Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 14:04
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Racy Puppy 5.2.2 Final, 18 Nov. 2011
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 5 of 33 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 31, 32, 33 Next
Author Message
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2620
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

PostPosted: Fri 30 Sep 2011, 08:22    Post_subject: Re: racy101
Sub_title: shutdownconfig
 

Hi scijon,
thanks for reporting, that is for me...
you wrote:
...
3/ First shutdown (yellow screens) ?have a problem? >on the First Shutdown : Get Ready Screen we have some code visable on the left side, it's "${T_yesno3}"...

Change /usr/sbin/shutdownconfig line 123
from
Code:
  T_yesno="\Z1${T_yesno1}\Zn\n\n\Z5${T_yesno2}\Zn\n\n\${T_yesno3}"

to
Code:
  T_yesno="\Z1${T_yesno1}\Zn\n\n\Z5${T_yesno2}Zn\n\n${T_yesno3}"


that is: delete the red backslash
T_yesno="\Z1${T_yesno1}\Zn\n\n\Z5${T_yesno2}\Zn\n\n\${T_yesno3}"
Hope that helps to display: Choose Continue button to continue

Thank you
L
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2185
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri 30 Sep 2011, 16:23    Post_subject: Racy Puppy 5.1.101 (5.2 beta1)  

Manual frugal install.
Racy Puppy, version 5.1.101 on Fri 30 Sep 2011

Chip description:
0.0 VGA compatible controller
ATI Technologies Inc Redwood PRO [Radeon HD 5500 Series]
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS
product: REDWOOD 01.00

X Server: Xorg
Driver used: radeon

X.Org version: 1.11.0
dimensions: 1920x1080 pixels (507x285 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

Computer
Processor 6x AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1045T Processor
Memory 8310MB (157MB used)

I made a pet of midnight commander file manager, it includes slang so it is a little larger than normal.
mc-4.7.5.3-i686.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  mc-4.7.5.3-i686.pet 
Filesize  906.94 KB 
Downloaded  263 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1899

PostPosted: Fri 30 Sep 2011, 16:48    Post_subject: devx issue?  

Tried to compile the full udev 167 with extras from T2 with their patches.
Code:
./configure --prefix=/usr --sysconfdir=/etc --sbindir=/sbin \
 --libdir=/usr/lib --with-rootlibdir=/lib --libexecdir=/lib/udev \
 --build=i486-t2-linux-gnu --disable-introspection
 
# but fails with
.....
checking for acl_init in -lacl... no
configure: error: libacl not found

So I try to compile acl-2.2.47 (T2-patched) with
Code:
./configure --prefix=/usr \
  --libdir=/usr/lib --build=i486-t2-linux-gnu

#or more elaborate options 
#but it also fails with

FATAL ERROR: attr/xattr.h does not exist.
Install the extended attributes (attr) development package.
Alternatively, run "make install-dev" from the attr source

Though attr/xattr.h IS in /usr/include. Confused

But then I try to compile attr-2.4.43 just the same with
Code:
./configure --prefix=/usr --build=i486-t2-linux-gnu
#also tried other config options but
make #always fails with
=== attr ===
gcc -g -O2 -DDEBUG -funsigned-char -fno-strict-aliasing -Wall -DVERSION=\"2.4.43\" -DLOCALEDIR=\"/usr/share/locale\" -DPACKAGE=\"attr\" -I../include -D_GNU_SOURCE -D_FILE_OFFSET_BITS=64    -c -o attr.o attr.c
/usr/bin/libtool --mode=link --tag=CC gcc -o attr    attr.o   ../libattr/libattr.la 
/usr/bin/libtool: line 676: libtool_args+=: command not found
/usr/bin/libtool: line 676: compile_command+=: command not found
/usr/bin/libtool: line 676: finalize_command+=: command not found
/usr/bin/libtool: line 676: libtool_args+=: command not found
/usr/bin/libtool: line 676: compile_command+=: command not found
/usr/bin/libtool: line 676: finalize_command+=: command not found
/usr/bin/libtool: line 676: libtool_args+=: command not found
/usr/bin/libtool: line 676: compile_command+=: command not found
/usr/bin/libtool: line 676: finalize_command+=: command not found
/usr/bin/libtool: line 676: libtool_args+=: command not found
libtool: link: gcc  ../libattr/.libs/libattr.so
/usr/lib/gcc/i486-t2-linux-gnu/4.3.4/../../../crt1.o: In function `_start':
(.text+0x18): undefined reference to `main'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[1]: *** [attr] Error 1
make: *** [default] Error 2


Now, I'm far from expert compiler but is it me or something is missing from devx?
Does Racy uses the standard T2 toolchain?

