wrote:
interesting thing is, that some pics do load directly, other don't.

It appears that any image hosted on the same site--which these days is quite uncommon--loads immediately, and all other images load with a click. I assumed it was a feature, but that's a lot of clicking.


That fits this bug-report:

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
465
Impact: soft error
At: run time
Type: misbehaviour
Comments: Images pointing to HTTP URLs that are redirected are not loaded.
HTReproduce: The images accompanying stories at http://www.canada.com are so redirected (with 302 codes).
WorkedBy: nobody@ Intentional--they're usually ads. If you really want one to load, click 'isolate image' in image menu.
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 9 [125 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0794s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0144s) ][ GZIP on ]