Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 21 Apr 2014, 01:01
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
How to Install Your Printer/Scanner in Puppy
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 15 [223 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 13, 14, 15 Next
Author Message
DutchPuppy


Joined: 14 Aug 2011
Posts: 34
Location: Vlaardingen, South-West of Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat 27 Aug 2011, 16:50    Post subject:  

I made a fresh 5.2.5 (slick)pup usb flashdrive so started from scratch.

Installed the 2 deb files from Canon ( cndrvcups-capt_2.20-1_i386.deb and
cndrvcups-capt_2.20-1_i386.deb )

Then followed the rewritten instructions, see copy paste from terminal :

sh-4.1# mkdir -p /etc/cngplp/account
sh-4.1# chmod 777 /etc/cngplp/account
sh-4.1# mkdir /var/captmon
sh-4.1# chmod 777 /var/captmon
sh-4.1# /etc/init.d/cups restart
cups: restarted scheduler.

Then installed the printer in CUPS like you write and gave it the name and ccp number. Then in terminal:

sh-4.1# ccpdadmin -p LBP6000 -o /dev/usb/lp0

CUPS_ConfigPath = /etc/cups/
LOG Path = None
UI Port = 59787

Entry Num : Spooler : Backend : FIFO path : Device Path : Status
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
[0] : LBP6000 : ccp : //localhost:59687 : /dev/usb/lp0 : New!!

sh-4.1#
sh-4.1# /etc/init.d/ccpd start
Starting /usr/sbin/ccpd: .
sh-4.1#

Without a reboot this time it works like a charm for me.
Did a couple of test prints, all ok.

I still can't believe I don't need XP anymore to print ! Very Happy

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ilanrab


Joined: 01 Apr 2007
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Tue 06 Sep 2011, 20:31    Post subject: HP Photosmart Prem C410a
Subject description: Unable to locate scanner on the WiFi network
 

All-In-One HP Photosmart Prem C410a.
I am using Two Headed Dog.
I installed hplip_scan-3.11.7.pet

When using xsane or peasyscan I get "no devices available". Isn't there an option for a "network" device? The provided options are USB, Parallel, or SCSI.
Of course none work. It's a WiFi based All-In-One networked device.

The printer portion works fine with hplip_print-3.11.7, after adding the printer through the CUPS interface. I used "socket://192.x.y.z" in the setup. Is there a similar "add scanner" option available somewhere in the system?

Both of the network printer and network scanner worked fine "out of the box" under Ubuntu 11.04.

Any suggestions?

_________________
ir
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8558
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 06 Sep 2011, 20:52    Post subject:  

Read the instructions here for using Peasyscan 1.6 with a networked HP scanner.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ilanrab


Joined: 01 Apr 2007
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Wed 07 Sep 2011, 18:37    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Read the instructions here for using Peasyscan 1.6 with a networked HP scanner.

Thank you. The instructions helped. I have a config file set up.
When I run peasyscan, from the command line, then press START in the dialog box, I get:
/usr/local/peasyscan/scan: line 4: 8040 Segmentation fault $PEASYPATH/xscanimage-peasy $URI 2> /dev/null

Any idea why?

_________________
ir
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8558
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 07 Sep 2011, 19:08    Post subject:  

As a test, connect the printer as a USB device and confirm that you have the right scanner driver. Don't use the config file to start it. Also try from Xsane.

The only other reports of segmentation faults were the result of driver problems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 607
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Fri 30 Sep 2011, 21:03    Post subject:
Subject description: add cups-pdf printer back after re-installing cups?
 

G'day rcrsn51,
Thanks for this very useful thread.

I have a fujixerox colour laser Docuprint C1110 which works well (or used to) under Linux.

But not with the latest Cups in the latest Pups (slacko, exprimo (dpup), lupus) where I get a variety of failures which seem due to Cups bugs - Google knows of the ones I've asked about.

I have used your advice and gone back to patriot's cups-1.3.11 which has been excellent (well, it works with my fujixerox).

One small point - I lose the quite good default cups-pdf printer when I get rid of the fujixerox-buggy cups-1.4.xxx after over-writing with the very friendly cups-1.3.11.

Puppy's default cups-pdf printer seems much better/smaller than the "export to pdf" options in most programs (like LibreOffice).

How can I re-install the cups-pdf printer after the 1.3.11 recovery?

Thanks again,

David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8558
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 30 Sep 2011, 22:32    Post subject:  

First of all, what driver are you using for your Docuprint C1110? I am surprised that it would work better in CUPS 1.3 than in 1.4.

