Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Jul 2014, 17:45
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Racy Puppy 5.2.2 Final, 18 Nov. 2011
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 19 of 33 [487 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, ..., 31, 32, 33 Next
Author Message
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 20:28    Post subject:  

fp.dowload.macromedia has been unable to download flashplayer 10 or 11 for me today. I noticed the problem during my testing. I have changed to use 8.8.8.8 for ping test so that was not the problem. And fp.download.macromedia ip address responded to the ping (numerical version). I did the test in that dpup. I used your delayedrun from 27.10 woof. I had only changed to use 11 flash. But I got the same failure with 10 flash script content.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 20:30    Post subject:  

gcmartin wrote:
@Barry I like the collection. and I like the applications functionality. Further, the systems are using RAM as you intend them to.

BUT ...
FirstRun is posing a hardship on Live media users who are trying to test RACY for your preparation to General Release. Each time we restart thru the FirstRun dialogue, it is a hardship. Each time we test on a different machine to look for issues for you, it is a hardship. Our time is valuable too with family and work and ...

This is an important hardship.

Could you consider retracting it, while you replace/resolve it to avoid others getting an unpleasant taste.?

Might be the best step for the community at this time.


Huh? Why are you complaining? Quick Setup had one bug, due to a change of <comboboxtext> to <combobox> tag. Now fixed.
You are writing as though it is riddled with bugs. As far as I know, there was only that one bug -- which I did not become aware of on my fast laptop, only testers on older hardware noticed it. That is now fixed, so Quick Setup is working nicely.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 20:34    Post subject:  

jim3630 wrote:
Quote:
Before I could run the connect wizard, a window popped up asking if I wanted to install the Flash player.

same here.


Again, same answer. the Flashplayer popup cannot occur unless you have an Internet connection.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 22:47    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
jim3630 wrote:
Quote:
Before I could run the connect wizard, a window popped up asking if I wanted to install the Flash player.

same here.


Again, same answer. the Flashplayer popup cannot occur unless you have an Internet connection.


Barry,

not having an answer I started over again pfix=ram and noticied where Flash player pop up occured the first time was actually at the firewall dialog pop up. you are correct the connection was established. I had to answer the Flash pop up before could finish the firewall dialog.

however, this time the Flash pop up delayed until finished with the firewall dialog. odd, as have no added pets etc., to intervene.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4776
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sat 12 Nov 2011, 04:36    Post subject:  

Quote:

The Flashplayer popup has been criticised as coming up too soon.


No need for it to pop-up at all, connection or no connection, until the browser is clicked. It is a valid statement that the present arrangement is 'annoying' from the user viewpoint, although I would advocate 'unnecessary distraction'. Testers (testees?!) aren't necessarily going to jump onto the Interweb immediately - they may want to fix their sound or wi-fi first! .sfs are largely irrelevant for testers unless they are also IT folk - users are often end users rather than coders - that's what everyone is working towards. Delaying Flashplayer pop-up until a browser is selected from a drop-down menu has already been implemented and is immensely helpful.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1369
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Sat 12 Nov 2011, 05:00    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
DaveS wrote:
Same old Same old. Broadcom wifi of course. Racy just cant do it........ /lib/firmware/B43 missing
Added it.. fixed


There is a mystery here.

It has been suggested that if the firmware is already in /lib/firmware, then b43 works.

Ok, I have moved the b43 firmware to /lib/firmware/b43. I modified kernel-skeleton/pinstall.sh to achieve this.


Hi Barry

Just tried pemasu's squeeze 5.x.10 where he has tried this.

Didn't work for me - I had to add modprobe b43 to rc.local to get it to work - looking like some sort of udev problem???

Thanks
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat 12 Nov 2011, 05:19    Post subject:  

There is now 3 reports of failure with preinstalled /lib/firmware/b43.
Looks like 3.x kernel has changed something with recognition of b43.ko - firmware regarding to autodetection and autoload.

EDIT. According to Peebee. Oneirics newer b43 firmware package was incompatible with his b43. Older Puppy b43.tar.gz (from woof) worked ok after rc.local modprobe b43 fix.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3956
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sat 12 Nov 2011, 06:12    Post subject:  

Quote:
Didn't work for me - I had to add modprobe b43 to rc.local to get it to work - looking like some sort of udev problem???

HORRIBLE !!
[me thinkinking some new /sbin/pup_event_backend* FIXxxxx]

WHY not rename

/sbin/pup_event*

TO

/sbin/pmodload ?????!!!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2445
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat 12 Nov 2011, 14:19    Post subject:  

Jim1911 wrote:
Frugal installation on an ext4 partition. It's working great and the problems with the Bootmanager and Shutdown that I reported on page 7 have been corrected.

Cheers,
Jim
Retested and discovered that Bootmanager problem still exists. It will not work if there are more than 28 sfs files contained in /mnt/home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3956
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sat 12 Nov 2011, 18:23    Post subject:  

Quote:
EDIT. According to Peebee. Oneirics newer b43 firmware package was incompatible with his b43. Older Puppy b43.tar.gz (from woof) worked ok after rc.local modprobe b43 fix.


