Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 19 Dec 2014, 12:30
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Wary Puppy 5.2.2, 18 Nov. 2011
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 25 [361 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 23, 24, 25 Next
Author Message
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7099
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 12 Oct 2011, 08:09    Post subject:  

The script /usr/sbin/shutdownconfig has some text in one of the windows that is not appropriate for when X is running. I fixed it, attached.

This script is only used at the first shutdown. Slacko will need this too, I will send a pm to 01micko.
shutdownconfig.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  shutdownconfig.gz 
Filesize  11.58 KB 
Downloaded  244 Time(s) 

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tronkel


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1104
Location: Vienna Austria

PostPosted: Wed 12 Oct 2011, 09:37    Post subject: Digital Camera Olynpus FE 100  

I've done some testing on pupcamera with my Olymous FE-100 model. An oldie that I have owned for about 5 years. Later today, I'll repeat this experiment with the camera on the Android smartphone as well and report back how that went.

Since the days of Puppy 3 series (I think) GTKAM has never been able to detect this camera. However, every Puppy has always been able to show me all my pics by simply clicking on the detected USB device icon at the bottom of this desktop. It shows a folder named DCIM, inside of which are all the photos. This Wary is no exception and does exactly the same thing as all previous Puppy versions have done.

So experiment went like this:

1. Power up the camera, hot-plug the USB cable and as always successfully displays the USB icon which is successfully mounted as has always been the case.

Result: no auto-mount of device via pupcamera

Next, unmount the camera unplug the cable and start again.

2. This time start the pupcamera script.

Result: Message box displays saying that gphoto2 has not detected a camera.

Close pupcamera down, mount the device from the desktop icon and leave the device mounted.

Start pupcamera again. This time camera gets detected, mounts and opens device /dev/sdc1.

Result: Photos get displayed in DCIM

Should the pupcamera script not be mounting a folder called /mnt/camera?

To summarise then, device has to be manually mounted first in order that camera gets detected by gphoto2

From a terminal, running "gphoto2 --auto-detect" mirrors the same behaviour as the pupcamera script.

This version is great though. The JWM menu items text displays bolder in the version than in previous versions which suits my aging vision. As these Puppy versions mature, I have to do less and less tweaking to configure the system to my needs. Great work indeed!

_________________
Life is too short to spend it in front of a computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address 
Volhout


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 418

PostPosted: Wed 12 Oct 2011, 09:53    Post subject: More info
Subject description: Browser crashes
 

Find attached sysinfo in system.gz

Bug: Seamonkey browser crashes at Google homepage, but works fine on other web pages. May be related to animated objects on the page.

- homepage = www.google.nl (not .com)
- method: clear the hypelink field (adress), and press button with magnify glass.

Normally this brings me with a search for nothing to the google homeplage. In this release it crashes the browser. There could be a relation to the empty adress field when pressing the magnifying glass. The search for anything but an empty field goes well, but it does not end up at google.nl.

Manual entry shows that the problem resides at www.google.nl page. Not the way you get there.


Tried on a different (AMD64 system) and the problem does not occur. Please find attached system info in: sys-info-111012.gz
sys-info-111012.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  sys-info-111012.gz 
Filesize  13.97 KB 
Downloaded  250 Time(s) 
system.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  system.tar.gz 
Filesize  11.78 KB 
Downloaded  240 Time(s) 

Last edited by Volhout on Wed 12 Oct 2011, 10:17; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tronkel


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1104
Location: Vienna Austria

PostPosted: Wed 12 Oct 2011, 10:02    Post subject: Smartphone camera gets detectd by pupcamera  

Second digital camera experiment. Entirely different outcome compared with the Olympus FE-100

Pupcamera detected the Motorola Defy MB525 device instantly, displaying the model number and a usb reference.

Using the open button it displayed the root file system of the phone underneath which lies the dcim folder containing the pics. This time the desktop device icon did not required to be mounted manually. The device mount point is now /mnt/camera1 as I think it ought to be.

So whether or not you get the camera auto-detected seems to depend on what sort of device it is.

This cool auto-mount of your smart-phone is going to impress your mates - impressive or what?