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1899

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 03:59    Post_subject: Synaptics  

Trying Racy on a VIA C7-M machine with the VIA VX855/VX875 chipset (OLPC XO-1.5) and a 2.6.35 (OLPC) kernel that inactivates the synaptic driver.
The result is that Racy boots to desktop but keyboard and mouse are dead (internal or external). X is working fine and the machine is not frozen.

Looking at logs I can see in dmesg
Code:
input: PS/2 Synaptics TouchPad as /devices/platform/i8042/serio1/input/input5

and in Xorg.log
Code:
(**) Synaptics Mouse: always reports core events
(**) Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
(EE) xf86OpenSerial: Cannot open device /dev/psaux
   No such device.
(EE) Synaptics driver unable to open device
(EE) PreInit returned 11 for "Synaptics Mouse"
(II) UnloadModule: "synaptics"
(II) Unloading synaptics
DEBUG: Stalled LOOP: 314

However the same exact messages are showing also with the same kernel and the same machine in puppies that work fine on this laptop. Namely, puppy-5xx, Slacko, dpup etc. There Xorg.log has (from puppy-5xx)
Code:
(II) Synaptics touchpad driver version 1.2.2
Synaptics Mouse no synaptics event device found
(**) Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
(EE) xf86OpenSerial: Cannot open device /dev/psaux
   No such file or directory.
(EE) Synaptics driver unable to open device
(EE) PreInit failed for input device "Synaptics Mouse"
(II) UnloadModule: "synaptics"
(**) Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
(**) Mouse0: Device: "/dev/input/mice"
(**) Mouse0: Protocol: "IMPS/2"
…..

So I guess the question is, is xserver/synaptics configured/compiled in some specific way distinct from the other woof-based puppies?

It's a petty because Racy looks faster than the other puppies at least on the OLPC XO-1 (that works OK with the exception of power management dues to the missing extras in udev-see above post)

For the record the xorg.cong is attached.
xorg.conf.XO-1.5.zip
Description 
zip

 Download 
Filename  xorg.conf.XO-1.5.zip 
Filesize  1.97 KB 
Downloaded  270 Time(s) 

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1899

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 04:28    Post_subject: modprobe  

... and since I'm at it, though rather a woof issue.
in all puppies "modbrobe --ignore-install/remove" is an "unrecognized command" even when the "FULL" version is used.
Is this intentional?

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3982
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 07:54    Post_subject:  

Quote:
... and since I'm at it, though rather a woof issue.
in all puppies "modbrobe --ignore-install/remove" is an "unrecognized command" even when the "FULL" version is used.
Is this intentional?


I know a little bit of the ^FULL^ modprobe source code :

1.: there are some -options missing in the options macro , at least for modprobe -V 3.6 and 3.11 .


[edit]
ERRATA: after testing I got a similar message
Code:
modbrobe --ignore-install aes

bash: modbrobe: Kommando nicht gefunden.
bash: modprobe : Command not found

Then I looked inside the modprobe source , and I found the macros :
{ "ignore-install", 0, NULL, 'i' },
{ "ignore-remove", 0, NULL, 'i' },

Then I tried
Code:
modprobe --ignore-install aes

a second time and then it worked :

lsmod | grep aes
aes_i586 7098 0
aes_generic 26376 1 aes_i586

So point 2 is partly wrong despite the '-i' option :
2.: [strike-through]there are no '--ignore-install|--ignore-remove' macros defined as options , but [/strike-through] they both are defined as '-i' ; passing the binary internal 'mit_ignore_commands' flag to the appropriate internal functions .
[/edit]

3.: as far as I know , Puppy uses the modprobe ^-FULL^ commands by default .
The first Racy still seems to use the /sbin/modprobe instead of /sbin/modprobe-BUSYBOX-NOT-USED ,
but for tinyRacy I can not check this from 431 , because the dotSFS are made with features , only a kernel 2.6.38+ seems to be able to access because of the new XZ/LZMA compression .
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1899

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 09:16    Post_subject:  

Karl Godt wrote:

Then I looked inside the modprobe source , and I found the macros :
{ "ignore-install", 0, NULL, 'i' },
{ "ignore-remove", 0, NULL, 'i' },

You are right.
"modprobe --ignore-install" does not work but "modprobe -i" does.
Thanks

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4833
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sun 02 Oct 2011, 07:32    Post_subject:  

Got the 'disappearing CD icon' problem - right click overlaps underlying 'delete'. Problem discussed somewhere but don't remember solution. Suggested moving the position of the underlying pop-up?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3982
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sun 02 Oct 2011, 15:09    Post_subject:  

Sage wrote:
Got the 'disappearing CD icon' problem - right click overlaps underlying 'delete'. Problem discussed somewhere but don't remember solution. Suggested moving the position of the underlying pop-up?

