Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 31 Oct 2014, 02:27
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
5-steps - Netboot a Puppy over the LAN with NO Media (PXE)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 5 of 7 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Author Message
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4380
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 22:13    Post_subject: TFTP Server in DNSMASQ ONLY allows reads - no Writes!  

Retracted earlier comments.

The TFTP commands I've found to not match the tftp command in Busybox. I have no way to test this. I have noticed that the tftp command in a Puppy terminal does not seem to work when trying to use it to transfer a file to the running TFTP host that is used by this very Netboot facility. BUT, IT DOES WORK TO TRANSFER A FILE FROM THE Netboot facility.
Code:
tftp -r pxelinux.0  -g localhost
To understand correct client command invocation, type "tftp" in a terminal.

Edit:
The following CANNOT be done. Its the product's version of security.
Code:
It must be investigated to find the parm in DNSMASQ start to allow TFTP to allow users writing to this server. (BUT, beware as there's a very good  local security reason why you might NOT do this on a Netboot server, though)
Hope this helps
Edit: DNSMASQ DOES NOT ALLOW A CLIENT TO WRITE TO ITS TFTP service! .....the author

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MagicZaurus

Joined: 05 Jan 2009
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Sat 12 Nov 2011, 02:45    Post_subject: Pure-FTPd  

Hi puppy_newb!

I'm not familiar with Lucid 5.2.8. I'm using a pupplet based on Puppy 4.3.1. There is Pure-FTPd in the network menu and that is a normal FTP server and I think it is also available in Lucid. With this you can share files, but also should be able to upload files from a client. On the client you can use gFTP or the FTP command in the terminal.

MZ
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puppy_newb

Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Mon 14 Nov 2011, 12:13    Post_subject: Re: Pure-FTPd  

MagicZaurus wrote:
Hi puppy_newb!

I'm not familiar with Lucid 5.2.8. I'm using a pupplet based on Puppy 4.3.1. There is Pure-FTPd in the network menu and that is a normal FTP server and I think it is also available in Lucid. With this you can share files, but also should be able to upload files from a client. On the client you can use gFTP or the FTP command in the terminal.

MZ


Hi Magic,

Thanks for the gFTP information. The problem is that I need to copy switch config files from an HP switch which only allows copying files from it by TFTP. It just doesn't support FTP. Is there anyway I can get TFTP up and running on any Puppy?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4380
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 14 Nov 2011, 13:37    Post_subject: Re: Pure-FTPd  

puppy_newb wrote:
...The problem is that I need to copy switch config files from an HP switch which only allows copying files from it by TFTP. It just doesn't support FTP. Is there anyway I can get TFTP up and running on any Puppy?
Questions
  • Which HP Switch do you have?
  • Are you using the HP switch utilities or are you using a custom utility on your switch?
Here to help

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2011, 14:08    Post_subject:  

gcmartin you write

Quote:
you just drop it in and forget it


Drop it where? I have no idea what you talk about.
okay I have both computers running now. So if I "drop"
the ubuntu iso on one of my computer then I can start it
on the other ? Drop it where?
Quote:

Any feedback you have, please post it there..
Where is here? This thread or the thread you linked to?

I guess you mean that after reading the txt then I know what you refer to
as just drop it. Where in the text do you tell where to drop the iso.
I am a poor reader of text. I drown in the words.

As I get it now finding the first text?

Quote:
The general steps to implement a PXE server is as follows. It prepares the programs and files required for this particular setup so that it can provide all necessary items that a PXEclient requires to boot.


