Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Oct 2014, 03:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Lucid Puppy Quickset edition (LupQ-511)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 7 of 8 [112 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1015
Location: South of Belgium

PostPosted: Tue 14 Dec 2010, 09:45    Post subject: /usr/bin/gv don't display full A4 postscript or pdf files  

Bonjour shinobar,
...hmmm... let's remember this post of mine about gv:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=452934
Quote:
...when clicking to download a pdf file, there came a 1st dialog box asking whether to save/save as/cancel/open;
if click on open, then a dialog box "Encrypted Document" asks for password.
if click on save, then the well saved pdf file can be normaly opened whithout any password- nor encryption- warning.
I installed Panzerkopf forum member's "gv.gz" (see link here after)

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=428669&sid=ff289a383e8df15d6e39222

but without any change.
On another PC + lupq-509 + Panserkopf's gv.gz + Firefox browser, the same pdf document is opened without any warning...

and the relevant forum member Panzerkopf post:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=428669&sid=ff289a383e8df15d6e39222

The problem is:
A4 format postscript files as even pdf file are not completely displayed = part of the documents header is not displayed (about 20mm are missing); moreover printing a .ps or .pdf file from the postscript viewer do not print the full page: also a part of the header is «lost».

I could reproduce this on puppy 4.20 Xtreme v1.0 by replacing the existing gv by Panzerkopf's gv. And vice-versa.

I then believe that the Panzerkopf's gv.gz file could have been integrated to Lupq-511, couldn't it?

I also tried to use the gv -options (managing to recenter or modify the page configuration) from the command line without success.

So I believe that this gv question not to be fully fixed.

Would you mind consider this?
Thanks in advance.
Bien amicalement, Charlie.

Last edited by charlie6 on Sun 19 Dec 2010, 10:51; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Tue 14 Dec 2010, 10:02    Post subject: Re: /usr/bin/gv don't display complete postscript or pdf files  

charlie6 wrote:
Bonjour shinobar,
...hmmm... let's remember this post of mine about gv:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=452934

and the relevant forum member Panzerkopf post:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=428669&sid=ff289a383e8df15d6e39222

Thanks, Charlie for the information.
I keep it in mind and will check it up... Wink

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
yordanj94

Joined: 16 Sep 2010
Posts: 77
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Wed 15 Dec 2010, 14:52    Post subject: remasterpup2-100120  

Hi.
I have a question about this pet "remasterpup2-100120".
Is this one included in LUPQ-511 or is Barry's original one ?
Thanks in advance.
Yordan.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Wed 15 Dec 2010, 19:04    Post subject: Re: remasterpup2-100120  

yordanj94 wrote:
I have a question about this pet "remasterpup2-100120".
Is the one included in LUPQ-511 or is Barry's original one ?

The "remasterpup2-100120" Is this one included in LUPQ-511 and was once in the woof until 13 september 2010.
Barry recently add some modification and now in Wary-102.
Code:
#100913 simplified puppy filenames. see variables in /etc/DISTRO_SPECS.
#100916 no longer have DISTRO_DEVXSFS in /etc/DISTRO_SPECS.(it was only there briefly)
#101020 no longer have /etc/modprobe.conf.
#101107 bug fix from zygo.

Both may works with no problem unless you use simplified puppy filenames.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html

Last edited by shinobar on Thu 16 Dec 2010, 19:20; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
yordanj94

Joined: 16 Sep 2010
Posts: 77
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Thu 16 Dec 2010, 17:47    Post subject: Grub4dos  

Thanks Shinobar.
One more question about LUPQ-511.
Grub4dos included in liveCD when it boots what version is ?
If i remaster my liveCD can G4D be replaced with your last version- "grub4dos-0.4.4.v1.6.3" ?
Thanks in advance .
Yordan.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Thu 16 Dec 2010, 19:18    Post subject: Re: Grub4dos  

yordanj94 wrote:
Grub4dos included in liveCD when it boots what version is ?
If i remaster my liveCD can G4D be replaced with your last version- "grub4dos-0.4.4.v1.6.3" ?

To remaster live CD with updated, use graphicalmenu-files-20101122.tar.gz:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=61132
Of course you need to edit the menu.lst.
Icon and splash as you like.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3336
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 16 Dec 2010, 20:57    Post subject: new version mtpaint 3.34.60  

There's a new version of mtpaint (3.34.60) available.
I quickly made a package that supports locales.

http://www.datafilehost.com/download-6acf1dad.html

I found that compiling in Puppy 4.31 will suffice,
so I don't have to compile a special Lucid version .

It has one new feature called 'shapeburst'
Just cut a selected area to the clipboard
(with the gradient mode 'ON')
and a gradient is created. The gradient settings
are ignored.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Fri 17 Dec 2010, 02:17    Post subject: Re: new version mtpaint 3.34.60  

don570 wrote:
There's a new version of mtpaint (3.34.60) available..

