Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 31 Jul 2014, 17:49
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Booting CD, /usr not found
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [24 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
JonathanBrickman0000

Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2005, 15:16    Post subject:  Booting CD, /usr not found  

Not sure what to make of my problem. Am using 1.0.3, booting directly from the CD. Puppy won't do anything more than text mode; it gives several messages saying that it cannot find the compressed file containing the /usr filesystem, which contains X. I'd like to help fix this. Am running XP as main OS. What kind of diagnostic data would help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Rich

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 278
Location: Middlesbrough - UK

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2005, 15:28    Post subject:  

a few questions to help clear some things up first.

Does the CD work on other PCs?
Has the CD ever worked - or is it a new download?
Did you check the MD5SUM to verify the download?
Did you burn the iso image at the slowest speed available?

( you may have noticed that all the questions here are pointing to the CD itself. This turns out to be the problem more often than not. )

Also, did you download and unzip the pup001 file to the C: drive?
Pup001 file is what puppy uses as a partition. It shows up on drive C as 1 file, 256mb in size. This does not interfere with anything in windows. It's seen as just another file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ian
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 1237
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2005, 15:31    Post subject:  

Have you verified that the download is not corrupt, there is a file at the download site to allow you to do this which you can use before you burn the iso.
Also could you supply details of your machine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JonathanBrickman0000

Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2005, 17:25    Post subject: ISO verified. Here are specs.  

I just verified my downloaded ISO using md5sum.exe and the .iso.txt. So that's out.

I did try building the C:\pup001 via pup001.zip. No change.

The CD is a new download. I will reburn it at lower settings (I used 40x).

I'll post a PC hardware rundown if the reburning doesn't solve.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
JonathanBrickman0000

Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2005, 18:04    Post subject: Still no dice.  

Used CD-RW this time, turned off all background apps incl. antivirus et al., burned at 6X instead of 40X; still no dice.

Many system specs are below. If any relevant data are missing, please let me know, and I'll post them.

Storage data:

C drive is 40G EIDE on primary controller on motherboard.

Boot CD-ROM is EIDE DVD RW+ on secondary controller on motherboard. Boot is controlled simply from motherboard BIOS.

There is a PCI IDE controller which runs another CD-ROM, which is a CD-RW. This is a Promise controller, with a Silicon Image 0680 chipset, seen by XP as a SCSI device. This is not bootable.

There is another 80G EIDE hard drive also attached to the Promise controller. Not bootable.

From CPU-Z:

CPU-Z Report
CPU-Z version 1.21.

CPU(s)
Number of CPUs 1
Code Name Spitfire
Specification AMD Duron(tm) processor
Family / Model / Stepping 6 3 1
Extended Family / Model 7 3
Package Socket A
Technology 0.18 µ
Supported Instructions Sets MMX, Extended MMX, 3DNow!, Extended 3DNow!
CPU Clock Speed 854.7 MHz
Clock multiplier x 8.5
Front Side Bus Frequency 100.6 MHz
Bus Speed 201.1 MHz
L1 Data Cache 64 KBytes, 2-way set associative, 64 Bytes line size
L1 Instruction Cache 64 KBytes, 2-way set associative, 64 Bytes line size
L2 Cache 64 KBytes, 16-way set associative, 64 Bytes line size
L2 Speed 854.7 MHz (Full)
L2 Location On Chip
L2 Data Prefetch Logic no
L2 Bus Width 64 bits

Mainboard and chipset
Motherboard model VT8366-8233,
BIOS vendor Award Software International, Inc.
BIOS revision 6.00 PG
BIOS release date 11/02/2001
Chipset VIA KT266/333 rev. 0
Southbridge VIA VT8233 rev. 0
Sensor chip Winbond W83697HF
AGP Status enabled, rev. 2.0
AGP Data Transfert Rate 4x
AGP Side Band Addressing supported, not enabled
AGP Aperture Size 128 MBytes

Memory
DRAM Type DDR-SDRAM
DRAM Size 768 MBytes
DRAM Frequency 133.9 MHz
FSB:DRAM FSB + 33 MHz
DRAM Interleave 4-way
CAS# Latency 2.5 clocks
RAS# to CAS# 2 clocks
RAS# Precharge 2 clocks
Cycle Time (TRAS) 5 clocks
# of memory modules 2
Module 0 DDR-SDRAM PC2700 - 512 MBytes
Module 1 Micron Technology DDR-SDRAM PC2100 - 256 MBytes

Software
Windows version Microsoft Windows XP Workstation Service Pack 2 (Build 2600)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
danleff


Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 294
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2005, 19:13    Post subject:  

I just downloaded the iso this afternoon and did a burn on a cdrw disk. Puppy's burner defaulted to 4X. Same problem, unless I booted with the option to allow files to be written to the hard drive.

I have found that on cdrw disks, Puppy needs to be burned at 2X on a cdrw disk.

4X seems to work fine on a good quality cd-r disk.

The Puppy iso file need to be burned slow. Very slow.

