Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 01 Oct 2014, 08:31
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Puppy On Laptops
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 16 of 21 [309 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21 Next
Author Message
str4y


Joined: 01 Aug 2011
Posts: 43
Location: No. California

PostPosted: Thu 04 Aug 2011, 18:49    Post subject: laptop001x.pet = laptop001 - Frisbee
Subject description: makes my laptop way more useful
 

pemasu wrote:


My laptop-001.pet works fine with this laptop and enables laptop buttons ok. Also I have acpi_call.ko for some kernels to shutdown ATI graphics with test_off.sh script placed on /root/Startup. If somebody needs those addons with this laptop, I can give spesific info.


Hi pemasu, I want to thank you for this .pet .. and as someone who hasn't yet tackled kernel modules/compiling, I'd be interested in what can be done to get all my function buttons working on this Dell D600 laptop (no hurry though, as I should really do some exhaustive Duckduckgo.com-ing for what's out there before hitting up humans in a forum..)

I forget which derivative of puppy it was, but when someone released their .iso and I dl'd for a spin, I was rather taken aback at how cumbersome Frisbee seemed-- immediately going off to turn on my wifi and try hooking up a network without notifying/asking-- worst thing being that the whole system would basically hang in the meantime, so that I couldn't even fire up a terminal and do "kill -9 `pidof frisbee`" or such. I'm always on a laptop, and such blasting out of my MAC address in potentially hostile territory is a dealbreaker for me. So I recall manually plowing through to strip out everything frisbee.. I'm thinking it was Lighthouse Pup, actually.. so imagine my dismay upon finding that this otherwise-nifty laptop001.pet had this cruddy (IMO) frisbee inside.
It has enabled me to suspend my Dell D600, which I hadn't been able to do in Puppy previously (I had even formatted a partition and installed Mandriva to have something full-featured, which was a cool distro, until I broke it.. long story..) and with battery life at a premium, it's spendid I must say. So I've stripped all the Frisbee out of this .pet for my own use-- 1st thing I install on every new Pup-- and present it here in case it is useful for someone. So small, seems it oughta ship inside the next major .iso (frisbee should NOT!) Barry's old net setup scripts work just fine still.
(Be nice, it's the first .pet I'm uploading-- surely it could use some touching up, so let me know. Thanks.)

The original laptop001.pet was I think 1st posted here: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=484993#484993

Plus, I just discovered http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=68957&start=30 which mentions at least 2 others having put out acpid functionality .pets. (Thanks for the tip pemasu!) So perhaps this post can also serve to sew these related but disconnected threads together somewhat.. "more than 1 way to skin a cat"?
laptop001x.pet
Description  Laptop acpi functionalities (suspend button!) .. the laptop001.pet with all the Frisbee stripped out.
pet

 Download 
Filename  laptop001x.pet 
Filesize  163.16 KB 
Downloaded  484 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rokytnji


Joined: 20 Jan 2009
Posts: 1341
Location: Pecos/ Texas

PostPosted: Sun 18 Sep 2011, 12:21    Post subject: Acer Aspire 5534
Subject description: MacPup 528
 

