Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Dec 2014, 02:38
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How to Use Samba-TNG Server in Puppy
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 6 of 10 [148 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Author Message
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3398
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Sun 10 Apr 2011, 21:27    Post subject:  

It is just Stupid me returning your query.
I went with the wrong approach and seeing two -tng files and assuming wrongly that the one with a six in it was the latest version, I did not have five downloaded.
It did work.
I could see the specified directory on a WinXP networked PC.
I guess I can blame it on all the pain pills I am taking for my progressively worse degenerative authritus.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
p310don

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 746
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Thu 16 Jun 2011, 09:07    Post subject:  

Hi,

I have been using Samba-TNG for a while now just typing samba-start in terminal when I want to share stuff, but have only recently installed the autostart pet.

Strangely, samba seems to start, and if I search the network, I can see this machine, but there are no shares. I can only see them after a restart, ie samba-stop then samba-start.

Not a biggy, but any solutions would be appreciated

Thanks

Last edited by p310don on Thu 16 Jun 2011, 11:08; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9366
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 16 Jun 2011, 09:45    Post subject:  

On what device are the shares? An internal hard drive? A USB drive?

It sounds like the target partition has not been mounted yet when Samba auto-starts.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
p310don

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 746
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Thu 16 Jun 2011, 11:08    Post subject:  

The shares are a bunch of internal hard drives that automount with start mount.

Included in the shares is the drive with Puppy's save file and puppy on it, which is of course mounted upon boot, but it doesn't share either.

Can the autostart be set to include a time delay after finding a live network, say ten seconds? How would I do that if I could to test if that's it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9366
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 16 Jun 2011, 11:20    Post subject:  

p310don wrote:
The shares are a bunch of internal hard drives that automount with start mount.

Included in the shares is the drive with Puppy's save file and puppy on it, which is of course mounted upon boot, but it doesn't share either.

Can the autostart be set to include a time delay after finding a live network, say ten seconds? How would I do that if I could to test if that's it?


Samba auto-start puts a script in your /root/Startup folder. You could add a sleep command at the top of the script.

Code:
#!/bin/sh
sleep 10
while [ 1 ]; do
...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
p310don

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 746
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Thu 16 Jun 2011, 11:36    Post subject:  

ok thanks, will try that tomorrow. Its 2am here. probably should get to bed instead of feeding my puppy addiction.... Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
p310don

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 746
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Thu 16 Jun 2011, 18:36    Post subject:  

That fixed it!!

Thanks rcrsn51 for your super quick help!

I have no idea how you, and so many of the guys on here manage to just know the answers to problems like you do, but its awesome, and a credit to the Puppy community.

Thanks SmileSmileSmile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 14 Nov 2011, 19:11    Post subject:  

I get an error trying to print from win7 to my slacko printer, MP490

I set it up as \\pupserver\Canon_MP490_series (local port) with the only driver I could see close to HP Color Lasejet PS, which is HP Color Laserjet 2800 series PS

Interestingly it prints (to the printer) the error!

To wit;

Quote:
ERROR: configurationerror
OFFENDING COMMAND: setpagedevice

STACK:

-dictionary-


Before the error it feeds through a blank page.

XP prints fine. However it allowed me to install the MP490 driver off the CD.

Having trouble with puppy and apple but I should be able to figure out those.

EDIT Ha! I jumped the gun! I tried again with the Canon driver and this time it worked. Still... would be interesting to find out if the HP post script driver can be used since there seems to be no problem seeing the Printer.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 14 Nov 2011, 20:19    Post subject:  

Ok, got puppy and apple printing to my pupserver Smile in Slacko using CUPS-1.4.6 and mac-OSX-snowleopard using CUPS-1.4.7. Note I'm using Slacko as my pupserver too, shouldn't make a difference.

The rundown:

Open browser at localhost:631

Choose Windows Printer using smbclient

For Puppy the URI is :

smbc://pupserver/[printername_goes_here] (eg, mine is Canon_MP490_series)

For mac the URI is :

smb://pupserver/[printername_goes_here] (eg, mine is Canon_MP490_series) [note "smb" not "smbc"]

For Puppy:
Then you choose from the list Raw, then Raw Queue.

Then we slightly fork from rcrsn51's great instructions. The next window is titled "Banners". For the Starting Banner and Ending Banner choose standard from the pulldown lists. This is where I was going wrong I think.