_________________
I love it when a plan comes together

--Hannibal Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2005, 19:58    Post subject:  

Jonathan,
When you boot Puppy and get to the prompt, try this and let us know what it returned:

Code:
dmesg | grep -i "cd" | grep -i "atapi" | cut -b 1-4 | grep "hd[a-z]:"


This is the code that the boot script uses to detect your CD drives.
If this code is not detecting your drive, try "dmesg | more" and see if your CD drive is being detected at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 05 Jul 2005, 01:06    Post subject:  

I've noticed, sorry bit off topic, but vmware/puppy has a problem finding usr_cram.fs when booting from an iso......but it can be manually mounted...


But Barry's suggesting kinda gives me a clue......
Back to top
JonathanBrickman0000

Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jul 2005, 08:10    Post subject: Ran the CD detection command line, and...  

I ran
Code:
dmesg | grep -i "cd" | grep -i "atapi" | cut -b 1-4 | grep "hd[a-z]:"

and received the following:
Code:
hda:
hdg:
hda:
hdg:
hda:
hdg:

I also examined the dmesg output, and found one oddity: "hda:" is the CD-ROM on the Promise PCI ATAPI card (not bootable), and "hdg:" is the CD-ROM on the motherboard secondary controller (bootable)!!! Frankly, on the surface I find this somewhat bizarre (reversed), but probably there's some strong logic for it written in Linux kernel source comments Smile

So now the big question: Does Puppy know to look on "hdg:"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Fri 08 Jul 2005, 09:45    Post subject:  

I've found a similar thing (using vmware). Puppy cannot find the usr file from the cd, but I can mount the cd from the command prompt, copy the usr file onto the hard disk and reboot. The usr file is then found from the hard disk and everything seems to work fine. (The cd and hard disk are mapped to files on my XP system)

The dmesg command line finds the cdrom drive (hdc:) 3 times.
Back to top
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jul 2005, 05:55    Post subject:  

Yes, hdg should work.
Now, let's try the next part of the boot script:

Code:
# disktype /dev/hdg 2>&1 | grep "ISO9660"


...try this and find out if disktype is detecting the string "ISO9660" on the CD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jul 2005, 09:55    Post subject:  

Besides following Barry's instructions to find out the root of the problem so it can be properly solved in puppy, you can try the following:


Boot from windows and copy the usr_cram.fs from the cd to C:\
Then reboot puppy from CD

This has two effects:
- Puppy will find that file without looking for the CD drive
- Puppy will boot very fast as the usr_cram.fs will be mounted at HDD speed and not at CD-drive speed. (In My case it went from about 3 minutes to under a minute)

Please note that I am advising this 'Besides' helping finding the root cause.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
JonathanBrickman0000

Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jul 2005, 12:44    Post subject: Interesting news this time...  

Now this is getting interesting. The command given:
Code:
disktype /dev/hdg 2>&1 | grep "ISO9660"

produced nothing at all. Zip, zero, nada. I then ran this:
Code:
disktype /dev/hdg

and it said that the device did not exist. I then ran this:
Code:
ls /dev/hd*

and the highest device on that list was hdd. The /dev directory, when I run the Puppy 1.0.3 CD on this machine, does not contain /dev/hde, or /dev/hdf, or /dev/hdg. So something definitely is up. What, I don't know...Smile

I should have realized something like this before. Rereading the boot messages yet again, I saw that it spotted an NTFS bootable partition at /dev/hdc1, and advises me to build the pup001 folder on that partition. This time, I mounted /dev/hdc1, and checked it out. To understand the result, here is my drive/partition/controller layout in some detail as reported by the Windows XP storage administration applet:

    Windows Disk 0 is an 80G IDE on my Promise PCI card. It has two partitions, both NTFS, which in Windows are M and V. Neither are bootable.

    Windows Disk 1 is a 40G IDE on the primary controller of the motherboard. It has three partitions. The first is NTFS, C drive. The second and the third are Linux data and swap respectively, upon which is currently installed SimplyMEPIS.

I checked /dev/hdc1 out. It's the V drive, above. /dev/hdc2 is the M drive, above. There was no /dev/hde1 to check, because were are no devices /dev/hde, /dev/hdf, or /dev/hdg in /dev, at all.

I then put the usr_cram.fs data on my Windows V drive, and Puppy booted up very nicely indeed. It is obvious to me that Puppy is a very sweet piece of work. I will be testing it a lot. I have been looking for a really good, simple, fast Linux desktop for old hardware, and for people who don't configure their own desktops, for a very long time.

Once Puppy was booted in this way, by the way, there was indeed a /dev/hdg and hde, all drives visible. So perhaps the problem is somewhere in the live-CD capability.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jul 2005, 19:49    Post subject:  

Okay, in an rxvt terminal you type:

# disktype /dev/hdg

I would like to know the exact error message returned -- just drag the mouse pointer over the message to highlight the text and it will automatically go into the clipboard when you release the left mouse button -- then ctrl-v to paste it into this forum.

Also try this:

# probepart

...if this works, what i could do is modify the bootup code so if disktype returns error msg, then use probepart.

Although you have worked around the problem i would like to solve the original problem!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jesse

Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 465
Location: Auckland, NZ

PostPosted: Sun 10 Jul 2005, 01:51    Post subject:  

Hi Barry,
There is code in the MUT program to create any additional device nodes for disks and cdroms in /dev so that the devices can be accessed. Is tcl in the initial image.gz ? If so you could almost copy and paste it.
Jesse
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [24 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0872s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0041s) ][ GZIP on ]