_________________
Life is too short to spend it in front of a computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address 
alec78

Joined: 18 Mar 2010
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Wed 12 Oct 2011, 13:52    Post subject: External USB 3G Modems  

Hi all,
Has anybody else noticed that in regular use external USB 3G modems now take appreciably longer to prepare themselves than in previous puppies?
Since 5.1.103, I think, the initial set up of an USB 3G modem has been easier, you only need to tick the "external modem" box when running the set up wizard. Previously I needed to click the delete button and then the probe button, because the wizard had latched onto an on board dial-up modem.
Now, however, each time the modem is plugged in it takes the same 12 seconds approx. for the sr0 icon to appear on the desktop, but a further 50 seconds approx. for the probing box to disappear from the desktop, and the modem be ready for use.
In Lucid once the sr0 icon appears on the desktop the modem is ready to use.
BTW I too think lettering and icons in 5.1.106 have far better definition.
Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 12 Oct 2011, 14:04    Post subject:  

Is there going to be a Racy update?
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1698
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed 12 Oct 2011, 18:19    Post subject: Re: Digital Camera Olynpus FE 100  

tronkel wrote:
I've done some testing on pupcamera with my Olymous FE-100 model. An oldie that I have owned for about 5 years. Later today, I'll repeat this experiment with the camera on the Android smartphone as well and report back how that went.

Since the days of Puppy 3 series (I think) GTKAM has never been able to detect this camera. However, every Puppy has always been able to show me all my pics by simply clicking on the detected USB device icon at the bottom of this desktop. It shows a folder named DCIM, inside of which are all the photos. This Wary is no exception and does exactly the same thing as all previous Puppy versions have done.

So experiment went like this:

1. Power up the camera, hot-plug the USB cable and as always successfully displays the USB icon which is successfully mounted as has always been the case.

Result: no auto-mount of device via pupcamera

Next, unmount the camera unplug the cable and start again.

2. This time start the pupcamera script.

Result: Message box displays saying that gphoto2 has not detected a camera.

Close pupcamera down, mount the device from the desktop icon and leave the device mounted.

Start pupcamera again. This time camera gets detected, mounts and opens device /dev/sdc1.

Result: Photos get displayed in DCIM

Should the pupcamera script not be mounting a folder called /mnt/camera?

To summarise then, device has to be manually mounted first in order that camera gets detected by gphoto2

From a terminal, running "gphoto2 --auto-detect" mirrors the same behaviour as the pupcamera script.

Hi tronkel,

The behavior might be due to the fact that the cam is using the mass storage protocol and not the picture transfer protocol. So in terms of the OS it's just like an external drive (thus the naming). In my opinion this is positive, but the udev-rules to control the gui and so on might be a problem for that kind of cams. But Barry is using a simple udev-rule, so maybe the 'problem' could be solved with a larger subset of the rules.

Aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7099
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 12 Oct 2011, 20:24    Post subject:  

Over in the Racy thread, Karl Godt reported a problem with /usr/sbin/background_reshape, for some non-English locales:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=572727#572727

Here is the fixed script:
background_reshape.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  background_reshape.gz 
Filesize  1.5 KB 
Downloaded  225 Time(s) 

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7099
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 12 Oct 2011, 20:55    Post subject:  

USB boot, installing PETs has a problem. It seems that recent version of aufs has a problem, exhibited in both Wary with 2.6.32 kernel, and Racy with 2.6.39.4 kernel.

Shinobar reported it, see post:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=572735#572735

The script installpkg.sh goes into /usr/local/petget, gunzip it and make it executable. Attached:

EDIT
I have decided to revert this change, so please ignore the attachment.

I found that the script does work for me, but there is another problem with it, that will need attention. For now, leave as-is.
installpkg.sh.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  installpkg.sh.gz 
Filesize  5.83 KB 
Downloaded  235 Time(s) 

Last edited by BarryK on Thu 13 Oct 2011, 03:03; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Wed 12 Oct 2011, 21:59    Post subject:  

Comparing 5.1.106-smp and 5.1.3.4-uni.
Inspiron 700m notebook, 7 yrs. old.
1.6Ghz cpu, 1Gb ram. single core.