2. the module could be added also via the bootmanager or put maually into /etc/rc.d/MODULESCONFIG .

2.1 the creator of Xdialog did not do everything to make Xdialog GTK-2.0 compatible , ie the function to separate one list and a second list does not work in GTK-2.0 because : lthe second list gets appended to the first list ...

--buildlist \"On the left pane is the complete list of modules available to be\nused by Puppy (and not currently loaded).\nOn the right pane are modules that you have explicitly chosen to\nbe loaded at bootup (not auto-loaded by default).\nIf you want to force a module to load, move it to the right pane,\nclick OK button, then reboot Puppy.\nNote, if you want to find out further information about any module,\nrun PupScan (look in the System menu)\" 0 0 8 $MODLIST >/tmp/yesrettags.txt

AND with Xdialog it is the same with gtkdialogN <combobox> on GTK-2.24.5 .... scrolling a large list takes hours ....

Puppy's Xdialog actually is patched by Dougal using the GTK-1.2 functions .

I had tried around 15 compiles of the unpatched Xdialog src to fix this , but did not succeed ...

SO it is ok to use /etc/rc.d/rc.local .

*******************************

1. the /sbin/pup_event_backend_modprobe firmware_module_func
comments the module line in /etc/modules/firmware.dep file , so the firmware gets only loaded once automatically .

IF someone copies some firmware directory with the same name and reboots , without uncommenting the module line ie :
b43:b43.ko
b43legacy:b43legacy.ko

IF the module line would look like this ie
#b43:b43.ko
#b43legacy:b43legacy.ko

the automatically loading of [parts] of the driver.ko and the modules it would additionally insert , may not work as expected .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 12 Nov 2011, 18:32    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
There is now 3 reports of failure with preinstalled /lib/firmware/b43.
Looks like 3.x kernel has changed something with recognition of b43.ko - firmware regarding to autodetection and autoload.

EDIT. According to Peebee. Oneirics newer b43 firmware package was incompatible with his b43. Older Puppy b43.tar.gz (from woof) worked ok after rc.local modprobe b43 fix.


Well, there isn't anything that we can do. The only thing left is to complain to the b43 developers.

It is not good, but it looks like I will have to put into the release notes that if you require the b43 kernel driver, then you will have to put "modprobe b43" into /etc/rc.d/rc.local, or add it to the modules list in BootManager.

Ha ha, I just looked at BootManager, the option to add a new module displays a drop-down list that has the problem we are experiencing with other apps -- extreme slowness. It uses the <combobox> tag in gtkdialog.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8931
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 12 Nov 2011, 18:37    Post subject:  

Karl Godt wrote:
AND with Xdialog it is the same with gtkdialogN <combobox> on GTK-2.24.5 .... scrolling a large list takes hours .....

I can confirm this. An Xdialog applet with a combobox that has a long list requiring a scroll bar will show the jerky behaviour. The larger, vertically, that the list is displayed on the screen, the more pronounced the effect. This was tested in Wary.

So it's not just a gtkdialog problem.
combobox-test.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  combobox-test.tar.gz 
Filesize  214 Bytes 
Downloaded  165 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3956
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sat 12 Nov 2011, 19:58    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
I can confirm this. An Xdialog applet with a combobox that has a long list requiring a scroll bar will show the jerky behaviour. The larger, vertically, that the list is displayed on the screen, the more pronounced the effect. This was tested in Wary.
So it's not just a gtkdialog problem.

Yes , attached script works . I am running pup-431 atm and attach a screenshot of top and the Xdialog combobox-test for comparison purposes .
--buildlist and --combobox affected until now .

AND what i had observed looking at top :

EVEN if there are only 2 (two) items in the list like in /usr/local/jwmconfig2/virtualDesktopsnew , clicking the dropdown-button(icon) next to the first(default) entry already makes the CPU running high ... BUT just clicking one item in the list goes fast and the CPU calms down immediately ... if you need to scroll you're lost ....
how-Xdialog--combobox-should-look-like.png
Description  top in rxvt on Macpup Opera 2
combobox-test
png

 Download 
Filename  how-Xdialog--combobox-should-look-like.png 
Filesize  24.05 KB 
Downloaded  182 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 12 Nov 2011, 21:55    Post subject:  

I regret moving up to gtk 2.24.x!

It would seem that the gtk developers made changes that should really have been held over until 3.x.

Regarding those users who have a large number of sfs files at /mnt/home, I have reverted to Xdialog for the sfs-chooser. 'bootmanager' attached. It goes to /usr/sbin.
bootmanager.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  bootmanager.gz 
Filesize  8.04 KB 
Downloaded  167 Time(s) 

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/

Last edited by BarryK on Sun 13 Nov 2011, 05:16; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Sat 12 Nov 2011, 23:50    Post subject:  

found a light weight project management software that works in Racy during brief testing.

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=73371
planner-0.14.5-hacked.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  planner-0.14.5-hacked.pet 
Filesize  423.84 KB 
Downloaded  167 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 19 of 33 [487 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, ..., 31, 32, 33 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1105s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0143s) ][ GZIP on ]