Acer Aspire 5534

Specs

Code:
sh-4.1# inxi -F
Resuming in non X mode: glxinfo not found. For package install advice run: inxi --recommends
System:    Host: puppypc Kernel: 2.6.33.2 i686 (32 bit)
           Desktop Enlightenment 0.16.999.62861 Distro: macpup Linux
Linux 2.6.33.2 [i686 arch]
Machine:   System: Acer (portable) product: Aspire 5534 version: V1.10 serial: LXPJV0200293721BAE1601
           Mobo: Acer model: Aspire 5534 version: V1.10 serial: LXPJV0200293721BAE1601
           Bios: Acer version: V1.10 date: 08/26/2009
CPU:       Dual core AMD Athlon X2 L310 (-MCP-) cache: 1024 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 svm)
           Clock Speeds: 1: 1197.032 MHz 2: 1197.032 MHz
Graphics:  Card: ATI RS780M/RS780MN [Radeon HD 3200 Graphics]
           X.org: 1.7.6 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: vesa) tty size: 80x24 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Audio:     Card: ATI SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) driver: HDA Intel Sound: ALSA ver: 1.0.21
Network:   Card-1: Atheros AR928X Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) driver: ath9k
           IF: wlan0 state: up mac: <filtered>
           Card-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller driver: r8169
           IF: eth0 state: down speed: 10 Mbps duplex: half mac: <filtered>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 258.1GB (0.7% used) 1: /dev/sda TOSHIBA_MK2555GS 250.1GB
           2: /dev/sdb SanDisk_Cruzer 4.1GB 3: /dev/sdc Multi 4.0GB
Partition: ID: / size: 1.8G used: 56M (4%) fs: rootfs
Sensors:   Error: You do not have the sensors app installed.
Info:      Processes: 97 Uptime: 1:24 Memory: 236.2/3547.1MB Runlevel: 5 Client: Shell inxi: 1.7.23
sh-4.1# cat /etc/issue
macpup Linux
Linux 2.6.33.2 [i686 arch]
sh-4.1# cat /etc/puppyversion
528


Tap on touchpad works.
Wifi Works.
Sound works including Microphone (after alsa mixer adjustements)
Good screen resolution


Code:
sh-4.1# xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1366 x 768, maximum 1366 x 1366
LVDS connected 1366x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 345mm x 194mm
   1366x768       60.0*+
   1280x720       59.9 
   1152x768       59.8 
   1024x768       59.9 
   800x600        59.9 
   640x480        59.4 
VGA-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)


Running off of Pendrive with save file. I used Well Minded search for this model number of Acer Aspire Laptop. No hits. So I figured I'd at least post this one. Wifes Laptop, Not mine. Twisted Evil

Edit 6_January_2012 : It's mine now and runs Racy 5.2.2 off of Pendrive just fine and shows all 4 gig of ram , I gave her a Compaq Black 15.6" CQ57-319qm for Christmas present.

Edit: June 2, 2012

Quote:
I consider those that recommend "well minded search" to be
the same as someone who says "RTFM".

Just Google: aspire 5534 puppy linux


Just did that rjbrewer . The only hits I saw were mine. Very Happy

Here is Racy 5.2 running on same laptop

Code:
# inxi -z -F
System:    Host: puppypc2751 Kernel: 3.0.7 i686 (32 bit)
           Desktop: JWM sn-505 Distro: Racy Puppy Linux
Linux 3.0.7 [i686 arch]
Machine:   System: Acer (portable) product: Aspire 5534 version: V1.10
           Mobo: Acer model: Aspire 5534 version: V1.10 Bios: Acer version: V1.10 date: 08/26/2009
CPU:       Dual core (AMD Athlon X2 L310,1196.772,512 KB,fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow extd_apicid pni cx16 lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy 3dnowprefetch lbrv,2394.27,amd) (-MCP-) cache: unknown  flags: (-)
           Clock Speeds: 1: 1196.772 MHz 2: 1196.772 MHz
Graphics:  Card: ATI RS780M/RS780MN [Radeon HD 3200 Graphics]
           X.org: 1.11.0 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: vesa) tty size: 79x23 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Audio:     Card: ATI SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) driver: HDA Intel Sound: ALSA ver: 1.0.24
Network:   Card-1: Atheros AR928X Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) driver: ath9k
           IF: wlan0 state: up mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller driver: r8169
           IF: eth0 state: down mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: (254.1GB,1.3% used) () 1: id: /dev/sda model: TOSHIBA_MK2555GS size: 250.1GB
           2: id: /dev/sdb model: SanDisk_Cruzer size: 4.1GB
Partition:
RAID:      No RAID devices detected - /proc/mdstat and md_mod kernel raid module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 38.0C mobo: 0.0C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 89 Uptime: 2 min Memory: 83.1/3796.1MB Client: Shell inxi: 1.8.5
sh-3.00# glxgears
720 frames in 5.0 seconds = 143.901 FPS
626 frames in 5.0 seconds = 125.174 FPS
700 frames in 5.0 seconds = 139.815 FPS


Running TOR browser AND Hulu Desktop also on this install to Sandisk Cruzer 4 gig Pendrive frugal install with personal save file ,with a backup personal save file on Windows 7 NTFS partition also.