5.1.106 is using about 20mb more ram at startup and uses
about 10 to 15% more cpu in general.
Not a problem on this laptop, as they both play full screen
video files and streams very smoothly.

Uni would be better for older gear.

Comparing these 2 Warys' with Lucid 5.2.8 and Slacko.
Lucid and Slacko suck cpu power like crazy.
Video files and streams that Wary plays perfectly with
30 to 70% cpu are pegged at 100% in Lucid and Slacko,
with jerky video and out of sync sound.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11180
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Wed 12 Oct 2011, 22:24    Post subject:  

5.1.106 multisession Blu-Ray disk.

Burned the 5.1.106 iso to a rewritable Blu-Ray (BD-RE) disk using Burniso2cd, booted the Blu-Ray disk (it seemed to boot faster than a DVD but I didn't do a comparison), did a little configuring to get online and put SeaMonkey's cache in /tmp, then saved to the BD-RE to create a multisession Puppy. It booted fine with the saved settings, though SeaMonkey does not create a cache folder in /tmp as it said it would do. I don't know where it's putting its cache.

Then I tried to install Flashblock in SeaMonkey from the Puppy Package Manager. It seemed to install, reporting no problems or missing dependencies, but I couldn't find it in the Internet menu and after that SeaMonkey wouldn't start any more, even from the console. Said 'seamonkey not found'.

Then I booted the same BD-RE in a different computer which also has a Blu-Ray drive. It booted all the way to the desktop without asking any configuration questions, though the desktop icons that were supposed to be round were oval instead. Everything else seemed to work fine, including the sound. Incredible.

While I had it booted in the other computer I backed up a bunch of audio files that were in directories. When I dragged a directory from the first drive, which was a VFAT USB flash drive, to the second drive, which was a NTFS hdd, the transfer apparently went ok even though ROX reported when everything was done that there was an "ERROR: process not allowed" or something like that. I copied many directories this way and every one gave the same error. After I was done backing up, I rebooted into Windows XP to check that the drive was still readable. It was, and everything I had copied to it was where it was supposed to be. I think there might have been some sort of permissions issue, but ROX and Puppy powered right through it. Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7099
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 13 Oct 2011, 03:00    Post subject:  

Flash wrote:
Then I tried to install Flashblock in SeaMonkey from the Puppy Package Manager. It seemed to install, reporting no problems or missing dependencies, but I couldn't find it in the Internet menu and after that SeaMonkey wouldn't start any more, even from the console. Said 'seamonkey not found'.


Flashblock PET, if I recall rightly, that is for SeaMonkey 1.1.x.

I will have to revise those SM plugin PETs, so that they state what version of SM they are for.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 960
Location: England

PostPosted: Thu 13 Oct 2011, 09:43    Post subject:  

Oops, wrong forum.
Last edited by gerry on Thu 13 Oct 2011, 12:04; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11180
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Thu 13 Oct 2011, 09:59    Post subject:  

Barry, any chance you would include flashblock as standard in all your Puppys? I find the moving pictures that seem to be on every web page these days to be so distracting that sometimes I have to cover them up in order to concentrate on what I'm trying to read. I imagine that the people who design web pages don't realize the effect is counterproductive.

Oh, and here's a suggestion: have one of those tooltips, I think they're called, pop up when the cursor is rested on the Puppy logo and tell which version of Puppy it is. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tronkel


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1104
Location: Vienna Austria

PostPosted: Thu 13 Oct 2011, 14:29    Post subject: pupcamera with Fuji AV200  

Spotted a bargain here today in Vienna. Hartlauer are selling the Fuji AV200 still/movie digital camera for €40 without storage.

Pupcamera couldn't detect it without re-booting Wary, but after doing that, it did auto-detect, whereupon the pics showed up in /mnt/camera1 as intended.

So pupcamera seems to be working ok. Goodie!

_________________
Life is too short to spend it in front of a computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 25 [361 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 23, 24, 25 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1118s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0145s) ][ GZIP on ]