Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 30 Oct 2014, 09:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Suggestions
ARM Raspberry Pi commitment
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 14 [197 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 12, 13, 14 Next
Author Message
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4353

PostPosted: Mon 31 Oct 2011, 20:43    Post subject:  

I never saw anything about rca out, but many older/cheaper TVs have an rca input but no hdmi ... the big issue there would be fixing the various GUIs to work at such a low resolution.
_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1441
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Mon 31 Oct 2011, 21:16    Post subject:  

stu90 wrote:
Sounds pretty cool - could have it hooked up to a HDTV with a nice looking Conky Lua with weather, time, RSS and use it as a internet radio player or big picture frame etc.
Wonder if you could use one of these with it?
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Rii-Mini-i6-2-4G-Wireless-Keyboard-Touchpad-IR-Remote-/270807916600?pt=UK_Computing_ComputerComponents_KeyboardsMice&hash=item3f0d68e038


You can get a similar thing here in Oz http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/DGTEC-NEW-DG-WKB3001-Wireless-Keyboard-Mouse-Combo-BC81263-/280763566323?pt=AU_Input_Peripherals&hash=item415ed008f3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4353

PostPosted: Tue 01 Nov 2011, 00:50    Post subject:  

rob's tools may be helpful to bootstrap a build environment
http://landley.net/code/aboriginal/downloads/binaries/cross-compiler-armv6l.tar.bz2
http://landley.net/code/aboriginal/downloads/binaries/system-image-armv6l.tar.bz2
http://landley.net/code/aboriginal/downloads/binaries/root-filesystem/native-compiler-armv6l.tar.bz2
http://landley.net/code/aboriginal/downloads/binaries/root-filesystem/simple-root-filesystem-armv6l.tar.bz2
http://landley.net/code/aboriginal/downloads/binaries/root-filesystem/root-filesystem-armv6l.tar.bz2
http://landley.net/code/aboriginal/downloads/binaries/extras/lfs-bootstrap.tar.gz-armv6l

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2465
Location: near here

PostPosted: Tue 01 Nov 2011, 13:43    Post subject:  

technosaurus wrote:
I never saw anything about rca out, but many older/cheaper TVs have an rca input but no hdmi ... the big issue there would be fixing the various GUIs to work at such a low resolution.


according to the wiki your all good.

http://elinux.org/RaspberryPiBoard#Display_Output_Options

VGA monitors are the big no no

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3355
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 02 Nov 2011, 20:08    Post subject:  

I followed a link at the raspberry site and found this....
Code:

BootRom

The boards do not include NAND or NOR storage - everything is on the
SD card, which has a FAT32 partition with GPU firmware and a kernel
image, and an EXT2 partition with the rootfs.

We're not currently using a bootloader - we actually boot via the GPU,
 which contains a proprietary RISC core (wacky architecture ;) .
The GPU mounts the SD card, loads GPU firmware and brings up
 display/video/3d, loads a kernel image, resets the SD card host
and starts the ARM.

You could replace the kernel image with a bootloader image, and that
 would work fine.


It appears that someone with knowledge of machine code
will have to write a bootmanager.

_______________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4353

PostPosted: Wed 02 Nov 2011, 22:35    Post subject:  

There are plenty of ARM bootloaders already, but why bother if you don't plan to run multiple distros... unless you just like waiting for extra stuff to load so you can reminisce about your blissful windows days.
_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sickgut


Joined: 23 Mar 2010
Posts: 1157
Location: Tasmania, Australia in the mountains.

PostPosted: Thu 03 Nov 2011, 01:11    Post subject:  

there are plenty of android tablets out there that boot from a sdhc card slot when you wanna run linux, the BIOS just knows to try to boot from the sdhc card if its inserted, before it boots off the internal storage. There is no bootloader required on the sdhc card to get it to work, it boot from a FAT32 partition and then the root fs is either contained within a file or covers the rest of the sdhc card as a ext2 partition.

Im posting this info because this is very similar to how the raspberry behaves, i dont know if these android tablets are booting from a GPU tho. No bootloaders required anyway....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 03 Nov 2011, 02:46    Post subject:  

I've heard that those Androids that boot from a Smartphone or
from a Tablet that have GPRS on it first boot up the radio cirquit
and then it boots the ordinary software that we are used to.