Thanks.
Made separate packages mtpaint-3.34.60-1.pet, Integrated with mtpaintsnapshot.sh, looking up document online.
mtpaint-NLS-3.34.60-1.pet provided as a separate package.
Download from LupQ Updates.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1015
Location: South of Belgium

PostPosted: Sun 19 Dec 2010, 07:31    Post subject: (SOLVED) gv don't display full A4 postscript or pdf files  

Bonjour shinobar,
charlie6 wrote:
...The problem is:
A4 format postscript files as even pdf file are not completely displayed = part of the documents header is not displayed; moreover printing a .ps or .pdf file from the postscript viewer do not print the full page: also a part of the header is «lost».....


I believe I got the explanation to fix this:
/usr/bin/gv is a script containing:
Code:

#!/bin/sh
#Panzerkopf: Using a temporary file instead of pipe.
[ ! $1 ] && exit
ps2pdf "$@" /tmp/$$.pdf
epdfview /tmp/$$.pdf
rm -f /tmp/$$.pdf


ps2pdf default convert postscript to pdf file to US-letter format (216x279mm whereas A4 is 210x297mm i.e. 18mm difference)

To get the complete A4 document, change the script code to tell ps2pdf to format output to A4:
Code:

#!/bin/sh
#Panzerkopf: Using a temporary file instead of pipe.
[ ! $1 ] && exit
exec ps2pdf -sPAPERSIZE#a4 "$@" /tmp/$$.pdf
epdfview /tmp/$$.pdf
rm -f /tmp/$$.pdf

or the following code I am currently using:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
[ ! $1 ] && exit
exec ps2pdf -sPAPERSIZE#a4 "$@" - | epdfview -

Bien amicalement, Charlie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Wed 22 Dec 2010, 09:15    Post subject: Re: (SOLVED) gv don't display full A4 postscript or pdf files  

charlie6 wrote:
To get the complete A4 document, change the script code to tell ps2pdf to format output to A4

Great, Charlie.
Isn't there a way to set the ps2pdf default option somewhere in a configuration file?
Or we can make a wrapper of the ps2pdf... Rolling Eyes

EDIT: Found Idea
Insert next line in /etc/profile around line 98(after LANG is set).
Code:
[ "${LANG:2:3}" != "_US" ] && export GS_OPTIONS="-sPAPERSIZE=a4"

Exit to prompt and xwin, or reboot PC. (Restart X is not enough to apply the change.)

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html

Last edited by shinobar on Sat 01 Jan 2011, 10:29; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3336
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 30 Dec 2010, 17:34    Post subject: new apps  

mtpaintsnapshot.sh 1.2 will open and save to screenshots folder
as the default when taking a screenshot
http://www.datafilehost.com/download-cf582c86.html

Screenshotbrowser will open the Screenshots folder and edit images there
http://www.datafilehost.com/download-501053b3.html

latest version of mtpaint 3.34.63
http://www.datafilehost.com/download-5b44e99f.html

____________________________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
emil

Joined: 10 Nov 2009
Posts: 618
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Tue 01 Feb 2011, 02:25    Post subject: Lupq Windows Installer  

Hi Shinobar,

I tried to download the Lupq-511 windows Installer, but the redirect always timed out. Is there another download location?

EDIT: Link came Back, so its fine!
thanks,
emil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 01 Feb 2011, 04:28    Post subject:  

Shinobar. No need to suggest anything, I use Lupu -250 instead that one have 1024 x 768 and 511 only 1024x600 on my Acer.

But I would very much appreciate some suggestion how I can get
Puppy Studio to boot. I use your safe boot suggestion for 520 and that booted it but it totally fail on Studio and it is the third iso I test so something is odd with it. I guess it has to do with the low latency thing. Maybe I have chosen the wrong iso that needs a real CPU and not an Atom N270 that one maybe can not do what the iso ask it to.

Surprise, lupu511 boots but LupQ-511 boots not.

Can one borrow something from 511 that makes lupq boot?

Acer D250 frugal install NTFS HDD Atom n270 CPU

lup520 needs acpi=off to boot but then does not shut down properly.
Fluppy and Snow Puppy both boots always and shut down properly too.

Can one borrow that ability from them and use in lupq?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ferro10n

Joined: 15 Jun 2011
Posts: 106

PostPosted: Sat 15 Oct 2011, 22:59    Post subject:  LupQ doesn't recognize lupusave  

Hi,

I've been testing LupQ and hadn't got any problems. Except for this: it doesn't recognize my lupusave file. At the moment, I haven't got a computer on my own, so I'm using a live CD and a flash drive. It would be nice to be able to show my portable system to my friends who don't speak English (you know, they say 'if it's only in English then it's not worth'), but unfortunately I had this issue with the lupusave file. I wonder what I'm doing wrong. Confused

_________________
A beginner Puppy Linux user
Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.13GHz 512MB
LiveCD user
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sat 29 Oct 2011, 22:28    Post subject: Re: LupQ doesn't recognize lupusave  

ferro10n wrote:
I've been testing LupQ and hadn't got any problems. Except for this: it doesn't recognize my lupusave file.

LupQ reads 'lupqsave.?fs' where '?' can be 2-4.
Try with a copy of your lupusave as lupqsave.

But you are better to make new lupqsave.
Then click the old lupusave to mount.
You can copy some files you want from the old lupusave.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 8 [112 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1021s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0066s) ][ GZIP on ]