Last edited by rokytnji on Sat 02 Jun 2012, 18:54; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sun 18 Sep 2011, 12:40    Post subject: Re: Acer Aspire 5534
Subject description: MacPup 528
 

rokytnji wrote:


Running off of Pendrive with save file. I used Well Minded search for this model number of Acer Aspire Laptop. No hits. So I figured I'd at least post this one. Wifes Laptop, Not mine. Twisted Evil


I consider those that recommend "well minded search" to be
the same as someone who says "RTFM".

Just Google: aspire 5534 puppy linux

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 15:32    Post subject:  

rjbrewer Sure you can be right but I think it can be how one say it too.

My experience of RTFM is that them would say that even if them new the answer and it would take less time to give it and them say it on principle.

While here in the forum many refer to it when them know one can find one or two threads but don't remember what exact search to use and then them realize that the OP can also make use of it so them kindly suggest that the OP look first and get back if these threads was not enough to solve it.

Attitude can differ much. Make use of well minded can be a friendly suggestion while RTFM can be very mean spirited and condescending.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1139
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 22:00    Post subject: Thinkpad T43 Radeon Graphics & NewYearsPuppy  

I regularly use an IBM Thinkpad T43 with Radeon graphics, and the only way I have found to get hardware acceleration is to run MU's NewYearsPuppy.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=37960&start=434

That puplet alone allows this computer to run windows CAD, CAM and other graphics intensive programs in WINE without crashing, including Google Sketchup.

Otherwise I have used extensively and liked Puppy 4.3.2 v3 Test (the first 4.3.2) But because the advanced graphics features did not work there, I gave it up.

Thanks to MU, for that, and much else, even though no longer here on the forum.

_________________
Acer Aspire 5349-2635 laptop dual proc, 4gb ram, frugal Racy 5.5.
1999 Thinkpad 600e hacked Pent 3, overclocked 800 mHz, 490 kb running Lupu 528

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DM was on fire!


Joined: 12 Sep 2009
Posts: 156
Location: N.E. Georgia Mountains, USA

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 22:07    Post subject:  

Hello again CatDude. Remember me?
I forgot this topic until I was browsing the forums and saw someone found it.
I am right now, although on Windows, running a Puppy LiveCD with 5.2.5., JWM and a tad bit of fat (aMSN and Skype).
It completely revived this thing (although it is slow as mud, it works). I have no issues with it as Windows did, although sometimes it does overheat and get fussy. The biggest problemfighting me now is the display is going, and my spacebaroccasionally messes up; as you can see whileI craft this reply :<
Thank you again kind sir!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
grump


Joined: 10 Oct 2011
Posts: 103
Location: Melbourne, Oz

PostPosted: Mon 10 Oct 2011, 07:12    Post subject:  

I've been playing with the puppies for a couple of months now, and have settled on Slacko 5.29.5. I use it as my OS of choice on a Toshiba A200 (built late 2004 I think,) with 1gb RAM and 120HDD. This works beautifully. Until today i was using Lucid 5.2.5, but somehow the Slacko seems snappier.

I also used Lucid 5.25 for a while on an older Toshi - a 30CDT built late 2000, fitted with 192Mb RAM and a 10Mb HDD. It was a bit creaky in the joints, particularly using the interweb thingy with a PCMCIA wireless card.

