Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 19 Apr 2014, 05:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Puppy, ATI 5450, and HDMI TV, no desktop, has sound
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
GuyllFyre

Joined: 05 Oct 2011
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Wed 05 Oct 2011, 18:23    Post subject:  Puppy, ATI 5450, and HDMI TV, no desktop, has sound
Subject description: Starts to boot with video, goes blank when desktop loads, barks.
 

I'm attempting to set up a "Media Player" PC so that I can watch YouTube videos and such on my nice widescreen TV.

I went out and bought an Asus video card with HDMI out and HD sound, ATI HD 5450 chipset, and currently have XP loaded and running the card with the TV.

My goal was to load Puppy Linux so that I could have a much faster loading system where the CPU was going to the video rather than the OS but I can't seem to get Puppy 528 to work. I had previously tried 431 and 525 but both of those had the same type of results but no sound either. 528 has sound but no video.

The system seems to boot normally. It gets to the boot: screen, waiting or pressing enter gets it to start loading, it gets to the point where the desktop is supposed to load, the TV goes blank, but the PC barks to let me know it has gotten to the Puppy desktop. So it's using the sound on the ATI video card but the video goes blank? Odd.

Anyone have any suggestions for me?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Wed 05 Oct 2011, 23:03    Post subject:  

http://youtu.be/j4S7MKuNqc4
http://tmxxine.com/tv/

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
GuyllFyre

Joined: 05 Oct 2011
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Thu 06 Oct 2011, 06:35    Post subject:  

TV doesn't have VGA, only HDMI, so I don't see where those are helpful to me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GuyllFyre

Joined: 05 Oct 2011
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri 07 Oct 2011, 20:01    Post subject:  

Anyone?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sfeeley

Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 807

PostPosted: Sat 08 Oct 2011, 10:59    Post subject:  

I don't have a solution, but perhaps an extra diagnostic test.

1) does it only happen on that TV? What happens if you plug in a different monitor? (This way we can start to figure if it is a problem with the computer or the monitor).

2) one possible thing to try. At the initial puppy bootscreen hit f2 for more options. There type puppy=nox (I think thats the command-- that or something similar should be listed as a choice: I'm not on a puppy computer so I can't check).
This will load puppy but not load a window manager. Eventually this should boot to a prompt. There type "xorgwizard." This will begin the windows manager configuration and video output configuration. The goal here is for you to experiment and pick something manually, rather than let puppy make a (wrong) guess for you.

3) perhaps its a driver issue-- but there I am clueless
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GuyllFyre

Joined: 05 Oct 2011
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat 08 Oct 2011, 15:58    Post subject:  

Thanks for the info!
I might get back to that and test it that way but I decided to go a different route.

Searches on the Puppy forums with the forum search weren't yielding great results so I went to Google...with similar search pattern, only to discover multiple contributions from Puppy users regarding the poor compatibility of the ATI HD 5450 chipset. Also found similar comments from other Linux users.

Big advantage had been a direct HDMI port from the card itself, allowing "HD" audio to also pass though HDMI, one cable solution. After I had bought that ATI card, I came across a deal on HP OEM PCIe nVidia GT310 cards with DVI output. Since I had them on hand, I swapped the ATI card for the nVidia and Puppy booted and went to a desktop just fine.
I haven't tested to see if the DVI passes audio to the HDMI yet on the nVidia card but it does work with the analog audio plugged in.

I have since installed Puppy onto a second 40GB partition. XP Pro is on the primary 40GB partition, installed grub and can boot into either XP Pro or Puppy 528. The micro USB keyboard/touchpad I have looks like a remote, is RF, and works in Puppy or XP quite well. It looks right at home with the other three remotes on the coffee table.

Last night I spent the evening booting into each XP and Puppy installing nVidia drivers and getting the screen size config correct. I have XP fitting the screen properly but haven't gone into the nVidia panel to correct the overscan in Puppy. I got distracted by video.pbs.org while still in XP after I got FF7 re-arranged to my liking.

Once I get Puppy adjusted the way I like things, it will then be set to auto-boot when I turn the PC on. XP has to remain there for when my daughter comes over and wants to watch netflix stuff from the account her and her mom have.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GuyllFyre

Joined: 05 Oct 2011
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat 08 Oct 2011, 16:55    Post subject:  

Minor update.
HD audio passes through the DVI to the HDMI, giving audio and video from the single cable solution in XP.

Will update once tested under Puppy. Video.pbs.org has yet again distracted me.

In case anyone else wants to tinker, I've got these nVidia cards up for sale.

Can find them on my eBid auctions http://us.ebid.net/items/GuyllFyre
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GuyllFyre

Joined: 05 Oct 2011
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Thu 13 Oct 2011, 07:25    Post subject:  

Another update.
Card sorta works in Puppy, getting the nvidia driver to install and work is a real PITA!

When using the nvidia settings utility, after adjusting the overscan compensation, etc, rebooting loses all of those settings.

Setting up ALSA gets the nVidia HD audio working but then on reboot, it goes back to using the on-board analog sound.

Both of these things are extremely annoying, to say the least.

Any suggestions on getting this stuff to work or should I just stick with XP which, upon installation, adjustment, and sound settings, works...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sfeeley

Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 807

PostPosted: Thu 13 Oct 2011, 09:43    Post subject:  

Quote:
Card sorta works in Puppy, getting the nvidia driver to install and work is a real PITA!


in setup -- > setup --> quickpets --> drivers there is an option for installing nvidia drivers. Did you try this? Might be easier and more effective?

