Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 29 Jul 2014, 15:21
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
SolidPup 5.1.1-B Lite and OBXF
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 21 [301 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 19, 20, 21 Next
Author Message
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Tue 15 Nov 2011, 12:31    Post subject:  

Thanks Ray, Smile

If anyone notices any bugs, please let me know. I will try to fix whatever ones I can find before the final release. I found 2 so far..Rox freezes when exploring the /proc folder (Thunar is OK) , and I forgot to remove the old get-flashplayer portion inside of delayedrun.

I haven't compiled any wifi drivers yet, so I will have to do some research first.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3215
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 15 Nov 2011, 16:38    Post subject:  

Very nice puppy. I'm glad to see that you have avoided
Wary 5.2 which I find buggy.

Here are some suggestions:

1) Add a link named 'top' connected to htop

2) Add a link named 'nicoedit' so that scripts that use
nicoedit (such as dir2pet) will open with some texteditor

3) Some Rox Filer Bookmarks would be nice.
Just make a file called
/root/.config/rox.sourceforge.net/ROX-Filer/Bookmarks.xml

I took these from pemasu's Exprimo

Code:


<?xml version="1.0"?>
<bookmarks>
  <bookmark title="/">/</bookmark>
  <bookmark title="/etc">/etc</bookmark>
  <bookmark title="/etc/init.d">/etc/init.d</bookmark>
  <bookmark title="/etc/rc.d">/etc/rc.d</bookmark>
  <bookmark title="/etc/xdg">/etc/xdg</bookmark>
  <bookmark title="/mnt">/mnt</bookmark>
  <bookmark title="/mnt/home">/mnt/home</bookmark>
  <bookmark title="/tmp">/tmp</bookmark>
  <bookmark title="/usr">/usr</bookmark>
  <bookmark title="/usr/bin">/usr/bin</bookmark>
  <bookmark title="/usr/local">/usr/local</bookmark>
  <bookmark title="/usr/local/lib/X11">/usr/local/lib/X11</bookmark>
  <bookmark title="/usr/sbin">/usr/sbin</bookmark>
  <bookmark title="/usr/share">/usr/share</bookmark>
  <bookmark title="/usr/share/applications">/usr/share/applications</bookmark>
  <bookmark title="/usr/share/backgrounds">/usr/share/backgrounds</bookmark>
  <bookmark title="/usr/share/doc">/usr/share/doc</bookmark>
  <bookmark title="/usr/X11R7/bin">/usr/X11R7/bin</bookmark>
</bookmarks>



My program Quick Launch can use these Bookmarks.

________________________________________________

4) Bacon Recorder should be installed.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69237


___________________________________--
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3215
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 15 Nov 2011, 17:09    Post subject:  

You should check psnapshot

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=396231517&t=70996

It integrates everything together, but it
needs a folder called 'Screenshots' in
/root/puppy-reference
___________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 15 Nov 2011, 17:55    Post subject:  

Ooops I am way behind everybody else Smile
Too late almost.

I share this surprise.
Quote:
desktop icons needed double clicking . . .
Why? (OK I think I know why)


Oh that is very bad. I am too old to be able to get anything going
using double click. My fingers fail to do such fast repeating of movement.

So how do I change it to single click .

I know how to in Rox but does Ice have Rox?

Okay I test it before I go to bed or tomorrow.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Tue 15 Nov 2011, 22:05    Post subject:  

nooby,

In my latest release, I have reset rox and thunar for single clicking...it is the puppy way,
But if you are in another pup and want to change it, it's not that hard...
In Rox-Filer, right-click in the window and choose options. Actually, I'll just add some screenshots.
As they say, a picture is worth a thousand words...

1st pic is for single-clicking inside of the ROX-Filer windows...and the 2nd pic is for single-clicking of icons on the desktop.

This is not an insult...I urge you to experiment. If you break puppy, just reboot in clean mode or in another pup and remove your savefile.
I always keep a backup copy of my save file. There were so many times I broke Windows...but that's how I learned how to fix it.
Same thing goes with Puppy. A lot of the stuff you learn by trial and error. Don't be afraid..if you don't try, you don't learn.
I recommend you fool around with the software and not be afraid.

One exception would be. don't try flashing the bios if your scared of the consequences.
I have flashed my bioses several times with success, but one time I bricked one of my computers..Sad
but I built it out of cheap parts anyway. And after, I built a better one. Smile

don570

Thank You for the suggestions.
single-click navigation.jpg
 Description   single-click for inside ROX
 Filesize   54.89 KB
 Viewed   1734 Time(s)

single-click navigation.jpg

single-click navigation for icons.jpg
 Description   single-click for desktop icons ...aka pinboard
 Filesize   58.78 KB
 Viewed   1737 Time(s)

single-click navigation for icons.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 16 Nov 2011, 07:59    Post subject:  

Thanks for the Single Click is the puppy way. Smile
Yes I noticed this and got happy about it.


I know that you have great support from Jemimah
she loves the double click too.

and maybe there are others.

