Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 15:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Racy Puppy 5.2.2 Final, 18 Nov. 2011
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 11 of 33 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, ..., 31, 32, 33 Next
Author Message
veronicathecow


Joined: 21 Oct 2006
Posts: 533

PostPosted: Sat 29 Oct 2011, 10:11    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Problems running in virtualbox
 

Am running in virtualbox version 4.1.4 and am having problems with mouse integration and resolution
When I move in certain parts of the screen the cursor changes to the host cursor unless I disable integration.
Secondly no matter what resolution I choose it still takes up to large an area and means I have to scroll.
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sat 29 Oct 2011, 11:35    Post_subject: UPDATE: grub4dos-0.4.4.v1.7.1
Sub_title: bugfix release
 

Was failed with some environment when the 1st partition is ext4 file system (thanks to jim3630 and billtoo).
grub4dos-0.4.4.v1.7.1.pet (Update: 29 Oct 2011) now available.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=51697

* 29oct11 v1.7.1: fix was failed with ext4, drive letter, gtkdialog4 thanks to 01micko, help button, no sort probepart, bootable check

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9207
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 29 Oct 2011, 11:40    Post_subject:  

Here is guvcview for Racy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2130
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 29 Oct 2011, 11:50    Post_subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Here is guvcview for Racy.


It works great, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 773

PostPosted: Sat 29 Oct 2011, 14:27    Post_subject:  

On desktop, not laptop, powerapplet_tray shown, battery and apm modules loaded.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1702

PostPosted: Sat 29 Oct 2011, 14:51    Post_subject:  

Billtoo wrote:
rcrsn51 wrote:
Here is guvcview for Racy.


It works great, thanks.


Indeed. Very Happy

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Sat 29 Oct 2011, 14:53    Post_subject:  

BarryK wrote:
I have a problem with 'glxgears' in Racy, see my blog report:

http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02574

Tests of glxgears on other video hardware greatly appreciated!

Make sure all apps etc. closed before testing, in case it hangs. I had to hold down the power-off button on my laptop for 4 seconds.


same on dual core p6100 hp, intel graphics but not sure what driver ? vesa see prior post
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Sat 29 Oct 2011, 14:58    Post_subject: Re: UPDATE: grub4dos-0.4.4.v1.7.1
Sub_title: bugfix release
 

shinobar wrote:
Was failed with some environment when the 1st partition is ext4 file system (thanks to jim3630 and billtoo).
grub4dos-0.4.4.v1.7.1.pet (Update: 29 Oct 2011) now available.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=51697

* 29oct11 v1.7.1: fix was failed with ext4, drive letter, gtkdialog4 thanks to 01micko, help button, no sort probepart, bootable check


it works!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 773

PostPosted: Sat 29 Oct 2011, 15:07    Post_subject:  

glxgears works ok on radeon hd3200
But 450 FPS in Racy and 1200 FPS in Wary.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sat 29 Oct 2011, 17:54    Post_subject:  

Code:
--- /initrd/pup_ro2/usr/sbin/xorgwizard   2011-09-27 01:31:20.000000000 -0100
+++ /usr/sbin/xorgwizard   2011-10-29 23:21:58.566654034 -0100
@@ -330,6 +330,7 @@ if [ ! "`echo -n "$PSFND" | grep "\\.xin
    NEXTWM="`cat /etc/windowmanager`"
    echo -n "$NEXTWM" > /etc/windowmanager #this makes change permanent.
    echo -n "$NEXTWM" > /tmp/wmexitmode.txt
+   echo -n "ICONWIPE" >/tmp/pup_event_icon_change_flag ##in case Xvesa selects different resolution
    sync
    exec killall X
    ;;
@@ -1919,5 +1920,5 @@ fi
 #[ -f /tmp/ddcprobeoem.txt ] && rm /tmp/ddcprobeoem.txt && exec xwin
 #3.99 end
 [ -f /tmp/ddcprobeoem.txt ] && rm /tmp/ddcprobeoem.txt #w478
-
+echo 'ICONWIPE' > /tmp/pup_event_icon_change_flag
 ###END###