Dependent on your screen resolution , the 'delete' option appears directly under the mouse or not .

If you have a mouse , that tends to send dobble-click impulses thought you felt you clicked the drive icon only once ,
it sends the second signal to the pop-up menu and activates the menu-point under the mouse .

I would suggest an older or newer mouse , replace the batteries , clean or dirty the internal contacts of the mouse .
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4833
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sun 02 Oct 2011, 16:44    Post_subject:  

Nothing wrong with this (HP-badged Logitech) mouse! There's no contact bounce due to the opto-couplers. There's some wrong setting in the coding because all other Puppies, new & old, used on new & old machines do not exhibit this feature. There was some discussion, but I forget the outcome - if there was one. Perhaps BK was testing it on a flaky serial mouse just before he wrapped up his development cycle?! In short, it's unique.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4507
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun 02 Oct 2011, 19:04    Post_subject: Problem with Video playback  

Running Live media system. Selecting FULLSCREEN yields the following.

On boot, system did not properly discover video and produced a blank screen. I Ctrl-Alt-Bjso and xorgwizard for VESA to get to desktop.

I opened a folder of video files and system does not drive the actual video in Full screen even though the application has expanded to fullscreen.

Not sure if this is the video player or the video sybsystem.
Code:
Racy Puppy, version 5.1.101 on Sun 2 Oct 2011

Chip description:
 d.0 VGA compatible controller
 nVidia Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) 
oem: NVIDIA
product: MCP61 - mcp61-80 Chip Rev
 
X Server: Xorg
Driver used: vesa

X.Org version: 1.11.0
  dimensions:    1280x1024 pixels (339x271 millimeters)
  depth of root window:    24 planes
I am not sure if the two items mentioned are related.

Hope this helps
Problems with video to full-screen1.png
 Description   This is the "BEFORE: of the before-after ID on mplayer problem
 Filesize   51.76 KB
 Viewed   1609 Time(s)

Problems with video to full-screen1.png

Problems with video to full-screen.png
 Description   Application screen goes to "fullscreen" but the video remains "normal" size.
 Filesize   77.66 KB
 Viewed   1580 Time(s)

Problems with video to full-screen.png


_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4798
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Sun 02 Oct 2011, 23:19    Post_subject: full screen  

From my little knowledge of MPlayer, the option "xv" enables full screen while the default produces the full screen effect that you said. However, "xv" requires Xorg and will not work in Xvesa.

Since my install can only use Xvesa, that left me no hope for "xv".

That was in MPlayer. I installed vlc and qt4 and got video full screen working.

ADDITIONAL: Racy can't use the old OpenOffice sfs4 that Barry uploaded with Puppy 4.31. It is working in other sfs4 puppies, so there must be a problem somewhere.

_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4507
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 03 Oct 2011, 09:29    Post_subject:  

@raffy. Thanks for your help. You are right about the video driver. I had to revert to VESA when the system started desktop with black screen. But, I just xorgwizard'ed Noveau and now the player's video is as expected. Thanks again.

I saw the OOo problem as well. But, it may be due to some missing libs.

I sent a PM to Barry on potential missing libs requesting consideration.

But, RACY is fast, very fast!
Here's my current video report
Code:
Racy Puppy, version 5.1.101 on Mon 3 Oct 2011

Chip description:
 d.0 VGA compatible controller
 nVidia Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) 
oem: NVIDIA
product: MCP61 - mcp61-80 Chip Rev
 
X Server: Xorg
Driver used: nouveau

X.Org version: 1.11.0
  dimensions:    1024x768 pixels (270x203 millimeters)
  depth of root window:    24 planes
Hope this helps.
_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Terryphi


Joined: 02 Jul 2008
Posts: 763
Location: West Wales, Britain.