Re your Solid Pup. I know too little and are too lazy now
to report anything. I booted it and it worked so nothing
wrong at all. Just me being too lazy.

I already have all the other puppies so me spoiled indeed.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

Last edited by nooby on Wed 16 Nov 2011, 17:54; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Wed 16 Nov 2011, 10:31    Post subject:  

I found a big bug last night and it was still on my mind this morning when I woke up at around 8:30am,
that I couldn't get back to sleep. I think I might be getting a little too obssessed with this..lol.
I'm a night owl and usually sleep in till at least 10:00am.

Anyways, I hacked the Get-Internet Apps at the last minute before uploading it and now I have discovered a problem with it.
Dowloading and installing the packages are fine, but when you try to uninstall them, it looks like everything worked, according to Puppy Package Manager, but the packages are still there.

So I reverted back to the older install script, which is used for Get GnomeOffice.
To uninstall your pets correctly in PuppyPackageManager, there are 2 ways:

Method1: If you have a copy of the downloaded pet, just reinstall it and uninstall it again in PuppyPackageManager.

Medthod2:: Install the attatched patch, re-download and install the Internet App, and uninstall it in PPM.

I was also going over some of don570's suggestions...ROX bookmarks is a nice touch so I added it.
Also made a link for top and nicoedit as suggested. There are already 2 snapshot utilities included, but I'll try psnapshot later along with bacon recorder.
Also modified the delayedrun script.

Okay, I think I can rest easy and take a snooze for another hour. Smile

Thanks to the early-birds for testing this beta release.

Edit: I did not fix the uninstall option for flashplayer. Even though it's a bug, I kinda like it that way cause the install appears more seemless and flashplayer doesn't really need to be removed. When you upgrade, the new flashplayer will overwrite the old one anyway.

Firefox 8 seems to run great on my system, without problems of freezing as reported elsewheres in the forum. Maybe it was the automatic upgrade that was the problem.
SolidPup-a4-Beta-patch-001.pet
Description  bugfixes and extras
pet

 Download 
Filename  SolidPup-a4-Beta-patch-001.pet 
Filesize  5.62 KB 
Downloaded  230 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Wed 16 Nov 2011, 17:10    Post subject:  

Sigh, in my haste this morning, I made the patch and didn't test it before uploading. I found that I didn't add in any variables for Seamonkey so wget doesn't know where to find it. The patch has been reuploaded...I actually tested it this time, so to the 4 people who already downloaded the patch, please download the new one...sorry.

Is it me or is the forum taking extra long to update messages today?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3215
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 16 Nov 2011, 17:15    Post subject:  

Quote:
There are already 2 snapshot utilities included, but I'll try psnapshot later


You shouldn't use psnapshot, just look at the scripts.
In particular mtpaintsnapshot.sh has been modified so that
that it has a default folder----> Screenshots.

I suggest that you modify your version of mtpaintsnapshot.sh
to do the same thing.

__________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Wed 16 Nov 2011, 17:27    Post subject:  

Thanks don,

I will take a look at the script you mentioned. I now noticed I have duplicate versions of mtpaintsnapshot.sh and mtpaintscreenhot.sh.
I'll have to do some cleanup on that later. If one upgrades mtpaint then, it copies over a new mtpaintsnapshot.sh, so
I decided to rename it to prevent it from being overwritten.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3215
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2011, 16:43    Post subject: replace mtpaintsnapshot.sh  

Here's how I would change the scripts to do screen capture.

I looked at how you have set up the screen capture
The name should be 'Screen Capture' to be consistent with
other Puppies.



mtpaintsnapshot.sh launches the app.

I've rewritten the script so that the default folder is
'Screenshots'

You already have 'Screenshot browser' installed which is nice
but if you had a sample image or image link in the folder then
mtpaint wouldn't complain that it couldn't find an image inside
the folder.

So I suggest replacing your version of mtpaintsnapshot.sh
with this code
Code:

#!/bin/bash
#new version Nov 2011
cd /root/my-documents
mkdir -p Screenshots
echo -e "\nlast_dir = /root/my-documents/Screenshots" > /tmp/add_text
cd /root
sed '/Screenshots/!s/last_dir = /toolbar99 =  /' .mtpaint  >  .mtpaint_new
cat .mtpaint_new /tmp/add_text > .mtpaint_new2
mv -f .mtpaint_new2 .mtpaint
rm .mtpaint_new
rm /tmp/add_text