The code for booting the radio is proprietary and if you don't
boot the radio then you fail to boot the linux code too.

But that is only my poor recollection of somethign that was way
over my head. But it is worth looking into.

It at least apply to most tablets with sim cards and GPRS in them
unless them are built in a different way. Maybe them are.
But most such things most likely need to be jailbreaked first?

Unless one can do as some smartphones. One are told how to
cold start them like the repair person does it to load new software
into them. But then one must find somebody that know such for
each model. What buttons to hold down and exactly what to do next.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Thu 03 Nov 2011, 05:46    Post subject:  

Some ideas
http://youtu.be/OIRox_x-LUo

Some tools
http://www.learn-c.com/

Personally I think I might have to finally develop ASQ . . .
http://peace.wikia.com/wiki/ASQ

What is your planned project?

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sickgut


Joined: 23 Mar 2010
Posts: 1157
Location: Tasmania, Australia in the mountains.

PostPosted: Sat 05 Nov 2011, 09:18    Post subject:  

I am worried about the HDMI only output that the raspberry uses for its display....

I have no hdmi capable TV or Monitor........

Maybe there are others like me. If i can find a HDMI to normal VGA convertor or svideo or video rca lead the kind an old home dvd or vhs player has, then maybe we can post here a link to an online store that sells these.

right now, if i had a raspberry... i wouldnt be able to use it....

ill scan the raspberry site to see if the hdmi to vga adaptor is an option or if they recommend any particular connector... maybe a usb capture device with hdmi input will be enough for users to see stuff on their laptop screen or desktop screen while running......
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1792
Location: wales

PostPosted: Sat 05 Nov 2011, 09:24    Post subject:  

ooops
_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=93998
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4353

PostPosted: Sat 05 Nov 2011, 12:51    Post subject:  

Max resolution for the composite video is 720x576 pal(eu) or 720x480 ntsc(us)
This is aka RCA or "yellow plug"

I suspect many standard televisions won't support the max though... need to figure out what "standard" tv resolution is. In the mean time it would be a good idea to fix various apps to work in 640x480x16

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_video_connectors

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101

Last edited by technosaurus on Sat 05 Nov 2011, 13:15; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2983
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sat 05 Nov 2011, 13:13    Post subject:  

Been over there trying to figure that one out myself. IIRC I figured out a way to output video at base VGA using 74xx chips and a resistor ladder, but it would cost more than the Pi itself and you'd only get 640x480. You'd also be limited to CRT monitors built in the 1990's -- the kind of monitors that could genuinely deal with a fixed resolution like that!

Oh, right, and you'd be soldering for a couple /days/... hope you like lead fumes Wink

So I threw out the partial schematic. Good for starting the woodstove, but not much else, lol. I could do higher resolutions if someone wanted to tell me of a very inexpensive source of 74xx chips rated to be at least twice as fast (more is better here) than a standard 74HCxx.

Problem in a nutshell is this: the SoC (System On Chip, sorta like a CPU that does everything else as well) that they picked out has no analog video output whatsoever. So yes you can convert the /connectors/ from HDMI->DVI->VGA but you're still going to be just as stuck -- and you'll have wasted between $7 and $10 to boot!

AFAIK (and believe me, I've tried to think of everything else!) the ONLY way to get analog video (VGA, DVI-A, etc.) is using a "scan converter" that costs more than the Pi -- you'll shell out at least $30 for the converter, and the Pi is supposed to cost $25 (well, they do have a $35 option with twice the RAM... but I'm not sure that counts).

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 06 Nov 2011, 03:09    Post subject:  

Heheh the Pi cost 25$ while the Monitor for it costs say at least
ten times as much if you are lucky to find a Sales version?
I was that lucky I have a Samsung monitor named T200HD
which have two HDMI inputs? and it is about 19 or 20 inch or so.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4785
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Sun 06 Nov 2011, 19:04    Post subject: DVI monitor  

Over at the R-Pi forum, people say that used DVI monitors are cheap.

And when a large VGA monitor or VGA projector can't be found, I use VGA-TV converter. Now I won't have to do that with the R-Pi.

_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 14 [197 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 12, 13, 14 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Suggestions
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0991s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0058s) ][ GZIP on ]