PostPosted: Tue 04 Oct 2011, 02:27    Post_subject:  

This is probably not a problem which will concern many people but Racy has broken Mailwasher for Linux for me. It no longer saves the registration code on reboot and reverts to unregistered/trial mode. Apart from this it works as expected. I wonder if this is a kernel issue or issue with updated libraries?
_________________
Classic Opera 12.16 browser SFS package for Precise, Slacko, Racy, Wary, Lucid, Quirky, etc available here Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3982
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Tue 04 Oct 2011, 07:52    Post_subject: Maybe Security Fix for /usr/bin/xwin
Sub_title: to leave a never ending loop
 

Hello ; I delved deeper into the xwin code , and maybe the described loop by me and 01micko could have been left with code like this :

Code:
@@ -537,6 +537,19 @@
 echo -n "false" > /etc/.XLOADED #see note above.
 #...if PC hung, run xorgwizard at next bootup (see further up).
 
+fatalServerError=`grep -i 'Fatal server error' /tmp/xerrs.log`
+if [ "$fatalServerError" ] ; then
+echo -e "\e[1;31m"'To start the Xserver='"$HAVEX"' apparently failed !'"\e[0;39m"
+echo -e "\e[0;31m"'Now dumping the first 10 and last 6 lines of /tmp/xerrs.log :'"\e[0;39m"
+head -n 10 /tmp/xerrs.log
+echo -e "\e[0;33m"'-------------------------'"\e[0;39m"
+tail -n 6 /tmp/xerrs.log
+echo -e "\e[0;33m"'-------------------------'"\e[0;39m"
+[ "$HAVEX" = "Xorg" ] && echo "For more information , type 'mp /var/log/Xorg.0.log'"
+echo -n 'exit' > /tmp/wmexitmode.txt
+rm -f /tmp/videomode  ##edit changed '-r' to '-f' :Ooops:
+fi
+

Not sure about the right grep syntax for 'Fatal server error' at the moment , though .
[edit]
For the Puppy-43 xorg-server 1-3-0 it looks like that :
Code:
grep -i -A1 'Fatal server error' xerrs.Xnvidia.log
Fatal server error:
No matching cards found!

There is another syntax for the second line with something like
"Failed to map the device" ; but to check this I have to boot another kernel with maybe different drivers loaded .
I have a
vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
product: NV18 Board Chip Rev A2
card and "Xorg (1-3-0,1-7-X,1-11-X)" and the "Xchips" and "Xvesa" (1-3-0) do run it , but not "Xnvidia" and almost all other kdrives [ with or without the appropriate vendorFramebuffer.ko 's inserted ] .
Funny , choosing 'chips' as Xorg driver , did start 'X' with max resolution (1600x1200) as the ^Lupu Xorg boot directly to desktop^ did - with the whole device section missing in xorg.conf . Racy Xorg or xorgwizard gives me 1024x768 in PUPMODE=5 .
That's it for now .
[/edit]
________________________________________

Another [ unproblematic ] occurrence is , that if

echo $LANG
de_DE@euro

is given ,
dc returns numbers like 123,456
comma instead of a dot for floats !

There are quite some scripts , that use "cut -f X -d '.'" to format the output of the 'dc' command to be useable for the 'expr' command ; example from /tmp/xerrs.log :

expr: non-numeric argument
/usr/sbin/background_reshape: line 56: [: -ge: unary operator expected

could need a LANG=C to prevent this .

"grep 'dc ' /usr/sbin/* | grep 'cut'" in /usr/*/*[/*] and /etc/*/*
did not throw much and the scripts that show additionally have already LANG=C set . So background_reshape may be [ one of ] the last leftovers , that did not get updated for that until now .

Anyway , reading

grep LANG=C /usr/sbin/re*
/usr/sbin/remasterpup2:LANG=C #faster, plus Xdialog happier.

may be the solution for the Xdialog warnings described in one of my former posts :
Quote:
I recompiled Xdialog from debian lenny , because there is no Xdialog for later debians , including the patch on my machine "uname -m 'i686'" with "./configure --with-gtk2" which installs to /usr/local and the Xdialog of bootmanager is working correctly now . The size of the binary is still 'ls -s 69KB" .
The only thing is
"(Xdialog:26076): Pango-WARNING **: Invalid UTF-8 string passed to pango_layout_set_text()"
that spits out .
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 33 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 31, 32, 33 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1323s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0123s) ][ GZIP on ]