1st post so maybe I should have posted elsewhere?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Spaccafumo


Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 33
Location: Sulmona - Italy

PostPosted: Sun 16 Oct 2011, 01:44    Post subject: Puppy on laptops.
Subject description: Compatibility.
 

Acer Aspire 1640Z works fine with (hard) puppy 4.3. and last versions of Firefox, Seamonkey, Opera, Wine. Development suite (C++ CC ecc.).
_________________
Qui si usa Linux
http://www.puppylinux.org
Sulmona - Italy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
csshin

Joined: 14 Oct 2007
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Wed 09 Nov 2011, 20:55    Post subject: Asus Zenbook UX31E
Subject description: What works and what doesnot
 

This laptop has no internal dvdrom. Booting a livecd from an USB dvdrom worked for the initial part. When it come up to search for files to load, the dvdrom seems to have been unmounted already and puppy will only look into the harddisk. So to boot successfully, one has to copy the .sfs file on the livecd to the harddisk first. I installed grub and put every distro to test on a different subdirectory on the harddisk. To each subdirectory I copied the vmlinuz, initrd.gz and the .sfs from the distros' ISO.

WLAN (Atheros AR9485) not recognized by Lupu528, three headed dog and icepuppy014. Need to use compat wireless to install the most recent ath9k driver for it to work.

On the other hand, Exprimo 5x9 and guydog501 recognize the WLAN out of the box. the wireless button also worked if the WLAN is recognized.

Touchpad is a Sentelic instead of Synaptic, recognized by all the above distro as a pointing device, can tap to click. However, other touchpad functions cannot by configured through flsynclient. No vertical scroll and multitouch nagvigation.

volume up, down, mute, touchpad off button cannot work and does not give a scan code.

sleep button seems to worked and the laptop seems to go into suspend. However, no button or USB devices or whatever is able to wake it up again. Tried to enable the wakeup devices. Only the one related to PCI can be enabled. All the USB1 through USB7 refused to be enabled. So still no way to wake up.

acpitools worked. vattery will work if the "unknown" in the first line of the script is changed into "yes".

Battery life seems to be OK. No serious test has been made but it seems to at least have 4 to 5 hours. It certainly far exceeds the 2 hours+ reported in the Ubuntu forum.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
THEPhast

Joined: 03 Oct 2011
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sun 13 Nov 2011, 09:20    Post subject:  

Hi there,

I'm running Lupu282 on my original acer aspire one laptop, the first model built with linux running on it. 2x Intel Atom CPU N270 @ 1.0GHz, 503 MB, 8GB hard drive.. all components fully functional, wireless, usb camera, speakers, video.ds

Like some others have said, versions of puppy before 525 were non functional for me as my knowledge of programming in linux is nil aside from following directions from others.. drivers for my wireless were unavailable. I was trying to run a slimmed down version of XP which took up 5 out of the 8 of my available gigs of memory on the hard drive, I wouldn't really call it functional because it's so slow.

Now with 528 this computer has come out of the closet into every day use, I save everything onto a microSD and it runs faster than my $1000 desktop! :]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rokytnji


Joined: 20 Jan 2009
Posts: 1341
Location: Pecos/ Texas

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jan 2012, 22:59    Post subject: AmrX RT 786 EX ToughBook Laptop
Subject description: LightHouse 603
 

Haven't posted in this thread for awhile.

This is a Amrel RT 786 EX Toughbook Laptop running LightHouse 503 with Seamonkey 2.6.1 and Firefox 9.0.1 with Flash 11.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=74623&start=30

Sound, Tap, Wireless via a Chinese generic Wireless G PCMCIA card with a Atheros 5xxxx chipset. External Mic and External UCV complient Webcam (hooked up to external 2 port USB 2.0 pcmcia cardbus) work also via mdwaveedit and Luvcview.



