Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 30 Oct 2014, 18:57
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Racy Puppy 5.2.2 Final, 18 Nov. 2011
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 18 of 33 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, ..., 31, 32, 33 Next
Author Message
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1473
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 16:44    Post_subject:  

Hi Barry

Pristine frugal install of racy 5.2.1.90

Quick report:

1. I see the very lethargic drop down menu selection in QuickSetup reported by others

2. B43 wifi is still not detected and loaded - if I copy the b43 firmware directory from /lib/modules/all-firmware to /lib/firmware AND put "modprobe b43" into rc.local then the wifi works - so all the components are there and working EXCEPT for the detection and automatic loading function.

Quick question - as the firmware directories are no longer compressed couldn't they be permanently in /lib/firmware or is there some other reason that they have to be copied?

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 16:45    Post_subject:  

frugal install of 5.2.1.90 (5.2.2 RC) to ext4
Quote:
You have to open the dropbox to see it. It is also in timezone set. In a slow machine (XO-1) is really lethal. Take about 1 minute to do 5 scroll clicks Sad

have same except not quite as slow.
Quote:
Before I could run the connect wizard, a window popped up asking if I wanted to install the Flash player.

same here.

getting about 60fps here on newer dual core intel. it maintains that 60 even with full open screen it's smooth and looks good.

no sound problems noted as did in prior.
sys-info-111111.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  sys-info-111111.gz 
Filesize  10.46 KB 
Downloaded  188 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 16:47    Post_subject:  

peebee wrote:
Hi Barry

Pristine frugal install of racy 5.2.1.90

Quick report:

1. I see the very lethargic drop down menu selection in QuickSetup reported by others

2. B43 wifi is still not detected and loaded - if I copy the b43 firmware directory from /lib/modules/all-firmware to /lib/firmware AND put "modprobe b43" into rc.local then the wifi works - so all the components are there and working EXCEPT for the detection and automatic loading function.



Quick question - as the firmware directories are no longer compressed couldn't they be permanently in /lib/firmware or is there some other reason that they have to be copied?

Cheers
peebee


I only had to copy B43, no need for modprobe, then it worked.

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 17:11    Post_subject:  

OK , some sed gymnastics seems to be capable to batch rename combobox to comboboxtext

# for i in /usr/local/*/* ; do echo $i; sed -i 's#combobox#comoboxtext#g' $i; sleep 1s; done

# for i in /usr/local/*/* ; do echo $i; sed -i 's#comboboxtexttext#comboboxtext#g' $i; sleep 1s; done
[edit some hours later .. always these typos (see underscored b Smile ) ]
BUT WATCH OUT for Xdialog --combobox !!!
[me thinking a script to filter out Xdialog now is beyond my beer level ]

AND probably needs " sed 's#gtkdialog2#gtkdialog4#g' " AND " sed#gtkdialog3#gtkdialog4#g' , too

AND probably some <TAGS> would not work , as not recognized anymore by gtkdialog4 ....

BUT I think only an official release would show off which apps would not work anymore , cause this would need long term observation ...

[ not to mention /usr/bin && /usr/sbin [ && /usr/x11/bin ] ]
[ me thinking more beer Smile ]

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5891
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 18:14    Post_subject:  

For what it's worth, the gtkdialog bug doesn't appear to be affecting pemasu's latest release of Dpup Exprimo (released today).
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=564472#564472
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7060
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 18:47    Post_subject:  

Fix for quicksetup.

Just about everyone is reporting massive slow-down in the drop-down lists in Quick Setup.

This was because I changed from using the <comboboxtext> tag to <combobox>. The change was done to fix a "double-popup" problem.

However, I have gone back to <comboboxtext> and fixed the double-popup problem. I have posted to the gtkdialog development thread reporting the problems, and latest fixed script is posted there:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=581884#581884

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5891
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 19:09    Post_subject:  

BarryK wrote:
Fix for quicksetup.

Just about everyone is reporting massive slow-down in the drop-down lists in Quick Setup.

This was because I changed from using the <comboboxtext> tag to <combobox>. The change was done to fix a "double-popup" problem.

However, I have gone back to <comboboxtext> and fixed the double-popup problem. I have posted to the gtkdialog development thread reporting the problems, and latest fixed script is posted there:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=581884#581884


Appears to have solved the problem in regular Wary 5.2.1.90.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7060
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 19:27    Post_subject:  

Karl Godt wrote:
2.
racy-5.2.1.90
/usr/sbin/pgprs-shell is NOT updated to handle NEW /lib/modules/all-firmware/ files ...
suggestion:
Code:

--- /initrd/pup_ro2/usr/sbin/pgprs-shell   2010-12-04 10:30:35.000000000 +0000
+++ /usr/sbin/pgprs-shell   2011-11-10 01:59:22.536586399 +0000
@@ -12,12 +12,24 @@
 #script. If it isn't there, you get this message."
 