We can probably restore the CUPS-PDF driver into CUPS 1.3. However, most applications have a "Print to File" option. Does it work for you?

Quote:
Google knows of the ones I've asked about.

Please describe.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 607
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 01:55    Post subject:  

G'day rcrsn51,

Thanks for the quick reply.

The ppd file is fxlinuxprint.ppd from the fujixerox website - is that an adequate description of the driver or is there a particular file you want to know about? It was an .rpm package that had the driver, etc (fxlinuxprint-1.0.1-1.i386.rpm) and that I could extract.

I've got about half a dozen Pups that print well with 1.3.11.

The most common error message I get with various Pups in Cups from trying to print a test-page after installing and failing is :

""Filter "pstopdffx" for printer "fujixerox" not available: No such file or directory"

This was the gist of the text in the last Google Search I tried.

There are sometimes other messages when the printer wont test-print or the printer itself displays a message something like "PLD error". These seem to be with just one Pup whereas the "Filter "pstopdffx"... " message has happened with about half the Pups that wont print (eg dpups). These are all full installs, by the way.

Just to prove me wrong Embarassed , I do have a couple of Pups with Cups-1.4.3 that test-print OK after installation so I haven't replaced that Cups with the older one for those couple.

If you'd like precise details of what Pup gives what message, let me know.

Thanks for any help or advice,

David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 02:17    Post subject:  

I use a photosmart c4380 combined print/scanner via wifi. The printer connects and operates just fine, but do you think it is possible to use the scan facility given that the device is not parallel, SCUSI, or USB?
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8558
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 07:39    Post subject:  

davids45 wrote:
The ppd file is fxlinuxprint.ppd from the fujixerox website.

I found this package. How are you extracting the RPM? Are you just removing the PPD file and copying it into CUPS? If so, this driver wouldn't work in ANY Puppy. You need all the files in the package. That's why you are getting "No such file or directory".

I have converted it into a PET below. But for some reason, your Docuprint C1110 does not appear in the Make/Model lists. So you have to select the PPD file manually from /usr/share/cups/model/FujXerox.

Also, I have attached a PET for CUPS-PDF that you can test in CUPS 1.3.11.
fuji_xerox-1.0.1.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  fuji_xerox-1.0.1.pet 
Filesize  16.01 KB 
Downloaded  359 Time(s) 
cups_pdf-1.0.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  cups_pdf-1.0.pet 
Filesize  5.21 KB 
Downloaded  347 Time(s) 

Last edited by rcrsn51 on Fri 07 Oct 2011, 19:28; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8558
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 07:44    Post subject:  

DaveS wrote:
I use a photosmart c4380 combined print/scanner via wifi. The printer connects and operates just fine, but do you think it is possible to use the scan facility given that the device is not parallel, SCUSI, or USB?

Get Peasyscan and set up a configuration file that contains the URI of your scanner.

If you really want to use Xsane, it's possible to access your wifi scanner from the command line.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 12:04    Post subject:  

Hmmmmmmmmm tricky. CUPS is unable to autodetect my unit, so am unable to complete the config file.
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8558
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 13:51    Post subject:  

DaveS wrote:
Hmmmmmmmmm tricky. CUPS is unable to autodetect my unit, so am unable to complete the config file.


How did you set up the printer?

What name has CUPS assigned to it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 02 Oct 2011, 03:00    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
DaveS wrote:
Hmmmmmmmmm tricky. CUPS is unable to autodetect my unit, so am unable to complete the config file.


How did you set up the printer?

What name has CUPS assigned to it?


I run CUPS using the localhost link. Add Printer>select Appsocket/HPjetdirect>enter address (192.168.0.2)>give it a name (no suggestions from CUPS)>select driver>set up options.
At no point does CUPS offer any suggestion as to a printer name.
CUPS cannot autodetect. My guess is for some reason it fails to check a wifi network. CUPS 1.4.6 BTW.

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8558
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 02 Oct 2011, 08:25    Post subject:  

DaveS wrote:
CUPS cannot autodetect. My guess is for some reason it fails to check a wifi network. CUPS 1.4.6 BTW.

It does, but sometimes CUPS 1.4 is slow to detect a networked printer.

1. Delete your printer.
2. Run Find New Printers a couple of times until CUPS finds it again.
3. If that still doesn't work, connect the printer by USB and let CUPS detect it that way.
4. Or using USB, run "scanimage -L".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 15 [223 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 13, 14, 15 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0787s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0084s) ][ GZIP on ]