Code:
System:    Host: Mariner Kernel: 2.6.33.2 i686 (32 bit) Desktop: JWM sn-498 Distro: Slackware 13.1.0
Machine:   System: Intel (portable) product: Montara Family of Chipsets
           Mobo: Phoenix model: RT786EX version: 41118 Bios: Phoenix version: MGM-ALL1.86C.1009.D.0604271130 date: 04/27/06
CPU:       Single core Intel Pentium M (-UP-) cache: 2048 KB flags: (sse sse2) clocked at 1594.715 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Failed to Detect Video Card! X.org: 1.7.7 drivers: v4l,intel tty size: 80x24 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Audio:     Card: Intel 82801DB-ICH4 driver: ICH4 Sound: ALSA ver: 1.0.21
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 3.3GB (71.6% used) 1: /dev/sda IBM 3.3GB
Partition: ID: swap-1 size: 0.75GB used: 0.01GB (1%) fs: swap
Sensors:   Error: You do not have the sensors app installed.
Info:      Processes: 113 Uptime: 3:58 Memory: 225.1/494.0MB Client: Shell inxi: 1.7.28
sh-4.1# glxgears
672 frames in 5.0 seconds = 134.313 FPS
740 frames in 5.0 seconds = 147.958 FPS
660 frames in 5.0 seconds = 131.684 FPS
720 frames in 5.0 seconds = 143.905 FPS
678 frames in 5.0 seconds = 135.474 FPS
728 frames in 5.0 seconds = 145.523 FPS
596 frames in 5.0 seconds = 119.079 FPS


Paid under 39 bucks for this Laptop but I scavenged Power Supply, Batteries, Hard Drive Caddies, CDOM and CDRW drives from MY Amrel RT 686's which got a bit waterlogged (by Me Embarassed ). i posted about them earlier in this thread on what worked on them.

One RT 686 went into the dumpster. The other (passive touvhscreen) still works and boots up but Enter Key and a couple others on r/h side of keyboard don't work anymore. Works OK though with a cheap Chinese external silicone keyboard It is shelved for now as a parts unit. Will be on the lookout for another cheap Amrel unit .

http://i52.tinypic.com/307sz8y.jpg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
linbie

Joined: 09 Jan 2010
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Tue 10 Jan 2012, 07:31    Post subject: Slacko 5.3.1 on eee PC 701 (4G)  

Slacko 5.3.1 successfully running on eee PC 701 (4G)

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=595230#595230
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
grump


Joined: 10 Oct 2011
Posts: 103
Location: Melbourne, Oz

PostPosted: Mon 23 Jan 2012, 16:58    Post subject:  

I seem to have Slacko 5.3.1 running on a HP Mini 2140. The Broadcom 4322 wireless did not work until I got the wl driver and did more or less what it says in the 1st post here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=344002

HP Mini 2140
2Gb RAM
160Gb HDD

Edit to add - the wireless only worked once. Still not working after several reboots, removes and reloads of wl.

Any suggestions would be welcome.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5263
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 23 Jan 2012, 21:25    Post subject:  

grump wrote:
I seem to have Slacko 5.3.1 running on a HP Mini 2140. The Broadcom 4322 wireless did not work until I got the wl driver and did more or less what it says in the 1st post here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=344002

The wl driver from that post cannot possibly make any difference, since it's compatible only with the 2.6.30.5 kernel in Puppy 4.3.

It's more likely that your one successful attempt related to the new brcm wifi driver already in Slacko.

Your request for help would be better dealt with in the Slacko forum thread ...
or a separate forum post altogether.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2559
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 09 Mar 2012, 04:14    Post subject:  

grump wrote:
the wireless only worked once. Still not working after several reboots, removes and reloads of wl.

Any suggestions would be welcome.


Have you turned your router off/on during these troubleshooting steps? Some routers have problems where some versions of Puppy put them into a mode where they successfully connect the network once, and then never again till the router is power cycled (clearing various cache/DHCP settings).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 16 of 21 [309 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1480s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0221s) ][ GZIP on ]