Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Dec 2014, 18:24
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Installing Puppy to HD without floppy drive (Solved)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Author Message
derangedtaco

Joined: 10 Jul 2005
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun 10 Jul 2005, 16:45    Post subject:  Installing Puppy to HD without floppy drive (Solved)  

I want to install Puppy to my HD, but in the install script, it says that you need a floppy drive to continue. I don't have one (this is a new laptop, and because floppies are generally unused, it didn't come with support for them). So, can I somehow install Puppy without a floppy drive? Maybe manually in the command line?

Thanks for the help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
danleff


Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 294
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Sun 10 Jul 2005, 17:32    Post subject:  

What method of booting Puppy off the hard drive are you going to use?

Is Windows XP on this system, and if so, do you have NTFS as the filesyetm on the partition, and is it the only partition on the hard drive?

The script does not offer the option to skip making a floppy, as if you are using option 1, then the assumption is that you have a fat32 partition to install to and will need a floppy to boot.

The option 2 installation gives you the option to skip making a floppy, as you are installing to a free partition that Puppy can recognize. It then offers you the choice of installing grub or not, as most users using this method are aware that they need grub installed on the hard drive somewhere to boot Puppy. .

_________________
I love it when a plan comes together

--Hannibal Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
derangedtaco

Joined: 10 Jul 2005
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun 10 Jul 2005, 17:38    Post subject:  

Option 2. Sorry for not saying that. Yes, I've got XP. Yes, it is NTFS. No, it is not the only partition. I have 2 HD's - 1 external (1 partition for storage, no OS) and 1 internal (lots of partitions, I don't need to say 'em all).

I have an ext3 partition where im trying to install. it does not let me skip the floppy. argh me confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
danleff


Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 294
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Sun 10 Jul 2005, 17:48    Post subject:  

Then I am going to guess that you have either an older version or Puppy, or a special version by one of the fine folks working on these.

If you use Puppy version 1.0.3, then the options are there. Look at the directions as the install progresses and you will see the option to skip making a floppy.

If you have grub already installed, you can add the boot options to your default grub (skip the option to install grub), or install a new grub, if you desire.

_________________
I love it when a plan comes together

--Hannibal Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Sun 10 Jul 2005, 17:53    Post subject:  

danleff wrote:
Then I am going to guess that you have either an older version or Puppy, or a special version by one of the fine folks working on these.

If you use Puppy version 1.0.3, then the options are there. Look at the directions as the install progresses and you will see the option to skip making a floppy.

If you have grub already installed, you can add the boot options to your default grub (skip the option to install grub), or install a new grub, if you desire.

i got puppy from Linux Format magazine (this is 1.0.1). i am downloading the new ISO
Back to top
derangedtaco

Joined: 10 Jul 2005
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun 10 Jul 2005, 18:25    Post subject:  

that was me, sorry i forgot to log in

btw i got it working fine with the new version..... thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11181
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sun 10 Jul 2005, 19:52    Post subject:  

Would you mind telling us what you did that worked? For instance, did you use the option 2 install? If so, were you able to install Puppy to your existing ext3 partition? Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
derangedtaco

Joined: 10 Jul 2005
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun 10 Jul 2005, 20:09    Post subject:  

Flash wrote:
Would you mind telling us what you did that worked? For instance, did you use the option 2 install? If so, were you able to install Puppy to your existing ext3 partition? Thanks.

i converted it to ext2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0565s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0042s) ][ GZIP on ]