It sets up a server. That is not an easy thing. Nope I am out of here.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puppy_newb

Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2011, 17:09    Post_subject: Re: Pure-FTPd  

gcmartin wrote:
puppy_newb wrote:
...The problem is that I need to copy switch config files from an HP switch which only allows copying files from it by TFTP. It just doesn't support FTP. Is there anyway I can get TFTP up and running on any Puppy?
Questions
  • Which HP Switch do you have?
  • Are you using the HP switch utilities or are you using a custom utility on your switch?
Here to help


Hi GC

I have an HP 3500 and a 6200 that only support TFTP not FTP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4380
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 18 Nov 2011, 00:56    Post_subject: Re: Pure-FTPd  

puppy_newb wrote:
GCMartin wrote:
... Which HP Switch do you have? ...
... I have an HP 3500 and a 6200 that only support TFTP not FTP.
From Your HP 3500 Switch's Manual:
Quote:
OVERVIEW
Category:
Primary context: config
Related Commands
Usage: [no] tftp [client|server]
Description: Enable/disable TFTP, trivial file transfer protocol.
If SFTP is enabled, TFTP will be disabled. If
SFTP is to be enabled using SNMP, both TFTP and
auto-TFTP MUST first be disabled.
COMMAND STRUCTURE
■ [no] tftp client -- Enable/disable the TFTP client (p. 685)
■ [no] tftp server -- Enable/disable the TFTP server (p. 685)
COMMAND DETAILS
client (p. 685) server (p. 685)
client
■ [no] tftp client
Enable/disable the TFTP client
server
■ [no] tftp serverOVERVIEW
Category:
Primary context: config
Related Commands
Usage: [no] tftp [client|server]
Description: Enable/disable TFTP, trivial file transfer protocol.
If SFTP is enabled, TFTP will be disabled. If
SFTP is to be enabled using SNMP, both TFTP and
auto-TFTP MUST first be disabled.
COMMAND STRUCTURE
■ [no] tftp client -- Enable/disable the TFTP client (p. 685)
■ [no] tftp server -- Enable/disable the TFTP server (p. 685)
COMMAND DETAILS
client (p. 685) server (p. 685)
client
■ [no] tftp client
Enable/disable the TFTP client
server
■ [no] tftp server
Enable/disable the TFTP server

Enable/disable the TFTP server
Which TFTP personality are you trying to be?

These are 24/48 port business class switches. Although, I have seen these switches before, I am not an authority on these specific models. Are you also using POE with these switches?

It appears from this entry that your switch may have SFTP capability as well.

HP, may have given you tools on your CD for backup and recovery of your configurations. Do you have that CD? If you have its part number, we may be able to find a manual on that CD's toolset. (If you're not using these switches for work, you're probably running a small village or have a very large family.)

Here to help

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puppy_newb

Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Fri 18 Nov 2011, 15:22    Post_subject: Re: Pure-FTPd  

gcmartin wrote:
puppy_newb wrote:
GCMartin wrote:
... Which HP Switch do you have? ...
... I have an HP 3500 and a 6200 that only support TFTP not FTP.
From Your HP 3500 Switch's Manual:
Quote:
OVERVIEW
Category:
Primary context: config
Related Commands
Usage: [no] tftp [client|server]
Description: Enable/disable TFTP, trivial file transfer protocol.
If SFTP is enabled, TFTP will be disabled. If
SFTP is to be enabled using SNMP, both TFTP and
auto-TFTP MUST first be disabled.
COMMAND STRUCTURE
■ [no] tftp client -- Enable/disable the TFTP client (p. 685)
■ [no] tftp server -- Enable/disable the TFTP server (p. 685)
COMMAND DETAILS
client (p. 685) server (p. 685)
client
■ [no] tftp client
Enable/disable the TFTP client
server
■ [no] tftp serverOVERVIEW
Category:
Primary context: config
Related Commands
Usage: [no] tftp [client|server]
Description: Enable/disable TFTP, trivial file transfer protocol.
If SFTP is enabled, TFTP will be disabled. If
SFTP is to be enabled using SNMP, both TFTP and
auto-TFTP MUST first be disabled.
COMMAND STRUCTURE
■ [no] tftp client -- Enable/disable the TFTP client (p. 685)
■ [no] tftp server -- Enable/disable the TFTP server (p. 685)
COMMAND DETAILS
client (p. 685) server (p. 685)
client
■ [no] tftp client
Enable/disable the TFTP client
server
■ [no] tftp server
Enable/disable the TFTP server

Enable/disable the TFTP server
Which TFTP personality are you trying to be?

These are 24/48 port business class switches. Although, I have seen these switches before, I am not an authority on these specific models. Are you also using POE with these switches?