This sets the default options, print your test page and you are away.

For Mac OS-X:
Then you choose the Generic drivers and at the bottom you find Generic PostScript. That's the one

Next page allows choice of paper size and then you are done. Print a test page from the Maintenance pulldown. You may have to configure applications to use the printer.

FOOTNOTE: in mac-osx your username and passworrd for CUPS is your name you entered when you first setup your mac all lowercase and no spaces, no underscores either. Password is the one you set up at that same time.

HTH

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |

Last edited by 01micko on Tue 15 Nov 2011, 02:04; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9366
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 14 Nov 2011, 20:35    Post subject:  

In retrospect, it may be easier to let CUPS handle your shared printing instead of Samba. But I have never tested it with Win7 or OS-X.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 14 Nov 2011, 20:39    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
In retrospect, it may be easier to let CUPS handle your shared printing instead of Samba. But I have never tested it with Win7 or OS-X.


Yes and no. If you have tng installed then why not take advantage of it? One less daemon running Wink I guess one less open port too.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9366
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 14 Nov 2011, 20:55    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
rcrsn51 wrote:
Yes and no. If you have tng installed then why not take advantage of it? One less daemon running Wink

The CUPS daemon is running anyway. And it eliminates any problems with logging into the server because CUPS doesn't need it.

Either way, you have to fight through the problem of who will format the print job - the client or the server. It the server is going to format the job using its own CUPS driver, then the client will usually send the job as Postscript. However, if a Windows client uses its own driver, CUPS can sometimes detect this and send the job directly to the printer. (This may depend on how the CUPS package was built.)

Since OS-X is using its own version of CUPS, I would assume that it uses the same rules as a Puppy client.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 15 Nov 2011, 01:59    Post subject:  

I did some more experiments with CUPS in mac OS-X.

It seems CUPS is somewhat crippled in OS-X. Macs have a dumb gui to set up printers. They only offer a gui to set up detected local printers, "windows" shares (ie smb) and another to set up ipp, hp socket or lpd, that's it.

Of course none of this works with using CUPS as the server or samba-tng (and I suspect full samba).

As I reported a few posts ago, I was able to set up printing using smb://server/printer and print a test page. Ok.. but that is useless when you need to do some real world printing. I tried to print some of wifey's recipes (yes actual food recipes) that she had downloaded and saved as .odt documents with openoffice and no go. Nothing (but errors of course). So then I tried from various other apps, same result. <scratches head/>

Then I deleted the printer in the CUPS web interface and tried the HP Color Laserjet 2800 (presumably formatting as postscript) and I I could print, but it was garbage, just the title of the page and a CUPS logo, no matter what app.

I then discovered the generic category in the drivers list. At the bottom is the Generic PostScript driver. Bingo! Tried that and succeeded. The mac even recognised it in it's dumb wizard. I successfully printed a couple of said recipes and a web page from firefox. That's good enough for me.

I'll edit my above post for the mac.

Oh, and I think samba, be it full or tng, is the only easy way to print to puppy, perhaps most linux, from mac OS-X, without diving in and editing the CUPS config files at a minimum.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9366
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 15 Nov 2011, 10:13    Post subject:  

Thanks for doing this testing.

01micko wrote:
It seems CUPS is somewhat crippled in OS-X. Macs have a dumb gui to set up printers. They only offer a gui to set up detected local printers, "windows" shares (ie smb) and another to set up ipp, hp socket or lpd, that's it.


IPP is the protocol used by CUPS to share its printers. It would be interesting to know if a CUPS shared printer would be auto-detected by OS-X like it is by a Puppy client.

Supposedly, you could do a manual install in OS-X using
Code:
ipp://aaa.bbb.cc.dd:631/printers/printer_name
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ginco

Joined: 25 Nov 2009
Posts: 10
Location: Cernusco sul Naviglio, Italy

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jan 2012, 07:59    Post subject:  

Thanks: it works perfectly!
Only issue I got was because Firewall not disabled: I would put the word Firewall on bold in page 1 for future users. It's becoming a need as new Netbooks with Win7 Starter don't allow for IPP printing.
Did anybody try sharing a scanner as well (I already had it shared in Ubuntu)? Rcrsn51, I saw your comments about a Brother scanner, but I already have two, and would like to avoid buying a 3rd one...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 10 [148 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0914s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0069s) ][ GZIP on ]