 #install firmware tarball...
+old_func(){
+if [ -f /lib/modules/all-firmware/pgprs.tar.gz ] ; then
 cp -f /lib/modules/all-firmware/pgprs.tar.gz /tmp/
 cd /tmp
 tar -zxf pgprs.tar.gz
 cp -a --remove-destination /tmp/pgprs/* /
 sync
 cd /
+fi
+}
+old_func
+##KRG new_func for all-firmware not tar.gz anymore [racy-5.2.1.90 [ 2011-Nov ]]
+new_func(){
+if [ -d /lib/modules/all-firmware/pgprs ] ; then
+cp -a --remove-destination /lib/modules/all-firmware/pgprs/* /
+fi
+}
+new_func
 
 #101204...
 yaf-splash -bg violet -placement center -timeout 3 -text "Updating menu, screen will flicker..."


Thanks, fixed.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7060
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 19:38    Post_subject:  

Karl Godt wrote:
What i think i could add from /tmp/xerrs.log :

JWM: warning: /root/.jwm/jwmrc-theme[10]: invalid tag in Active: Corner
JWM: warning: /root/.jwm/jwmrc-theme[16]: invalid tag in Inactive: Corner

Hadn't they been commented like
Code:

--- /initrd/pup_ro2/root/.jwm/jwmrc-theme   2011-11-10 16:58:57.000000000 +0800
+++ /root/.jwm/jwmrc-theme   2011-11-11 02:41:14.836533429 +0800
@@ -7,13 +7,13 @@
     <Active>
        <Text>white</Text>
        <Title>#393F96:#30528D</Title>
-       <Corner>#4A5966</Corner>
+       <!-- <Corner>#4A5966</Corner> -->
        <Outline>black</Outline>
     </Active>
     <Inactive>
        <Text>white</Text>
        <Title>#84CFF1:#393F96</Title>
-       <Corner>#DCDAD5</Corner>
+       <!-- <Corner>#DCDAD5</Corner> -->
        <Outline>gray30</Outline>
     </Inactive>
 </WindowStyle>


Thanks, fixed. I removed <corner> tags totally.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7060
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 19:56    Post_subject: Re: SAVE SESSION TO ENCRYPTED SAVE_FILE WORKS AGAIN  

Karl Godt wrote:
ONE MINOR THINGY about /usr/sbin/filemnt
which is not only cosmetic :

due to the code checks if FILE is mounted due to a simple
if [ ! -d "$MntPt" ] ;then

::MANY TIMES (99%+) the rmdir $MntPt at the end of umount $MntPt does not succeed ,
i guess due to little time for the system to update everything .


Ok, I have implemented a change that should fix it.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7060
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 20:08    Post_subject:  

DaveS wrote:
Same old Same old. Broadcom wifi of course. Racy just cant do it........ /lib/firmware/B43 missing
Added it.. fixed


There is a mystery here.

It has been suggested that if the firmware is already in /lib/firmware, then b43 works.

Ok, I have moved the b43 firmware to /lib/firmware/b43. I modified kernel-skeleton/pinstall.sh to achieve this.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7060
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 20:18    Post_subject:  

linuxcbon wrote:
- pop up asking to download flashplayer is annoying


For most users, it is a one-off event. It is only testers who are going to find it "annoying". Or for those users who boot Puppy always without any save-file -- very rare breed of user.

The Flashplayer popup has been criticised as coming up too soon. I have delayed it a bit, another 6 seconds after delayedrun detects an Internet connection.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7060
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 20:23    Post_subject:  

Flash wrote:
Downloaded the Racy iso and used Burniso2cd to burn it to a mini DVD-R. Booted the mini DVD which correctly autoconfigured the audio and video (except the volume was a bit low, but I was able to correct that by turning up everything I could find in Retrovol.) Before I could run the connect wizard, a window popped up asking if I wanted to install the Flash player. Of course, I couldn't say yes because there was no connection yet to the internet.


That is wrong. The Flashplayer popup only happens after an Internet connection is detected. /usr/sbin/delayedrun does a "ping 8.8.8.8" followed by a "ping www.google.com" and if success only then does it bring up the popup.

So, you must have had an Internet connection before you ran the Connect Wizard, which is possible, via ethernet.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 20:23    Post_subject:  

Barry. I did above b43 firmware trick manually in that test dpup with 3.1 kernel. I unpacked the tar.gz to the /lib/firmware at woof building time. And I used the b43 firmware package from oneiric you posted about. I will report if it do the trick. There is already one b43 failure reported though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7060
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 20:25    Post_subject:  

Flash wrote:
Later, after I had already opened SeaMonkey and then closed it, I used the Puppy Package Manager to install Flash and Flashblock, but SeaMonkey would not start from the desktop icon after I installed them. I eventually found two versions of SeaMonkey in /usr/lib. I clicked the latest version and SeaMonkey started, but with only Flash; Flashblock isn't in it.


You probably installed SM addons for SM 1.1.x or 2.0.x. They won't work with latest SM.

Latest SM has a addons manager, you use that to download new addons.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 18 of 33 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, ..., 31, 32, 33 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1093s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0157s) ][ GZIP on ]