 

export Screenshot="   
<window title=\"Screen Capture\">
   
  <frame Please choose>
  <pixmap><input file>/usr/share/pixmaps/gtkam.png</input></pixmap>
  <vbox>
   <button>
    <input file icon=\"gtk-refresh\"></input>
    <label>Wait 10 sec</label>
   <action>(echo 10; sleep 1 ; echo 20; sleep 1 ; echo 30 ; sleep 1 ; echo 40; sleep 1 ; echo 50 ; sleep 1 ; echo 60 ; sleep 1 ; echo 70 ; sleep 1 ; echo 80 ; sleep 1 ; echo 90 ; sleep 1 ; echo 100 ) | Xdialog --title 'Puppy Screenshot' --beep-after --wrap --screen-center --center --no-buttons --gauge '  $LOC300  ' 10 50 100   ; exec mtpaint -s &</action>
   <action>exit: Screenshot</action>
   </button>
   <button>
    <input file icon=\"gtk-apply\"></input>
    <label>  Now</label>
    <action>exec mtpaint -s &</action>
   <action>exit: Screenshot</action>
   </button>
   <button>
    <input file icon=\"gtk-quit\"></input>
    <label>Quit</label>
   </button>
 </vbox>
 </frame>
</window>"

I=$IFS; IFS=""
for STATEMENTS in  $(gtkdialog3 --program=Screenshot --center ); do
   eval $STATEMENTS
done
IFS=$I

exit




___________________________________________________________

Last edited by don570 on Wed 14 Dec 2011, 15:17; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2011, 18:21    Post subject:  

don570,

Thanks for the suggestion about mtpaintsnapshot. So if I get this right, the main difference between your version and the standard mtpaint screen capture is that your version automatically designates the save folder, correct?
Thanks for taking the trouble of doing the code work for me. I am still a rookie coder. It took me half a day to figure out how to create Get-GnomeOffice. I analyzed your code and understand most of it, but one line still eludes me..probably becuase I haven't used the sed command yet.

Code:
sed '/Screenshots/!s/last_dir = /toolbar99 =  /' .mtpaint  >  .mtpaint_new


You idea to have a default folder to save screenshots is good, but I prefer the gui to look like the one I have preinstalled. I'm not totally sure, but I think it was 01micko who wrote it, since it's also found in Slacko.
I will see if I can combine the two scripts.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wjaguar

Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 242

PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2011, 20:20    Post subject:  

Tman wrote:
I analyzed your code and understand most of it, but one line still eludes me..probably becuase I haven't used the sed command yet.
Code:
sed '/Screenshots/!s/last_dir = /toolbar99 =  /' .mtpaint  >  .mtpaint_new

It's intended to transforms all occurences of "last_dir" except the newly-added one into a (nonexistent) setting "toolbar99". (But has a failure mode - will leave any number of them be, if they also have "Screenshots" in path.)
Anyway, most of that code at the top is superfluous, because mtPaint accepts duplicate setting values, and will use the last one encountered. This simpler code is enough:
Code:
mkdir -p /root/my-documents/Screenshots
echo -e "\nlast_dir = /root/my-documents/Screenshots" >> /root/.mtpaint
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Fri 18 Nov 2011, 13:58    Post subject:  

don570
There are 2 included sound recorders, and to be honest I never really use them to any great extent. I just rememeber testing them very quickly several months back. Today I spent time trying out Precord and Mhwaveedit again, along with your Bacon Recorder. I don't want more than 2 apps per task, in most cases I prefer to have just one. I've decided I will take out Precord and Replace it with Bacon Recorder. Since you were kind enough to make suggestions for improvement, I've done so for you in the Bacon Recorder thread, thanks.

wjaguar
Yes, I've added your 2 lines of code and cofirm that it works..thank you.
Code:

#!/bin/bash
#cut-down version of the one found in Snowpup 014
mkdir -p /root/my-documents/Screenshots
echo -e "\nlast_dir = /root/my-documents/Screenshots" >> /root/.mtpaint

DIALOG=Xdialog
$DIALOG --title "Screenshot" \
        --radiolist "Choose delay before capture" 0 0 0 \
        "Capture Screen Now"     " "   ON \
        "5 Second Delay"    " " off \
        "10 Second Delay" "" off \
        "20 Second Delay"    "" off 2>/tmp/checklist.tmp.$$

retval=$?
choice=`cat /tmp/checklist.tmp.$$`
rm -f /tmp/checklist.tmp.$$

case $choice in
  Capture*)
           sleep 0.2
           exec mtpaint -s;;
  5*)
           sleep 5
           exec mtpaint -s;;
  10*)
           sleep 10
           exec mtpaint -s;;
  20*)
           sleep 20
           exec mtpaint -s;;
esac


I would use the default gui you've included for mtpaintsnapshot, but often, I need only 5 seconds and 10 secs is too long a wait for impatient me. I don't really use the 20 seconds option but...just in case.
mtpaintscreenshot.sh.png
 Description   
 Filesize   14.48 KB
 Viewed   1045 Time(s)

mtpaintscreenshot.sh.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3215
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 19 Nov 2011, 13:49    Post subject: changes to mtpaintsnapshot.sh  

Code:
sed '/Screenshots/!s/last_dir = /toolbar99 =  /' .mtpaint  >  .mtpaint_new


This does a substitution except when 'Screenshots' is in the line.
I've forgotten what the exclamation mark represents???

...but change the script any way you want. The important thing
is that it works correctly.

___________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 21 [301 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 19, 20, 21 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1291s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0178s) ][ GZIP on ]