Sorry I don't have any suggestions for the persistence issue-- i think I recall seeing posts about locking which drivers are loaded at boot, but can't remmeber where--hopefully somebody better informed will chime in
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GuyllFyre

Joined: 05 Oct 2011
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Thu 13 Oct 2011, 12:07    Post subject:  

sfeeley wrote:
Quote:
Card sorta works in Puppy, getting the nvidia driver to install and work is a real PITA!


in setup -- > setup --> quickpets --> drivers there is an option for installing nvidia drivers. Did you try this? Might be easier and more effective?


This is how I did it, ran through the xorgconfig, it probed, says it set up.
I then tried running the nvidia config utility, it told me it had an issue, that it was not running the nvidia driver, and I should go to commandline and run nvidia-config, which didn't work, so I ran xorgconfig, instead of probe, chose the nvidia driver, and it set up and works with the driver now.

What is not happening is saving the settings from the nvidia setup utility. It's hooked to my TV and I have to adjust the overscan to fit the desktop within the constraints of the TV. I go through that, then reboot to make sure the settings stay and they don't, it's all back at default.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GuyllFyre

Joined: 05 Oct 2011
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2011, 20:31    Post subject:  

I give up, this is too much like work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peterw

Joined: 19 Jul 2006
Posts: 56
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 30 Oct 2011, 04:39    Post subject: HDMI and Sound
Subject description: Maybe a guide to do this?
 

Hi GuyllFyre

I was researching the problem, since I have recently purchased an ASROCK E350M1 which has a HDMI output and I am thinking of using it in my Media Centre. The video on a Samsung TV is good, but sound does not work. This is the same situation in Puppy (recent versions) and in Mint and openSUSE. I have come across the web site below which may help. I have not had the opportunity of trying any of the tips it contains yet.

http://maketecheasier.com/setup-hdmi-digital-playback-in-linux/2011/01/05

One point I was puzzled about was your reference to DVI and HDMI with sound. As I understand it, if you use a DVI to HDMI converter you will not get sound.

Best of luck if you try the advice.

peterw
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Puppyt

Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 551
Location: Karana Downs, Queensland

PostPosted: Fri 16 Nov 2012, 04:49    Post subject:
Subject description: ATI Radeon 5450
 

OK I jumped first and should've looked instead...Sad
Thought I'd support ATI due the recent publicity around Nvidia's reported dropping of future Linux support. So early this week I bought 2 ASUS HD 5450 fanless, low-profile cards (1GB DDR3) in two PentiumD motherboards, 4 and 5 GB RAM. Puppy Linux pupplets only.
In the blue corner, the 5GB machine will serve as a media and gaming center, using HDMI to the LCD TV.. Sc0ttman's "Akita" beta10 (Puppy 412/Wary5 hybrid - non-PAE) is running on that and recently on his thread I see he's working on that issue. Installed his latest ATI-catalyst driver and I now have video but no sound via HDMI.
In the red corner I've connected the 4GB via DVI o my 19" ViewsonicVX1932wm. No audio via the monitor there either as yet, but I'm running TaZoC's Lighthouse 64-bit 5.14 with his latest-supported ATI-catalyst driver.
So, incomplete results so far after a few minutes running, but I'm going to update the bases and drivers for both pupplets, provide feedback on the respective threads and post back to this thread in a few daze.

_________________
Toowoomba Linux Community
http://groups.google.com/group/toowoombalinux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
peterw

Joined: 19 Jul 2006
Posts: 56
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 16 Nov 2012, 05:55    Post subject: HDMI and Sound
Subject description: Sound with HDMI
 

Hi Puppyt

I now have sound via HDMI for both a puppy Fatdog and Mythbuntu.

With Fatdog 64 (601) you have VLC and if you play a video and go to Audio/AudioDevice you will see the option to select sound via HDMI. In addition, there is a useful icon called "shares" and it quickly reveals other PC shares with videos on them, etc. Click on a video and it streams well.

With Mythbuntu, you have to go through the set up procedure to select the right output. Can't remember the details of that now. However, if you start the PC before the TV is on it will not initialise the HDMI sound. You have to initialise it by pressing Ctrl/Alt/F1 and then Cntrl/Alt/F7. I mention this because you may experience this effect.

Regards and good luck with your endevours.

Peterw
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Puppyt

Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 551
Location: Karana Downs, Queensland

PostPosted: Fri 16 Nov 2012, 07:38    Post subject:  

Thanks peterw Smile
I was entirely wrong about my assumption of getting audio through a dvi cable between card and monitor. Chasing my tail with that one...
Thanks very much for your suggestion of VLC - it's in LH64 too, but the 'audio devices' option is greyed out and unselectable. I've mucked about with alsa settings also - I can see the card audio specs (HDMI) using the "aplay -L" command in the console, but dunno yet how to implement that info as the alsa mixer gives me an "S/PDIF" issue, and its listed as [off] - which I guess it's been muted somewhere. I'll give it another few rounds tomorrow before I start pleading for spoon-feeding with the alsa gurus on the forum,
Cheers!

_________________
Toowoomba Linux Community
http://groups.google.com/group/toowoombalinux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0733s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0045s) ][ GZIP on ]