It appears from this entry that your switch may have SFTP capability as well.

HP, may have given you tools on your CD for backup and recovery of your configurations. Do you have that CD? If you have its part number, we may be able to find a manual on that CD's toolset. (If you're not using these switches for work, you're probably running a small village or have a very large family.)

Here to help


Hi GC,

I would like a different TFTP Server to work besides dnsmasq. I have it working with RHEL5 using their tftpd service. I just want that software working in puppy. Do you know of a tftpd service port for puppy or another TFTP Server like atftpd?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Sat 19 Nov 2011, 08:58    Post_subject:  

see my reply

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=73217

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puppy_newb

Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Mon 21 Nov 2011, 17:17    Post_subject:  

Aitch wrote:
see my reply

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=73217

Aitch Smile


Hi Aitch,

Thanks for your help but I have already looked into that solution and I can confirm it does not work for Puppy Linux 5.2.8. I guess I can confirm that there is no way a TFTP server which accepts files from a switch can be integrated to a remastered live DVD version of Puppy, unless I can be proved wrong. I have been working on this for about four months and not close to a solution at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MagicZaurus

Joined: 05 Jan 2009
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Tue 22 Nov 2011, 02:42    Post_subject: ATFTP  

Maybe you can try the Debian atftp package from here.

The dependencies are only libc6 and libreadline6, which both should be included in Puppy Linux. But the configuration you most likely need to figure out yourself. So far all TFTP-Netbooting has been mainly done with dnsmasq on Puppy Linux, which is not applicable in your case.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puppy_newb

Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Tue 29 Nov 2011, 16:50    Post_subject: Re: ATFTP  

MagicZaurus wrote:
Maybe you can try the Debian atftp package from here.

The dependencies are only libc6 and libreadline6, which both should be included in Puppy Linux. But the configuration you most likely need to figure out yourself. So far all TFTP-Netbooting has been mainly done with dnsmasq on Puppy Linux, which is not applicable in your case.


I just tried it. It doesn't work. I can't believe this isn't possible with Puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puppy_newb

Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Fri 02 Dec 2011, 11:28    Post_subject: Re: ATFTP  

puppy_newb wrote:
MagicZaurus wrote:
Maybe you can try the Debian atftp package from here.

The dependencies are only libc6 and libreadline6, which both should be included in Puppy Linux. But the configuration you most likely need to figure out yourself. So far all TFTP-Netbooting has been mainly done with dnsmasq on Puppy Linux, which is not applicable in your case.


I just tried it. It doesn't work. I can't believe this isn't possible with Puppy.



Thanks for all your help! After 4 months the solution was commenting "ALL:ALL" from the /etc/hosts.deny file also known as TCP wrappers. Once this was un-commented, I was able to transfer files from a network switch directly to my Puppy Live DVD running a TFTP server at boot-up. I hope this helps somebody in the future!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9214
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 02 Dec 2011, 11:35    Post_subject: Re: ATFTP  

puppy_newb wrote:
Thanks for all your help! After 4 months the solution was commenting "ALL:ALL" from the /etc/hosts.deny file also known as TCP wrappers. Once this was un-commented, I was able to transfer files from a network switch directly to my Puppy Live DVD running a TFTP server at boot-up. I hope this helps somebody in the future!

Could you please clarify this? The "ALL:ALL" line is UNcommented by default. Had you changed it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puppy_newb

Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Fri 02 Dec 2011, 11:43    Post_subject: Re: ATFTP  

rcrsn51 wrote:
puppy_newb wrote:
Thanks for all your help! After 4 months the solution was commenting "ALL:ALL" from the /etc/hosts.deny file also known as TCP wrappers. Once this was un-commented, I was able to transfer files from a network switch directly to my Puppy Live DVD running a TFTP server at boot-up. I hope this helps somebody in the future!

Could you please clarify this? The "ALL:ALL" line is UNcommented by default. Had you changed it?


Oh sorry, what i mean is the ALL:ALL is there by default. I had to type # in front of the line in order to un-comment the line out. Once this was done, the TFTP server started working like a charm!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 7 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1375s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0328s) ][ GZIP on ]