Bogus thingy , that bothered me for one year , but now racy-110 gave me vesa instead of nv or nouveau at startup , so ran xorgwizard from the new firstrun-gui :
after-xorgwizard-driveicons-would-need-ICONWIPE.png
 Description   
 Filesize   77.78 KB
 Viewed   707 Time(s)

after-xorgwizard-driveicons-would-need-ICONWIPE.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sat 29 Oct 2011, 19:05    Post_subject:  

NEXT : SAVE to CREATED CRYPT"A" file did not succeed at reboot .
--------- This time I did reboot from the prompt [wmexit] and the same :
--------- DID NOT SAVE new CREATED|CHANGED files into PUPSAVE !
--------- LIKE in slacko from X .

SAVEFILE gets created in ext2 at shutdown AND mounted successfully at boot :

# cat /etc/rc.d/BOOTCONFIG
LASTUNIONRECORD='racysave_crypta-2011_10_30_cryptA_ext2.2fs puppy_racy_5.1.110.sfs'
EXTRASFSLIST=''

# mount
/dev/sda4 on /initrd/mnt/dev_save type fuseblk (rw,noatime,user_id=0,group_id=0,default_permissions,blksize=4096)
/dev/loop1 on /initrd/pup_rw type ext2 (rw,noatime,errors=continue)

# df
/dev/sda4 14964544 11064844 3899700 74% /initrd/mnt/dev_save
/dev/loop1 516040 4528 511512 1% /initrd/pup_rw

# lsmod
cbc 1939 1
cryptoloop 1515 1
fuse 47672 2
unionfs 58158 1
squashfs 19073 1

# grep -i AES /etc/modules/*
/etc/modules/DOTconfig-3.0.7:CONFIG_CRYPTO_AES=y
/etc/modules/DOTconfig-3.0.7:CONFIG_CRYPTO_AES_586=m
/etc/modules/DOTconfig-3.0.7:# CONFIG_CRYPTO_AES_NI_INTEL is not set

The desktop was only black background and with jwm-taskbar .

After running " gdk-pixbuf-query-loaders --update-cache " as suggested by 01micko
AND " rox -p /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin " the normal Puppy desktop environment showed up !

The new pupdialog to select extra sfs seems to be a little unrelyable ,
maybe because of some 2>/tmp/choice/txt.$$ like
"GDK-WARNING : SOME_LONG_TEXT_HERE
GDK-WARNING : SOME_LONG_TEXT_HERE
GDK-WARNING : SOME_LONG_TEXT_HERE
GDK-WARNING : SOME_LONG_TEXT_HERE
devx_racy_version.sfs
"

For security reasons i would advise a
Code:
choice=`cat /tmp/choice.txt.$$ | tail -n 1`

in all these dialog|Xdialog scripts : TAIL to filter above Error messages out ( JUST IN CASE ) .

Iguleders inpu-001 had much of these i can remember .
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sat 29 Oct 2011, 19:50    Post_subject:  

NEXT : JWMCONFIG !!

Thie jwmconfig has got several bugs , which I was observing for one year now ,
[ perhaps will open a thread in the Cutting Edge section , but my fixes may still contain bugs also ]

Shinobar attempted to fix the line numbering , but moving the panel buttons around , deleted two lines in .jwmrc-tray :

Code:
      <Pager/>
      <!-- Additional TaskList attribute: maxwidth -->


I have made some attempts to fix jwmconfig and one solution for the line numbering using wc -l could be :

ENSURE TRAILING NEWLINE IN .JWMRC-TRAY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

this could be achieved by adding this code into /usr/local/jwmconfig2/panel-buttons :
Code:

--- /initrd/pup_ro2/usr/local/jwmconfig2/panel-buttons   2010-08-23 04:04:43.000000000 +0100
+++ /usr/local/jwmconfig2/panel-buttons   2011-10-30 01:32:57.000000000 +0100
@@ -17,6 +17,21 @@ fi
 cat /root/.jwmrc-tray | sed '/^$/d' > /tmp/.jwmrc-tray  ### remove all blank lines in .jwmrc-tray
 mv /tmp/.jwmrc-tray /root/
 
+if test "`tail -n 1 $HOME/.jwmrc-tray | hexdump | grep -o '0a'`" = "" ; then
+ #KRGensure newline so wc counts the real line numbers :)
+
+ lastLine=`cat $HOME/.jwmrc-tray | tail -n 1`
+
+ if test "$lastLine" = "</JWM>" ;then
+ echo >> $HOME/.jwmrc-tray
+ else
+ if test "`grep -o -w '</JWM>' $HOME/.jwmrc-tray`" = "" ; then
+ echo '</JWM>' >> $HOME/.jwmrc-tray
+ echo >> $HOME/.jwmrc-tray
+ fi
+ fi
+fi
 # 2009-NOV-06 low and high position fixed
 total=`wc -l /root/.jwmrc-tray | sed -e 's/ *//' | sed -e 's/ .*//g'` ### get total number of lines
 low=`grep -n '^[[:blank:]]*<TrayButton' /root/.jwmrc-tray | head -n 1| cut -d':' -f1`  ### get line number of the first button(Menu)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Sat 29 Oct 2011, 20:48    Post_subject:  

Karl Godt wrote:

Bogus thingy , that bothered me for one year , but now racy-110 gave me vesa instead of nv or nouveau at startup , so ran xorgwizard from the new firstrun-gui :


did it work? I'm stuck with vesa, 1600x900 and xorgwizard from the firstrun-gui only cycles me back to same display without giving any choices.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 30 Oct 2011, 05:14    Post_subject:  

jim3630 wrote:
BarryK wrote:
I have a problem with 'glxgears' in Racy, see my blog report:

http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02574

Tests of glxgears on other video hardware greatly appreciated!

Make sure all apps etc. closed before testing, in case it hangs. I had to hold down the power-off button on my laptop for 4 seconds.


same on dual core p6100 hp, intel graphics but not sure what driver ? vesa see prior post


Jim,
Would you mind looking in file /var/log/xorg.0.log, and do a search for "i9" and "i8". That will determine which of the i810, i915 or i965 DRI drivers are loading.

On my laptop, it is the i965 DRI driver that is the culprit.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sun 30 Oct 2011, 05:32    Post_subject:  

jim3630 wrote:
Karl Godt wrote:

Bogus thingy , that bothered me for one year , but now racy-110 gave me vesa instead of nv or nouveau at startup , so ran xorgwizard from the new firstrun-gui :


did it work? I'm stuck with vesa, 1600x900 and xorgwizard from the firstrun-gui only cycles me back to same display without giving any choices.


Yes , it apparently [seems to have] worked :

There are three buttons to select @xorgwizard :

dialog --colors --extra-button --title "Puppy Video Wizard"
--ok-label "Probe" --cancel-label "vesa" --extra-label "Choose"

the Choose option presented the whole drivers list , that the script found in its search
and there i had chosen "nouveau" and then it tested ok .

BUT i did not check the content of xorg.conf .....

after mounting the save-file
xorg.conf is /mnt/loop5/etc/X11/xorg.conf.NVIDIAAOCA790

BUT the card driver section looks like

#110627 remove...
##server can find BusID automatically, comment out...
#Section "Device"
# Identifier "Card0"
# Driver "vesa" #card0driver
# VendorName "Unknown Vendor"
# BoardName "Unknown Board"
## BusID "PCI:0:2:0" #card0busid
#EndSection

?????

[ guessing for now a simple grep 'vesa' syntax in the firstrun-gui caused this ]
So i have to reboot into it again to check for the card driver :S
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 11 of 33 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, ..., 31, 32, 33 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1079s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0121s) ][ GZIP on ]